DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
This final office action is a response to the reply received on 12/22/2025. Claims 1-9 and 19-29 are pending. Claims 10-18 are cancelled. Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 9, and 19-29 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments overcome the previous claim objections
Applicant’s additional arguments with respect to Claims 1-9 and 19-29 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 19-20, and 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Afrouzi et. al. (US 20190094870 A1) in view of Song et. al. (US 20200215694 A1, IDS).
Regarding Claim 1, Afrouzi discloses:
A navigation method, applied to a self-moving device, the method comprising: (See at least Figure 6)
determining a candidate region based on data information after a current task is completed, (See at least Figure 6 and also ¶0067 via "… the control system of the robotic device orders (e.g., sequences) the zones for surface coverage. The initial order of the zones may be arbitrary or may be dependent on the size of the zones or may be based on the current position of the robotic device and/or the position of the zones relative to one another or may be chosen based on various other measures or logic…" as well as ¶0034 via "various variables may be acquired by (e.g., sensed by) the control system and used by the control system to divide the workspace into zones…". Furthermore, see the iteration in Figure 6 which illustrates that the surface zone coverage is recorded and used to update a coverage matrix, which corresponds determining a next zone after completing a previous one. Additionally, see Figure 5 which illustrates candidate zone orders based on a reward system)
the data information comprising environmental data information acquired by the self-moving device during a completion of the current task, (See at least ¶0035 via "The control system of the robotic device may use various devices to record the actual surface covered by the robot for each zone, such as an optical encoder, gyroscope, structure from motion, odometer, or any other device capable of tracking movement of the robotic device to determine which cells of the workspace the robotic device has covered")
and/or the data information comprising data information of a historical task recorded by the self-moving device, and the data information of the historical task comprising historical map information and/or historical navigation information; (See at least ¶0043 via "When a cell of a zone is covered by the robotic device, the entry of the coverage matrix corresponding to the entry of the zone matrix comprising the cell covered may be updated by the control system of the robotic device. Thus, a current entry may reflect multiple instances in which a zone was covered in the past").
However, although Afrouzi discloses controlling the robot to move to a next zone, which may include navigating through a doorway/entrance (See at least ¶0040 via "In some instances, initial division of the workspace into zones may depend on the location of doors. For example, a door may indicate a division of an area into two zones, one on either side of the door." and also Figure 6 via "cover zone"), Afrouzi does not explicitly detail the explicit determination of whether an entrance or passageway to enter a next region exists.
Nevertheless, Song--who is directed towards dynamic region division and passage identification methods for a cleaning robot--discloses: determining whether a reachable position adjacent to the candidate region exists, that is, determining whether there is an entrance or a passage for entering the candidate region; and (See at least flowchart Figure 1 and ¶0058 via" In the above 102, the passage refers to a pathway such as a door opening, through which the robot may pass and which connects two regions", additionally see at least ¶0077 via "Further, in order to reduce the misjudgment rate, it is also possible to calculate the number of obstacles in specified range around the gap, and to assist in determining whether the gap between the adjacent obstacles conforms to the passage structure based on the number of the obstacles in the specified range around the gap")
controlling, in response to an existence of the reachable position adjacent to the candidate region, the self-moving device to reach the reachable position, and controlling the self-moving device to attempt to enter the candidate region to operate in the candidate region (See at least ¶0118 via " 106′, when the work task is completed, controlling the robot to move from an end position, when the work task is completed to the midway position, and controlling the robot to enter the second region through the passage after the robot arrives the midway position" *Wherein based on the completion of the task in the first region, and the detection of the passage from the first to second region, the robot is controlled to go through the passage).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Afrouzi in view of Song's passage detection in order to ensure that moving between regions are through valid passages, as well as to improve the efficiency: "occurrence probability of the robot shuttling back and forth across the area is reduced, the dynamic partition is realized and the cleaning efficiency is improved" [Song ¶0036] and "and a boundary is complemented at the passage to block the passage when it is determined that the robot has not completed the work task in the first region, thereby ensuring the principle that the robot may enter the next region to work only after the work in the single region is completed, reducing the occurrence probability of repeated sweeping and miss sweeping, and improving the cleaning efficiency" [Song ¶0035].
Regarding Claim 19, Afrouzi discloses:
A self-moving device, comprising: a processor, and a memory, wherein the memory stores a computer program instruction executable by the processor, and the processer, when executing the computer program instruction, implements following acts including (See at least ¶0100 via "FIG. 21 depicts an example of a robotic device 2100 with control system (such as a processor) 2101, memory 2102, sensor 2103, actuator 2104, and cleaning tool 2105.")
