DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao et al. (5,941,110) in view of Fujii et al. (WO2019/181360A1).
Regarding claim 1, Cao discloses a friction-joining method which comprises: a first step of forming an interface to be joined by bringing an end surface of one member into contact with an end surface of the other member while applying a pressure substantially perpendicular to the interface to be joined; (column 3 line 51 to column 4 line 17), and a third step of stopping the sliding to form a joined surface (would necessarily happen in a friction welding process when the weld is complete); wherein the one member and the other member are galvanized steel sheets (column 3 line 51 to column 4 line 17).
Cao discloses friction welding galvanized steel sheets to form a linear weld seam, but does not specifically disclose a second step of repeatedly sliding the one member and the other member on the same trajectory by vibrating both of the one member and the other member in opposite directions or vibrating one of the one member or the other member while other one of the one member or the other member is fixed. However, Fujii discloses linear friction welding a carbon steel material (see Description of Embodiments English translation). To one skilled in the art at the time of the invention it would have been obvious to use linear friction welding as it is a well-known process for friction welding. It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art to determine the ideal friction welding process based on the type of weld seam desired and the shape of the components being welded.
Cao does not specifically disclose setting a desired joining temperature to be equal to or lower than 907°C; and setting the pressure applied in the first step to be equal to or higher than the yield stress of the galvanized steel sheet at the desired joining temperature. However, Fujii discloses that the bonding temperature can be controlled by setting the pressure to be equal to or higher than the yield stress of one of the components being bonded. Fujii states that by doing so, deformation and discharge of the burrs is accelerated. Fujii shows in figure 3 that the temperature can be lower than 907 when the pressure is higher (see computer English translation). Since Fujii discloses a temperature lower than 907 and a pressure equal to or higher than the yield stress, it is the Examiner’s position that it would necessarily follow that the discharge of the burr suppresses the mixing of galvanizing components into the joined surface. To one skilled in the art at the time of the invention it would have been obvious to have a pressure higher than the yield stress because it lowers the temperature required to join the components and it accelerates the discharge of the burrs (see English computer translation). This would help cut down on production time.
Regarding claim 5, Cao does not specifically disclose that the tensile strength of the galvanized steel sheets prior to the second step is 340 MPa or more. However, Fujii does disclose using a JIS-S45C steel. This steel has a tensile strength above 340 MPa and would be before the second step of the limitation. Carbon steels with a tensile strength above 340 MPa are known in the art and it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the invention to select a known steel with a tensile strength suitable for the final product.
Regarding claim 8, Fujii discloses that the desired joining temperature can be set to be equal to or higher than 560°C and equal to or lower than 907°C based on the pressure being applied (figure 3, see computer English translation).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 5, 8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/ERIN B SAAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735