DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
3. In the applicant’s reply of 27 August 2026, the claims were amended. The amendments raise new issues under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and 112(d), which are addressed in the rejections below.
4. In view of the amendment to claim 1, which now recites a controller comprising a processor and a memory storing executable instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the molding assistance device to function as the recited sections, the sections recited in claim 1 are no longer being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant’s arguments filed 27 August 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
6. The applicant argues on Pg. 7 that Kozuka relies on “static standard material values” and lacks features for selecting specific resin items, inputting physical property values across varying temperatures, converting or interpolating those values, or executing real-time data conversion processing. This argument is directed to Kozuka individually, whereas the rejection is based on the combination of Kozuka, Kamiguchi, Kuehne, and Kozuka 2. In response to applicant’s arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). The rejection does not rely on Kozuka for the temperature-dependent property data or for its conversion. Those are taught by Kamiguchi and Kuehne, as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 below. Further, claim 1 does not recite that the data conversion processing is performed in “real time”. See MPEP 2145(VI).
7. The applicant argues on Pg. 9 that Kozuka and Kamiguchi “merely retrieve pre-stored, static values from database tables” and do not construct function expressions from input temperature-property pairs. The applicant also argues that Kuehne’s curve fitting is performed offline and does not teach integrating it within a molding assistance controller to “dynamically create and evaluate” function expressions for a calculation unit estimating a molten state. This argument is not persuasive for three reasons.
8. First, the characterization of Kamiguchi is incorrect. Kamiguchi’s controller collects data at a plurality of resin temperatures and obtains, by the method of least squares, a function representing the correlation among the resin temperature, the injection velocity, and the injection pressure (Kamiguchi, [0060], [0102], [0108]).
9. Second, the rejection relies on the combination. As amended, claim 1 recites the sections as functions of a controller executing stored instructions, so the physical property value conversion section is part of the controller. The rejection modifies Kozuka so that the support program Ps stored in the internal memory 21m of the molding machine controller 21 performs Kuehne’s fitting. It also explains why performing the fitting in the controller, rather than as a separate pre-processing step, would have been obvious in view of Kamiguchi. See the rejection of claim 1 below.
10. Third, claim 1 does not require that the function expression be created or evaluated “dynamically”. It requires that the physical property value conversion section create the function expression and obtain the physical property value by using it. See MPEP 2145(VI).
11. The applicant argues on Pg. 9 that neither Kozuka nor Kamiguchi discloses a detail data input screen that combines a resin item selection section and a physical property value input section, and that Kuehne lacks a user interface integrated into a molding assistance device. This argument is also directed to the references individually. In the combination, the input screen that Kozuka displays on the display 5 for the basic data input unit Fi (Kozuka, [0048]) is the screen on which the resin and the physical property are selected and on which the resin temperatures and corresponding physical property values are input. Kuehne shows that this kind of material property data is entered through an application screen (Kuehne, page 2).
12. The applicant further argues on Pg. 9 that the references do not teach registering the created function expression for use by the molten state calculation. This limitation was added by the amendment and is addressed by the new ground of rejection, which relies on Kozuka 2 for registering the function expression. See the rejection of claim 1 below.
13. The applicant argues that claims 3-11 are allowable based on their dependence from claim 1. This argument is not persuasive for the reasons given above with respect to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
16. Claims 1 and 3-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant) regards as the invention.
17. Claim 1 recites the limitations “the physical property value” and “the resin temperature” in the physical property value conversion section limitation. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. Before the amendment filed 27 August 2026, the physical property value conversion section was recited as obtaining “a physical property value corresponding to any resin temperature,” which provided antecedent basis for these limitations. That recitation has been deleted. The only resin temperatures recited earlier in the claim are the plurality of different resin temperatures input through the physical property value input section, and the only physical property values are those corresponding to the respective resin temperatures. It is therefore unclear whether the physical property value conversion section is required to obtain a physical property value for a resin temperature other than the input resin temperatures, such as the resin temperature at the time of the estimation recited later in the claim, or only a physical property value corresponding to one of the input resin temperatures. For purposes of examination, claim 1 is being interpreted as reciting “obtain a physical property value corresponding to any resin temperature by using the function expression or corrected function expression” instead.
