DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendments filed on 06/11/2026 are entered for prosecution. Claims 1-7, 10 and 14 remain pending in the application. The amendments change the scopes of the previously presented claims. New grounds of rejections are applied to the amended claims and the current Office Action is made FINAL as necessitated by the claim amendments.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every rejection based on 35 USC § 112 to the claims previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claims 1-7, 10 and 14 in a reply filed 06/11/2026 (hereinafter, Remarks) regarding newly added limitations have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claims 1, 10 and 14:
The broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of “receiving… message requesting registration... as a power demander device.... as a power supplier device” recited in independent claims 1, 10 and 14 includes any message with information to request a link establishment in order to demand or supply power according to the specification “[0161] In step S2105, the first device 2120-1 requests registration for a demander device...the first device 2120-1 transmits a registration request message to the coordinator device 2110. The registration request message may include information on at least one of an identifier of the first device 2120-1, a requested registration type (e.g., demander or supplier), a device type, a power source type (e.g., battery, super capacitor, external power source, etc.), or a power usage pattern (e.g., power required per unit time, etc.); [0162] In step S2107, the coordinator device 2110 completes registration of the first device 2120-1 and then establishes a link. That is, the coordinator device 2110 and the first device 2120-1 perform an association procedure. At this time, multiple links, such as a link for communication and a link for wireless power transmission, may be associated. To this end, a message indicating completion of registration between the coordinator device 2110 and the first device 2120-1 and at least one message for link establishment may be transmitted”.
Therefore, a communication link that has been successfully established between devices in order to demand or supply power (ZEINE – Fig. 2, Fig. 12; [0031] each wireless device 102a-102n can be any system and/or device, and/or any combination of devices/systems that can establish a connection with another device, a server and/or other systems within the example environment 100; [0033] FIG. 2 depicts a sequence diagram 200 illustrating example operations between a wireless power delivery system (e.g., WPTS 101) and a wireless power receiver client (e.g., wireless power receiver client 103) for establishing wireless power delivery in a multipath wireless power delivery, according to an embodiment. Initially, communication is established between the wireless power transmission system 101 and the power receiver client 103; [0053] a client identifier (ID) module 415 stores a client ID that can uniquely identify the wireless power receiver client 400 in a wireless power delivery environment. For example, the ID can be transmitted to one or more wireless power transmission systems when communication is established. In some embodiments, wireless power receiver clients may also be able to receive and identify other wireless power receiver clients in a wireless power delivery environment based on the client ID; [0025] the wireless devices 102a-102n can be any device or system that needs power and is capable of receiving wireless power via one or more integrated wireless power receiver clients 103a-103n (e.g., portable charger). As discussed herein, the one or more integrated wireless power receiver clients receive and process power from one or more wireless power transmission systems 101a-101n and provide the power to the wireless devices 102a-102n (or internal batteries of the wireless devices) for operation thereof) is considered a device successfully receiving a message requesting registration to demand or supply power.
Dependent claims 2-7 have similar claim language, therefore the same interpretation is applied.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 10 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zeine et al. (US 20200220387 A1, hereinafter, ZEINE).
Regarding claim 1, ZEINE discloses:
A method performed by a device (Fig. 4, 6-9, 12 – portable charger; [0068] the portable wireless charger 610 includes an antenna 605, a wireless power receiver client 612, control circuitry 614, a near-field transmitter 616. The wireless power receiver client 612 is operable to receive and process directed wireless power transmitted by wireless power transmission system 601 in a multipath wireless power delivery environment 600... The wireless power receiver client 612 can be wireless power receiver client 400 of FIG. 4 and the wireless power transmission system 601 can be wireless power transmission system 300 of FIG. 2) in a wireless communication system (Fig. 1; Fig. 6-9, 12), the method comprising:
Receiving (Fig. 12-13; [0029] Although not illustrated, each component of the environment, e.g., wireless device, wireless power transmission system, etc., can include control and synchronization mechanisms, e.g., a data communication synchronization module; [0030] The wireless power receiver clients 102a-102n and/or the wireless power transmission systems 101a-101n are configured to operate in a multipath wireless power delivery environment), from at least one first device (Fig 1; Fig. 6-9, 12 – portable electronic device; [0025] the wireless devices 102a-102n include mobile phone devices and a wireless game controller), a first message requesting registration ([0085] FIG. 12... includes a communication translation module 1210 operable to translate communications...to improve wireless power transfer, to enable pay-to-use, etc... the portable charger 1210 is embodied in a phone case or sleeve... communications can be provided via COTA to, for example, adjust the orientation of the device to achieve better RF wireless power transfer; [0086] Likewise, pay-to-use communications can be provided via COTA to, for example, receive payment or indicate how much time a device is authorized to receive COTA wireless power (hence the device