Election/Restrictions
Applicants’ election of Group II claims 5-9, 16, 19 and 20 without traverse is acknowledged. Claims 1-4, 10-15, 17 and 18 are therefore withdrawn from consideration. Rejoinder will be taken into consideration when examined claims are in condition for allowance.
Claim Interpretation
Elected claims are directed to a copolymer comprising monomers A1-A5 wherein monomer A1 has specific chemical structure. Consequently, the claims are directed to a product and not by the process by which the copolymer was made. As such presence of non-polymerizable moisture scavenger will not affect the chemical structure of the resulting copolymer. Therefore, patentable weight is given to the product and not the process which interpretation is in accordance with the MPEP.
Under broadest reasonable interpretation, claim 16 is read as requiring only vinyl silane monomer, since all other monomer have lower bunds of zero.
Claim 16 recites monomers selected from list “consisting of”, which term is viewed as “comprising” because monomer A5 is defined as “other copolymerizable monomers” which can be any monomer capable to undergo polymerization with vinyl monomers A1-A4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-9, 16, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Instant claims 16 includes non-polymerizable moisture scavenger. Claims 19 and 20 define this non-polymerizable moisture scavenger are alkoxy silanes and orthoesters.
Instant specification [0023] defines the moisture scavenger as non-polymerizable and discloses preferred embodiment, which is in claim 19 as well as vinyl silanes, orthoacetates and orthoformates [0025, 0047].
By definition, term non-polymerizable in Webster Dictionary means not capable of polymerizing or forming polymers. Term polymerizable is defined as a compound capable of bonding together to form larger compounds.
Non-polymerizable moisture scavengers as defined by the instant invention are alkoxy silanes each having three alkoxy group. Orthoformates as depicted in claim 20 are the anions of methanetriolate, and acetate as claimed is the anion of the orthoacetic acid.
All these compounds are reactive due to presence of the ion or in case of siloxanes are hydrolytically active organosilicons. In case of organosilanes, in presence of moisture they will undergo polycondensation forming a polymeric species.
It is further noted, that alkoxy silanes and vinyl silanes are functional silanes also listed as monomer A2, which in fact is polymerizable in order to form polymer.
Instant specification does not provide any description on how the moisture scavengers are deemed non-polymerizable. See also disclosure of Chang (US 4,043,953) to support examiner’s position.
One way to overcome this rejection, the applicants shall remove term non-polymerizable. Because as evidenced in Chang, these scavengers do polymerize (undergo polycondensation), however they react much faster than the monomers utilized in the polymerization thereby disrupting polycondensation of vinyl silanes which are the monomers ultimately utilized in the copolymerization. Having said that adding alkoxy silanes to the polymerization process even as moisture scavengers does not prevent its reaction with monomers such as vinyl alkoxysilanes thereby producing undefined polymer. In view of the possible side reaction, perhaps removing moisture scavengers from the claims would be best option, because at the time Chang’s reference was published such mechanism was only postulated theory, and at the same time the applicants did little to explain as to what is happening with the moisture scavengers and how they are not polymerizing with the monomers.
All dependent claims inherit the deficiency of the independent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-9, 16, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Instant claims are directed to a polymer which comprises monomer A2 which is a silane functional monomer. At the same time claims 19 and 20 define silane functional compounds (monomers) as moisture scavenger. In fact, instant specification defines vinyl silanes as capable of doing both being utilized as a monomer and acting as moisture scavenger.
Therefore, instant claims are definite because it is unclear is the same compound is performing both functions or different compounds are utilized (see instant spec [0023, 0025, 0047]). The claims require clear language that will distinguish between the two compounds.
The claim is further indefinite because the polymerization is conducted in presence of moisture scavenger or C1-C9 alcohol and at the same time the C1-C9 alcohol is listed as a monomer consequently a distinction should be made between the copolymer composition and the monomers to be utilized in copolymerization, because claim 16 is a product claim and not process claim.
Claim 16 which is directed to copolymer requires only 3-35 wt.% of silane functional monomers. A formed copolymer cannot be expressed as only having at most 35 wt.% of monomers. As such the remaining monomers cannot be zero.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 5-9, 16, 19, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Heymans (EP 3 363 827).
With respect to claims 8 and 16, Heyman discloses crosslinkable vinyl ester/vinyl silane polymer (Abstract). The copolymer comprises following monomers [0003]:
Monomer A: 15-95 wt.% of vinyl ester compound having following structure:
Wherein R1, R2 and R3 are hydrogen or alkyl groups having 1-15 carbon atoms. The total amount of carbon atoms in R1, R2 and R3 is 1-20. Monomer A reads on instant monomer A1.
Monomer B: silane functional monomers having following structures:
Wherein R4, R5 and R6 are alkyl groups having 1-4 carbon atoms. Monomer B reads on instant monomer A2.
Monomer C is 0-40 wt.% vinyl acetate reads on instant monomer A3.
Monomer D is 0-40 wt.% of acrylate or methacrylate monomers which meet instant monomer A4.
Monomers E and F in an amount of 0-25% each disclose other vinyl monomers that meet instant monomer A5.
Other components are optional since their lower content is 0 wt.%.
