DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Examiner acknowledges the remarks and amendments filed on 5/5/26. Claim 1 has been amended. Claims 7 and 9 have been canceled. Claims 1-6, 8, and 10-33 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8, 10, 12-30, 32, and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Balbo Block USPA_20150232631_A1 in view of Falke USPN_6087410 and Chen CN_104712899_A (see machine English translation).
1. Regarding Claims 1 and 3, Balbo Block discloses a PU foam in the form of a mold (corresponds to claimed composite) (paragraph 0080) comprising reinforced glass fiber in a continuous phase (corresponds to claimed reinforced glass fiber in 100 wt% continuous phase form and 0% discontinuous phase form as claimed in instant Claims 1 and 3) (paragraph 0005). Balbo Block discloses a polyol component and an isocyanate component (Claim 7) wherein said polyol component is reactive to said isocyanate component (Abstract) and further comprises flame retardants (paragraph 0057), blowing agents, and catalysts (paragraph 0079).
2. However, Balbo Block discloses using only 5 to 15 wt% of said reinforced glass fibers while said PU foam is the balance from 85 to 95 wt% (Claim 12). This does not overlap with the claimed range. Balbo Block discloses using its PU foam in liquified natural gas carriers (paragraph 0004) but does not disclose the instantly claimed thickness of said foam.
3. Falke discloses production of polyurethane foams (Title) which “advantageously” have a range of 1 to 50 wt% of said reinforcing glass fibers (column 9, lines 40-47). Falke further discloses that its invention results in PU foams having improved hardness and increased humid resistance without impairing other properties (column 2, lines 15-18).
4. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the concentration of reinforcing glass fibers, of Balbo Block, by using the aforementioned range, of Falke. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated in trying this concentration for its advantages such as increased humid resistance and improved hardness. It would further be obvious to substitute one known element for another. Finally, given that the Balbo Block in view of Falke teach all of the claimed limitations, it would be expected for it to inherently fulfill the claimed feature of its PU composite passing the UL94 V0 grade for fire test.
5. Chen discloses a storage and transport tank for liquified natural gas that comprises a polyurethane foam layer (Abstract) that is rigid (paragraph 0003) and can have a thickness of 5 to 50 mm (paragraph 0008; Claim 4).
6. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the rigid PU foam layer thickness, of Balbo Block, by using the aforementioned thickness, of Chen. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated in doing so in order to obtain the advantages mentioned by Chen that lead to advantages in safety, lightweight, environmental protection, large capacity, cooling, and long life (Abstract).
7. Regarding Claim 2, Balbo Block in view of Falke and Chen suggests impregnating its glass fiber with its PU foam (Balbo Block: paragraphs 0010, 0071, 0075, 0087).
8. Regarding Claim 4, Balbo Block in view of Falke and Chen suggests forming several glass fiber mat layers (Balbo Block Abstract).
9. Regarding Claim 6, Balbo Block in view of Falke and Chen suggests a density upper limit of 0.2 g/cm3 (Balbo Block: paragraph 0052).
10. Regarding Claims 7, 13, 14, 15, 16, and 28-30, although the claimed thickness is not explicitly disclosed the Examiner respectfully submits that Balbo Block discloses using its invention in insulating materials of gas tanks (corresponds to claimed covering material of instant Claim 13) (paragraph 0003) which are known to fall into the claimed range. The said gas tank would also fulfill the limitations of instant Claim 14 of having a metal sheet that are known to be made of steel (corresponds to claimed limitation of instant Claim 16) of the thickness being claimed in instant Claims 17 and 18. Such setups are known to have the claimed substrate layers of instant Claims 28-30.
11. Regarding Claim 8, Balbo Block in view of Falke and Chen suggests using TCPP (Balbo Block: paragraph 0058).
12. Regarding Claims 21 and 27, Balbo Block in view of Falke and Chen doesn’t suggest the claimed limitation. However, it would be expected to inherently fulfill this limitation due to teaching the limitations of the independent claim.
13. Regarding Claims 10, 12, and 32, Balbo Block in view of Falke and Chen suggests the process limitations (Claim 15). The limitations of instant Claims 12 and 32 have been disclosed above under the rejections of instant Claim 1.
14. Regarding Claims 19 and 20, Balbo Block in view of Falke and Chen suggests the PU foam as explained above, this can also serve as the claimed thermal insulating layer when combined as in the case of combining multiple layers (Balbo Block: Abstract).
15. Regarding Claims 22 and 23, Balbo Block in view of Falke and Chen suggests using expandable graphite (corresponds to claimed intumescent material) (Balbo Block: paragraph 0059). The size of which can be modified based on end-user specifications as is routinely done.
16. Regarding Claim 24, Balbo Block in view of Falke and Chen suggests using PU resins (corresponds to claimed binder) (Balbo Block: paragraph 0072).
17. Regarding Claim 25, Balbo Block in view of Falke and Chen suggests product-by-process limitations. Applicants have not indicated how these process limitations impart surprising and unexpected properties.
18. Regarding Claim 26, Balbo Block in view of Falke and Chen suggests using a functionality of 2 to 4 (Falke: column 5, lines 40-46).
19. Regarding Claim 33, a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987) See MPEP 2114.
Claim(s) 5, 11, and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Balbo Block USPA_20150232631_A1 in view of Falke USPN_6087410 and Chen CN_104712899_A (see machine English translation), as applied to Claims 1-4, 6, 8, 10, 12-30, 32, and 33, and further in view of Wang CN_201872348_U (see machine English translation).
20. Regarding Claims 5, 11, and 31, Balbo Block in view of Falke and Chen does not suggest the claimed discontinuous reinforced fiber phase.
21. Wang discloses a PU foam (title) wherein reinforced fiber is used (Abstract). Wang further discloses that adding a small amount of chopped glass fiber (corresponds to claimed discontinuous phase reinforced fiber) to reinforce rigid polyurethane foam
can usually increase its strength and modulus by 3 to 5 times (paragraph 0004).
22. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the reinforced glass fiber, of Balbo Block in view of Falke and Chen, by using the chopped glass fiber, of Wang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated in doing so in order to obtain increased strength and modulus.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 5/5/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of all claim(s) under Balbo Block in view of Falke have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Balbo Block in view of Falke and Chen.
Conclusion
/TAHSEEN KHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781 May 9, 2026