requested to be registered to receive COTA wireless power from the portable charger). This communication can be received by the portable charger 1210 and translated to Qi type communications and presented to the user via an application on the portable electronic device 670; [0053] a client identifier (ID) module 415 stores a client ID that can uniquely identify the wireless power receiver client 400 in a wireless power delivery environment. For example, the ID can be transmitted to one or more wireless power transmission systems when communication is established. In some embodiments, wireless power receiver clients may also be able to receive and identify other wireless power receiver clients in a wireless power delivery environment based on the client ID) of the at least one first device as a power demander device ([0025] the wireless devices 102a-102n can be any device or system that needs power and is capable of receiving wireless power via one or more integrated wireless power receiver clients 103a-103n (e.g., portable charger). As discussed herein, the one or more integrated wireless power receiver clients receive and process power from one or more wireless power transmission systems 101a-101n and provide the power to the wireless devices 102a-102n (or internal batteries of the wireless devices) for operation thereof);
Receiving (Fig. 6-9, 12), from at least one second device (Fig. 6-9, 12; Wireless power transmission system 601), a second message requesting registration of the at least one second device as a power supplier device (Fig. 2 – wireless power delivery to subscribed wireless power receiver(s); [0033] the initial communication can be, for example, a data communication link that is established via one or more antennas 104 of the wireless power transmission system 101... Various information can be exchanged... the wireless power transmission system 101 can send beacon schedule information, e.g., Beacon Beat Schedule (BBS) cycle, power cycle information, etc., so that the wireless power receiver client 103 knows when to transmit (broadcast) its beacon signals and when to listen for power, etc (hence the second device is registered as a power supplier device); [0053] a client identifier (ID) module 415 stores a client ID that can uniquely identify the wireless power receiver client 400 in a wireless power delivery environment. For example, the ID can be transmitted to one or more wireless power transmission systems when communication is established. In some embodiments, wireless power receiver clients may also be able to receive and identify other wireless power receiver clients in a wireless power delivery environment based on the client ID);
performing ([0068] the portable wireless charger 610... is operable to receive and process directed wireless power transmitted by wireless power transmission system 601 in a multipath wireless power delivery environment 600) at least one operation for registering the at least one first device or the at least one second device (Fig. 2 – communication established; [0053] a client identifier (ID) module 415 stores a client ID that can uniquely identify the wireless power receiver client 400 in a wireless power delivery environment. For example, the ID can be transmitted to one or more wireless power transmission systems when communication is established. In some embodiments, wireless power receiver clients may also be able to receive and identify other wireless power receiver clients in a wireless power delivery environment based on the client ID; [0033] the initial communication can be, for example, a data communication link that is established via one or more antennas 104 of the wireless power transmission system 101... Various information can be exchanged... the wireless power transmission system 101 can send beacon schedule information, e.g., Beacon Beat Schedule (BBS) cycle, power cycle information, etc., so that the wireless power receiver client 103 knows when to transmit (broadcast) its beacon signals and when to listen for power, etc; [0034] The wireless power transmission system 101 can also send power transmission scheduling information so that the wireless power receiver client 103 knows when to expect (e.g., a window of time) wireless power from the wireless power transmission system);
receiving (Fig. 2, 12) information related to power from the at least one first device and the at least one second device ([0034] The wireless power transmission system 101 can also send power transmission scheduling information so that the wireless power receiver client 103 knows when to expect (e.g., a window of time) wireless power from the wireless power transmission system; [0085] Communications can be used in various scenarios, e.g., to improve wireless power transfer... communications can be provided via COTA to, for example, adjust the orientation of the device to achieve better RF wireless power transfer. This communication can be received by the portable charger 1210 and translated to Qi type communications and presented to the user via an application on the portable electronic device 670; [0086] Likewise, pay-to-use communications can be provided via COTA to, for example, receive payment or indicate how much time a device is authorized to receive COTA wireless power), wherein the information related to power includes a power source type ([0077] Control circuitry 614 can detect what type of power is being received (or available, e.g., whether the wireless power receiver client and/or the near-field receiver is currently receiving wireless power) and responsively control switch 814 accordingly. That is, the control circuitry 614 can switch between enabling the wireless power receiver client or the near-field receiver; [0075] an energy storage device 712 is provided to supplement and/or otherwise provide the ability to regulate a particular output current, e.g., current iPhone requires a minimum current of ½ Amp to charge the device or the device signals an ‘accessory not supported’ error. Accordingly, in some implementations, a battery or other energy storage apparatus can be utilized to maintain this support; [0086] Likewise, pay-to-use communications can be provided via COTA to, for example, receive payment or indicate how much time a device is authorized to receive COTA wireless power);
