CTNF 18/684,434 CTNF 87012 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Preliminary Amendment Preliminary Amendment dated 02/16/2024 has been formally entered and amended claims 1-20 submitted with Preliminary Amendment dated 02/16/2024 are being examined on the merits. Drawings 06-22-06 AIA The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: FIG. 1G objected to for not include the following reference signs “143”, “156”, “166”mentioned in the description in [0077]. The drawings are objected to because figure 9 is blurry . Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Specification 07-29 AIA The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: “…the fly back capacitor having a capacitance that smaller than a capacitance of the at least one source capacitor …” in para.[0006], [0087] needs to be corrected. A suggested correction is -- the fly back capacitor having a capacitance that is smaller than a capacitance of the at least one source capacitor --. “above 25 µs) and/or” in [0031] needs to be corrected. A suggested correction is -- above 25 µs[[)]] and/or--. “Notwithstanding, it is promising that the amplitudes achieved at pulse duration 23 µsec may sufficient or even optimal to achieve ulnar nerve excitation when pulses are applied directly over the distal part of the nerve and its distal branches” needs to be corrected. A suggested correction is --Notwithstanding, it is promising that the amplitudes achieved at pulse duration 23 µsec may be sufficient or even optimal to achieve ulnar nerve excitation when pulses are applied directly over the distal part of the nerve and its distal branches--. “wherein energy from the inductor is transferred to an energy sink path (which in FIG. 4 comprises the fly back resistor 156 (which is coupled in series with the parallel combination of the fly back capacitor 408 and diode 406 thereby resulting in a reversal in the current through the inductor and a voltage pulse to be generated across the inductor” in [0078] needs to be corrected. A suggested correction is --wherein energy from the inductor is transferred to an energy sink path (which in FIG. 4 comprises the fly back resistor 156 ) [[(]]which is coupled in series with the parallel combination of the fly back capacitor 408 and diode 406 thereby resulting in a reversal in the current through the inductor and a voltage pulse to be generated across the inductor --. Appropriate correction is required. 06-31 AIA The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification. Claim Objections Following claims are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 lines 9-12 “open, in response to the threshold current amount through the inductor being reached, wherein energy from the inductor is transferred to an energy sink path thereby resulting in a reversal in the current through the inductor and a voltage pulse to be generated across the inductor” needs to be corrected. A suggested correction –open, in response to upon the threshold current amount through the inductor being reached, wherein energy from the inductor is transferred to an energy sink path which reverses the current through the inductor and generates a voltage pulse across the inductor thereby resulting in a reversal in the current through the inductor and a voltage pulse to be generated across the inductor -- or --open, in response to based upon the threshold current amount through the inductor being reached, wherein energy from the inductor is transferred to an energy sink path reversing the current through the inductor and generating a voltage pulse across the inductor thereby resulting in a reversal in the current through the inductor and a voltage pulse to be generated across the inductor-- to avoid intended result/functional limitation interpretation (see MPEP 2111.04) which would raise question as to whether the limitation proceeding “thereby”, “in response to” “resulting in” necessarily follows from preceding limitations and thus unclear as to whether this limitation is even required or not required. In each of claims 2-3, 18, “when compare to” needs to be corrected. A suggested correction is -- when compare in comparison to-- to avoid conditional limitation recitation arising from the “when” encompassing limitation which would raise question as to what occurs when the condition is not met. Claim 4 “a fly back capacitor coupled to at one end to the first terminal of the inductor and at the other end to the second terminal of the inductor” needs to be corrected. A suggested correction is -- a fly back capacitor coupled [[to]] at one end to the first terminal of the inductor and at the other end to the second terminal of the inductor--. Claim 5 “wherein the rapid transfer is caused