DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed July 26th, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-13 remain pending in the application. Claims 8-11 remain withdrawn for consideration as being directed to nonelected Group II. However, the amendment has raised other issues detailed below.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 5, line 2 recites “open-loop and closed-loop control device” but no corresponding structure is provided in the specification, see 112(a) and 112(b) rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Line 2 recites, “open-loop and closed-loop control device” which is interpreted under 35 U.S.C 112(f) but is not further described in the specification to define structure for the open-loop and closed-loop control device. The closed structure provided in the specification is “The open-loop and closed-loop control device is configured to receive sensor signals from the pressure sensor and/or from the flow sensor and to evaluate them suitably. The open-loop and closed-loop control device can then control the supply valve on the basis of the sensor signals from the pressure sensor and/or from the flow sensor (Pg. 6, paragraph 22)” measuring device 15 is configured to measure the temperature of the space 2 (Pg. 10, paragraph 69)”, however, this is further explanation of the function of the open-loop and closed-loop control device and not support for the means to carry out said function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “open-loop and closed-loop control device” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. No corresponding support is provided in the specification to define the structure of the open-loop and closed-loop control device. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the open-loop and closed-loop control device to include controllers, processors, computers, microprocessors, PLCs, circuitry, or equivalents. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim 13, lines 1-3 recite, “wherein during d), the supply valve is subjected to open-loop and
closed-loop control using sensor signals from a pressure sensor arranged downstream from the supply valve and/or sensor signals from a flow sensor” which is unclear to the Examiner as open-loop control does not use feedback of sensors, but the claim appears to require both open-loop control and closed-loop control to be linked to sensor control. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the claim to simply require control of the supply valve based on signals from a pressure sensor arranged downstream from the supply valve and/or sensor signals from a flow sensor. The Examiner recommends amending the claim to clarify whether or not sensor signals are used in the open-loop control of the supply valve.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Watts et al. (US 20140076290), hereinafter Watts.
Regarding claim 1, Watts discloses a method for supplying a consumer with a cryogen from a storage vessel (Fig. 1, device 12, liquid hydrogen supply container 16, hydrogen 14; Pg. 1, paragraph 13, FIG. 1 shows a front view of one embodiment of an apparatus 10 which supplies hydrogen fuel 14 to device 12. The device 12 being fueled may comprise an aircraft, a vehicle, an internal combustion engine, and/or another type of hydrogen fueled device), the method comprising:
introducing part of the cryogen from the storage vessel into a volume that can be closed off
from the consumer and from the storage vessel (Fig. 1, vessel 20; Pg. 1-2, paragraph 14-15, The liquid hydrogen supply container 16 may contain hydrogen 14 in a liquid state, and may be connected through one or more pipes 36 to the entrance valve 18 which may be connected to the vessel 20. The vessel 20 may comprise a pipe or other type of vessel in which a liquid or gas may be contained. In one embodiment, the vessel 20 may comprise a 3 foot long pipe having a 2 to 5 inch diameter. In other embodiments, varying sized vessels 20 may be used depending on the hydrogen demand of the device 12. For instance, in one embodiment, two or more vessels 20 may be used in parallel and manifolded together, and the accumulator 30 may be replaced by a manifold downstream of exit valve 26.
