DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: fluid flow device and mounting device in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9, 13- 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the conveyor belt" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the mounting belt" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the mounting belt" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the conveyor belt" in lines 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the cavities" in lines 2-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-12, 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yoshimura et al. (US 5,271,164).
Regarding claim 1, Yoshimura et al. discloses a drying apparatus for drying containers 2 including cleaning fluid, the apparatus comprising: a fluid flow device 17 arranged and designed to apply a drying fluid directed in a direction of fluid flow to the containers 2 (Figs. 1 and 3); and a mounting device 7, 8 arranged and designed to retain the containers 2 in a mounted direction, whereby the mounted direction is aligned in the direction opposite to the direction of fluid flow (Figs. 1, 3).
Regarding claim 2, Yoshimura et al. discloses wherein the direction of fluid flow is configured to be aligned in the same direction as the mounting direction (Figs. 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 3, Yoshimura et al. discloses wherein in the intended operation, the direction of fluid flow is oriented vertically upwards and the mounting direction is oriented vertically downwards (Figs. 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 4, Yoshimura et al. discloses the apparatus further comprising: a conveyor section 7 extending from a conveyor start point (Fig. 1, near 1) to a conveyor end point (Fig. 1, near 10); and a conveyor unit 3 arranged and designed to move the containers 2 at least in sections along the conveyor section 7, whereby the mounting device 7,8 is further arranged and designed to retain the containers 2 at least in sections along the conveyor section (Figs. 1, 3).
Regarding claim 5, Yoshimura et al. discloses wherein the mounting device 7, 8 is further arranged and designed to move the containers 2 at least in sections along the conveyor section 7 (Figs. 1, 3).
Regarding claim 6, Yoshimura et al. discloses wherein the mounting device 7, 8 is further arranged and designed such that a mounting force is adjustable on the containers 2 in the mounting direction (Figs. 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 8, Yoshimura et al. discloses wherein the conveyor unit (Fig. 1, at 1) comprises a conveyor belt (Fig. 1, at 1, not numbered), and the mounting device 7,8 comprises a mounting belt 7 aligned parallel to the conveyor belt (Fig. 1, conveyor belt in station 1), and the conveyor belt and the mounting belt are arranged movably parallel to each other (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9, Yoshimura et al. discloses wherein at least one of the conveyor belt and the mounting belt is fluid-permeable (col. 4, lines 1-3, perforate conveyor belt 7).
Regarding claim 10, Yoshimura et al. discloses wherein the conveyor unit has a free section, at least in sections along the conveyor section, in which the conveyor unit is interrupted (Fig. 1), and the mounting device 7, 8 is arranged and designed to affect a vacuum (by suction head 8) on the containers 2, so that the containers 2 can be moved by the mounting device 7, 8 in the free section.
Regarding claim 11, Yoshimura et al. discloses a vacuum unit 8 for effecting the vacuum on the containers 2,whereby the vacuum unit 8 is arranged and designed to affect the vacuum between a mounting upper run and a mounting lower run of the mounting belt 7 (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 12, Yoshimura et al. discloses a drying chamber 18 in which the drying fluid can be applied to the containers 2, whereby the free section extends from an inlet end to an outlet end of the drying chamber 18 (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 14, Yoshimura et al. discloses wherein the nozzle unit 23 is arranged and designed to pressurize the cavities of the containers 2 with the drying fluid in such a way that an inlet fluid flow enters the cavities, and an outlet fluid flow of the drying fluid exits the cavities.
Regarding claim 15, Yoshimura et al. discloses wherein at least one fluid outlet (Fig. 3 outlet of nozzle 17) is designed in such a way that the fluid flow is jet-shaped (see fluid arrows from 17 n Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 16, Yoshimura et al. discloses a method of drying containers 2 including cleaning fluid, the method comprising: applying a drying fluid (Fig. 3, from nozzles 17, 23) oriented in a direction of fluid flow to the containers 2; and retaining the containers 2 in a mounted direction, whereby the mounted direction is aligned in the direction opposite to the direction of fluid flow (Figs. 3, 5, 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshimura et al. (US 5,271,164) in view of Li (CN 109959250 A).
The drying apparatus of Yoshimura et al. as above includes all that is recited in claim 7 except for wherein the containers can be clamped at least in sections between the conveyor unit and the mounting device. With regard to claim 7, Yoshimura et al. further discloses the containers 2 can be mounted in sections between the conveyor unit (Fig. 1 at 1) and the mounting device 7. However, Yoshimura et al. does not explicit the containers can be clamped. Li teaches a concept of clamping the containers on the conveyor belt 12 (paragraph [0044]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the drying apparatus of Yoshimura et al. to clamp the containers as taught by Li in order to secure the containers from moving while conveying.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshimura et al. (US 5,271,164) in view of Gerrits et al. (WO 2018208160 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Yoshimura et al. discloses at least one nozzle unit 23 for applying the drying fluid to the containers 2 (Fig. 1). However, Yoshimura et al. does not disclose wherein the conveyor belt has a conveyor upper run and a conveyor lower run, and at least one fluid flow outlet of the nozzle unit is arranged between the conveyor upper run and the conveyor lower run. Gerrits et al. discloses a drying apparatus for drying containers 9, a conveyor belt 41 has a conveyor upper run and a conveyor lower run (Fig. 2), and at least one fluid flow outlet of a nozzle unit 8 arranged between the conveyor upper run and the conveyor lower run ( Fig. 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the drying apparatus of Yoshimura et al. to arrange the at least one fluid flow outlet of the nozzle unit between he conveyor upper run and the conveyor lower run as taught by Gerrits et al. in order to improve the drying efficiency.
Conclusion
/Jessica Yuen/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3762
JY