in part by the fly back capacitor in the energy sink path, the fly back capacitor having a capacitance that smaller than a capacitance of the at least one source capacitor” needs to be corrected. A suggested correction is -- wherein the rapid transfer is caused occurs in part by the fly back capacitor in the energy sink path, and the fly back capacitor having a capacitance that is smaller than a capacitance of the at least one source capacitor-- to avoid intended result/functional limitation interpretation (see MPEP 2111.04) which would raise question as to whether the limitation proceeding “is caused” necessarily follows from preceding limitations and thus unclear as to whether this limitation is even required or not required Claim 5 lines 4-5 “the fly back capacitor having a capacitance that smaller than a capacitance of the at least one source capacitor” needs to be corrected. A suggested correction is -- the fly back capacitor having a capacitance that is smaller than a capacitance of the at least one source capacitor--. Claim 7 “a fly back resistor coupled to at one end to the second terminal of the inductor, wherein the energy sink path comprises the fly back resistor” needs to be corrected. A suggested correction is --a fly back resistor coupled [[to]] at one end to the second terminal of the inductor, wherein the energy sink path comprises the fly back resistor--. Claim 9 “wherein the fly back resistor is further coupled to a fly back capacitor coupled to at one end to the first terminal of the inductor and at the other end to the second terminal of the inductor” needs to be corrected. A suggested correction is -- wherein the fly back resistor is further coupled to a fly back capacitor coupled [[to]] at one end to the first terminal of the inductor and at the other end to the second terminal of the inductor--. Claim 13 “a switch controller coupled to the switch to close the switch to enable the current in the inductor to increase towards the threshold current amount and, in response to the threshold current amount through the inductor being reached, open the switch” needs to be corrected. A suggested correction is -- a switch controller coupled to the switch to close the switch to enable the current in the inductor to increase towards the threshold current amount and, in response to upon the threshold current amount through the inductor being reached, open the switch-- to avoid intended result/functional limitation interpretation (see MPEP 2111.04) which would raise question as to whether the limitation proceeding “in response to” necessarily follows from preceding limitations and thus unclear as to whether this limitation is even required or not required. Claim 15 “wherein when the switch is open, the diode enables a portion of the reversal in current to be recycled into the at least one source capacitor” needs to be corrected. A suggested correction is --wherein [[when]] while the switch is open, the diode enables a portion of the reversal in current to be recycled into the at least one source capacitor-- to avoid conditional limitation recitation arising from the “when” encompassing limitation which would raise question as to what occurs when the condition is not met. Claim 17 lines 9-12 “open, in response to a threshold current amount through the inductor being reached, wherein energy from the inductor is transferred to an energy sink path thereby resulting in a drop in inductor current towards zero at a rate that is faster, when compared to a rate at which the current increases in the inductor while the switch is closed” needs to be corrected. A suggested correction –open, in response to upon a threshold current amount through the inductor being reached, wherein energy from the inductor is transferred to an energy sink path which drops inductor current towards zero at a rate that is faster, in comparison to a rate at which the current increases in the inductor while the switch is closed thereby resulting in a drop in inductor current towards zero at a rate that is faster, when compared to a rate at which the current increases in the inductor while the switch is closed -- to avoid [a] intended result/functional limitation interpretation (see MPEP 2111.04) which would raise question as to whether the limitation proceeding “thereby”, “in response to” , “resulting in” necessarily follows from preceding limitations and thus unclear as to whether this limitation is even required or not required; and [b] to avoid conditional limitation recitation arising from the “when” encompassing limitation which would raise question as to what occurs when the condition is not met. Claim 20 “open, in response to the threshold current amount through the inductor being