The entrance valve 18 may be adapted to open to allow hydrogen 14 in a liquid state to be transferred from the supply container 16 into vessel 20…The vessel 20 may be connected to the exit valve 26. The exit valve 26 may be adapted to close to lock hydrogen 14 in a near liquid hydrogen temperature gas
state within the vessel 20 so that it can be heated to a high pressure warm state, to open to allow hydrogen 14 in a gaseous state to be transferred to the accumulator 30, and to close to prevent more hydrogen 14 in a gaseous state to enter the accumulator 30),
closing off the volume from the consumer and from the storage vessel by closing a supply valve
arranged between the volume and the consumer, and the closing an inlet valve arranged between the storage vessel and the volume (Fig. 1, exit valve 26, entrance valve 18; Pg. 1, paragraph 15, Once the desired temperature of the hydrogen in vessel 20 is reached, valve 18 may be closed to lock near
liquid hydrogen temperature gaseous hydrogen in vessel 20 to be heated using a heat transfer system 28; Pg. 2, paragraph 19, When enough hydrogen 14 in a gaseous state has been accumulated in the accumulator 30, the exit valve 26 may be closed),
vaporizing the cryogen in the volume so as to subject the volume to a pressure which is higher
than a pressure prevailing in the storage vessel and (Fig. 1, heat transfer system 28; Pg. 1-2, paragraph 15, The heat transfer system 28 may allow heat from the connected device 12, in the form of heated device coolant or in another form, to be transferred to the vessel 20 in order to heat the hydrogen 14
within the vessel 20 to a warm higher pressure gas. The first temperature sensor 22 and the first pressure sensor 24 may be connected to the vessel 20 in order to monitor the temperature and pressure of the hydrogen 14 within the vessel 20 in both liquid and gaseous states),
discharging vaporized cryogen from the volume to the consumer when the consumer has a
load requirement by opening the supply valve, wherein, when the supply valve is open, the inlet valve is opened as soon as the pressure in the volume falls below the pressure prevailing in the storage vessel (Pg. 2, paragraph 17, In one embodiment, when the apparatus 10 of FIG. 1 is in operation, the entrance valve 18 may be opened to allow hydrogen 14 in a liquid state to be transferred from the liquid hydrogen supply container 16 to the vessel 20 while the exit valve 26 is closed. After enough hydrogen 14 in a liquid state is transferred into the vessel 20, the entrance valve 18 may be closed. The heat transfer system 28 may then transfer heat from the connected device 12 to the vessel 20, in order to
heat the hydrogen 14 within the vessel 20 from a liquid to a gaseous state; Pg. 2, paragraph 19, When enough hydrogen 14 in a gaseous state has been accumulated in the accumulator 30, the exit valve 26
may be closed. When the second temperature sensor 32 and/or the second pressure sensor 34 detect a temperature and/or pressure within the accumulator 30 indicating that the hydrogen 14 within the accumulator 30 is in a suitable gaseous state to fuel the connected device 12, the accumulator 30 may
transfer hydrogen 14 in a gaseous state to the connected device 12; Pg. 2, paragraph 20, When the vessel 20 needs to be recharged, the entrance valve 18 may be opened to allow hydrogen 14 in a liquid state to be transferred to the vessel 20 from the supply container 16. The pressure within the vessel 20 may initially drop which will may allow some of the hydrogen 14 in a liquid form to flow inside the vessel 20. The hydrogen 14 in a liquid form may vaporize as it enters the vessel 20 but at a much lower temperature than the temperature within the vessel 20; Further, Watts teaches the use of pressure sensors throughout the system to control the opening of the entrance valve 18 and further discloses the recharging of the vessel 20 with liquid hydrogen 14 from the supply container 16, which requires opening of the entrance valve 18, includes a drop in pressure within the vessel that allows for the liquid hydrogen 14 from the supply container 16 to be filled within the vessel 20 at least imply the entrance valve 18 is opened to recharge the vessel 20 as soon as the pressure within the vessel 20 is less than a pressure in the storage container 16 as the pressure difference between the supply container 16 and the vessel 20 is great enough to allow for the vessel 20 to be recharged with the liquid hydrogen 14 from the supply container 16 when the entrance valve 18 is opened to perform recharging of the vessel 20 since it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01)).
Regarding claim 2, Watts discloses the method according to claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein during d), the pressure prevailing in the volume is reduced to a supply pressure suitable for the consumer when the cryogen is discharged from the volume with the aid of the supply valve (Pg. 2, paragraph 18-19, Likewise, when the first temperature sensor 22 and/or the first pressure sensor 24 detect a temperature and/or pressure within the vessel 20 which indicates that the hydrogen 14 within the vessel is in a suitable gaseous state, the exit valve 26 may be opened to allow the hydrogen 14 in a gaseous state to be transferred to the accumulator 30. When enough hydrogen 14 in a gaseous state has been accumulated in the accumulator 30, the exit valve 26 may be closed. When the second temperature sensor 32 and/or the second pressure sensor 34 detect a temperature and/or pressure within the accumulator 30 indicating that the hydrogen 14 within the accumulator 30 is in a suitable gaseous state to fuel the connected device 12, the accumulator 30 may transfer hydrogen 14 in a gaseous state to the connected device 12; Further, as the vessel 20 is conditioning the gaseous hydrogen to be held in the accumulator 30 prior to dispending to the device 12 and the flow between the vessel 20 and the accumulator 30 is controlled via the exit valve 26, the teachings of Watts which disclose achieving a suitable temperature and/or pressure of the cryogen before dispending to the device 12 at least imply the pressure prevailing in the volume is reduced to a supply pressure suitable for the consumer when the cryogen is discharged from the volume with the aid of the supply valve since it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01)).
