DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/22/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
3a. Regarding claims 1, 10 and 14:
The broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of “receiving… message requesting registration” recited in independent claims 1, 10 and 14 includes any message with information such as power source type or power usage pattern according to the specification “[0161] The registration request message may include information on at least one of an identifier of the first device 2120-1, a requested registration type (e.g., demander or supplier), a device type, a power source type (e.g., battery, super capacitor, external power source, etc.), or a power usage pattern (e.g., power required per unit time, etc.)”. Therefore, an electric power storage level message ( KIRIYAMA - [0135] First, when a request for electric power storage level notice is received from the control station 200 (Yes in step S941), the terminal 100 acquires the electric power storage level of its own electric power storage section 150 (step S942), transmitting an electric power storage level notice to the control station 200 (step S943)) is considered a message requesting registration.
Dependent claims 2-7 have similar claim language, therefore the same interpretation is applied.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3b. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites “wherein the priority is… from the device” is indefinite because it is unclear whether “the device” is referring to “a device”, “a first device”, or “a second device” recited in claim 1. For the purpose of examination, “the device” will be interpreted as “a device” recited in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-7, 10 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIRIYAMA (US-20210057936-A1) in view of MIWA et al (US-20210376665-A1, hereinafter MIWA).
Regarding claim 1, KIRIYAMA discloses:
performed by a device (Fig. 11 – Control Station; Fig.15 – Control Station) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising ([0001] the present disclosure relates to a wireless communication apparatus for distributing electric power, a processing method thereof, and a program for causing a computer to perform the processing method): receiving a first message requesting registration (Fig. 15 – terminal #1, step 722) from a first device ([0130] First, the control station 200 transmits a request for electric power storage level notice by broadcast (721). Each of the terminals #1 to #4 that has received this request for electric power storage level notice acquires the electric power storage level of its own electric power storage section 150, transmitting an electric power storage level notice to the control station 200 (722)); receiving a second message requesting registration (Fig. 15 – terminal #2, give notice of electric power storage level) from a second device ([0130];); performing at least one operation for registering the first device or the second device ([0131] When electric power storage level notices are received from all the terminals #1 to #4 within the wireless communication system, the control station 200 performs the electric power distribution determination process, determining not only whether or not to distribute electric power but also target terminals subject to distribution and distribution level (723)); receiving information related to power from the at least one first device and the at least one second device (Fig. 15 – terminal #1, #2, Step 722, give notice of electric power storage level); performing scheduling for power sharing based on the information related to power ([0131] the control station 200 performs the electric power distribution determination process, determining not only whether or not to distribute electric power (power sharing) but also target terminals subject to distribution and distribution level (723). Then, the control station 200 transmits an electric power distribution instruction (scheduling for power sharing) to the terminal having an electric power surplus (724)). KIRIYAMA does not explicitly disclose receiving power from the second device according to the scheduling and transmitting power to the first device.
However, MIWA discloses receiving power from a second device according to a scheduling ([0081] When the power transceiver 200 that transmitted the power transmission request (scheduling) is an authenticated power transceiver, the power transmitter 300 (second device) transmits wireless power to the power transceiver 200 (step S106). Wireless power is thus transmitted from the power transmitter 300 to the power transceiver 200); and transmitting power to a first device ([0084] When the power receiver 100 (first device) judges that an emergency has occurred, the power receiver 100 transmits an emergency power transmission request (step S201); [0085] the power transceiver 200 can recognize that an emergency has occurred from the notification information included in the emergency power transmission request. In this case, the power transceiver 200 stops functioning as a power receiver (step S202); [0086] The power transceiver 200 then starts functioning as a power transmitter (step S203). In response to the emergency power transmission request of the power receiver 100, the power transceiver 200 transmits wireless power to the power receiver 100 (step S204). Wireless power is thus transmitted from the power transceiver 200 to the power receiver 100 during an emergency).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the device performing scheduling power sharing of KIRIYAMA to include receiving power from the second device according to the scheduling and transmitting power to the first device as taught by MIWA in order to continue supplying the first device with power in the case of an emergency (MIWA - [0101] when the power transmitter 300 can no longer supply wireless power during an emergency, the power transceiver 200 transmits wireless power to the power receiver 100… allowing the electronic device housing the power receiver 100 to continue operating even during an emergency. If the power receiver 100 is housed in the mobile phone 10 or a radio, for example, the mobile phone 10 or radio can also be used longer during an emergency, such as a disaster. The power transmission system 1 can thus be more useful).