reached, wherein energy from the inductor is transferred to an energy sink path thereby resulting in at least one of: a reversal in the current through the inductor and a voltage pulse to be generated across the inductor, or a drop in inductor current towards zero at a rate that is faster, when compared to a rate at which the current increases in the inductor while the switch is closed” needs to be corrected. A suggested correction is -- open, in response to upon the threshold current amount through the inductor being reached, wherein energy from the inductor is transferred to an energy sink path thereby resulting in with at least one of the following occurring : a reversal in the current through the inductor and a voltage pulse to be generated across the inductor, or a drop in inductor current towards zero at a rate that is faster, when compared in comparison to a rate at which the current increases in the inductor while the switch is closed— [a] in light of MPEP 2111.04(II) which states the broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations such as “when” term encompassing limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met. . Here, the method step “when” term encompassing limitation broadly yet reasonably interpreted under MPEP 2111.04(II) qualifies as a contingent limitation i.e. this step is not necessarily required to be performed if the conditions precedent are not met and thus applied art need not necessarily disclose this contingent/conditional method step; [b] to avoid intended result interpretation (see MPEP 2111.04) which would raise question as to whether the limitation proceeding “thereby”, “in response to” , “resulting in” necessarily follows from preceding limitations and thus unclear as to whether this limitation is even required or not required. Appropriate correction is required. 07-30-03-h AIA Claim Interpretation Claims terms where relevant are being interpreted in light of definitions enumerated in instant application specification as-filed para. [0026-0027], [0105-0106]. Please note that USPTO personnel are to give claims their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the supporting disclosure. In re Morris , 127 F.3d 1048, 1054-55, 44 USPQ2d 1023, 1027-28 (Fed. Cir. 1997). Limitations appearing in the specification but not recited in the claim should not be read into the claim. E-Pass Techs., Inc. v. 3Com Corp ., 343 F.3d 1364, 1369, 67 USPQ2d 1947, 1950 (Fed. Cir. 2003) (claims must be interpreted "in view of the specification" without importing limitations from the specification into the claims unnecessarily). In re Prater , 415 F.2d 1393, 1404-05, 162 USPQ 541, 550-551 (CCPA 1969). See also In re Zletz , 893 F.2d 319, 321-22, 13 USPQ2d 1320, 1322 (Fed. Cir. 1989) ("During patent examination the pending claims must be interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably allow.... The reason is simply that during patent prosecution when claims can be amended, ambiguities should be recognized, scope and breadth of language explored, and clarification imposed.... An essential purpose of patent examination is to fashion claims that are precise, clear, correct, and unambiguous. Only in this way can uncertainties of claim scope be removed, as much as possible, during the administrative process."). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-3, 7, 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1) and (a)(2 ) as being anticipated by Boyden (Pub. No.: US 20090018384 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Boyden”) . As per independent Claim 1 , Boyden discloses a transcranial magnetic stimulation system (Boyden in at least abstract, [0002], fig. 1, 3, 8-9, [0004-0005], [0017-0019], [0022], [0026-0027], [0031], [0034-0035], [0038] for example discloses relevant subject-matter. More specifically, Boyden in at least fig. 1, abstract, [0002], [0004] for example discloses portable, modular transcranial magnetic stimulation (TMS) device) comprising: an inductor configured to be disposed on, or proximate to, a surface of a head to generate a current that induces an electric field through electromagnetic induction (Boyden in at least [0035] for example discloses coil unit comprises a conductive coil that produces a strong magnetic field when the pulse of current generated by the device traverses it…so that when the coil is brought in contact with the user's head, most of the field ends up within the skull. ), wherein the inductor includes a first terminal and a second terminal (Boyden in fig. 8 shows terminal above L1 and after C1); at least one source capacitor coupled to at least the first terminal of the inductor (Boyden in at least fig. 8-9 [0034] discloses energy storage unit 830 (C1) is