Regarding claim 4, Watts discloses the method according to claim 2 (see the rejection of claim 2 above), wherein during d), the supply valve is opened depending on the load requirement of the consumer (Pg. 2, paragraph 19, When enough hydrogen 14 in a gaseous state has been accumulated in the accumulator 30, the exit valve 26 may be closed. When the second temperature sensor 32 and/or the second pressure sensor 34 detect a temperature and/or pressure within the accumulator 30 indicating that the hydrogen 14 within the accumulator 30 is in a suitable gaseous state to fuel the connected device 12, the accumulator 30 may transfer hydrogen 14 in a gaseous state to the connected device 12. If the second temperature sensor 32 and/or the second pressure sensor 34 detect that the temperature and/or pressure within the accumulator 30 is below a second set amount, the exit valve 26 may be opened to allow more hydrogen 14, which has been heated within the vessel 20 to a gaseous state, to be transferred into the accumulator 30 to increase the temperature and/or pressure of the hydrogen 14 within the accumulator 30; Pg. 3, paragraph 22, In another embodiment, hydrogen 14 in the vessel 20 may be heated using heat transferred from the device 12 when at least one of the temperature and pressure of the hydrogen 14 within the vessel 20 is under a third set-amount. In still another step 248, hydrogen 14 in a gaseous state within the vessel 20 may be transferred to the device 12. In one embodiment, hydrogen 14 in a gaseous state within the vessel 20 may be first transferred to an accumulator 30, and then transferred to the device 12; Further, the teachings of Watts imply the accumulator 30 is not required and that gaseous hydrogen can be directly transferred to the device 12 from the vessel 20 which further implies the exit valve 26 to be is opened depending on the load requirement of the consumer since it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01)).
Regarding claim 5, Watts discloses the method according to claim 2 (see the rejection of claim 2 above), wherein during d), the supply valve is controlled with the aid of an open-loop and closed-loop control device based on sensor signals from a pressure sensor arranged downstream from the supply valve (Fig. 1, apparatus 10, first pressure sensor 24; Pg. 2, paragraph 17, At any time, if the first temperature sensor 22 and/ or the first pressure sensor 24 detect a temperature and/or pressure within the vessel 20 above a first set-amount, indicating that the temperature and/or pressure within the vessel 20 is too high, the entrance valve 18 may be opened to allow more hydrogen 14 in a liquid state to be transferred into the vessel 20 to lower the temperature and/or pressure within the vessel 20; As best understood, see 112(b) rejections above).
Regarding claim 7, Watts discloses the method according to claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein heat is introduced into the cryogen during c) with the aid of a vaporizer unit to vaporize the cryogen (Fig. 1, heat transfer system 28; Pg. 1-2, paragraph 15-16, Once the desired temperature of the hydrogen in vessel 20 is reached, valve 18 may be closed to lock near liquid hydrogen temperature gaseous hydrogen in vessel 20 to be heated using a heat transfer system 28. The heat transfer system 28 may comprise one or more continuous closed loop pipes which are connected between the vessel 20 and a connected device 12. The heat transfer system 28 may allow heat from the connected device 12, in the form of heated device coolant or in another form, to be transferred to the vessel 20 in order to heat the hydrogen 14 within the vessel 20 to a warm higher pressure gas. The first temperature sensor 22 and the first pressure sensor 24 may be connected to the vessel 20 in order to monitor the temperature and pressure of the hydrogen 14 within the vessel 20 in both liquid and gaseous states).
Regarding claim 12, Watts discloses the method according to claim 2 (see the rejection of claim 2 above), further comprising, during d), controlling the supply valve using sensor signals from a pressure sensor arranged downstream from the supply valve (Fig. 1, second pressure sensor 34; Pg. 2, paragraph 19, If the second temperature sensor 32 and/or the second pressure sensor 34 detect that the temperature and/or pressure within the accumulator 30 is below a second set amount, the exit valve 26 may be opened to allow more hydrogen 14, which has been heated within the vessel 20 to a gaseous state, to be transferred into the accumulator 30 to increase the temperature and/or pressure of the hydrogen 14 within the accumulator 30).