Regarding claim 2, KIRIYAMA does not explicitly disclose:
storing surplus power after transmitting the power.
However, MIWA discloses storing a surplus power after transmitting a power ([0129] When the power transceiver 200 is thus configured to be capable of switching between two settings, the processing for power reception or power transmission during an emergency can be set individually for electronic devices housing the power transceiver 200. [0148] In the present embodiment, the electricity storage unit 240 of the power transceiver 1200 can store surplus electricity. The electricity stored by the electricity storage unit 240 may, for example, be supplied to the electronic device… when the power transceiver 1200 cannot receive wireless power from the power transmitter 1300 In response to an emergency power transmission request, power may be transmitted from the power transmission interface 210 to the power receiver 1100 or to another power transceiver 1200 using the electricity stored in the electricity storage unit 240 (hence the device (not the first nor the second device) can store surplus power after transmitting the power since the device includes a cell battery, when the settings is switched back to power reception setting - [0036] The plurality of electronic devices each house a power receiver or a power transceiver therein… the power receiver or power transceiver may be shaped to appear like a dry cell battery, a button cell battery, or the like)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the device performing scheduling power sharing of KIRIYAMA and MIWA to include storing the surplus power after transmitting the power as taught by MIWA in order to store power and supply the first device with power in the case of an emergency (MIWA - [0101] when the power transmitter 300 can no longer supply wireless power during an emergency, the power transceiver 200 transmits wireless power to the power receiver 100… allowing the electronic device housing the power receiver 100 to continue operating even during an emergency. If the power receiver 100 is housed in the mobile phone 10 or a radio, for example, the mobile phone 10 or radio can also be used longer during an emergency, such as a disaster. The power transmission system 1 can thus be more useful).
Regarding claim 3, KIRIYAMA further discloses:
wherein the information related to power (Fig. 15 – terminal #1, #2, Step 722, give notice of electric power storage level) includes at least one of supply power ([0130] First, the control station 200 transmits a request for electric power storage level notice by broadcast (721). Each of the terminals #1 to #4 that has received this request for electric power storage level notice acquires the electric power storage level of its own electric power storage section 150, transmitting an electric power storage level notice to the control station 200 (722)), demand power, a distance or a power source type.
Regarding claim 4, KIRIYAMA further discloses:
wherein the performing the scheduling comprises, determining priority of the first device and priority of the at second device ([0066] each terminal 100 (first device and second device) is assigned a priority level and that the electric power distribution determination section 160 determines the electric power level such that electric power is distributed according to this priority level; ), and wherein the priority is determined based on a distance from the device ([0182] The electric power distribution determination section 160 classifies (groups) the terminals 100 into groups on the basis of the position coordinates of the terminals 100 stored in the payloads of the electric power storage level notices received (step S811); [0013] Also, in this first aspect, the group may be formed according to position coordinates of the wireless communication apparatuses. This brings about an action of distributing electric power preferentially to a representative wireless communication apparatus among those in proximity), an amount of supply power ([0106] Here, it is assumed that, as illustrated in a of FIG. 10, the electric power storage level of the electric power storage section 150 of the terminal 100 prior to electric power distribution is “50” for the terminal #1, “18” for the terminal #2, “24” for the terminal #3, and “40” for the terminal #4. Also, it is assumed that the electric power required for one data transmission by the wireless communication section 120 is “30.”; [0107] That is, the electric power storage levels of the terminals #1 and #4 have already reached an electric power level required for data transmission whereas those of the terminals #2 and #3 have yet to reach the electric power level required for data transmission… the terminal #2 is in highest shortage of electric power required for data transmission. Therefore, a higher priority level than that for the terminal #3 is assigned), an amount of demand power ([0106] it is assumed that the electric power required for one data transmission by the wireless communication section 120 is “30.”; [0107] the terminal #2 is in highest shortage of electric power required for data transmission. Therefore, a higher priority level than that for the terminal #3 is assigned) and a power source type ([0108] Specifically, the electric power to be distributed from the terminal #1 to the terminal #2 is obtained as follows by applying the above formula; [0103] An electric power level Pshare to be distributed from a terminal ‘x’ having an electric power surplus to a terminal ‘y’ in shortage of electric power is calculated).