(Regarding the instructions, see Claim 1 rejection as the steps are the same).
Regarding Claim 20, Afrouzi discloses:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing a computer program instruction, the computer program instruction, when invoked and executed by a processor, causing the processor to (See at least ¶0100 as well as ¶0102 via "The functionality described herein may be provided by one or more processors of one or more computers executing code stored on a tangible, non-transitory, machine readable medium")
(Regarding the instructions, see Claim 1 rejection as the steps are the same).
Regarding Claims 3 and 22 respectively: Modified Afrouzi discloses the navigation method according to Claim 1 and the self-moving device according to Claim 19.
Furthermore, Afrouzi discloses: wherein determining the candidate region comprises: (See at least Figures 5-6 and also ¶0067 via "… the control system of the robotic device orders (e.g., sequences) the zones for surface coverage. The initial order of the zones may be arbitrary or may be dependent on the size of the zones or may be based on the current position of the robotic device and/or the position of the zones relative to one another or may be chosen based on various other measures or logic…")
However, Afrouzi does not explicitly disclose determining that an obstacle is passable.
Nevertheless, Song discloses: in response to determining, based on the acquired environmental data information, that an obstacle is a passable obstacle and that the obstacle is located at a boundary of a traveled region reached by the self-moving device in the current task, determining a side, facing away from the traveled region, of the obstacle as the candidate region (See at least ¶ 0058 via " In the above 102, the passage refers to a pathway such as a door opening, through which the robot may pass and which connects two regions. Taking the door opening as an example, the door opening has certain characteristics, such as a shape characteristic and a size characteristic, etc. Therefore, in a specific implementation, whether the channel corresponding to the channel characteristics (such as the shape characteristic and the size characteristic, etc.) may be determined in the actual working scene of the robot based on the environment information." *Wherein the passage is a passable obstacle when they work in the first region has been completed: see ¶0060 via "…the robot is prevented from entering the second region through the passage when the presence of the passage entering the second region is determined based on the environment information and it is determined that the robot does not complete the work task in the first region, thereby ensuring the principle that the robot may enter the next region to work only after the work task in the single region has been completed…". *Wherein the passageway is along a boundary of the region, and after the completion of the task in the first region- the robot moves to the second region through the passageway and is thus moving to the side facing away from the traveled first region).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Afrouzi in view of Song's determination if an obstacle is passable--which may be a passageway--in order to ensure that moving between regions are through valid passages and reduce the misjudgment rate: "in order to reduce the misjudgment rate, it is also possible to calculate the number of obstacles in specified range around the gap, and to assist in determining whether the gap between the adjacent obstacles conforms to the passage structure based on the number of the obstacles in the specified range around the gap" [Song ¶0077] as well as to improve the use of the robot by enabling the real time obstacle/passageway detection in addition to using historical data, so the robot can be used in environments that are highly adaptable: "…relies on the environment information collected during working, rather than relying on historical map data, so that the environmental adaptability is high" [Song ¶0035].
Regarding Claims 4 and 23 respectively: Modified Afrouzi discloses the navigation method according to Claim 3 and the self-moving device according to Claim 22.
Furthermore, Afrouzi discloses: wherein the environmental data information comprises at least one of: structured light point cloud information, laser ranging information, and image information (See at least ¶0037via " In some embodiments, the control system of the robotic device may use distance sensors, LIDAR sensors, LADAR sensors, depth cameras or other types of sensors capable of perceiving the environment to create the map of the workspace.").
Regarding Claims 5 and 24 respectively: Modified Afrouzi discloses the navigation method according to Claim 1 and the self-moving device according to Claim 19.