connected to coil 820 (L1 )); and a switch configured to at least: close to discharge the at least one source capacitor towards the inductor to enable the current in the inductor to increase towards a threshold current amount (Boyden in at least fig. 8-9 [0034] discloses once switch 810 (S1) is closed (at time A 910), coil 820 (L1) and energy storage unit 830 (C1) form an LC circuit… voltage of C1 830 goes below ground); and open, in response to the threshold current amount through the inductor being reached, wherein energy from the inductor is transferred to an energy sink path thereby resulting in a reversal in the current through the inductor and a voltage pulse to be generated across the inductor (Boyden in at least fig. 8-9 [0034] discloses switch 860 (S3) is closed (at time C 930, possibly with waiting) and L2 870 reverses the voltage on C1 830, which now is positive (at time D 940). Keeping S3 860 closed, switch 880 (S2) is now closed too, and the voltage on C2 840 is converted into current on L2 870). As per dependent Claim 2 , Boyden further discloses transcranial magnetic stimulation system wherein while the switch is open, the reversal in current reverses at a rate that faster, when compared to a rate at which the current increases in the inductor while the switch is closed (Boyden in at least fig. 9, [0034] discloses keeping S3 860 closed, switch 880 (S2) is now closed too, and the voltage on C2 840 is converted into current L2 870, as shown between D 940 and E 950 in Fig. 9). As per dependent Claim 3 , Boyden further discloses transcranial magnetic stimulation system wherein the current reverses at the rate that is at least three times faster, when compared to the rate at which the current increases in the inductor while the switch is closed (Boyden in at least fig. 9, [0034] discloses the current in L 1 goes up from A 910 to B 920 by about three times the amount that elapses between release between B 920 and C 930). As per dependent Claim 7 , Boyden further discloses transcranial magnetic stimulation system further comprising: a fly back resistor coupled to at one end to the second terminal of the inductor, wherein the energy sink path comprises the fly back resistor (Boyden in at least fig. 3, [0017] for example discloses flyback transformer charges a capacitor with a safety thyristor/power resistor pair that permits safe discharging). As per dependent Claim 11 , Boyden further discloses transcranial magnetic stimulation system wherein the at least one source capacitor is further coupled to a first terminal of the switch, and wherein the second terminal of the inductor is further coupled to a second terminal of the switch (Boyden in fig. 8, [0034] discloses capacitor 830 (C1) is coupled to switch 860, while inductor 820 (L1) is coupled to switch 810 as seen in fig. 8). As per dependent Claim 12 , Boyden further discloses transcranial magnetic stimulation system wherein the switch comprises at least one of: one or more insulated-gate bipolar transistors, one or more field effect transistors, and one or more metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor (Boyden in at least [0026] discloses the connection disconnection of circuit elements during operation of the device is achieved using a solid state switches such as such as, but not limited to, power MOSFETs, IGBTs, thyristors, and GTOs). As per dependent Claim 13 , Boyden further discloses transcranial magnetic stimulation system further comprising: a switch controller coupled to the switch to close the switch to enable the current in the inductor to increase towards the threshold current amount and, in response to the threshold current amount through the inductor being reached, open the switch (Boyden in at least abstract, fig. 8-9, [0034] for example discloses control unit for controlling the operations of the power supply unit, the energy storage unit, and the charge recovery system, and switch 810 can be opened by the control unit when C1 830 goes to ground to create/result in a pulse). As per dependent Claim 14 , Boyden further discloses transcranial magnetic stimulation system wherein the threshold current amount being reached is determined based on an expiry of a timer or based on measurement of the current through the inductor reaching the threshold current amount (Boyden in at least [0034] discloses switch 810 is opened due to maximum negative voltage of LC circuit. See Boyden [0034] “the LC circuit now has a different time constant and reaches the maximum negative voltage at time C 930. At this point, S1 810 can be opened”). As per dependent Claim 15 , Boyden further discloses transcranial magnetic stimulation system further comprising: a diode coupled to the second terminal of