DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: immediately prior to “of one” in line 3, and immediately after “claim 1” in line 4, the “-“ should be removed. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 recites use of one or more compounds of the general formula (I) or salts or N-oxides thereof according to claim 1. The claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claim does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter (i.e. process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter). The claim recites a use but fails to recite steps involved in the process, which results in a claim not being proper process claim under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, because since the claim does not set forth any steps involved in the process, it is unclear as to what process the claim is intended to encompass. A claim is indefinite where it merely recites a use without any active, positives steps delimiting how this use is actually practiced.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gay (US 4,337,081, 06/29/1982) in view of Kraus et al. (WO 2013/076316 A2, 05/30/2013) (hereinafter Kraus).
Gay discloses 5-amido-3-trihalomethyl-1,2,4-thiadiazole compounds of the formula:
,
including wherein R1 is CCl3 or CF3; R2 is hydrogen; and R3 is an aryl group having 6-8 carbon atoms, and their use as herbicides (abs), fungicides and insecticides, by contacting undesirable plants and vegetation with an herbicidally effective amount of said compounds to control said undesirable plants. The compounds are formulated with a carrier or other substances that facilitate handling, and other known fungicides, herbicides, and insecticides (col. 3, lns. 9-42).
Gay differs from the instant claims insofar as not explicitly disclosing an instantly claimed R2 substituent of the aryl group having 6 carbon atoms, or wherein the aryl group comprises a nitrogen.
However, Kraus discloses N-(triazol-5-yl)hetarylcarboxamides of formula (I):
,
including wherein X1 is CR1 and R1 is C3 cycloalkyl; X2 is CR2 and R2 is H; X3 is CR3 and R3 is H; X4 is N; and R5 is H, and their use as herbicides (p. 1, ln. 30 – p. 2, ln. 6). Kraus further discloses compositions comprising at least one of the said hetarylcarboxamides and at least one auxiliary for controlling unwanted vegetation by allowing a herbicidally effective amount of at least one of the said hetarylcarboxamides to act on unwanted plants (p. 5, ln. 36 – p. 6, ln. 4).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have included substituents wherein X1 is CR1 and R1 is C3 cycloalkyl (i.e. cyclopropyl); and X4 is N, in the aryl group of Gay, since each is a known and effective substituent suitable for herbicidal compounds comprising an aryl group with 6 carbons as taught by Kraus. See MPEP § 2144.09(I). Moreover, in any case, it would have taken no more than the relative skills of one of ordinary skill in the art to have arrived at the claimed substituents through routine experimentation based on the desired herbicidal activities. See MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A).
Regarding claim 8, as discussed above, Gay discloses wherein the compounds are formulated with a carrier or other substances that facilitate handling (i.e. auxiliaries), and other known fungicides, herbicides, and insecticides (i.e. agrochemically active substances).
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gay (US 4,337,081, 06/29/1982) in view of Witschel et al. (WO 2014/184017, 11/20/2014, IDS reference) (hereinafter Witschel).
The disclosure of Gay is discussed in detail in the rejection above, and differs from the instant claims insofar as not explicitly disclosing an instantly claimed R2 substituent of the aryl group having 6 carbon atoms, or wherein the aryl group comprises a nitrogen.
However, Witschel discloses substituted N-(tetrazol-5-yl)- and N-(triazol-5-yl)pyridin-3-yl-carboxamides of formula (I)
;
wherein R1 is halogen; R3 is hydrogen; R4 and R5 are different and independently selected from hydrogen and C3-C7-cycloalkyl (p.2 – p.3, ln. 19), and their use as herbicides (abs). The halogen includes fluorine and chlorine (p. 7, ln. 16).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have included substituents wherein R1 is a halogen such as fluorine; and R5 is a C3-cycloalkyl (i.e. cyclopropyl), in the aryl group of Gay, since each is a known and effective substituent suitable for herbicidal compounds comprising an aryl group with 6 carbons as taught by Witschel. See MPEP § 2144.09(I). Moreover, in any case, it would have taken no more than the relative skills of one of ordinary skill in the art to have arrived at the claimed substituents through routine experimentation based on the desired herbicidal activities. See MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of copending Application No. 18/684,543 in view of Kraus et al. (WO 2013/076316, 05/30/2013) (hereinafter Kraus). The pending claims differ from the copending claims insofar as reciting an instantly claimed R2 substituent. However, Kraus discloses N-(triazol-5-yl)hetarylcarboxamides of formula (I):
,
including wherein X1 is CR1 and R1 is C3 cycloalkyl; X2 is CR2 and R2 is H; X3 is CR3 and R3 is H; X4 is N; and R5 is H, and their use as herbicides (p. 1, ln. 30 – p. 2, ln. 6). Kraus further discloses compositions comprising at least one of the said hetarylcarboxamides and at least one auxiliary for controlling unwanted vegetation by allowing a herbicidally effective amount of at least one of the said hetarylcarboxamides to act on unwanted plants (p. 5, ln. 36 – p. 6, ln. 4).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have included substituents wherein X1 is CR1 and R1 is C3 cycloalkyl, in the compound of copending claims since each is a known and effective substituent suitable for herbicidal compounds comprising an aryl group with 6-carbons as taught by Kraus. See MPEP § 2144.09(I). Moreover, in any case, it would have taken no more than the relative skills of one of ordinary skill in the art to have arrived at the claimed substituent through routine experimentation based on the desired herbicidal activities. See MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Burow (EP 0049071 A1, 04/07/1982), directed to N-arylbenzamide derivatives and their use as herbicides.
Conclusion
/LUCY M TIEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1612
/SAHANA S KAUP/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612