, Afrouzi discloses: wherein determining the candidate region comprises: (See at least Figures 5-6 and also ¶0067 via "… the control system of the robotic device orders (e.g., sequences) the zones for surface coverage. The initial order of the zones may be arbitrary or may be dependent on the size of the zones or may be based on the current position of the robotic device and/or the position of the zones relative to one another or may be chosen based on various other measures or logic…")
in response to determining, based on the data information of the historical task, that a traveled region reached by the self-moving device in the current task does not comprise one or more partial regions of regions reached by the self-moving device in the historical task, determining the one or more partial regions as candidate regions (See at least ¶0043 via "When a cell of a zone is covered by the robotic device, the entry of the coverage matrix corresponding to the entry of the zone matrix comprising the cell covered may be updated by the control system of the robotic device. Thus, a current entry may reflect multiple instances in which a zone was covered in the past. In some embodiments, all entries of the coverage matrix of a zone may initially have a value of zero, and an entry in the coverage matrix may be updated by a value of one (e.g., incremented) by the control system each time a cell contained in the corresponding entry of the zone matrix is covered." which illustrates the comparison between historical stored coverage of cells within the region and a coverage recorded during a current task. Also see Figure 6 via "cover zone" and "record actual surface coverage". **Wherein the coverage matrix identifies partial regions (cells) that were previously reached in a historical task and are not included in the current region. Additionally, ¶0052 via " transitioning to a cell which has already been covered may result in incurring a greater negative reward from the control system than transitioning to a cell which has not been covered yet" **Wherein the system is distinguishing between previously covered cells/partial regions and current cells that have not been reached in order to determine where to go next).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the given invention to select partial regions that were identified based on the comparison of what partial regions/cells were covered in the past (historically) to determine what partial regions/cells should be covered next to achieve the goal of having the most coverage in the least amount of time: "…ensure full (e.g., above a specified amount, like 95% or 99%) coverage of a workspace" [Afrouzi ¶0004] and "coverage of the workspace in less time may result in a greater reward" [Afrouzi ¶0048].
Regarding Claims 6 and 25 respectively: Modified Afrouzi discloses the navigation method according to Claim 3 and the self-moving device according to Claim 22.
Furthermore, Song discloses: wherein determining whether the reachable position adjacent to the candidate region exists comprises: determining an adjoining portion, which adjoins the candidate region, of the traveled region, and determining, in response to a junction of the adjoining portion and the candidate region having only the passable obstacle, the adjoining portion as the reachable position (See at least ¶0074 via "Accordingly, the method provided by the present embodiment may further determine whether there is a passage entering the second region from the first region based on the environment information by using the following methods, where, the method for determining whether there is a passage entering the second region from the first region based on the environment information includes: first, identifying whether there is a gap conforming to the passage structure in the first region based on the two-dimensional point cloud data; and if the gap conforming to the passage structure exists, identifying whether the gap is the passage entering the second region from the first region in accordance with the obstacle boundaries on both sides of the left and right end points of the gap.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Afrouzi in view of Song's determination if an obstacle is passable--which may be a passageway--in order to ensure that moving between regions are through valid passages and reduce the misjudgment rate: "in order to reduce the misjudgment rate, it is also possible to calculate the number of obstacles in specified range around the gap, and to assist in determining whether the gap between the adjacent obstacles conforms to the passage structure based on the number of the obstacles in the specified range around the gap" [Song ¶0077] as well as to improve the use of the robot by enabling the real time obstacle/passageway detection in addition to using historical data, so the robot can be used in environments that are highly adaptable: "…relies on the environment information collected during working, rather than relying on historical map data, so that the environmental adaptability is high" [Song ¶0035].
Claims 2, 9, 21, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Afrouzi et. al. (US 20190094870 A1) and Song et. al. (US 20200215694 A1, IDS) in view of Shenzhen Topband Co LTD (CN111493756A, IDS, Translation previously attached).
Regarding Claims 2 and 21 respectively: Modified Afrouzi discloses the navigation method according to Claim 1 and the self-moving device according to Claim 19.
However, Modified Afrouzi does not explicitly disclose the situation where there is an absence of reachable positions.
Nevertheless, Shenzhen--who is directed towards a sweeping robot--discloses: further comprising: controlling, in response to an absence of the reachable position adjacent to the candidate region, the self-moving device to give up entering the candidate region (See at least ¶0080 via "When it is determined that the position of entrance a1 is unreachable, entrance a1 is discarded and entrance a2 is selected as the starting point for cleaning the supplementary sweep area A; when it is determined that the position of entrance a2 is unreachable, entrance a2 is discarded and entrance a3 is selected as the starting point for cleaning the supplementary sweep area A; when it is determined that the position of entrance a3 is also unreachable, it is determined that entrance a1, entrance a2, and entrance a3 are all unreachable, and it is determined that entrance boundary a is unreachable. At this time, entrance boundary a is discarded and recorded once.")
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Modified Afrouzi in view of Shenzhen’s discarding/giving up on a candidate region when there is no reachable position in order to determine a next candidate region so the robot can continue the overall task: “If fill-sweep area A has not been cleaned, the fill-sweep area is still A, the candidate boundary is still entrance boundary a, and it is determined whether there are any entrance boundaries that have not been discarded.” [Shenzhen ¶0081].