performing scheduling for power sharing based on the information related to power including the power source type ([0086]; [0077] a near-field receiver 812 operable to receive nonradiative wireless power from a charging pad 850. Specifically, in some implementations the portable charger 810 can be embodied in a phone sleeve or case. In such implementations, a battery can be built into the sleeve or case that disrupts the reception of nonradiative wireless power (e.g., due to thickness). In such instances, portable wireless charger 810 can include the near-field receiver 812 in order to pass-through non-radiative wireless power from a charging pad or mat 850. Control circuitry 614 can detect what type of power is being received (or available, e.g., whether the wireless power receiver client and/or the near-field receiver is currently receiving wireless power) and responsively control switch 814 accordingly. That is, the control circuitry 614 can switch between enabling the wireless power receiver client or the near-field receiver; [0075] an energy storage device 712 is provided to supplement and/or otherwise provide the ability to regulate a particular output current, e.g., current iPhone requires a minimum current of ½ Amp to charge the device or the device signals an ‘accessory not supported’ error. Accordingly, in some implementations, a battery or other energy storage apparatus can be utilized to maintain this support. The wired power input interface 714 can be used to charge the battery for supplemental purposes or to provide non-radiative charging when the portable charger is not within range of the wireless power transmission system 601. In some implementations, the wired power input interface 714 can be any wired power connection, e.g., USB micro, USB-C, Lightning, barrel connector, etc., including combinations or variations thereof);
receiving power from the at least one second device (Fig. 8 – 601, SW 814 (switch to wireless power rx’er client 612); [0068] the portable wireless charger 610... is operable to receive and process directed wireless power transmitted by wireless power transmission system 601 in a multipath wireless power delivery environment 600... and the wireless power transmission system 601 can be wireless power transmission system 300 of FIG. 2) according to the scheduling ([0077] Control circuitry 614 can detect what type of power is being received (or available, e.g., whether the wireless power receiver client and/or the near-field receiver is currently receiving wireless power) and responsively control switch 814 accordingly. That is, the control circuitry 614 can switch between enabling the wireless power receiver client or the near-field receiver); and
transmitting power to the at least one first device (Fig. 8 – SW 814, near-field tx-er 616, portable electronic device) according to the scheduling for power sharing ([0077] Control circuitry 614 can detect what type of power is being received (or available, e.g., whether the wireless power receiver client and/or the near-field receiver is currently receiving wireless power) and responsively control switch 814 accordingly. That is, the control circuitry 614 can switch between enabling the wireless power receiver client or the near-field receiver; [0078] portable charger 810 receives nonradiative wireless power from a charging pad 850 and provides nonradiative wireless power to portable electronic device 670; [0086] Likewise, pay-to-use communications can be provided via COTA to, for example, receive payment or indicate how much time a device is authorized to receive COTA wireless power (hence transmitting the power sharing to the first device is scheduled until the allotted time)).
Regarding claim 2, ZEINE further discloses:
storing surplus power after transmitting the power ([0075] FIG. 7 includes an optional energy storage device 712 and an optional wired power input interface 714; [0066] the portable wireless charger discussed herein can be embodied in a wireless power charging mat, a phone sleeve, a battery pack (hence leftover/surplus power is stored after transmitting the power), an electronic device docking station (e.g., smartwatch), etc.; [0077] The portable charger 810 can be embodied in a phone sleeve or case. In such implementations, a battery can be built into the sleeve or case that disrupts the reception of nonradiative wireless power (e.g., due to thickness)).
Regarding claim 3, ZEINE further discloses:
wherein the information related to power ([0034] The wireless power transmission system 101 can also send power transmission scheduling information so that the wireless power receiver client 103 knows when to expect (e.g., a window of time) wireless power from the wireless power transmission system; [0085] Communications can be used in various scenarios, e.g., to improve wireless power transfer... communications can be provided via COTA to, for example, adjust the orientation of the device to achieve better RF wireless power transfer. This communication can be received by the portable charger 1210 and translated to Qi type communications and presented to the user via an application on the portable electronic device 670;) further includes at least one of supply power, demand power, or a distance ([0077] Control circuitry 614 can detect what type of power is being received (or available, e.g., whether the wireless power receiver client (e.g., from 601 WPT) and/or the near-field receiver (e.g., charging pad 850) is currently receiving wireless power); [0075] an energy storage device 712 is provided to supplement and/or otherwise provide the ability to regulate a particular output current, e.g., current iPhone requires a minimum current of ½ Amp to charge the device or the device signals an ‘accessory not supported’ error... The wired power input interface 714 can be used to charge the battery for supplemental purposes or to provide non-radiative charging when the portable charger is not within range of the wireless power transmission system 601; [0054] An optional motion sensor 495 can detect motion and signal the control logic 410 to act accordingly... when a device is used in a moving environment like a car, train or plane, the power might only be transmitted intermittently or at a reduced level unless the device is critically low on power).