18. Claims 3-11 are rejected based on their dependency from claim 1.
21. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
22. Claim 3 recites that the physical property value conversion section has a function of performing conversion by using a function expression obtained from physical property values corresponding to the plurality of different resin temperatures or a corrected function expression obtained by correcting the function expression. Claim 1, as amended, already requires that the physical property value conversion section create a function expression or corrected function expression based on the plurality of different resin temperatures and the physical property values corresponding to the respective resin temperatures, and obtain the physical property value by using the function expression or corrected function expression.
23. Claim 3 is understood to refer to the same function expression and corrected function expression, and a corrected function expression is necessarily one obtained by correcting a function expression. Claim 3 therefore does not further limit claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Interpretation
24. Claim 4 recites that the physical property value conversion section has a function of performing conversion by using a data table obtained from physical property values corresponding to the plurality of different resin temperatures or a corrected data table obtained by correcting the data table. Claim 1, from which claim 4 depends, requires that the physical property value conversion section create a function expression or corrected function expression and obtain the physical property value by using the function expression or corrected function expression. The specification describes conversion by a function expression and conversion by a data table as alternatives (see [0012], [0051], [0084]).
25. Accordingly, the recitation in claim 4 that the physical property value conversion section “has a function of” performing conversion by using a data table is interpreted as an additional capability of the physical property value conversion section that can be used as an alternative to conversion by the function expression or corrected function expression, not as a requirement that both conversions be used at the same time. This interpretation is consistent with claim 1 being directed to an apparatus, in which the recited sections are functions performed by a controller executing instructions stored in a memory.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
27. Claims 1 and 3-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2019/188998 (“Kozuka”) (cited in an IDS) (with US 2021/0001528 as the translation) in view of US 2002/0153630 (“Kamiguchi”) (cited in an IDS), Kuehne, S. “How to get material raw data into the Autodesk Simulation Moldflow Software?”. Beyond Moldflow Insight: The Autodesk Moldflow Support Blog. 13 March 2014. 11 October 2018. http://autodesk.typepad.com/beyondmoldflowinsight/2014/03/how-to-get-material-raw-data-into-the-autodesk-moldflow-software.html. Internet Archive. https://web.archive.org/web/20181011193733/http://autodesk.typepad.com/beyondmoldflowinsight/2014/03/how-to-get-material-raw-data-into-the-autodesk-moldflow-software.html (“Kuehne”), and US 2020/0055224 (“Kozuka 2”).
28. Citations to Kozuka below are to paragraph numbers of US 2021/0001528. Citations to Kuehne below are to page numbers of the Internet Archive copy of record.
29. Regarding claim 1, modified Kozuka discloses the following.
30. A molding assistance device for an injection molding machine comprising:
31. Kozuka, [0001]: “The present invention relates to a molding support device for an injection molding machine that is preferably used to provide molding support to an injection molding machine that injects plasticized molten resin with a screw into a metal mold to fill the mold with the resin to perform a molding operation.”
32. a controller comprising a processor and a memory coupled to the processor, the memory storing executable instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the molding assistance device to function as:
33. Kozuka, [0044]: “the reference numeral 21 denotes a molding machine controller performing overall control of the injection molding machine M. The molding machine controller 21 includes a controller body 22 having computer functions, including hardware such as CPU and an accompanying internal memory 21m.”
34. Kozuka, [0047]: “The molding support device 1 according to this embodiment is configured to include the controller body 22 and the display 5 constituting the above-described molding machine controller 21. Thus, the internal memory 21m of the controller body 22 stores therein a support program Ps by means of an application program to allow the molding support device 1 to function.”
35. Kozuka, [0088]: “This molding support method is carried out by the support program Ps stored in the internal memory 21m.”
