DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Unohara et al (GB 2279944) and in further view of Katsuro et al (US 6,110,852).
Unohara teaches a high-purity spherical silica having low hygroscopity, the spherical silica produced by providng spherical hydrous silica particles, acid treating the spherical hydrous silica; and subjecting the obtained silica to a heat treatment at a temperature of 1,050 to 1,200°C (see Page 4, ¶3 and Page 16, Ln 18-24).
Unohara does not teach that the number of water molecules desorbed at 50°C-1,000°C at a condition of 30°C/min is 10 µmol/g or less, and in which 10% mass or more of the total powder is α-quartz crystal.
However, since Unohara teaches a spherical silica that produced by a process that is substantially identical to the claimed invention including starting from an amorphous spherical silica, acid treating, and heating to a temperature within the range of 1,050 to 1,200°C. Furthermore, Katsuro teaches that calcining dry silica gel powder at temperatures from 1000 to 1300°C closes the pores in the silica and forms synthetic quartz (see Col 5, Ln 3 to 64). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect that the low hygroscopity spherical silica in Unohara is identical to the invention including where the water desorption properties and quartz content are in ranges comparable to the claim.
Regarding claim 2, given the above one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect that the low hygroscopity spherical silica in Unohara is identical to the invention including the degree of crystallization in ranges comparable to the claim.
Regarding claim 3, given the above one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect that the low hygroscopity spherical silica in Unohara is identical to the invention including the content of quartz in ranges comparable to the claim.
Regarding claim 4, given the above one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect that the low hygroscopity spherical silica in Unohara is identical to the invention including the content of cristobalite in ranges comparable to the claim.
Regarding claim 5, Unohara teaches a spherical silica that is high purity and substantially free of impurities such as alkaline earth metals and examples where the amount of alkaline earth metals is less than 1 ppm (see Page 20, Ln 6-11).
Regarding claim 6, Unohara teaches the spherical silica used as a filler in a resin (see Abstract).
Regarding claim 7, Unohara teaches a method for preparing high-purity spherical silica having low hygroscopity, the spherical silica produced by providing spherical hydrous silica particles, acid treating the spherical hydrous silica; and subjecting the obtained silica to a heat treatment at a temperature of 1,050 to 1,200°C (see Page 4, ¶3 and Page 16, Ln 18-24).
Claim 7 therefore differs from the process of claim 7 wherein the silica gel is heated to crystallize before treating with acid and heating at 800-1400°C.
However, it has been held that selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results. See MPEP 2144.04.IV.C. Here, Unohara and Katsuro teach a process wherein an amorphous silica gel is crystallized after treating with an acid and where the product is identical as a low hygroscopic, quartz containing spherical silica. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to perform the process in any order including where crystallization occurs after acid treatment of silica gel absent evidence of new or unexpected results.
Regarding claim 8, Unohara teaches a method where hydrous silica particles containing adherent water (i.e., a solvent) are heated in a first step to dry the silica particle prior to the calcination step (see Page 15, Line 10 to Page 16, Line 9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to perform the process in any order including where the silica gel is dried in a first step absent evidence of new or unexpected results.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL FORREST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1738