Regarding claim 4, ZEINE further discloses:
wherein performing the scheduling ([0086]; [0077] Control circuitry 614 can detect what type of power is being received (or available, e.g., whether the wireless power receiver client and/or the near-field receiver is currently receiving wireless power) and responsively control switch 814 accordingly. That is, the control circuitry 614 can switch between enabling the wireless power receiver client or the near-field receiver; [0075] an energy storage device 712 is provided to supplement and/or otherwise provide the ability to regulate a particular output current, e.g., current iPhone requires a minimum current of ½ Amp to charge the device ... a battery or other energy storage apparatus can be utilized to maintain this support) comprises:
determining (Fig. 3 - Fig. 5B), in a case where the at least one first device comprises a plurality of first devices (Fig. 1 – 102b, 102n), a priority for each of the plurality of first devices based on the power source type of each of the plurality of first devices ([0043] In operation, the MBC, which controls the wireless power transmission system 300... the wireless power transmission system and the proxy antenna elements enter a default “discovery” mode to identify available wireless receiver clients within range of the wireless power transmission system; [0045] the MBC can also identify and/or otherwise select available clients that will have their status queried in the Client Query Table (CQT). Clients that are placed in the CQT are those on “standby”, e.g., not receiving a charge. The BBS (Beacon Beat Schedule) and PS (Power Schedule) are calculated based on vital information about the clients such as, for example, battery status, current activity/usage, how much longer the client has until it runs out of power, priority in terms of usage, etc), a distance from the device performing the method ([0054] An optional motion sensor 495 can detect motion and signal the control logic 410... when a device is used in a moving environment like a car, train or plane, the power might only be transmitted intermittently or at a reduced level unless the device is critically low on power), and an amount of demand power ([0075] In some embodiments, an energy storage device 712 is provided to supplement and/or otherwise provide the ability to regulate a particular output current, e.g., current iPhone requires a minimum current of ½ Amp to charge the device... in some implementations, a battery or other energy storage apparatus can be utilized to maintain this support); and
determining (Fig. 3 - Fig. 5B), in a case where the at least one second device comprises a plurality of second devices (Fig. 8 - 601 WPT, charging pad 850), a priority for each of the plurality of second devices based on the power source type of each of the plurality of second devices ([0077] includes a near-field receiver 812 operable to receive nonradiative wireless power from a charging pad 850.... the portable charger 810 can be embodied in a phone sleeve or case. In such implementations, a battery can be built into the sleeve or case that disrupts the reception of nonradiative wireless power (e.g., due to thickness)... Control circuitry 614 can detect what type of power is being received (or available, e.g., whether the wireless power receiver client and/or the near-field receiver is currently receiving wireless power) and responsively control switch 814 accordingly. That is, the control circuitry 614 can switch between enabling the wireless power receiver client or the near-field receiver (e.g., portable charger prioritizes to receive power from 601 WPT by switching SW814 due to the reception disruption of the charging pad 850)), a distance from the device performing the method ([0054] An optional motion sensor 495 can detect motion and signal the control logic 410... when a device is used in a moving environment like a car, train or plane, the power might only be transmitted intermittently or at a reduced level unless the device is critically low on power), and an amount of supply power ([0075] In some embodiments, an energy storage device 712 is provided to supplement and/or otherwise provide the ability to regulate a particular output current, e.g., current iPhone requires a minimum current of ½ Amp to charge the device... in some implementations, a battery or other energy storage apparatus can be utilized to maintain this support).
Regarding claim 5, ZEINE further discloses:
transmitting a broadcast signal (Fig. 2 – Wireless power receiver, wireless receiver(s) broadcasts the beacon (or calibration) signal; Fig. 12 – portable charger wireless power rx’er client 610; [0037] the beacon (or calibration) signals can be periodically transmitted by wireless power receiver clients 103 within the power delivery environment according to, for example, the BBS, so that the wireless power transmission system 101 can maintain knowledge and/or otherwise track the location of the power receiver clients 103 in the wireless power delivery environment) for triggering a registration request of the first device (Fig 1; Fig. 6-9, 12 – portable electronic device; [0025] the wireless devices 102a-102n include mobile phone devices and a wireless game controller; [0046] Each client starts broadcasting its beacon and receiving power from the array per the BBS and PS. The Proxy AE can concurrently query the Client Query Table to check the status of other available clients... The information collected in the previous step continuously and/or periodically updates the BBS cycle and/or the PS (hence the device transmitting broadcasting signals would trigger the registration request of the first device because the Client Query Table information and the BBS cycles would change); [0033] wireless power signaling can be time sliced among various clients in a wireless power delivery environment; [0034] the wireless power transmission system 101 selects one or more wireless power receiver clients for receiving power and sends the beacon schedule information to the select wireless power receiver clients 103; [0037] the beacon (or calibration) signals can be periodically transmitted by wireless power receiver clients 103 within the power delivery environment... so that the wireless power transmission system 101 can maintain knowledge and/or otherwise track the location of the power receiver clients) and the second device ([0033] FIG. 2... Initially, communication is established between the wireless power transmission system 101 and the power receiver client 103. The initial communication can be, for example, a data communication link that is established via one or more antennas 104 of the wireless power transmission system 101; [0034] The wireless power receiver client 103 then generates a beacon (or calibration) signal and broadcasts the beacon during an assigned beacon transmission window (or time slice) indicated by the beacon schedule information, e.g., BBS cycle; [0035] The wireless power transmission system 101 receives the beacon from the power receiver client 103... The wireless power transmission system 101 then delivers wireless power to the power receiver client 103; [0043] In operation, the MBC, which controls the wireless power transmission system 300... the wireless power transmission system and the proxy antenna elements enter a default “discovery” mode to identify available wireless receiver clients within range of the wireless power transmission system. When a client is found, the antenna elements on the wireless power transmission system power on, enumerate, and (optionally) calibrate; [0044] The MBC can select power receiver clients for power transmission and generate a BBS cycle and a Power Schedule (PS) for the selected wireless power receiver clients; [0054] when a device is used in a moving environment like a car, train or plane, the power might only be transmitted intermittently or at a reduced level unless the device is critically low on power).
