DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group II, claims 9-14 in the reply filed on 7/29/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground that claims 1-8 have been amended to depend from claim 9 making the process claims and product claims interlinked. This is not found persuasive because the elected claims are drawn to a process for obtaining tantalum nanoparticles while Group I, is drawn to a tantalum nanoparticle preparation. The amendment to claim 1 can be interpreted as a product-by-process limitation.
Product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP 2113 [R-1]. Accordingly, the search for a process and product are not equivalent and a search burden exists.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 1-8 and 15-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 7/29/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 2/16/2024 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. No copies of the six foreign documents were filed with the IDS. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: amend “steam mill and jet” to “steam mill, and jet”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 9, 10, and 12 recite the following limitations all with insufficient antecedent basis:
Claim 9: “the comminution conditions” in line 5
Claim 9: “the milling chamber” in line 11
Claim 9: “the mill rotation speed” in line 11
Claim 9: “the air classifier rotation” in lines 15 and 18 (also unclear if these two air classifiers rotations are the same or different)
Claim 9: “the compressed steam pressure” in line 16
Claim 9: “the compressed air pressure” in line 19
Claim 9: “the desired particle granulometric profile” in line 21
Claim 10: “the pH” in line 3
Claim 10: “the polar liquid medium” in line 3
Claim 12: “the agitated media type” in line 2
Claim 12: “said spheres” in line 2
Claim 12 recites the limitation “the agitated media type.” The addition of the word “type” extends the scope of the claims so as to render them indefinite since it is unclear what “type” is intended to convey. The addition of the word “type” to the otherwise definite expression renders the definite expression indefinite by extending its scope. Ex parte Copenhaver, 109 USPQ 118 (Bd. App. 1955).
Regarding dependent claims 10-14, these claims do not remedy the deficiencies of parent claim 9 noted above, and are rejected for the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferreira et al. (WO 2022/036427 A1, hereinafter “Ferreira”) as evidenced by “The similarities and differences between tantalum and niobium,” Standford Advanced Materials 2026 (hereinafter “NPL article”).
US2023/0357042 A1 is an English language equivalent of WO 2022/036427 A1 and all citations in this action refers to the US publication.
Additionally, it is noted that WO 2022/036427A1 has a publication date of 02/24/2022, which falls between the claimed foreign priority date and PCT filing date of the present invention, however, WO 2022/036427 A1 has an effective filing date of 08/17/2020, which is prior to the foreign filing date and outside the one year grace period of the present invention and is therefore considered prior art. Moreover, WO 2022/036427 A1 names inventors other than those listed in the present invention and have a different assignee.
Regarding claim 9, Ferreira teaches a process for obtaining niobium nanoparticles comprising feeding niobium particles to a comminution equipment selected from high-energy mill and steam-mill and adjusting the comminution conditions by in a high-energy mill: to suspend particles to be comminuted in a liquid, in a concentration between 1 and 90% m/m, and stabilize the suspension until obtaining a stable colloidal suspension, and to place said suspension and grinding balls with a selected diameter between 5 μm and 1.3 mm in the grinding chamber, adjusting the mill rotation speed between 500 and 4500 rpm, and grinding the particles at a temperature below 60° C or in a jet mill with superheated fluid or steam mill, feeding particles smaller than 40 micrometers; adjust the speed of the air classifier between 1,000 and 25,000 rpm; adjust the compressed steam pressure between 10 and 100 bar and temperature between 230 and 360° C and comminuting the particles until obtaining the desired granulometric profile (Ferreira, [0094-0101]).
While Ferreira does not explicitly disclose using tantalum particles in the comminution equipment, it is generally known in the art that tantalum and niobium are elements that share many similar properties as evidenced by NPL article (NPL article, pg. 1). NPL article teaches that niobium and tantalum both belong to Group 5 of the periodic table and their atomic sizes are similar resulting in both elements exhibiting significant similarities in chemical properties, including both quickly forming a dense oxide layer on the surface, high chemical stability, and high metal electrode potentials (NPL article, pg. 2).
Based on the similar properties of niobium and tantalum and both elements belonging in Group 5 of the periodic table, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the process of Ferreira would also work with a tantalum particle starting material rather than the disclosed niobium particle starting material.
Therefore, the process of Ferreira as evidenced by NPL article corresponds to the method of claim 9.
Regarding claim 10, Ferreira further teaches the stabilization of the colloidal suspension to be placed in the grinding chamber of the high-energy mill is selected from: adjusting the pH of the polar liquid medium to the range between 2 and 13, and optionally adding surfactants; or the addition of surfactants in a non-polar liquid medium (Ferreira, [0102]) and corresponds to the requirements of claim 10.
Regarding claim 11, Ferreira teaches operating the pH in the mill includes controlling the pH to 6-10 (Ferreira, [0107]) and is the same range as claim 11.
Regarding claim 12, Ferreira teaches the high-energy mill is of the agitated medium type and said spheres are selected from: zirconia, silicon carbide, alumina, said spheres optionally being stabilized with Yttria or Niobium pentoxide, or combinations thereof (Ferreira, [0106]), which falls within the options of claim 12.
Regarding claim 13, Ferreira teaches further comprising a pre-comminution step of the Niobium particles before the feeding step to the comminution equipment, said pre-comminution being conducted until reaching a mean particle size between 1 and 40 micrometers (Ferreira, [0103]) and corresponds to the pre-comminution step of claim 13.
Regarding claim 14, Ferreira teaches wherein said pre-comminution is performed in a ball mill, disk mill, high-energy mill, or a jet mill (Ferreira, [0104-0105]) and corresponds to the options of claim 14.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US 2012/0107224 A1 teaches a method to reduce a niobium oxide in which the method can also be used on a tantalum oxide and includes reducing the size of the niobium powder by milling in a jet miller.
/DANIELLE M. CARDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1738