36. Element mapping: controller (molding machine controller 21), processor (CPU of the controller body 22), memory (internal memory 21m), executable instructions (support program Ps). The function units of the molding support device 1 addressed below, such as the basic data input unit Fi, the calculation processing function unit Fc, and the output processing function unit Fd, are functions that the support program Ps causes the controller body 22 to perform.
37. a resin data setting section in which resin data relating to resin are set;
38. Kozuka, [0048]: “As shown in FIG. 1, the molding support device 1 includes the basic data input unit Fi to input the basic data Do including the molding conditions data Dm related to at least molding conditions and the screw data Ds related to the form of the screw 3.”
39. Kozuka, [0049]: the molding conditions data Dm includes “a plurality of pieces of data related to the molding conditions (e.g., data related to the type of resin material to be used). Data related to the resin material types includes the various properties of each resin material (e.g., melting characteristics).”
40. a molding machine data setting section in which molding machine data relating to a molding machine are set;
41. Kozuka, [0050]: “The screw data Ds includes various pieces of data related to the form of the screw 3 (specifically, a screw outer diameter, a screw flight width, … a screw lead, a flight coefficient and a screw flight torsion angle)”.
42. The screw 3 is a component of the injection molding machine M, so the screw data Ds, input through the basic data input unit Fi ([0048]), is molding machine data.
43. a molding condition data setting section in which molding condition data relating to molding conditions are set;
44. Kozuka, [0049]: “The molding conditions data Dm includes various pieces of data related to molding conditions for the molding operation by the injection molding machine M (specifically, basic data related to various physical quantities such as a melt flow rate, a screw rotation number, a measuring time, a backpressure, a measuring position, a front part temperature, a middle part temperature, a rear part 1 temperature, a rear part 2 temperature, or a cycle time)”.
45. a calculation processing functional section which estimates a molten state of plasticized resin on the basis of the resin data, the molding machine data, and the molding condition data;
46. Kozuka, [0071]: “This calculation processing function unit Fc includes the solid phase rate calculation processing unit Fcp that uses calculation processing based on the basic data Do and the solid phase rate calculation formula data Dc to calculate the solid phase rate Xc of the molten resin at the measurement completion (i.e., the estimated solid phase rate [Xcs]); and the decomposition rate calculation processing unit [Fcr] that uses calculation processing based on the basic data Do and the decomposition rate calculation formula data Dr to calculate the resin decomposition rate Xr of molten resin (i.e., the estimated resin decomposition rate Xrs).”
47. Kozuka, [0078]: “the estimated solid phase rate Xcs is an indicator showing the molten state of the molten resin.”
48. The basic data Do includes the molding conditions data Dm, which contains the resin data, and the screw data Ds ([0048]-[0050]).
49. an output processing functional section which visually displays on a display the molten state estimated by the calculation processing functional section;
50. Kozuka, [0076]: “As shown in FIG. 1, the molding support device 1 includes the output processing function unit Fd.”
51. Kozuka, [0078]: “The first display function as a base can have a display processing function to allow the display 5 to display the information related to the estimated solid phase rate Xcs. As described above, the estimated solid phase rate Xcs is an indicator showing the molten state of the molten resin. Thus, although not shown, it is possible to provide the numerical display of the solid phase rate Xc and the graphic display of the solid phase rate Xc by a bar graph, for example.”
52. a resin item selection section for selecting an item relating to a type of resin and an item relating to a predetermined physical property of the resin from the resin data set in the resin data setting section;
53. Kozuka, [0048]: “the display 5 displays an input screen (not shown). Thus, a required value can be inputted or selected, for example, through the touch panel [5t].”
54. Kozuka thus discloses selecting, through the input screen, data related to the type of resin material to be used ([0048]-[0049]).
55. Kozuka does not expressly disclose selecting an item relating to a predetermined physical property of the resin, a physical property value input section for inputting a plurality of different resin temperatures relating to the selected resin and physical property values corresponding to the respective resin temperatures, a physical property value conversion section configured to create a function expression based on those values and obtain the physical property value by using the function expression, or a data conversion processing functional section that provides that value to the calculation processing functional section when the molten state is estimated. Kozuka discloses that the resin data includes various properties of each resin material ([0049]), but does not disclose property values for different resin temperatures, a function expression created from such values, or use by the calculation processing function unit Fc of the property value for the resin temperature at the time of the estimation.