Regarding claim 13, Watts discloses the method according to claim 2 (see the rejection of claim 2 above), wherein during d), the supply valve is subjected to open-loop and closed-loop control using sensor signals from a pressure sensor arranged downstream from the supply valve (Fig. 1, second pressure sensor 34; Pg. 2, paragraph 19, If the second temperature sensor 32 and/or the second pressure sensor 34 detect that the temperature and/or pressure within the accumulator 30 is below a second set amount, the exit valve 26 may be opened to allow more hydrogen 14, which has been heated within the vessel 20 to a gaseous state, to be transferred into the accumulator 30 to increase the temperature and/or pressure of the hydrogen 14 within the accumulator 30; As best understood, see 112(b) rejections above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watts et al. (US 20140076290), hereinafter Watts in view of Seike et al. (US 20230313397), hereinafter Seike.
Regarding claim 3, Watts discloses the method according to claim 2 (see the rejection of claim 2 above).
However, Watts does not explicitly disclose wherein the supply pressure suitable for the consumer is less than the pressure prevailing in the storage vessel.
Seike teaches wherein the supply pressure suitable for the consumer is less than the pressure prevailing in the storage vessel (Fig. 1, accumulator 16, high-pressure accumulator 22, fuel cell vehicle 92; Pg. 3, paragraph 30, The accumulator 16 includes a high-pressure accumulator 22 and an intermediate accumulator 24. The high pressure accumulator 22 stores high-pressure hydrogen for filling a fuel cell vehicle 92 through a dispenser 18. The pressure of the hydrogen gas accumulated in the high pressure accumulator 22 is, for example, 82 MPa; Pg. 3, paragraph 33, The dispenser 18 supplies high-pressure hydrogen to the fuel cell vehicle 92 that has come to the hydrogen station 10. The pressure of the hydrogen gas charged into the fuel cell vehicle 92 is determined by regulations and laws of each country, and is, for example, 70 MPa in Japan).
Watts fails to teach wherein the supply pressure suitable for the consumer is less than the pressure prevailing in the storage vessel, however Seike teaches that it is a known method in the art of gaseous hydrogen supply systems to include wherein the supply pressure suitable for the consumer is less than the pressure prevailing in the storage vessel. This is strong evidence that modifying Watts as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. complying with local laws and regulations). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Watts by Seike and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of complying with local laws and regulations.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watts et al. (US 20140076290), hereinafter Watts in view of Watts (US Patent No. 8,950,195), hereinafter Watts ‘195.
Regarding claim 6, Watts discloses the method according to claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the inlet valve is closed as long as the pressure in the volume is greater than the pressure predetermined amount (Pg. 3, paragraph 22, In another embodiment, hydrogen 14 in a liquid state may be transferred from a supply container 16 to the vessel 20 when at least one of the temperature and pressure of the hydrogen 14 within the vessel 20 is over a first set-amount).
However, Watts does not explicitly disclose the predetermined amount to be related to the pressure prevailing in the storage vessel.
Watts ‘195 teaches wherein the inlet valve is closed as long as the pressure in the volume is greater than the pressure prevailing in the storage vessel (Fig. 7 of Watts ‘195 depicts the filled state of the sphere 20c where a pressure of the sphere 20c is 150 psi, which is above the pressure of the dewar 10, and the fill valve 24c is closed; Fig. 8 of Watts ‘195 depicts an emptied state of the sphere 20c where the pressure has been reduced to the same pressure as the dewar 10 and the fill valve 24c is opened for refilling; Col. 3, lines 10-35, As shown in FIG. 6, operation of TDP 12 commences with opening of pressurization valve 48c introducing GH2 pressure from the GH2 accumulator into TDP sphere 20c. Thermal contraction of the gas results in a minor reduction in gas pressure of approximately 5 psia to 145 psia as shown. Opening of supply valve 28c provides LH2 flow from TDP sphere 20c into supply manifold 26 assisted by boost pump 30. LH2 flows through heat exchanger 32 gasifying the LH2 into GH2 and flowing to accumulator 38 for supply through PFCD 40 to use by the engine and/or other accessory systems. Flow through heat exchanger 3 2 increases operating pressure in the accumulator and TDP sphere 20c to nominal at 150 psia as shown in FIG. 7. In the exemplary embodiments, a pressure regulator (not shown) maintains the nominal pressure of 150 psia in the accumulator. Pressures in the remaining two TDP spheres, 20b and 20a as well as the LH2 dewar and accumulator 14 remain nominally at 25 psia. When TDP sphere 20c is substantially depleted ofLH2, as shown in FIG. 8, pressurization valve 48c is closed and supply valve 28c is closed. Pressurization valve 48b is opened pressurizing TDP sphere 20b, with the gas pressure fluctuation to 145 psia as shown, and supply valve 28b is opened providing LH2 flow from TDP sphere 20b to the supply manifold and through pump 30 to heat exchanger 32 to accumulator 38. Fill valve 24c and depressurization valve 52c are opened to commence
refilling of TDP sphere 20c).