the capacitor, the energy sink path, and a first terminal of the switch, wherein when the switch is open, the diode enables a portion of the reversal in current to be recycled into the at least one source capacitor (Boyden in at least [0031], [0034] for example discloses C2 840 is connected in parallel to C1 830 by the action of diode 850 (BOYDEN ), and the voltage of C2 840 needs always to be smaller than the voltage of C1 830, therefore switch 860 (S3) is closed and L2 870 reverses the voltage of C1 830, which now is positive, and most of the energy is recovered in the energy storage unit. See at least Boyden [0034] “C2 840 (initially with no voltage) is effectively connected in parallel to C1 830 by the action of diode 850 (BOYDEN), …Because of diode 850, the voltage of C2 840 needs always to be smaller than the voltage of C1 830, therefore switch 860 (S3) is closed (at time C 930, possibly with waiting) and L2 870 reverses the voltage on C1 830, which now is positive (at time D 940). Keeping S3 860 closed, switch 880 (S2) is now closed too, and the voltage on C2 840 is converted into current on L2 870. Once the voltage of C2 840 reaches zero (at time E 950), S2 880 is swiftly opened, forcing the current in L2 870 through S3 860 onto C1 830. At time F 960, the transfer is complete, and the power supply unit can be enabled again (at time G 970)”). As per dependent Claim 16 , Boyden further discloses transcranial magnetic stimulation system further comprising: a charging unit providing a direct current power source to the at least one capacitor during a charging phase of the at least one capacitor (Boyden in at least [0017] discloses flyback transformer that per Boyden is a DC voltage to charge a capacitor. See at least Boyden [0017] “a flyback transformer…a DC voltage …to charge a capacitor”). As per independent Claim 17 , Boyden discloses a transcranial magnetic stimulation system (Boyden in at least abstract, [0002], fig. 1, 3, 8-9, [0004-0005], [0017-0019], [0022], [0026-0027], [0031], [0034-0035], [0038] for example discloses relevant subject-matter. More specifically, Boyden in at least fig. 1, abstract, [0002], [0004] for example discloses portable, modular transcranial magnetic stimulation (TMS) device) comprising: an inductor configured to be disposed on or proximate to a surface of a head to generate a current that induces an electric field through electromagnetic induction (Boyden in at least [0035] for example discloses coil unit comprises a conductive coil that produces a strong magnetic field when the pulse of current generated by the device traverses it…so that when the coil is brought in contact with the user's head, most of the field ends up within the skull. ), wherein the inductor includes a first terminal and a second terminal (Boyden in fig. 8 shows terminal above L1 and after C1); at least one source capacitor coupled to at least the first terminal of the inductor (Boyden in at least fig. 8-9 [0034] discloses energy storage unit 830 (C1) is connected to coil 820 (L1 )); and a switch configured to at least: close to discharge the at least one source capacitor towards the inductor (Boyden in at least fig. 8-9 [0034] discloses once switch 810 (S1) is closed (at time A 910), coil 820 (L1) and energy storage unit 830 (C1) form an LC circuit… voltage of C1 830 goes below ground); and open, in response to a threshold current amount through the inductor being reached, wherein energy from the inductor is transferred to an energy sink path thereby resulting in a drop in inductor current towards zero at a rate that is faster, when compared to a rate at which the current increases in the inductor while the switch is closed (Boyden in at least fig. 8-9 [0034] discloses switch 860 (S3) is closed (at time C 930, possibly with waiting) and L2 870 reverses the voltage on C1 830, which now is positive (at time D 940). Keeping S3 860 closed, switch 880 (S2) is now closed too, and the voltage on C2 840 is converted into current on L2 870 keeping S3 860 closed, switch 880 (S2) is now closed too, and the voltage on C2 840 is converted into current L2 870, as shown between D 940 and E 950 in Fig. 9). As per dependent Claim 18 , Boyden further discloses transcranial magnetic stimulation system wherein the current drops at the rate that is at least three times faster, when compared to the rate at which the current increases in the inductor while the switch is closed (Boyden in at least fig. 9, [0034] discloses the current in L 1 goes up from A 910 to B 920 by about three times the amount that elapses between release between B 920 and C 930). As per dependent Claim 19 , Boyden further discloses transcranial magnetic stimulation system wherein the energy sink path comprises