Regarding claim 6, ZEINE further discloses:
scanning (Fig. 12 – COTA comm, QI or PMA comm) peripheral devices by detecting signals transmitted from the at least one first device and the at least one second device ([0085] The example of FIG. 12... includes a communication translation module 1210 operable to translate communications between various protocols, e.g., COTA, Qi, PMA, etc. Communications can be used in various scenarios, e.g., to improve wireless power transfer, to enable pay-to-use, etc. For example, an application running on a portable electronic device 670 can notify a user that the device is receiving Qi power via COTA, e.g., power from wireless power transmission system 601... the portable charger 1210 is embodied in a phone case or sleeve. By way of example, communications can be provided via COTA to, for example, adjust the orientation of the device to achieve better RF wireless power transfer. This communication can be received by the portable charger 1210 and translated to Qi type communications and presented to the user via an application on the portable electronic device 670).
Regarding claim 7, ZEINE further discloses:
activating a coordinator function based on user input ([0054] An optional motion sensor 495 can detect motion and signal the control logic 410 to act accordingly... Once the device detects that it is in motion, it may be assumed that it is being handled by a user, and would trigger a signal to the array to either to stop transmitting power, or to lower the power transmitted to the device. In some embodiments, when a device is used in a moving environment like a car, train or plane, the power might only be transmitted intermittently or at a reduced level unless the device is critically low on power).
Regarding claim 10, ZEINE discloses:
A coordinator device (Fig. 4, 6-9, 12 – portable charger; [0068] the portable wireless charger 610 includes an antenna 605, a wireless power receiver client 612, control circuitry 614, a near-field transmitter 616. The wireless power receiver client 612 is operable to receive and process directed wireless power transmitted by wireless power transmission system 601 in a multipath wireless power delivery environment 600... The wireless power receiver client 612 can be wireless power receiver client 400 of FIG. 4 and the wireless power transmission system 601 can be wireless power transmission system 300 of FIG. 2) in a wireless communication system (Fig. 1; Fig. 6-9, 12), comprising:
a transceiver ([0047] FIG. 4, the receiver 400 includes control logic 410... communication block 430 and associated antenna 470... beacon coding unit 462 and an associated antenna 480...the beacon signal generator 460 to one or more associated antennas 490a-n... Additional components are also possible; [0034] the wireless power receiver client 103 includes one or more antennas (or transceivers) which have a radiation and reception pattern in three-dimensional space proximate to the wireless device 102 in which the wireless power receiver client 103 is embedded);
a circuit for power reception and transmission (Fig. 4; [0047] the wireless power receiver client may include a single antenna that provides data transmission functionality as well as power/data reception functionality); and
a processor (Fig. 4 – control logic 410; [0050] The control logic 410 receives and processes the battery power level from the battery 420 itself; [0073] the wireless power receiver client 612 can include a processor, communication and control circuitry; [0090] In the example of FIG. 14, the computer system includes a processor, memory, non-volatile memory, and an interface device... The computer system 1400 is intended to illustrate a hardware device on which any of the components depicted in the example of FIG. 1 (and any other components described in this specification) can be implemented. For example, the computer system can be any radiating object or antenna array system) coupled to the transceiver and the circuit (Fig. 4; Fig. 6-9, 12, 14), wherein the processor is configured (Fig. 4; Fig. 6-9, 12, 14; [0050]; [0073];) to:
receive (Fig. 12-13; [0029] Although not illustrated, each component of the environment, e.g., wireless device, wireless power transmission system, etc., can include control and synchronization mechanisms, e.g., a data communication synchronization module; [0030] The wireless power receiver clients 102a-102n and/or the wireless power transmission systems 101a-101n are configured to operate in a multipath wireless power delivery environment), from at least one first device (Fig 1; Fig. 6-9, 12 – portable electronic device; [0025] the wireless devices 102a-102n include mobile phone devices and a wireless game controller), a first message requesting registration ([0085] FIG. 12... includes a communication translation module 1210 operable to translate communications...to improve wireless power transfer, to enable pay-to-use, etc... the portable charger 1210 is embodied in a phone case or sleeve... communications can be provided via COTA to, for example, adjust the orientation of the device to achieve better RF wireless power transfer; [0086] Likewise, pay-to-use communications can be provided via COTA to, for example, receive payment or indicate how much time a device is authorized to receive COTA wireless power (hence the device requested to be registered to receive COTA wireless power from the portable charger). This communication can be received by the portable charger 1210 and translated to Qi type communications and presented to the user via an application on the portable electronic device 670) of the at least one first device as a power demander device ([0025] the wireless devices 102a-102n can be any device or system that needs power and is capable of receiving wireless power via one or more integrated wireless power receiver clients 103a-103n (e.g., portable charger). As discussed herein, the one or more integrated wireless power receiver clients receive and process power from one or more wireless power transmission systems 101a-101n and provide the power to the wireless devices 102a-102n (or internal batteries of the wireless devices) for operation thereof; [0053] a client identifier (ID) module 415 stores a client ID that can uniquely identify the wireless power receiver client 400 in a wireless power delivery environment. For example, the ID can be transmitted to one or more wireless power transmission systems when communication is established. In some embodiments, wireless power receiver clients may also be able to receive and identify other wireless power receiver clients in a wireless power delivery environment based on the client ID);
receive (Fig. 6-9, 12), from at least one second device (Fig. 6-9, 12; Wireless power transmission system 601), a second message requesting registration of the at least one second device as a power supplier device (Fig. 2 – wireless power delivery to subscribed wireless power receiver(s); [0033] the initial communication can be, for example, a data communication link that is established via one or more antennas 104 of the wireless power transmission system 101... Various information can be exchanged... the wireless power transmission system 101 can send beacon schedule information, e.g., Beacon Beat Schedule (BBS) cycle, power cycle information, etc., so that the wireless power receiver client 103 knows when to transmit (broadcast) its beacon signals and when to listen for power, etc (hence the second device is registered as a power supplier device); [0053] a client identifier (ID) module 415 stores a client ID that can uniquely identify the wireless power receiver client 400 in a wireless power delivery environment. For example, the ID can be transmitted to one or more wireless power transmission systems when communication is established. In some embodiments, wireless power receiver clients may also be able to receive and identify other wireless power receiver clients in a wireless power delivery environment based on the client ID);