Watts fails to teach wherein the inlet valve is closed as long as the pressure in the volume is greater than the pressure prevailing in the storage vessel, however Watts ‘195 teaches that it is a known method in the art of gaseous hydrogen supply systems to include wherein the inlet valve is closed as long as the pressure in the volume is greater than the pressure prevailing in the storage vessel. This is strong evidence that modifying Watts as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. optimizing filling of the volume based on real time sensor data to improve overall system efficiencies). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Watts by Watts ‘195 and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of optimizing filling of the volume based on real time sensor data to improve overall system efficiencies.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 26th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on Pg. 5-7 (as numbered by Applicant) of the Remarks, “Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) on grounds of lack of written description, and under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) on grounds of indefiniteness, due to the recitation of "open-loop and closed-loop control device." A controller is a device well understood by one of ordinary skill in the chemical processing art. Using controllers to receive and/or send signals to or from process control elements such as proportional flow control device is well-known to those of ordinary skill in the chemical processing art. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art readily understands that open-loop control operates without feedback whereas closed-loop control utilizes feedback and error correction. Thus, since these concepts are well known, one of ordinary skill in the art does not need a detailed structural description to readily understand the concept of an open-loop and closed-loop control device. It is noted that a patent need not teach, and preferably omits, what is well known in the art. In re Buchner, 929 F.2d 660, 661, 18 USPQ2d 1331, 1332 (Fed. Cir. 1991); Hybtritech, Inc. v. Monoclonal Antibodies, Inc., 802 F.2d 1367, 1384, 231 USPQ 81, 94 (Fed. Cir. 1986) .... " Applicants' specification further describes features of the open-loop and closed-loop control device, thereby further adding to the understanding of one of ordinary skill in the art. For example, the open-loop and closed-loop control device has a structure such that it is configured to receive sensor signals from the pressure sensor and/or from the flow sensor and to evaluate the signals, and then control the supply valve on the basis of the sensor signals from the pressure sensor and/or from the flow sensor. See, for example, paragraph [0022]. Also, the open-loop and closed-loop control device has a structure such that it is configured to control the inlet valve so that the inlet valve introduces a part of the cryogen from the storage vessel into the volume. The open-loop and closed-loop control device also has a structure such that it is configured to control the inlet valve and the supply valve so as to close off the volume from the consumer and from the storage vessel by first closing the supply valve and then to closing the inlet valve. Additionally, the open-loop and closed-loop control device has a structure such that it is configured to control the supply valve so that the supply valve discharges the vaporized cryogen from the closed-off volume to the consumer when the consumer has a load requirement. The open-loop and closed-loop control device also has a structure such that it is configured, when the supply valve is open, to open the inlet valve as soon as the pressure in the volume falls below the pressure prevailing in the storage vessel. See, e.g., paragraph [0033]. In addition, the open-loop and closed-loop control device has a structure such that it can be coupled to a pressure sensor 19 via an operative connection 20, coupled to a flow sensor 21 via an operative connection 22. The open-loop and closed-loop control device 13 is configured to evaluate sensor signals from the pressure sensor 19 and/or from the flow sensor 21, and to receive them via the operative connections 20, 22. See paragraph [0068] and Fig. 1. The test for compliance with the written description requirement under 35 U.S.C. 112 is whether the disclosure of the application as originally filed reasonably conveys to one of ordinary skill in the art that the inventor had possession of the subject matter claimed, at the time of filing. See, for example, Vas-Cath, Inc. v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d 1555, 1563, 19 USPQ2d 1111, 1116 (Fed. Cir. 1991); In re Kaslow, 707 F.2d 1366, 1375, 217 USPQ 1089, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 1983); andAriad Pharm., Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F3.d 1336, 1351 (Fed. Cir. 2010) (en bane). Adequate written description under 35 U.S.C. §112, first paragraph, is not imposed under a strict standard but one applied under reasonableness principles, i.e., the disclosure need only "reasonably convey" to those in the art that the inventors possessed the invention. See, e.g., Fujikawa v. Wattanasin, 39 USPQ2d 1895, 1904 (Fed. Cir. 1996). In the instant case, due to the established conventional knowledge in the art of chemical processing regarding open-loop and closed-loop control devices, one of ordinary skill in the art is reasonably conveyed that applicants possessed the invention recited in claim 5. Similarly, due to the established conventional knowledge in the art of chemical processing regarding open-loop and closed-loop control devices, ordinary skill in the art can readily recognize whether a given embodiment is within or outside the scope of claim 5. Nothing more is required under 35 U.S.C. §112(b). In view of the above remarks, it is respectfully submitted that applicants' disclosure reasonably conveys that applicants' had possession of the subject matter of claim 5 as of the filing date. Further, it is respectfully submitted that the language of claim 5 is sufficiently definite to one of ordinary skill in the art.”