Regarding claim 5, KIRIYAMA further discloses:
transmitting a broadcast signal for triggering a registration request of the first device and the second device ([0130] First, the control station 200 transmits a request for electric power storage level notice by broadcast (721). Each of the terminals #1 to #4 that has received this request for electric power storage level notice acquires the electric power storage level of its own electric power storage section 150, transmitting an electric power storage level notice to the control station 200 (722)).
Regarding claim 6, KIRIYAMA further discloses:
scanning peripheral devices by detecting signals transmitted from the first device and the second device ([0062] The wireless communication section 120 exchanges wireless signals (engages in wireless communication) with the other terminals 100 (first and second devices) according to a predetermined frame format; [0065] The control section 130 not only controls the wireless communication section 120 to carry out transmission but also generates a transmission frame. Also, the control section 130 performs control associated with distribution of electric power to or from the other terminal 100; [0067] FIG. 3 is a diagram illustrating a configuration example of a frame exchanged between the terminals 100 of the first embodiment of the present technology. This frame includes a preamble 610, a PHY header 620, a MAC header 630, a payload 640, and a CRC 650; [0068] The preamble 610 is a bit string having a pattern determined in advance by a standard. The preamble 610 is provided at the beginning of the frame and used by the receiving side for signal detection and frame synchronization).
Regarding claim 7, KIRIYAMA further discloses:
activating a coordinator function based on user input ([0002] a monitoring service can be realized by attaching a wireless communication apparatus (wireless sensor terminal) with a GPS (Global Positioning System) function to an elderly person or a child. Such wireless communication apparatuses are installed in large quantities at various locations, making it essential that battery replacement and recharge are not time-consuming. For this reason, a possible approach would be to apply energy harvesting to these wireless communication apparatuses; [0003] The use of this energy harvesting provides an advantage of eliminating the need for batteries in wireless communication apparatuses… For this reason, a technology that receives electric power distributed wirelessly from an external apparatus and stores received power in the case of shortage of electric power has been proposed; [0006] The present technology has been devised in light of the foregoing, and it is an object of the present technology to distribute electric power among wireless communication apparatuses while, at the same time, maintaining an electric power level required to operate a wireless communication function in the wireless communication apparatus).