56. Kamiguchi, which is directed to evaluating resin characteristics using an injection molding machine and is therefore in the same field of endeavor as Kozuka (abstract), teaches that resin behavior during injection depends on resin temperature and that this dependence should be accounted for.
57. Kamiguchi, [0005]: “However, in the case where the temperature of the resin varies greatly, there is a possibility of causing a defective molding by an excessive correction of the injection velocity … In order to expand an applicability of this control, it is necessary to clarify the resin pressure characteristics with respect to the velocity dependency factor and the temperature dependency factor and to take the temperature dependence factor into consideration.”
58. Kamiguchi, [0012]: “a resin evaluation method for an injection molding machine comprises the steps of performing a predetermined times of injections on condition of a resin temperature automatically altered successively, and an injection velocity automatically altered successively on each condition of the resin temperature, detecting an injection pressure in each of the injections, obtaining data of the injection pressure, the injection velocity and the resin temperature in each of the injections, and automatically obtaining an interdependency relation of the resin pressure with respect to the resin temperature and the injection velocity or flow rate of resin based on combinations of the data of the injection pressure, the injection velocity and the resin temperature in the injections.”
59. Kamiguchi further teaches that the controller of the injection molding machine itself creates the temperature-dependent relation function from the collected data.
60. Kamiguchi, [0102]: “In the following second and third embodiments, both of the collection of data and the data analysis are carried out by the controller of the injection molding machine.”
61. Kamiguchi, [0108]: “An analysis for evaluation of resin is performed based on the data in the data table Tb-2 in Step B19. In the case where the analysis is to be performed using the injection velocity, the simultaneous equations (11)-(13) are solved based on the combinations (Pr, V, TC) of the N number of values of the injection pressure (resin pressure), values of the injection velocity, values of the resin temperature (cylinder temperature) … Also, the interdependent relationship function expressed by the equation (7) representing correlation among the resin temperature, the injection velocity and the injection pressure (resin pressure) is obtained”.
62. Equations (11)-(13) are obtained “According to method of least squares” (Kamiguchi, [0060]). Kamiguchi’s controller therefore fits a function to data collected at a plurality of resin temperatures.
63. Kuehne is directed to preparing raw property data of plastic materials for use in molding simulation software (pages 1-2). It is therefore reasonably pertinent to the problem the inventor faced, namely obtaining physical property values of resin for calculations relating to the molten resin.
64. Kuehne, page 1: “Two things need to be done: 1st. the raw data need to be fitted 2nd. the fitted data need to be added into a binary *.udb file.”
65. Kuehne, page 2: the data fitting program allows for “Input and plotting of tabular Specific Heat and Thermal Conductivity data”, “Input of raw Viscosity data to be fitted to the Cross/WLF model”, “Input of raw pvT data to be fitted to the 2-Domain Tait model”, and “Exporting of the data in *.21000.udb format for direct use in Autodesk Simulation Moldflow Software”.
66. The references to “plotting”, “tabular” data, and “fitting” indicate that multiple values are input for each property. Fitting raw data to a model such as the Cross/WLF model or the 2-Domain Tait model produces a function expression from which a value of the property can be obtained at conditions, including temperatures, other than those at which the raw data were measured.
67. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kozuka so that the resin data set through the basic data input unit Fi includes, for the selected resin and a selected physical property such as viscosity or specific heat, physical property values input for a plurality of different resin temperatures. Kamiguchi teaches that resin behavior depends on resin temperature and that the temperature dependence should be taken into consideration ([0005], [0012]), and Kuehne teaches inputting raw property data of a material, such as tabular specific heat and thermal conductivity data and raw viscosity data (page 2). It would further have been obvious to have configured the support program Ps of Kozuka to fit the input values to a function expression, as taught by Kuehne (pages 1-2), and to obtain from the function expression the physical property value for any resin temperature, including the resin temperature at the time of the estimation, for use by the calculation processing function unit Fc. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that fitting eliminates the need to generate and provide data for every expected resin temperature. There is no reason to use property values for other resin temperatures when values for the expected temperature are available, and Fc calculates the solid phase rate Xc and the resin decomposition rate Xr from the basic data Do, which includes the resin data ([0048]-[0049], [0071]).