However, this argument is not persuasive as although controllers are well known in the art and do not warrant a 35 U.S.C 112(f) interpretation, the claims do not claims a “controller” but an “open-loop and closed-loop control device” which recites a function of “open-loop and closed-loop control” followed by the nonce term “device” and is not modified by any additional structure in the claims to define the structural components of the open-loop and closed-loop control device. Further, the features described by Applicant are further recitations of function of the open-loop and closed-loop control device (i.e., configured to receive sensor signals from the pressure sensor and/or from the flow sensor and to evaluate the signals, and then control the supply valve on the basis of the sensor signals
from the pressure sensor and/or from the flow sensor). The phase “open-loop and closed-loop control device” is not a term of art that defines a specific structural component and therefore requires the Examiner to look to the specification to for defining structure of the open-loop and closed-loop control device, however, the specification does not provide said structure. The Examiner maintains the 35 U.S.C 112(f) interpretation of “open-loop and closed-loop control device” and associated 112(a) and 112(b) rejections.
Applicant argues on Pg. 8 (as numbered by Applicant) of the Remarks, “For example, step d) recites "discharging vaporized cryogen from the volume to the consumer when the consumer has a load requirement by opening the supply valve." (emphasis added). Watts et al., on the other hand, disclose in paragraph [0019] that, when enough hydrogen 14 in a gaseous state has accumulated in accumulator 30, exit valve 26 is closed. Then, after second temperature sensor 32 and/or second pressure sensor 34 detect a temperature and/or pressure within accumulator 30 that indicates that the hydrogen 14 within
the accumulator 30 is in a suitable gaseous state to fuel the connected device 12, accumulator 30 transfers hydrogen 14 in a gaseous state to the device 12. Thus, Watts et al. do not disclose discharging vaporized cryogen from the volume to the consumer (device 12) when the consumer has a load requirement by opening valve 26.”
However, this argument is not persuasive as the teachings of Watts do not recite that the supply valve 26 first has to be closed before the accumulator 30 can transfer, so gas can be transferred while the valve 26 is open as long as the pressure sensor in the accumulator indicates the gas is in the proper state (Pg. 2, paragraph 19, When enough hydrogen 14 in a gaseous state has been accumulated in the accumulator 30, the exit valve 26 may be closed. When the second temperature sensor 32 and/or the second pressure sensor 34 detect a temperature and/or pressure within the accumulator 30 indicating that the hydrogen 14 within the accumulator 30 is in a suitable gaseous state to fuel the connected device 12, the accumulator 30 may transfer hydrogen 14 in a gaseous state to the connected device 12). See the rejection of claim 1 above.
Applicant argues on Pg. 9 (as numbered by Applicant) of the Remarks, “Further, Watts et al. do not disclose or suggest that, when exit valve 26 is open, the entrance valve 18 is opened as soon as the pressure in the vessel 20 falls below the pressure prevailing in the supply container 16. Compare step d) of applicants' claim 1. It is noted that Watts et al. do not even suggest monitoring the pressure supply container 16. For example, no pressure sensor associated with the supply container 16 is disclosed or suggested.”