perform ([0068] the portable wireless charger 610... is operable to receive and process directed wireless power transmitted by wireless power transmission system 601 in a multipath wireless power delivery environment 600) at least one operation for registering the at least one first device or the at least one second device (Fig. 2 – communication established; [0053] a client identifier (ID) module 415 stores a client ID that can uniquely identify the wireless power receiver client 400 in a wireless power delivery environment. For example, the ID can be transmitted to one or more wireless power transmission systems when communication is established. In some embodiments, wireless power receiver clients may also be able to receive and identify other wireless power receiver clients in a wireless power delivery environment based on the client ID; [0033] the initial communication can be, for example, a data communication link that is established via one or more antennas 104 of the wireless power transmission system 101... Various information can be exchanged... the wireless power transmission system 101 can send beacon schedule information, e.g., Beacon Beat Schedule (BBS) cycle, power cycle information, etc., so that the wireless power receiver client 103 knows when to transmit (broadcast) its beacon signals and when to listen for power, etc; [0034] The wireless power transmission system 101 can also send power transmission scheduling information so that the wireless power receiver client 103 knows when to expect (e.g., a window of time) wireless power from the wireless power transmission system);
receive (Fig. 2, 12) information related to power from the at least one first device and the at least one second device ([0034] The wireless power transmission system 101 can also send power transmission scheduling information so that the wireless power receiver client 103 knows when to expect (e.g., a window of time) wireless power from the wireless power transmission system; [0085] Communications can be used in various scenarios, e.g., to improve wireless power transfer... communications can be provided via COTA to, for example, adjust the orientation of the device to achieve better RF wireless power transfer. This communication can be received by the portable charger 1210 and translated to Qi type communications and presented to the user via an application on the portable electronic device 670; [0086] Likewise, pay-to-use communications can be provided via COTA to, for example, receive payment or indicate how much time a device is authorized to receive COTA wireless power), wherein the information related to power includes a power source type ([0077] Control circuitry 614 can detect what type of power is being received (or available, e.g., whether the wireless power receiver client and/or the near-field receiver is currently receiving wireless power) and responsively control switch 814 accordingly. That is, the control circuitry 614 can switch between enabling the wireless power receiver client or the near-field receiver; [0075] an energy storage device 712 is provided to supplement and/or otherwise provide the ability to regulate a particular output current, e.g., current iPhone requires a minimum current of ½ Amp to charge the device or the device signals an ‘accessory not supported’ error. Accordingly, in some implementations, a battery or other energy storage apparatus can be utilized to maintain this support; [0086] Likewise, pay-to-use communications can be provided via COTA to, for example, receive payment or indicate how much time a device is authorized to receive COTA wireless power);
perform scheduling for power sharing based on the information related to power including the power source type ([0086]; [0077] a near-field receiver 812 operable to receive nonradiative wireless power from a charging pad 850. Specifically, in some implementations the portable charger 810 can be embodied in a phone sleeve or case. In such implementations, a battery can be built into the sleeve or case that disrupts the reception of nonradiative wireless power (e.g., due to thickness). In such instances, portable wireless charger 810 can include the near-field receiver 812 in order to pass-through non-radiative wireless power from a charging pad or mat 850. Control circuitry 614 can detect what type of power is being received (or available, e.g., whether the wireless power receiver client and/or the near-field receiver is currently receiving wireless power) and responsively control switch 814 accordingly. That is, the control circuitry 614 can switch between enabling the wireless power receiver client or the near-field receiver; [0075] an energy storage device 712 is provided to supplement and/or otherwise provide the ability to regulate a particular output current, e.g., current iPhone requires a minimum current of ½ Amp to charge the device or the device signals an ‘accessory not supported’ error. Accordingly, in some implementations, a battery or other energy storage apparatus can be utilized to maintain this support. The wired power input interface 714 can be used to charge the battery for supplemental purposes or to provide non-radiative charging when the portable charger is not within range of the wireless power transmission system 601. In some implementations, the wired power input interface 714 can be any wired power connection, e.g., USB micro, USB-C, Lightning, barrel connector, etc., including combinations or variations thereof);
receive power from the at least one second device (Fig. 8 – 601, SW 814 (switch to wireless power rx’er client 612); [0068] the portable wireless charger 610... is operable to receive and process directed wireless power transmitted by wireless power transmission system 601 in a multipath wireless power delivery environment 600... and the wireless power transmission system 601 can be wireless power transmission system 300 of FIG. 2) according to the scheduling ([0077] Control circuitry 614 can detect what type of power is being received (or available, e.g., whether the wireless power receiver client and/or the near-field receiver is currently receiving wireless power) and responsively control switch 814 accordingly. That is, the control circuitry 614 can switch between enabling the wireless power receiver client or the near-field receiver); and
transmit power to the at least one first device (Fig. 8 – SW 814, near-field tx-er 616, portable electronic device) according to the scheduling for power sharing ([0077] Control circuitry 614 can detect what type of power is being received (or available, e.g., whether the wireless power receiver client and/or the near-field receiver is currently receiving wireless power) and responsively control switch 814 accordingly. That is, the control circuitry 614 can switch between enabling the wireless power receiver client or the near-field receiver; [0078] portable charger 810 receives nonradiative wireless power from a charging pad 850 and provides nonradiative wireless power to portable electronic device 670; [0086] Likewise, pay-to-use communications can be provided via COTA to, for example, receive payment or indicate how much time a device is authorized to receive COTA wireless power (hence transmitting the power sharing to the first device is scheduled until the allotted time)).