at least one resistor coupled to the second terminal of the inductor (Boyden in at least fig. 3, [0017] for example discloses flyback transformer charges a capacitor with a safety thyristor/power resistor pair that permits safe discharging). As per independent Claim 20 , Boyden discloses a method (Boyden in at least abstract, [0002], fig. 1, 3, 8-9, [0004-0005], [0017-0019], [0022], [0026-0027], [0031], [0034-0035], [0038] for example discloses relevant subject-matter. More specifically, Boyden in at least abstract, [0002], [0004], [0028], [0038] for example disclose method. See at least [0004] “a portable, modular transcranial magnetic stimulation (TMS)” [0028] “monophasic stimulation, where the pulsed induced currents are designed to stimulate predominantly in one direction. Several implementations of these stimulation methods are possible. The prototype embodiment has been employed for the following types of stimulation…monophasic, and monophasic with shared capacitors.”) comprising: placing an applicator including an inductor disposed on, or proximate to, a surface of a head, wherein the inductor generates a current that induces an electric field through electromagnetic induction (Boyden in at least [0035] for example discloses coil unit comprises a conductive coil that produces a strong magnetic field when the pulse of current generated by the device traverses it. The field …should be mostly external to the coil itself, so that when the coil is brought in contact with the user's head, most of the field ends up within the skull), wherein the inductor includes a first terminal and a second terminal (Boyden Fig. 8 depicts terminals above L1 and after C1); and initiating transcranial magnetic stimulation, wherein the inductor is comprised in a transcranial magnetic stimulation system (Boyden in at least [0004] for example discloses portable, modular transcranial magnetic stimulation (TMS) device comprises a coil unit), wherein the transcranial magnetic stimulation system comprises: at least one source capacitor coupled to at least the first terminal of the inductor (Boyden in at least fig. 8-9 [0034] discloses energy storage unit 830 (C1) is connected to coil 820 (L1 ) ); and a switch configured to at least: close to discharge the at least one source capacitor towards the inductor to enable the current in the inductor to increase towards a threshold current amount (Boyden in at least fig. 8-9 [0034] discloses once switch 810 (S1) is closed (at time A 910), coil 820 (L1) and energy storage unit 830 (C1) form an LC circuit… voltage of C1 830 goes below ground); and open, in response to the threshold current amount through the inductor being reached (Boyden in at least fig. 8-9 [0034] discloses once switch 810 (S1) is closed (at time A 910), coil 820 (L1) and energy storage unit 830 (C1) form an LC circuit. When the voltage of C1 830 goes below ground,), wherein energy from the inductor is transferred to an energy sink path thereby resulting in at least one of: a reversal in the current through the inductor and a voltage pulse to be generated across the inductor, or a drop in inductor current towards zero at a rate that is faster, when compared to a rate at which the current increases in the inductor while the switch is closed (Boyden in at least fig. 8-9 [0034] discloses switch 860 (S3) is closed (at time C 930, possibly with waiting) and L2 870 reverses the voltage on C1 830, which now is positive (at time D 940). Keeping S3 860 closed, switch 880 (S2) is now closed too, and the voltage on C2 840 is converted into current on L2 870) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 4-6, 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boyden in view of Peterchev (Pub. No.: US 20100087699 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Peterchev”) . As per dependent Claim 4 , Boyden discloses transcranial magnetic stimulation system of claim 3 (see claim 3). Boyden does not explicitly disclose a fly back capacitor coupled to at one end to the first terminal of the inductor and at the other end to the second terminal of the inductor, wherein the energy sink path comprises the fly back capacitor feature. However, in an analogous transcranial magnetic stimulation field of endeavor, Peterchev discloses transcranial magnetic stimulation system (Peterchev in at least fig. 1, 3A, 10, 14, abstract, [0002], [0007], [0011-0018], [0047], [0065], [0111-0113], [0116] for example discloses relevant subject-matter. More specifically, Boyden in at least fig. 1, abstract, [0002], [0007], [0011], [0111] for example discloses transcranial magnetic stimulation system) comprising a fly back capacitor coupled to at one end to the first terminal of the inductor and at the other end to the second terminal of the inductor, wherein the energy sink path comprises the fly back capacitor (SNUB 1 of fig. 10 shows a capacitor of a snub system include a capacitor coupled to a inductor L where the snub circuits serve as energy sink paths). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transcranial magnetic stimulation system as taught by Boyden, by further including the flyback circuit configuration, as explicitly taught by Peterchev. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the advantage of gaining the benefit of having multiple connections to the inductor to help control the pulses going through the system during biphasic operational mode. As per dependent Claim 5 , the combination of Boyden and Peterchev as a whole further discloses transcranial magnetic stimulation system wherein the energy sink path provides a path for a rapid transfer of the energy during the reversal in the current through the inductor, and wherein the rapid transfer is caused in part by the fly back capacitor in the energy sink path (Boyden in at least fig. 8-9, [0034] for example discloses L2 870 reverses the voltage on C1 830… voltage on C2 840 is converted into current on L2 870), the fly back capacitor having a capacitance that smaller than a capacitance of the at least one source capacitor (Boyden in at least fig. 8-9, [0034] for example discloses C2 840 needs to be smaller to achieve the result, wherein C2 840 (flyback capacitor) is smaller than the voltage of C1 830 (source capacitor)). As per dependent Claim 6 , the combination of Boyden and Peterchev as a whole further discloses transcranial magnetic stimulation system wherein the capacitance of the fly back capacitor is at least nine times smaller than the capacitance of the at least one source capacitor (Peterchev, fig. 10, snub 1 circuit fly back capacitor has a value of 1.5 μF, where source capacitor has a value of 185 μF). As per dependent Claim 8 , Boyden discloses transcranial magnetic stimulation system of claim 7 (see claim 7). Boyden does not explicitly disclose the fly back resistor is further coupled to the first terminal of the inductor feature. However, in an analogous transcranial magnetic stimulation field of endeavor, Peterchev discloses transcranial magnetic stimulation system (Peterchev in at least fig. 1, 3A, 10, 14, abstract, [0002], [0007], [0011-0018], [0047], [0065], [0111-0113], [0116] for example discloses relevant subject-matter. More specifically, Boyden in at least fig. 1, abstract, [0002], [0007], [0011], [0111] for example discloses transcranial magnetic stimulation system) wherein the fly back resistor is further coupled to the first terminal of the inductor (Peterchev, fig. 3A, [0065] for example discloses resistor 334 of fig. 3A of the snubber circuit is connected to inductor L). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transcranial magnetic stimulation system as taught by Boyden, by further including the flyback resistor connected to the first terminal of the inductor , as explicitly taught by Peterchev. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the advantage of gaining the benefit of having the resistor hold back the current before it contacts the coil avoid overloading it. As per dependent Claim 9 , Boyden discloses transcranial magnetic stimulation system of claim 7 (see claim 7). Boyden does not explicitly disclose wherein the fly back resistor is further coupled to a fly back capacitor coupled to at one end to the first terminal of the inductor and at the other end to the second terminal of the inductor feature. However, in an analogous transcranial magnetic stimulation field of endeavor, Peterchev discloses transcranial magnetic stimulation system (Peterchev in at least fig. 1, 3A, 10, 14, abstract, [0002], [0007], [0011-0018], [0047], [0065], [0111-0113], [0116] for example discloses relevant subject-matter. More specifically, Boyden in at least fig. 1, abstract, [0002], [0007], [0011], [0111] for example discloses transcranial magnetic stimulation system) wherein the fly back resistor is further coupled to a fly back capacitor coupled to at one end to the first terminal of the inductor and at the other end to the second terminal of the inductor (Peterchev in at least fig. 3A, [0065] for example discloses resistor 334 is connected to capacitor 332 where capacitor 332 is connected to coil L as shown in fig. 3A as being connected to both ends of capacitor 332). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transcranial magnetic stimulation system as taught by Boyden, by further including fly back resistor coupled to a fly back capacitor coupled to at one end to the first terminal of the inductor and at the other end to the second terminal of the inductor, as explicitly taught by Peterchev. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the advantage of gaining the benefits of having a capacitor in electrical communication with both the inductor and the resistor to be able to control the amount of current going through the inductor for pulsing to a patient. As per dependent Claim 10 , the combination of Boyden and Peterchev as a whole further discloses transcranial magnetic stimulation system of claim 9, wherein the fly back capacitor is further coupled to a diode that is in parallel to the fly back capacitor (Peterchev in at least fig. 14 shows diode in parallel with capacitors C1 and C5 of the system) Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and/or the claims . Prior art US 20180369601 A1 to Saitoh et al. discloses a transcranial magnetic stimulation apparatus including the coil apparatus for use in the transcranial magnetic stimulation apparatus similar to that disclosed and claimed. More specifically, coil apparatus for use in a transcranial magnetic stimulation apparatus to further increase an electric field intensity on a head surface. The coil apparatus includes a wound-wire coil disposed on or near a head surface so as to generate a current by an induced electric field through electromagnetic induction in a magnetic stimulation-target region of a brain for stimulating neurons. The wound-wire coil includes a near-head-surface conductive wire portion disposed on or near the head surface, and a far-head-surface conductive wire portion disposed farther from the head surface than the near-head-surface conductive wire portion. A distance between the near-head-surface conductive wire portion and the far-head-surface conductive wire portion is set to be changed so that an intensity of the induced electric field becomes larger than that of a surrounding region of the magnetic stimulation-target region. Prior art US 20170028212 A1 to Roth et al. discloses system and methods for controlling pulse parameters during transcranial magnetic stimulation similar to that claimed and disclosed. Multiple coils are placed on external body parts, and are controlled using an external control unit coupled to a stimulator having fast switches. The timing of the switches, as well as other parameters within the stimulator, determine the pulse parameters, such as pulse shape. The variety of pulse shapes obtainable using such a system and methods provides controlled physiologic effects within an internal body organ. Prior art US 20090216068 A1 to Thomas et al. discloses a device for delivering magnetic fields such as a low frequency magnetic field pulse (Cnp) to affect the physiological and/or neurological conditions of an animal or human similar to that disclosed. Prior art US 20170021187 A1 to Hong et al. discloses methods and systems for controlling a transient magnetic field using one or more DC magnetic fields to provide magnetic stimulation to a patient's body similar to that disclosed. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SUNITA REDDY whose telephone number is (571)270-5151. The examiner can normally be reached on M-Thu 10-4 EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, CHARLES A MARMOR II can be reached on (571)272-4730. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000 Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) Form at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. /SUNITA REDDY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791 Application/Control Number: 18/684,434 Page 2 Art Unit: 3791 Application/Control Number: 18/684,434 Page 3 Art Unit: 3791 Application/Control Number: 18/684,434 Page 4 Art Unit: 3791 Application/Control Number: 18/684,434 Page 5 Art Unit: 3791 Application/Control Number: 18/684,434 Page 6 Art Unit: 3791 Application/Control Number: 18/684,434 Page 7 Art Unit: 3791 Application/Control Number: 18/684,434 Page 8 Art Unit: 3791 Application/Control Number: 18/684,434 Page 9 Art Unit: 3791 Application/Control Number: 18/684,434 Page 10 Art Unit: 3791 Application/Control Number: 18/684,434 Page 11 Art Unit: 3791 Application/Control Number: 18/684,434 Page 12 Art Unit: 3791 Application/Control Number: 18/684,434 Page 13 Art Unit: 3791 Application/Control Number: 18/684,434 Page 14 Art Unit: 3791 Application/Control Number: 18/684,434 Page 15 Art Unit: 3791 Application/Control Number: 18/684,434 Page 16 Art Unit: 3791 Application/Control Number: 18/684,434 Page 17 Art Unit: 3791 Application/Control Number: 18/684,434 Page 18 Art Unit: 3791 Application/Control Number: 18/684,434 Page 19 Art Unit: 3791 Application/Control Number: 18/684,434 Page 20 Art Unit: 3791 Application/Control Number: 18/684,434 Page 21 Art Unit: 3791