68. Performing the fitting in the molding machine controller 21 of Kozuka, rather than as a separate pre-processing step, would also have been obvious. Kamiguchi shows that the controller of an injection molding machine can itself obtain a temperature-dependent relation function from data collected at a plurality of resin temperatures ([0102], [0108]). Doing so allows data entered at the molding machine to be used directly in the calculations of the calculation processing function unit Fc. This is the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(D).
69. Kozuka as modified in this manner is referred to below as “modified Kozuka”.
70. a physical property value input section for inputting a plurality of different resin temperatures relating to the selected resin and physical property values corresponding to the respective resin temperatures;
71. In modified Kozuka, the plurality of different resin temperatures relating to the selected resin, and the physical property values corresponding to them, are input through the basic data input unit Fi using the touch panel 5t (Kozuka, [0048]), as set forth above. Kuehne, page 2: the program allows for “Input and plotting of tabular Specific Heat and Thermal Conductivity data” and “Input of raw Viscosity data to be fitted to the Cross/WLF model”.
72. a physical property value conversion section configured to create a function expression or corrected function expression based on the plurality of different resin temperatures and the physical property values corresponding to the respective resin temperatures and obtain the physical property value corresponding to the resin temperature by using the function expression or corrected function expression; and
73. In modified Kozuka, the support program Ps creates a function expression by fitting the input resin temperatures and corresponding physical property values, and obtains the physical property value corresponding to any resin temperature by using the function expression, as set forth above. Kuehne, page 1: “the raw data need to be fitted”. Kamiguchi, [0108]: “the interdependent relationship function expressed by the equation (7) representing correlation among the resin temperature, the injection velocity and the injection pressure (resin pressure) is obtained”. This is consistent with the interpretation of this limitation set forth in the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) above.
74. a data conversion processing functional section which operates, when the molten state is estimated, so as to provide to the calculation processing functional section a resin temperature at the time of the estimation and the physical property value corresponding to the resin temperature and obtained by the physical property value conversion section,
75. Kozuka, [0049]: the molding conditions data Dm includes “a front part temperature, a middle part temperature, a rear part 1 temperature, a rear part 2 temperature”.
76. In modified Kozuka, when the calculation processing function unit Fc performs the estimation, the support program Ps provides to Fc the resin temperature applicable to the estimation, such as a heating cylinder temperature set in the molding conditions data Dm, together with the physical property value obtained for that temperature from the function expression, as set forth above. The claim recites the sections as functions that the controller performs by executing the stored instructions. It does not require that each function be implemented as a separately identified software module.
77. wherein the data conversion processing functional section displays on a display a detail data input screen having the resin item selection section and the physical property value input section, and
78. Kozuka, [0048]: “This basic data input unit Fi [can] use the touch panel [5t] provided on the display 5. In this case, the display 5 displays an input screen (not shown). Thus, a required value can be inputted or selected, for example, through the touch panel [5t].”
79. Kuehne, page 2: “The Data Fitting software is a web enabled application.” The program allows for “Input of material General Information and Processing Conditions” and “Input and plotting of tabular Specific Heat and Thermal Conductivity data”.
80. In modified Kozuka, the input screen displayed on the display 5 for the basic data input unit Fi is the screen on which the resin and the physical property are selected and on which the resin temperatures and corresponding physical property values are input, as set forth above.
81. registers the function expression or corrected function expression created by the physical property value conversion section for use in estimating the molten state.
82. Kuehne teaches adding the fitted data to a database file for direct use in simulation software (pages 1-2). Kozuka sets calculation formula data in the internal memory 21m for use by the calculation processing function unit Fc ([0051]). However, modified Kozuka does not expressly disclose registering the function expression created by the physical property value conversion section for use in estimating the molten state.