Regarding Claims 9 and 28 respectively: Modified Afrouzi discloses the navigation method according to Claim 1 and the self-moving device according to Claim 19.
However, Modified Afrouzi does not explicitly disclose the predetermined order.
Nevertheless, Shenzhen--who is directed towards a sweeping robot--discloses: further comprising: selecting, in response to an existence of a plurality of reachable positions, a reachable position according to a predetermined order, and controlling the self-moving device to attempt to enter the candidate region (See at least ¶0080 via "The entrance a1 closest to the sweeper 10 is selected from the entrance a1, the entrance a2, and the entrance a3 as the cleaning starting point of the supplementary cleaning area A. When it is determined that the position of entrance a1 is unreachable, entrance a1 is discarded and entrance a2 is selected as the starting point for cleaning the supplementary sweep area A; when it is determined that the position of entrance a2 is unreachable, entrance a2 is discarded and entrance a3 is selected as the starting point for cleaning the supplementary sweep area A; when it is determined that the position of entrance a3 is also unreachable, it is determined that entrance a1, entrance a2, and entrance a3 are all unreachable, and it is determined that entrance boundary a is unreachable. At this time, entrance boundary a is discarded and recorded once.")
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Modified Afrouzi in view of Shenzhen's order of selecting reachable positions in order to account for situations where there are multiple reachable positions while increasing efficiency and moving along to a next position when a first on in the order is blocked: "avoiding the sweeping machine from repeatedly trying a certain entrance boundary in the sweeping area due to a dynamic obstacle blocking it, avoiding long-term attempts to enter a certain entrance boundary, and thereby improving cleaning efficiency" [Shenzhen ¶0030].
Claims 7 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Afrouzi et. al. (US 20190094870 A1) and Song et. al. (US 20200215694 A1, IDS) in view of Jeong et. al. (US 20130076893 A1).
Regarding Claims 7 and 26 respectively: Song discloses the navigation method according to Claim 6 and the self-moving device according to Claim 25.
Furthermore, Afrouzi discloses: candidate region (See at least Figure 6 and also ¶0067).
However, Afrouzi does not explicitly disclose, but Song discloses: wherein controlling the self-moving device to reach the reachable position and controlling the self-moving device to attempt to enter the candidate region comprises: (See at least ¶0118 via controlling the robot to move through the passage: “106′, when the work task is completed, controlling the robot to move from an end position, when the work task is completed to the midway position, and controlling the robot to enter the second region through the passage after the robot arrives the midway position”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Afrouzi in view of Song's passage detection in order to ensure that moving between regions are through valid passages, as well as to improve the efficiency: "occurrence probability of the robot shuttling back and forth across the area is reduced, the dynamic partition is realized and the cleaning efficiency is improved" [Song ¶0036] and "and a boundary is complemented at the passage to block the passage when it is determined that the robot has not completed the work task in the first region, thereby ensuring the principle that the robot may enter the next region to work only after the work in the single region is completed, reducing the occurrence probability of repeated sweeping and miss sweeping, and improving the cleaning efficiency" [Song ¶0035].
However, although Song discloses deleting a virtual wall after the task is completed in the first region in order to travel to the second region (See at least 0107-¶0109), Song does not explicitly disclose ignoring the passable obstacle in the case where the robot passes to the first region to the second region.
Nevertheless, Jeong discloses: ignoring the passable obstacle (See at least ¶0158 via "Also, by disposing the first conical mirror 111 such that the first conical mirror 111 is spaced from the ground by a predetermined distance or more, the running robot cleaner 400 can be controlled to ignore an obstacle having a height that the travelling robot cleaner 400 can pass under…the robot cleaner 400 passes over an obstacle having a height less than 20 mm without sensing the obstacle.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Modified Afrouzi in view of Jeong's ignoring the obstacle that it is passable based on the height, in order to continue moving forward into the next section to continue operation, as the robot does not recognize these obstacles as ones where any alternate maneuvers or actions need be performed.
Claims 8 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Afrouzi et. al. (US 20190094870 A1) and Song et. al. (US 20200215694 A1, IDS) in view of Sui et. al. (US 20200401153 A1).
Regarding Claims 8 and 27 respectively, Modified Afrouzi discloses the navigation method according to Claim 3 and the self-moving device according to Claim 22.