Regarding claim 10, KIRIYAMA discloses:
A coordinator device (Fig. 11 – Control Station; Fig.15 – Control Station) in a wireless communication system ([0001] the present disclosure relates to a wireless communication apparatus for distributing electric power, a processing method thereof, and a program for causing a computer to perform the processing method), comprising:
a wireless communication section (Fig. 13 - 220; [0120] The wireless communication section 220 transmits and receives wireless signals according to a predetermined frame format);
a circuit for power reception and transmission (Fig. 13 - 260; [0122] The electric power distribution determination section 260 determines not only whether or not to distribute electric power to the terminals 100 within the wireless communication system but also an electric power level to be distributed and so on; [0116] the terminals 100 exchange control data used for distribution of electric power as well as electric power with the control station 200); and
a control section (Fig. 13 - 230) coupled to the wireless communication section (Fig. 13 – 220) and the circuit (Fig. 13 – 260), wherein the control section is configured ([0001];) to:
receive a first message requesting registration from a first device (Fig. 15 – terminal #1, step 722) from a first device ([0130] First, the control station 200 transmits a request for electric power storage level notice by broadcast (721). Each of the terminals #1 to #4 that has received this request for electric power storage level notice acquires the electric power storage level of its own electric power storage section 150, transmitting an electric power storage level notice to the control station 200 (722));
receive a second message requesting registration (Fig. 15 – terminal #2, give notice of electric power storage level) from a second device ([0130];);
perform least one operation for registering he first device or the second device ([0131] When electric power storage level notices are received from all the terminals #1 to #4 within the wireless communication system, the control station 200 performs the electric power distribution determination process, determining not only whether or not to distribute electric power but also target terminals subject to distribution and distribution level (723));
receive information related to power from the at least one first device and the at least one second device (Fig. 15 – terminal #1, #2, Step 722, give notice of electric power storage level);
perform scheduling for power sharing based on the information related to power ([0131] the control station 200 performs the electric power distribution determination process, determining not only whether or not to distribute electric power (power sharing) but also target terminals subject to distribution and distribution level (723). Then, the control station 200 transmits an electric power distribution instruction (scheduling for power sharing) to the terminal having an electric power surplus (724)).
KIRIYAMA does not explicitly disclose a processor coupled with a transceiver wherein the processor is configured to receive power from the second device according to the scheduling; and transmit power to the first device.
However, MIWA discloses a processor (Fig. 2 – 231; [0068] The controller 231 is a processor that controls and manages the power transceiver 200 overall) coupled with a transceiver (Fig. 2 – 200; [0066] In response to control by the controller 231, the communication interface 221 communicates wirelessly with an external device. In the present embodiment, the communication interface 221 communicates with the power receiver 100 and the power transmitter 300. The power transceiver 200 may communicate wirelessly using the antenna 220A or the antenna 210A instead of the communication interface 221. The communication interface 221 can, for example, transmit a power transmission request during normal circumstances. The communication interface 221 can, for example, receive the emergency power transmission request or the like transmitted by the power receiver 100 during an emergency) wherein the processor is configured to receive power from a second device according to a scheduling ([0081] When the power transceiver 200 that transmitted the power transmission request (scheduling) is an authenticated power transceiver, the power transmitter 300 (second device) transmits wireless power to the power transceiver 200 (step S106). Wireless power is thus transmitted from the power transmitter 300 to the power transceiver 200); and transmit power to a first device ([0084] When the power receiver 100 (first device) judges that an emergency has occurred, the power receiver 100 transmits an emergency power transmission request (step S201); [0085] the power transceiver 200 can recognize that an emergency has occurred from the notification information included in the emergency power transmission request. In this case, the power transceiver 200 stops functioning as a power receiver (step S202); [0086] The power transceiver 200 then starts functioning as a power transmitter (step S203). In response to the emergency power transmission request of the power receiver 100, the power transceiver 200 transmits wireless power to the power receiver 100 (step S204). Wireless power is thus transmitted from the power transceiver 200 to the power receiver 100 during an emergency).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the wireless communication and control section of the coordinator device of KIRIYAMA to include the processor coupled with the transceiver wherein the processor is configured to receive power from the second device according to the scheduling and transmit power to the first device as taught by MIWA in order to communicate in the wireless communication system and continue supplying the first device with power in the case of an emergency (MIWA - [0101] when the power transmitter 300 can no longer supply wireless power during an emergency, the power transceiver 200 transmits wireless power to the power receiver 100… allowing the electronic device housing the power receiver 100 to continue operating even during an emergency. If the power receiver 100 is housed in the mobile phone 10 or a radio, for example, the mobile phone 10 or radio can also be used longer during an emergency, such as a disaster. The power transmission system 1 can thus be more useful).