With respect to claims 5 and 9, Heyman discloses narrower content of the monomers [0004] wherein monomer A (A1) is utilized in 15/95 wt.% and monomer B (A2) is utilized in an amount of 5-35 wt.%.
With respect to claim 6, Heyman discloses that monomer C (A3) is vinyl acetate [0003] and monomer D (A4) is acrylate or methacrylate ester (see rejection of claim 16 above).
With respect to claim 7, vinyl esters of Heyman are branched esters such as VeoVA 9 and VeoVA10 [0010], which have 9 or 10 carbon atoms per each R group.
With respect to claims 19 and 20, as it was previously mentioned moisture scavenger is part of the polymerization process, wherein nothing in the specification shows that the scavenger is part of the paint composition, which is moisture curable. Consequently, claims are directed to part of the process not composition. Having said that in [0015] Heyman discloses catalyst systems that can be utilized in the formation of copolymers. These include K-Kat catalyst which is zinc complex with organosilanes catalyst as well as aminomopropyl trimethoxy silane. These catalysts are soluble in alcohols such as methanol or ethanol (see attached TDS).
Claims 5-9, 16, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huybrechts (US 5,886,125).
With respect to claim 5, 8, 9, 16, Huybechts (Abstract) discloses crosslinkable composition, wherein copolymer comprises vinyl silane and vinyl ester. Monomer B is Vinyl ester and has following structure:
Wherein R3, R4 and R5 are hydrogen or alkyl groups having 1-12 carbon atoms, total content of carbon atoms in R3, R4 and R5 is at least 3 carbon atoms. This compound meets instantly claimed monomer A1 and it is utilized in an amount of 5-95 wt% (col. 1, l. 50).
(Monomer A) Vinyl silane compound has following structure:
Wherein preferred compounds are trialkoxy silanes as defined in col. 4, starting l. 55 to col. 5, l. 10. This compounds meets the instantly claimed monomer A2. This compound is utilized in an amount of 5-95 wt% (col. 1, l. 41).
Component C includes other ethylenically unsaturated monomers in an amount of 0-90 wt.%
In most preferred embodiment monomers A and B are utilized in an amount of 10-50 wt.% each (col. 2, l. 3-6). The structures and content of components A and B further meet instant claims 5, 8 and 9 of the instant invention.
With respect to claim 6, component C can be selected from other ethylenically unsaturated monomers which include acrylate ester or methacrylate esters that meet instant monomer A4 (col. 5, l. 32-47), other functionalized acrylates or vinyl aromatics (col. 5, l. 50-64) and wherein the simplest formula of vinyl ester which enabled for compound wherein R3, R4 and R5 can be hydrogens.
With respect to claim 7, preferred vinyl esters are VeoVA9 and VeoVA 10 (col. 2, l. 13-14), which have 9 and 10 carbon atoms for each group R3, R4 and R5.
With respect to claims 19 and 20, claims are directed to the moisture scavengers which are part of the process not the product. There is nothing in the specification that examiner could find that would show scavengers to be used in the composition itself, especially when composition is moisture curable. Having said that, the copolymer of Huybrechts is polymerized in presence of butanol which is an alcohol comprising 4 carbon atoms. Other alcohol (col. 3) can be the same solvents as those utilized in the dispersion of the paint composition (presence of pigments implied) include methanol and isopropanol.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huybrechts (US 5,886,125) in view of Furukawa (US 5,459,205).
Discussion of Hybrechts from paragraph 2 of this office action is incorporated here by reference. As it was disclosed in the paragraph 2, Huybrechts discloses copolymer comprising vinyl silane and vinyl ester as well as other vinyl or ethylenically unsaturated monomers required by instant invention (per dependent claims). While main formula of vinyl ester encompasses vinyl acetate as monomer, Hybercht does not really explicitly list vinyl acetate.
Furukawa discloses another copolymer which formed utilizing vinyl monomers. The monomers utilized in the teachings of Furukawa include copolymers which copolymerize vinyl monomer with organosilane. Vinyl monomers (D) include acrylate esters, methacrylate esters, vinyl esters including vinyl acetate and vinyl silane (col. 7 and 8), hydroxyl containing acrylates and a prepolymer which is not a polymer and therefore encompassed by instant claim 16 component A5.
In the light of the above disclosure it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time instant invention was filed to utilize vinyl acetate with the composition of Huybercht and thereby obtain the claimed invention. Vinyl acetate meets generic formula of instant claim 16 and formula of Huybrecht and it will polymerize in the same fashion as the entirety of the vinyl compounds of Huybrecht. This is because the same vinyl compounds as well as ethylenically unsaturated compounds are also taught by Huybercht.
**** Note: currently application number 17/631,183 is abandoned. Shall applicants revive the application, Double Patenting rejection will be stated without affecting finality of this application.
References of Interest which are also applicable to instant invention include:
US 5,179,181 to Honma
US 5,399,607 to Nanbu
Oath/Declaration
Currently, this application does not have oath and declaration filed with the office. The application also does not have power of attorney and application datasheet. Failure to submit all three documents will result in abandonment of the application.
Correspondence
/KATARZYNA I KOLB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767 October 15, 2026