83. Kozuka 2 shares an inventor and assignee with Kozuka and is directed to a device for assisting the setting of molding conditions of an injection molding machine. It is therefore in the same field of endeavor as Kozuka (Kozuka 2, [0001], [0042]). Kozuka 2 teaches registering a computation formula that relates a resin property to temperature in a database of the molding machine controller, for use by a function unit of the controller.
84. Kozuka 2, [0042]: “In the molding machine controller 21, the device 1 for assisting the molding condition setting according to the present embodiment is included.”
85. Kozuka 2, [0054]: “Hence, in the database 3, a data table and / or a computation formula can be included. Thus, in the database 3, the computation formula of formula (2) and data of FIGS. 4 to 6 may be registered or the oxidation induction times Tg calculated by the computation formula of formula (2) may be registered as the data table.”
86. Kozuka 2, [0055]: “three items of the resin R which is used, the heating temperature TH which is set and the surface material Mf of the screw 4 are provided to the database 3, and thus it is possible to obtain the oxidation induction time Tg corresponding to these three items from a function computation or the data table.”
87. The oxidation induction time Tg is a property of the resin that depends on the heating temperature TH, and formula (2) is a computation formula from which Tg is calculated for the heating temperature ([0052]).
88. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have configured modified Kozuka to register the function expression created by fitting in the internal memory 21m, for use by the calculation processing function unit Fc in estimating the molten state, as taught by Kozuka 2. Kozuka 2 teaches registering a computation formula relating a resin property to temperature in a database of a molding machine controller, so that a function unit of the controller can obtain the property value for a set temperature by function computation ([0042], [0054]-[0055]). Registering the created expression allows it to be used each time the molten state is estimated without repeating the input and fitting. That is consistent with Kozuka’s own practice of setting calculation formula data in the internal memory 21m for use by Fc ([0051]), and with Kuehne’s addition of fitted data to a database for direct use in simulation (page 1). This is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
89. Regarding claim 3, modified Kozuka discloses the following.
90. wherein the physical property value conversion section has a function of performing conversion by using a function expression obtained from physical property values corresponding to the plurality of different resin temperatures or a corrected function expression obtained by correcting the function expression.
91. Please see the rejection of claim 1 above. In modified Kozuka, the support program Ps performs conversion by using the function expression created by fitting the physical property values corresponding to the plurality of different resin temperatures.
92. Regarding claim 4, modified Kozuka discloses the following.
93. wherein the physical property value conversion section has a function of performing conversion by using a data table obtained from physical property values corresponding to the plurality of different resin temperatures or a corrected data table obtained by correcting the data table.
94. Kozuka 2, [0054]: “the oxidation induction times Tg indicating the deteriorations of the individual resins R based on the combinations of the different types of resins R, the different types of heating temperatures TH and the different types of surface materials Mf are set. … Hence, in the database 3, a data table and / or a computation formula can be included.”
95. Kozuka 2, [0055]: “it is possible to obtain the oxidation induction time Tg corresponding to these three items from a function computation or the data table.”
96. Kozuka 2, [0019]: “the data table and / or the computation formula is included in the database 3, and thus it is possible to determine the appropriate oxidation induction time Tg which is suitable for the type and grade of injection molding machine M, details of the data or the like.”
97. Kuehne, page 2: the program allows for “Input and plotting of tabular Specific Heat and Thermal Conductivity data”.
98. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further configured modified Kozuka so that conversion can alternatively be performed by using a data table of the physical property values corresponding to the plurality of different resin temperatures, as taught by Kozuka 2. Kozuka 2 teaches that a database relating a resin property to heating temperature can include a data table and/or a computation formula, with the property value obtained from either ([0054]-[0055]), and that doing so allows a value suited to the machine and to the details of the data to be determined ([0019]). This is the use of a known technique to improve a similar device in the same way. See MPEP 2143(I)(C). Consistent with the interpretation set forth in the Claim Interpretation section above, the data table conversion is an additional capability usable as an alternative to conversion by the function expression.