Regarding claim 14, ZEINE discloses:
A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing at least one instruction, comprising the at least one instruction executable by a processor ([0090] In the example of FIG. 14, the computer system includes a processor, memory, non-volatile memory, and an interface device... The computer system 1400 is intended to illustrate a hardware device on which any of the components depicted in the example of FIG. 1 (and any other components described in this specification) can be implemented. For example, the computer system can be any radiating object or antenna array system; [0047] FIG. 4, the receiver 400 includes control logic 410, battery 420, an IoT control module 425, communication block 430 and associated antenna 470... Additional components are also possible), wherein the at least one instruction controls a device (Fig. 4, 6-9, 12 – portable charger; [0089] FIG. 14 depicts a diagrammatic representation of a machine, in the example form, of a computer system within which a set of instructions, for causing the machine to perform any one or more of the methodologies discussed herein, may be executed) to:
receive (Fig. 12-13; [0029] Although not illustrated, each component of the environment, e.g., wireless device, wireless power transmission system, etc., can include control and synchronization mechanisms, e.g., a data communication synchronization module; [0030] The wireless power receiver clients 102a-102n and/or the wireless power transmission systems 101a-101n are configured to operate in a multipath wireless power delivery environment), from at least one first device (Fig 1; Fig. 6-9, 12 – portable electronic device; [0025] the wireless devices 102a-102n include mobile phone devices and a wireless game controller), a first message requesting registration ([0085] FIG. 12... includes a communication translation module 1210 operable to translate communications...to improve wireless power transfer, to enable pay-to-use, etc... the portable charger 1210 is embodied in a phone case or sleeve... communications can be provided via COTA to, for example, adjust the orientation of the device to achieve better RF wireless power transfer; [0086] Likewise, pay-to-use communications can be provided via COTA to, for example, receive payment or indicate how much time a device is authorized to receive COTA wireless power (hence the device requested to be registered to receive COTA wireless power from the portable charger). This communication can be received by the portable charger 1210 and translated to Qi type communications and presented to the user via an application on the portable electronic device 670) of the at least one first device as a power demander device ([0025] the wireless devices 102a-102n can be any device or system that needs power and is capable of receiving wireless power via one or more integrated wireless power receiver clients 103a-103n (e.g., portable charger). As discussed herein, the one or more integrated wireless power receiver clients receive and process power from one or more wireless power transmission systems 101a-101n and provide the power to the wireless devices 102a-102n (or internal batteries of the wireless devices) for operation thereof; [0053] a client identifier (ID) module 415 stores a client ID that can uniquely identify the wireless power receiver client 400 in a wireless power delivery environment. For example, the ID can be transmitted to one or more wireless power transmission systems when communication is established. In some embodiments, wireless power receiver clients may also be able to receive and identify other wireless power receiver clients in a wireless power delivery environment based on the client ID);
receive (Fig. 6-9, 12), from at least one second device (Fig. 6-9, 12; Wireless power transmission system 601), a second message requesting registration of the at least one second device as a power supplier device (Fig. 2 – wireless power delivery to subscribed wireless power receiver(s); [0033] the initial communication can be, for example, a data communication link that is established via one or more antennas 104 of the wireless power transmission system 101... Various information can be exchanged... the wireless power transmission system 101 can send beacon schedule information, e.g., Beacon Beat Schedule (BBS) cycle, power cycle information, etc., so that the wireless power receiver client 103 knows when to transmit (broadcast) its beacon signals and when to listen for power, etc (hence the second device is registered as a power supplier device); [0053] a client identifier (ID) module 415 stores a client ID that can uniquely identify the wireless power receiver client 400 in a wireless power delivery environment. For example, the ID can be transmitted to one or more wireless power transmission systems when communication is established. In some embodiments, wireless power receiver clients may also be able to receive and identify other wireless power receiver clients in a wireless power delivery environment based on the client ID);
perform ([0068] the portable wireless charger 610... is operable to receive and process directed wireless power transmitted by wireless power transmission system 601 in a multipath wireless power delivery environment 600) at least one operation for registering the at least one first device or the at least one second device (Fig. 2 – communication established; [0053] a client identifier (ID) module 415 stores a client ID that can uniquely identify the wireless power receiver client 400 in a wireless power delivery environment. For example, the ID can be transmitted to one or more wireless power transmission systems when communication is established. In some embodiments, wireless power receiver clients may also be able to receive and identify other wireless power receiver clients in a wireless power delivery environment based on the client ID; [0033] the initial communication can be, for example, a data communication link that is established via one or more antennas 104 of the wireless power transmission system 101... Various information can be exchanged... the wireless power transmission system 101 can send beacon schedule information, e.g., Beacon Beat Schedule (BBS) cycle, power cycle information, etc., so that the wireless power receiver client 103 knows when to transmit (broadcast) its beacon signals and when to listen for power, etc; [0034] The wireless power transmission system 101 can also send power transmission scheduling information so that the wireless power receiver client 103 knows when to expect (e.g., a window of time) wireless power from the wireless power transmission system);