However, this argument is not persuasive as Watt teaches the pressure drop in the vessel 20 draws liquid into the vessel 20 from the supply container 16 indicates the pressure in the vessel 20 is below the pressure in the storage vessel, there is no sensor required for this (Pg. 2, paragraph 20, When the vessel 20 needs to be recharged, the entrance valve 18 may be opened to allow hydrogen 14 in a liquid state to be transferred to the vessel 20 from the supply container 16. The pressure within the vessel 20 may initially drop which will may allow some of the hydrogen 14 in a liquid form to flow inside the vessel 20. The hydrogen 14 in a liquid form may vaporize as it enters the vessel 20 but at a much lower temperature than the temperature within the vessel 20; Further, Watts teaches the use of pressure sensors throughout the system to control the opening of the entrance valve 18 and further discloses the recharging of the vessel 20 with liquid hydrogen 14 from the supply container 16, which requires opening of the entrance valve 18, includes a drop in pressure within the vessel that allows for the liquid hydrogen 14 from the supply container 16 to be filled within the vessel 20 at least imply the entrance valve 18 is opened to recharge the vessel 20 as soon as the pressure within the vessel 20 is less than a pressure in the storage container 16 as the pressure difference between the supply container 16 and the vessel 20 is great enough to allow for the vessel 20 to be recharged with the liquid hydrogen 14 from the supply container 16 when the entrance valve 18 is opened to perform recharging of the vessel 20 since it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01)). See the rejection of claim 1 above.
Applicant argues on Pg. 10 (as numbered by Applicant) of the Remarks, “The disclosure of Watts et al. is discussed above. The rejection asserts that the disclosure of Seike et al. "teaches that it is a known method in the art of gaseous hydrogen supply systems to include wherein the supply pressure suitable for the consumer is less than the pressure prevailing in the storage vessel." Seike et al. disclose a hydrogen station having a water electrolysis device that produces hydrogen gas by an electrolytic reaction, a compressor that compresses the hydrogen gas produced by the water electrolysis device, an accumulator that accumulates the hydrogen gas compressed by the compressor, and a dispenser that fills a fuel cell vehicle with the hydrogen gas accumulated in the accumulator. See the Abstract. The system of Seike et al. does not involve the storage of liquid hydrogen and thus provides no suggestion of modifying the system of Watts et al. such hat the the supply pressure suitable for the device to be fuelled is less than the pressure prevailing in the supply container 16 containing liquid hydrogen. Moreover, the disclosure of Seike et al. does not overcome the deficiencies in the disclosure of Watts et al. discussed above.”
However, this argument is not persuasive as the teachings of Seike are a general teaching that it is known in the art for the supply pressure to the consumer to be less than the pressure prevailing in the storage vessel (Seike, Pg. 3, paragraph 30, The accumulator 16 includes a high-pressure accumulator 22 and an intermediate accumulator 24. The high pressure accumulator 22 stores high-pressure hydrogen for filling a fuel cell vehicle 92 through a dispenser 18. The pressure of the hydrogen gas accumulated in the high pressure accumulator 22 is, for example, 82 MPa; Pg. 3, paragraph 33, The dispenser 18 supplies high-pressure hydrogen to the fuel cell vehicle 92 that has come to the hydrogen station 10. The pressure of the hydrogen gas charged into the fuel cell vehicle 92 is determined by regulations and laws of each country, and is, for example, 70 MPa in Japan). Further, in response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “the cryogen being in a liquid state in the storage container”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). See the rejection of claim 3 above.
Applicant argues on Pg. 11 (as numbered by Applicant) of the Remarks, “None of the embodiments shown disclosed by Watts '195 include a situation where the pressure in liquid hydrogen storage dewar 10 is higher than the pressure in spheres 20a, 20b, and 20c or in gaseous hydrogen accumulator 38. Compare applicants' claim 1 wherein the inlet valve is opened as soon as the pressure in the volume falls below the pressure prevailing in the storage vessel. Hence, the Watts '195 disclosure provides no suggestion as to when an inlet valve, that is opened as soon as the pressure in the volume falls below the pressure prevailing in the storage vessel, would be closed.”
However, this argument is not persuasive as Fig. 7 of Watts ‘195 depicts pressure in sphere 20c, which corresponds to the volume, to be 150 psia which is greater than the pressure of 10 psia in the LH2 storage dewar 10, which corresponds to the storage vessel (See Fig. 7 of Watts ‘195 which depicts the filled state of the sphere 20c where a pressure of the sphere 20c is 150 psi, which is above the pressure of the dewar 10, and the fill valve 24c is closed). See the rejection of claim 6 above.
The rejection of independent claim 1 is maintained. The rejection of dependent claims 2-7 are also maintained for at least the reasons described herein. See the rejections of new dependent claims 12-13 above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DEVON MOORE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763 September 15th, 2026
/FRANTZ F JULES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763