DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because, in Figures 5a-9b, they are not executed in durable, black, sufficiently dense and dark, uniformly thick and well-defined, lines and strokes without colorings, which makes the features difficult to discern. See PCT rule 11.13(a).
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, lines 9 and 11: “the width” should read –a width—
Claim 1, lines 9-10: “provided to be located” should read –provided—or –located--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3, and 7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The terms “heavy-stretch”, “high-elasticity”, and “high-density” in claim 1 are relative terms which render the claim indefinite. These terms are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is wholly unclear what level of elasticity or stretch a material would need to exhibit to be considered “heavy-stretch” or as having “high-elasticity.” Further, it is unclear what density level a foam material would need to exhibit in order to be considered “high-density.” There also does not appear to be any clear consensus in the art as to the ranges these terms seem to describe.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marshall (US 20140128788, as cited on previous 892), in view of Simmons (JP 2007500586 A), hereinafter referred to as Marshall and Simmons, respectively.
Regarding claim 1:
Marshall discloses an equine riding aid apparatus (support 49, Fig 10; Intended use in the preamble - MPEP 2111.02(II) – capable of supporting the lower limb of an equine rider, to allow stability during riding, thereby being an equine riding aid apparatus; all structural limitations met), said apparatus including:
an elongate body portion (first band 51, with elasticated portion 50, Fig 10) formed from a heavy-stretch, high elasticity material (¶0065 – “elasticated portion 50”, reasonably considered as heavy-stretch and high elasticity, as best understood given the 112(b)s above, and given ¶0055 and ¶0066-0067 which remarks on stretchability of the elasticated portion), having first and second opposing ends (see ends coupled by fastening means 58 in Fig 10);
complementary connection means located at or associated with each of said first and second opposing ends to connect said first and second opposing ends together via the connection means, in use (releasable fastening means 58, Fig 10; ¶0066);
only two inserts (pads 56, Fig 10), located intermediate the first and second opposing ends and extending across a width of the body portion (see Fig 10), said inserts provided as cylindrical inserts of a material that will mold to the shape of the skin surface, like medical grade silicone resin (see Fig 10 for shape; ¶0055).
The mapped embodiment of Marshall fails to specifically disclose wherein said complementary connection means are provided as a set of hook and loop fasteners, located at each of said first and second opposing ends of the elongate body portion, a first “hook” portion provided to be located at the first end of the body and across the width of the body; and a second “loop” portion provided to be located at the second end of the body on a reverse face of the body portion, and across the width of the body portion.
Further, Marshall fails to specifically disclose that the apparatus includes only two pockets located within the elongate body portion, intermediate the first and second opposing ends and extending across a width of the body portion, and that the two inserts are each received respectively in each of the two pockets, said inserts provided as high-density foam inserts.
An alternative embodiment of Marshall discloses complementary connection means that are provided as a set of hook and loop fasteners, located at each of said first and second opposing ends of the elongate body portion, a first “hook” portion provided to be located at the first end of the body and across the width of the body; and a second “loop” portion provided to be located at the second end of the body on a reverse face of the body portion, and across the width of the body portion (see Fig 1; ¶0048).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the releasable connection means 58 of the mapped embodiment of Marshall as the hook and loop fasteners, as provided in Fig. 1 of Marshall, the result having a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to make this modification because, as in Marshall, such a releasable fastener arrangement is desirable in facilitating easy adjustability based on the fit preference of the user, while still providing adequate strength of connection (¶0048).
Simmons discloses a limb support brace with a limb-surrounding elongate elastic wrap sleeve (sleeve 12, Fig 2) and joint supporting insert (support 38, Fig 2), and contemplates alternatively fastening the insert(s) to the sleeve with a fastening mechanism, or providing pockets or compartments in the sleeve body for holding the insert (Pg 4, ¶4; Pg 7, ¶6).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided pockets for each of the only two inserts of Marshall, rather than mounting them to the inner side of the body, as suggested by Simmons, the result having a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to make this modification because, as disclosed in Simmons, a pocket ensures that the insert is maintained in its desired place in use, while allowing for removal of the insert and replacement with different supports, as needed, so that the device can be tailored to the need of the user (Pg 4, ¶4). Further, providing the inserts removably in pockets would allow for easy replacement, should the inserts get damaged or deformed, and the pocket could act as an additional layer to prevent dirtying of the inserts by sweat, skin cells, etc.
Simmons further discloses that the supporting insert is made from a high density foam (Pg 4, ¶4).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the inserts of Marshall of a high density foam material, as in Simmons, the result having a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to make this modification as foam is readily available, cheap, and often used in brace applications, further, high density foam allows for sufficient support of the applicant’s anatomy, while still being flexible enough to adapt to the user and move with the user (Pg 4, ¶4). Moreover, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 3
Marshall as modified discloses the limitations of claim 1 above and further discloses wherein two pockets extend substantially across a width of the elongate member, from a first side to a second, opposing side (Given the pads extend substantially across the width, as seen in Fig 10, it would follow that the pockets that hold the pads, added in claim 1 above, would do so as well).
Regarding claim 7:
Marshall as modified discloses the limitations of claim 1 above and further discloses wherein the apparatus is arranged to be wearable by a user around a lower thigh portion of the user, and said two inserts are arranged to locate adjacent an inner thigh of the user, in use (Intended use limitation: capable of being used as such; ¶0060; ¶0049).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/08/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/B.V.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3642
/JOSHUA D HUSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642