receive (Fig. 2, 12) information related to power from the at least one first device and the at least one second device ([0034] The wireless power transmission system 101 can also send power transmission scheduling information so that the wireless power receiver client 103 knows when to expect (e.g., a window of time) wireless power from the wireless power transmission system; [0085] Communications can be used in various scenarios, e.g., to improve wireless power transfer... communications can be provided via COTA to, for example, adjust the orientation of the device to achieve better RF wireless power transfer. This communication can be received by the portable charger 1210 and translated to Qi type communications and presented to the user via an application on the portable electronic device 670; [0086] Likewise, pay-to-use communications can be provided via COTA to, for example, receive payment or indicate how much time a device is authorized to receive COTA wireless power), wherein the information related to power includes a power source type ([0077] Control circuitry 614 can detect what type of power is being received (or available, e.g., whether the wireless power receiver client and/or the near-field receiver is currently receiving wireless power) and responsively control switch 814 accordingly. That is, the control circuitry 614 can switch between enabling the wireless power receiver client or the near-field receiver; [0075] an energy storage device 712 is provided to supplement and/or otherwise provide the ability to regulate a particular output current, e.g., current iPhone requires a minimum current of ½ Amp to charge the device or the device signals an ‘accessory not supported’ error. Accordingly, in some implementations, a battery or other energy storage apparatus can be utilized to maintain this support; [0086] Likewise, pay-to-use communications can be provided via COTA to, for example, receive payment or indicate how much time a device is authorized to receive COTA wireless power);
perform scheduling for power sharing based on the information related to power including the power source type ([0086]; [0077] a near-field receiver 812 operable to receive nonradiative wireless power from a charging pad 850. Specifically, in some implementations the portable charger 810 can be embodied in a phone sleeve or case. In such implementations, a battery can be built into the sleeve or case that disrupts the reception of nonradiative wireless power (e.g., due to thickness). In such instances, portable wireless charger 810 can include the near-field receiver 812 in order to pass-through non-radiative wireless power from a charging pad or mat 850. Control circuitry 614 can detect what type of power is being received (or available, e.g., whether the wireless power receiver client and/or the near-field receiver is currently receiving wireless power) and responsively control switch 814 accordingly. That is, the control circuitry 614 can switch between enabling the wireless power receiver client or the near-field receiver; [0075] an energy storage device 712 is provided to supplement and/or otherwise provide the ability to regulate a particular output current, e.g., current iPhone requires a minimum current of ½ Amp to charge the device or the device signals an ‘accessory not supported’ error. Accordingly, in some implementations, a battery or other energy storage apparatus can be utilized to maintain this support. The wired power input interface 714 can be used to charge the battery for supplemental purposes or to provide non-radiative charging when the portable charger is not within range of the wireless power transmission system 601. In some implementations, the wired power input interface 714 can be any wired power connection, e.g., USB micro, USB-C, Lightning, barrel connector, etc., including combinations or variations thereof);
receive power from the at least one second device (Fig. 8 – 601, SW 814 (switch to wireless power rx’er client 612); [0068] the portable wireless charger 610... is operable to receive and process directed wireless power transmitted by wireless power transmission system 601 in a multipath wireless power delivery environment 600... and the wireless power transmission system 601 can be wireless power transmission system 300 of FIG. 2) according to the scheduling ([0077] Control circuitry 614 can detect what type of power is being received (or available, e.g., whether the wireless power receiver client and/or the near-field receiver is currently receiving wireless power) and responsively control switch 814 accordingly. That is, the control circuitry 614 can switch between enabling the wireless power receiver client or the near-field receiver); and
transmit power to the at least one first device (Fig. 8 – SW 814, near-field tx-er 616, portable electronic device) according to the scheduling for power sharing ([0077] Control circuitry 614 can detect what type of power is being received (or available, e.g., whether the wireless power receiver client and/or the near-field receiver is currently receiving wireless power) and responsively control switch 814 accordingly. That is, the control circuitry 614 can switch between enabling the wireless power receiver client or the near-field receiver; [0078] portable charger 810 receives nonradiative wireless power from a charging pad 850 and provides nonradiative wireless power to portable electronic device 670; [0086] Likewise, pay-to-use communications can be provided via COTA to, for example, receive payment or indicate how much time a device is authorized to receive COTA wireless power (hence transmitting the power sharing to the first device is scheduled until the allotted time)).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THERESA NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2418
/Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418