However, although Modified Afrouzi discloses the passageway/passable obstacle to be a door in at least Song ¶0077 via "Assuming that the passage structure is a door opening structure, there are usually not many obstacles around the door opening". Modified Afrouzi does not explicitly disclose the passable obstacle comprising a doorsill or carpet edge.
Nevertheless, Sui--who is directed towards a self-moving device--discloses: wherein the passable obstacle comprises a doorsill and/or a carpet edge (See at least ¶0089 via " With the moving method for a self-moving device 1 disclosed in this embodiment, when a door sill or raised sill 2 on the ground is encountered, a crossing action can be effectively performed on the door sill or the raised sill 2, without any need to manual assist in lifting the self-moving device 1, which improves the working performance of the self-moving device 1 and improves the obstacle crossing capacity of the self-moving device 1").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Modified Afrouzi in view of Sui's disclosure of a doorsill being a passable obstacle in order to account for doorways/passageways that have doorsills in order to improve the working performance of the robot by improving the obstacle crossing capacity [Sui ¶0089].
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Afrouzi et. al. (US 20190094870 A1) and Song et. al. (US 20200215694 A1, IDS) in view of Ermakov et. al. (US 20070061043 A1).
Regarding Claim 29, Modified Afrouzi discloses the navigation method according to Claim 3.
Furthermore, Song discloses: further comprising: determining whether the obstacle is the passable obstacle by at least one of: determining, in response to the obstacle being detected by a laser distance sensor of the self-moving device, that the obstacle is an impassable obstacle; (See at least ¶0060 via "In the technical solution provided by the present embodiment, environment information collected by the robot when the robot works in the first region is acquired; the robot is prevented from entering the second region through the passage when the presence of the passage entering the second region is determined based on the environment information and it is determined that the robot does not complete the work task in the first region" and ¶0074 via "… the environment information is two-dimensional point cloud data collected by the laser sensor on the robot after scanning obstacles in one plane. Accordingly, the method provided by the present embodiment may further determine whether there is a passage entering the second region from the first region based on the environment information …" *Wherein in response to the obstacle being detected in addition to the first region's task not being completed, determining the obstacle as impassable).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Modified Afrouzi in view of Song's determination if an obstacle is passable--which may be a passageway--in order to ensure that moving between regions are through valid passages and reduce the misjudgment rate: "in order to reduce the misjudgment rate, it is also possible to calculate the number of obstacles in specified range around the gap, and to assist in determining whether the gap between the adjacent obstacles conforms to the passage structure based on the number of the obstacles in the specified range around the gap" [Song ¶0077] as well as to improve the use of the robot by enabling the real time obstacle/passageway detection in addition to using historical data, so the robot can be used in environments that are highly adaptable: "…relies on the environment information collected during working, rather than relying on historical map data, so that the environmental adaptability is high" [Song ¶0035].
However, although Song discloses how the obstacle is passable or impassable based on the environment info, obstacle detection, and whether the task is completed in the first region, Song does not explicitly disclose, but Ermakov--who is directed towards a robotic device--discloses: determining, in response to the obstacle being detected by a structured-light imaging component or a visible-light imaging component of the self-moving device, and that a height of the obstacle is lower than a first threshold, the obstacle as the passable obstacle, the first threshold being less than a height of a body of the self-moving device, or the first threshold being less than or equal to a terrain clearance of the body of the self-moving device; or determining, in response to determining that the obstacle is one of a doorsill and a carpet edge by analyzing an image information acquired by the self-moving device, the obstacle as the passable obstacle (See at least ¶0071 via "In some embodiments, the elevation (or vertical registration) of the zone of detection may be initialized, programmed, or otherwise physically adjusted (such as by positioners 236) to enable detection of an obstacle whose height is beyond the climbing capabilities of robot 100. In some instances, it may be desirable not to detect objects having vertical dimensions below such a threshold; alternatively, such objects may be detected by sensors 231 but ignored by electronics module 220. In one exemplary embodiment where robot 100 is capable of clearing obstacles having a height of 1/2 inch, zones of detection may be suitably sized and oriented such that sensors 231 do not detect objects lower than this height").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Modified Afrouzi in view of Ermakov's detection/ignoring of the obstacles based on the threshold in order for the robot to continue navigating despite there being obstacles, because the obstacles are passable and there is no additional/alternative maneuvers or actions that are necessary for the robot to perform with respect to the obstacles.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.R.D./Examiner, Art Unit 3657
/ABBY LIN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3657