99. Regarding claim 5, modified Kozuka discloses the following.
100. wherein, when the data conversion processing functional section is not used, the calculation processing functional section uses a standard value set beforehand as the physical property value.
101. Kozuka, [0049]: “Data related to the resin material types includes the various properties of each resin material (e.g., melting characteristics).”
102. Kozuka, [0103]: “the reference numeral Cm denotes a melting specific heat capacity (resin specific heat capacity).”
103. Kuehne, page 2: the program allows for “Input of raw pvT data to be fitted to the 2-Domain Tait model, or automatic substitution of generic pvT data” and “Input of raw Mechanical Properties or automatic substitution of generic mechanical data”.
104. Unmodified Kozuka uses a single property value for each resin material, set beforehand as part of the resin data, in the calculations of the calculation processing function unit Fc ([0049], [0103]). That value corresponds to the claimed standard value. Kuehne describes a single system that, for a given property, either accepts raw property data to be fitted or automatically substitutes generic property data (page 2).
105. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have configured the calculation processing function unit Fc of modified Kozuka to use the standard value set beforehand when the data conversion processing is not used, as taught by Kuehne. Doing so retains a usable default property value when temperature-dependent data is not provided, while the converted value is used when such data is available. This is the use of a known technique to improve a similar device in the same way. See MPEP 2143(I)(C).
106. Regarding claims 6 and 8, modified Kozuka discloses the following.
107. wherein the calculation processing functional section has a function of estimating, as the molten state of plasticized resin, a solid phase rate of molten resin in a heating cylinder on the basis of the resin data, the molding machine data, and the molding condition data.
108. Kozuka, [0051]: “The solid phase rate calculation formula data Dc is data related to a calculation formula to calculate the solid phase rate Xc of the molten resin in the heating cylinder 4 based on the above described basic data Do.”
109. Please also see the rejection of claim 1 above regarding [0071] of Kozuka.
110. Regarding claims 7 and 9, modified Kozuka discloses the following.
111. wherein the calculation processing functional section has a function of estimating, as the molten state of plasticized resin, a resin decomposition rate of a screw surface during molding on the basis of the resin data, the molding machine data, and the molding condition data.
112. Kozuka, [0051]: “The decomposition rate calculation formula data Dr is data related to a calculation formula to calculate the resin decomposition rate Xr of the screw surface 3f during a molding operation based on the above described basic data Do.”
113. Please also see the rejection of claim 1 above regarding [0071] of Kozuka.
114. Regarding claim 10, modified Kozuka discloses the following.
115. wherein the calculation processing functional section is configured to use a standard value for the physical property when the data conversion processing functional section is not used, and to use the converted physical property value obtained by the physical property value conversion section when the data conversion processing functional section is activated.
116. Please see the rejections of claims 1 and 5 above.
117. Regarding claim 11, modified Kozuka discloses the following.
118. wherein the data conversion processing functional section interconnects the physical property value conversion section and the calculation processing functional section, and is configured to dynamically supply the physical property value extracted from the physical property value conversion section to the calculation processing functional section in response to a current resin temperature acquired at the time of the estimation.
119. Please see the rejection of claim 1 above. In modified Kozuka, the data conversion processing operates between the conversion by the function expression and the calculation processing function unit Fc, and so interconnects them. When the molten state is estimated, it provides to Fc the physical property value obtained from the function expression for the resin temperature applicable to that estimation. Modified Kozuka therefore supplies the physical property value in response to a current resin temperature acquired at the time of the estimation.
Conclusion
120. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Specifically, US 5,256,345 (“Yokota”) discloses an injection molder in which a PVT arithmetic unit establishes a PVT property relation formula for a plasticized resin from specific volume values obtained at a plurality of molten resin temperature values (col. 8, line 47 - col. 9, line 31), and then uses the established formula to calculate a screw travel distance for a detected or preset molten resin temperature during injection control (col. 13, lines 1 - 52).
/John J. DeRusso/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1744