DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakamoto et al. (2019/0341164) in view of Tomioka et al. (EP 1245690).
Sakamoto et al. discloses a copper alloy wire being a wire rod (1) formed of a copper alloy and having a tensile strength of 400 MPa or more, an elongation at break of 5% or more, a conductivity of 60% IACS or more ([0126]), and a wire diameter of 0.5 mm or less [0012]), wherein the copper alloy has a composition containing 0.05% by mass or more and 1.6% by mass or less of iron, 0.01% by mass or more and 0.7% by mass or less of phosphorus, and 0.05% by mass or more and 0.7% by mass or less of tin with the balance being copper and unavoidable impurities ([0008]-[0010]), and wherein the copper alloy has a structure containing crystals ([0117]) (re-claim 1).
Sakamoto et al. does not disclose a crystal grain size difference determined as a difference between a maximum crystal grain size and a minimum crystal grain size in a cross-section being 1.0 µm or less (re-claim 1).
Tomioka et al. discloses a copper alloy having a structure containing crystals, wherein a crystal grain size is a length between each adjacent intersection point of a plurality of intersection points between each of the crystals along a line of a predetermined length in a cross-section (Fig. 1), and wherein the crystal grain size difference determined as a difference between a maximum crystal grain size and a minimum crystal grain size in a cross-section is 1.0 µm or less. Specifically, Tomioka et al. discloses that the crystal grains are round and uniform (see [0009]), form a plurality of intersection points between each of the crystals (Fig. 1), and have grain size of 1 µm or less ([0009]). Therefore, the crystal grain size is a length between each adjacent intersection point of the plurality of intersection points between each of the crystals along a line of a predetermined length in a cross-section; and the maximum crystal grain size is 1 µm or less.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the copper alloy of Sakamoto et al. such that the difference between the maximum crystal grain size and the minimum crystal grain size is 1.0 µm or less, i.e., providing round and uniform crystal grains, as taught by Tomioka et al. to meet the required electrical and mechanical properties of the alloy.
Sakamoto et al. also discloses that the content ratio by mass of iron to phosphorus is 1.0 or more and 30 or less ([0021]) (re-claim 3); the copper alloy wire has a work hardening coefficient of 0.1 or more ([0131]) (re-claim 4); a covered wire (Fig. 1) comprises a conductor and an insulating layer covering a periphery of the conductor, wherein the conductor comprises a copper alloy stranded wire, and the copper alloy stranded wire comprises the copper alloy wire according to claim 1 (re-claim 5); and a covered wire with terminal (Fig. 2), comprises the covered wire according to claim 5 and a terminal attached to at least one of ends of the covered wire (re-claim 6).
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi et al. (2017/0040081) in view of Sakamoto et al. and Tomioka et al.
Kobayashi et al. discloses a copper alloy wire being a wire rod formed of a copper alloy and having a tensile strength of 400 MPa or more, an elongation at break of 5% or more, a conductivity of 60% IACS or more, and a wire diameter of 0.5 mm or less (Table 1), wherein the copper alloy has a composition containing 0.05% by mass or more and 1.6% by mass or less of iron (Table 1, sw3) with the balance being copper and unavoidable impurities, and wherein the copper alloy has a structure containing crystals ([0042]) (re-claim 1).
Kobayashi et al. does not disclose the composition of the copper alloy containing 0.01% by mass or more and 0.7% by mass or less of phosphorus, 0.05% by mass or more and 0.7% by mass or less of tin, and a crystal grain size difference determined as a difference between a maximum crystal grain size and a minimum crystal grain size in a cross-section being 1.0 µm or less (re-claim 1).
Sakamoto et al. discloses a copper alloy containing 0.01% by mass or more and 0.7% by mass or less of phosphorus, and 0.05% by mass or more and 0.7% by mass or less of tin ([0008]-[0010]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to add 0.01% by mass or more and 0.7% by mass or less of phosphorus, and 0.05% by mass or more and 0.7% by mass or less of tin in the copper alloy composition (sw3) of Kobayashi et al. to increase the alloy strength as taught by Sakamoto et al. ([0091]-[0105]).
Tomioka et al. discloses a copper alloy having a structure containing crystals, wherein a crystal grain size is a length between each adjacent intersection point of a plurality of intersection points between each of the crystals along a line of a predetermined length in a cross-section (Fig. 1), and wherein the crystal grain size difference determined as a difference between a maximum crystal grain size and a minimum crystal grain size in a cross-section is 1.0 µm or less. Specifically, Tomioka et al. discloses that the crystal grains are round and uniform (see [0009]), form a plurality of intersection points between each of the crystals (Fig. 1), and have grain size of 1 µm or less ([0009]). Therefore, the crystal grain size is a length between each adjacent intersection point of the plurality of intersection points between each of the crystals along a line of a predetermined length in a cross-section; and the maximum crystal grain size is 1 µm or less.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to provide the modified copper alloy of Kobayashi et al. such that the difference between the maximum crystal grain size and the minimum crystal grain size is 1.0 µm or less, i.e., providing round and uniform crystal grains, as taught by Tomioka et al. to meet the required electrical and mechanical properties of the alloy.
Re-claim 2, in the application’s specification, paragraph [0044], it discloses the “composition containing substantially no carbon.” Kobayashi et al. discloses the copper alloy containing less than 0.001% by mass of carbon (i.e., 0% by mass of carbon or no carbon as disclosed by the applicant).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot in view of new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/CHAU N NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841