Regarding claim 14, KIRIYAMA discloses:
A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing at least one instruction ([0208] Also, the processing procedures described in the above embodiments may be construed as methods having a series of these steps or a program for causing a computer to perform the series of these steps and a recording medium storing the program. Among examples of this recording medium are a CD (Compact Disc), an MD (MiniDisc), a DVD (Digital Versatile Disc), a memory card, and a Blu-ray (registered trademark) Disc), comprising the at least one instruction executable by a control section (Fig. 13 - 230), wherein the at least one instruction controls a device (Fig. 11 – Control Station; Fig.15 – Control Station; [0001] the present disclosure relates to a wireless communication apparatus for distributing electric power, a processing method thereof, and a program for causing a computer to perform the processing method) to:
receive a first message requesting registration (Fig. 15 – terminal #1, step 722) from a first device ([0130] First, the control station 200 transmits a request for electric power storage level notice by broadcast (721). Each of the terminals #1 to #4 that has received this request for electric power storage level notice acquires the electric power storage level of its own electric power storage section 150, transmitting an electric power storage level notice to the control station 200 (722));
receive a second message requesting registration(Fig. 15 – terminal #2, give notice of electric power storage level) from a second device ([0130];);
perform at least one operation for registering the first device or the second device ([0131] When electric power storage level notices are received from all the terminals #1 to #4 within the wireless communication system, the control station 200 performs the electric power distribution determination process, determining not only whether or not to distribute electric power but also target terminals subject to distribution and distribution level (723));
receive information related to power from the at least one first device and the at least one second device (Fig. 15 – terminal #1, #2, Step 722, give notice of electric power storage level);
perform scheduling for power sharing based on the information related to power ([0131] the control station 200 performs the electric power distribution determination process, determining not only whether or not to distribute electric power (power sharing) but also target terminals subject to distribution and distribution level (723). Then, the control station 200 transmits an electric power distribution instruction (scheduling for power sharing) to the terminal having an electric power surplus (724)).
KIRIYAMA does not explicitly disclose the instruction executable by a processor to receive power from the second device according to the scheduling; and transmit power to the first device.
However, MIWA discloses an instruction executable by a processor (Fig. 2 – 231; [0068] The controller 231 is a processor that controls and manages the power transceiver 200 overall, starting with the functional blocks of the power transceiver 200. The controller 231 is a processor, such as a CPU, that executes programs with prescribed control procedures or is a dedicated processor specialized for the processing of each function) to receive power from a second device according to a scheduling ([0081] When the power transceiver 200 that transmitted the power transmission request (scheduling) is an authenticated power transceiver, the power transmitter 300 (second device) transmits wireless power to the power transceiver 200 (step S106). Wireless power is thus transmitted from the power transmitter 300 to the power transceiver 200); and transmit power to a first device ([0084] When the power receiver 100 (first device) judges that an emergency has occurred, the power receiver 100 transmits an emergency power transmission request (step S201); [0085] the power transceiver 200 can recognize that an emergency has occurred from the notification information included in the emergency power transmission request. In this case, the power transceiver 200 stops functioning as a power receiver (step S202); [0086] The power transceiver 200 then starts functioning as a power transmitter (step S203). In response to the emergency power transmission request of the power receiver 100, the power transceiver 200 transmits wireless power to the power receiver 100 (step S204). Wireless power is thus transmitted from the power transceiver 200 to the power receiver 100 during an emergency).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the control section of KIRIYAMA to include the instruction executable by the processor to receive power from the second device according to the scheduling and transmit power to the first device as taught by MIWA in order to communicate in the wireless communication system and continue supplying the first device with power in the case of an emergency (MIWA - [0101] when the power transmitter 300 can no longer supply wireless power during an emergency, the power transceiver 200 transmits wireless power to the power receiver 100… allowing the electronic device housing the power receiver 100 to continue operating even during an emergency. If the power receiver 100 is housed in the mobile phone 10 or a radio, for example, the mobile phone 10 or radio can also be used longer during an emergency, such as a disaster. The power transmission system 1 can thus be more useful).
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. PTO-892 form.
UMENO et al. (US 20220149670 A1) teaches a power supply device and a power supply system which enable consumers to freely choose electrical power and specify transmission sources when receiving electrical power, and enable parties involved in transactions to reliably and safely perform transmission between them.
/THERESA NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2418
/Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418