DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1 – 20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/05/2024, 04/15/2024, 05/02/2025 and 11/05/2025 were filed before the first office action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 5, 8 and 18 – 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (CN112493946 A) as cited by Applicant in view of Lu (CN112879773 A) as cited by Applicant.
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Yang teaches a base station for cleaning a cleaning system of a cleaning robot (Abstract), the base station (Paragraph [0021]) comprising: a base station body (base, 100; Fig. 1) provided with at least one track groove (guide groove, 4122; Fig, 9), a cleaning assembly (upper cleaning plate, 411) configured to run along the at least one track groove (4122) and provided with a cleaning member (first comb teeth, 4111 and second comb teeth, 4121; Fig. 9), wherein the cleaning member is configured to clean the cleaning system of the cleaning robot by interfering with the cleaning system of the cleaning robot (Paragraph [0051]).
Yang does not teach at least one track-cleaning member configured to run along the at least one track groove to clean the at least one track groove.
Lu, however, teaches an analogous track cleaning mechanism, wherein at least one track-cleaning member (cleaning brush, 5) is configured to run along the at least one track groove (slide rail, 2; Fig. 1) to clean the at least one track groove (Paragraph [0006]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the station of Yang to further include at least one track-cleaning member configured to run along the at least one track groove to clean the at least one track groove, as taught by Lu, to provide a station that keeps the track free of debris, thus preventing damage to the station.
Regarding Claim 2, Yang, as modified, teaches the base station according to claim 1 as discussed above.
Yang does not teach the at least one track-cleaning member is provided on the cleaning assembly, and comprises a sweeping member inside the at least one track groove.
Lu, however, teaches the at least one track-cleaning member (5) is provided on the cleaning assembly (block, 3), and comprises a sweeping member (brush, 5) inside the at least one track groove (2; Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the station of Yang to further include at least one track-cleaning member is provided on the cleaning assembly, and comprises a sweeping member inside the at least one track groove, as taught by Lu, to provide a station that keeps the track free of debris, thus preventing damage to the station.
Regarding Claim 3, Yang, as modified, teaches the base station according to claim 1 as discussed above.
Yang does not teach the at least one track-cleaning member is provided at a side of the cleaning assembly.
Lu, however, teaches the at least one track-cleaning member (5) is provided at a side of the cleaning assembly (3; Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the station of Yang to further include at least one track-cleaning member is provided on the cleaning assembly, and comprises a sweeping member inside the at least one track groove, as taught by Lu, to provide a station that keeps the track free of debris, thus preventing damage to the station.
Regarding Claim 4, Yang, as modified, teaches the base station according to claim 1 as discussed above.
Yang, as modified by Lu does not teach the at least one track-cleaning member is provided slantwise towards an outer side of the cleaning assembly.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the station of Yang to further include the at least one track-cleaning member is provided slantwise towards an outer side of the cleaning assembly, as claimed, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding Claim 5, Yang, as modified, teaches the base station according to claim 3 as discussed above.
Yang does not teach the at least one track groove comprises two track grooves, and the two track grooves are provided opposite each other along a lateral direction of the base station body.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the station of Yang to further include the at least one track groove comprises two track grooves, and the two track grooves are provided opposite each other along a lateral direction of the base station body, as claimed, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding Claim 8, Yang, as modified, teaches the base station according to claim 2 as discussed above.
Yang does not teach the at least one track-cleaning member comprises a mounting portion connected to the sweeping member, the mounting portion being detachably connected to the cleaning assembly.
Lu, however, teaches at least one track-cleaning member (5) comprises a mounting portion (connecting block, 61) connected to the sweeping member (Fig. 2), the mounting portion (61) being detachably connected to the cleaning assembly (3; Fig. 2)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the station of Yang to further include the at least one track-cleaning member comprises a mounting portion connected to the sweeping member, the mounting portion being detachably connected to the cleaning assembly, as taught by Lu, to provide a component that is easily replaced, thus extending the life of the system.
Regarding Independent Claim 18, Yang teaches a cleaning robot system comprising: a cleaning robot comprising a cleaning system (Abstract), and a base station (Paragraph [0021]) wherein the base station comprises: a base station body (base, 100; Fig. 1) provided with at least one track groove (guide groove, 4122; Fig, 9), a cleaning assembly (upper cleaning plate, 411) configured to run along the at least one track groove (4122) and provided with a cleaning member (first comb teeth, 4111 and second comb teeth, 4121; Fig. 9), wherein the cleaning member is configured to clean the cleaning system of the cleaning robot by interfering with the cleaning system of the cleaning robot (Paragraph [0051]).
Yang does not teach at least one track-cleaning member configured to run along the at least one track groove to clean the at least one track groove.
Lu, however, teaches an analogous track cleaning mechanism, wherein at least one track-cleaning member (cleaning brush, 5) is configured to run along the at least one track groove (slide rail, 2; Fig. 1) to clean the at least one track groove (Paragraph [0006]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the station of Yang to further include at least one track-cleaning member configured to run along the at least one track groove to clean the at least one track groove, as taught by Lu, to provide a station that keeps the track free of debris, thus preventing damage to the station.
Regarding Claim 19, Yang, as modified, teaches the base station according to claim 18 as discussed above.
Yang, as modified by Lu does not teach the at least one track-cleaning member is arranged not perpendicularly to an extending direction of the at least one track groove, and is arranged as being tilted toward an end portion of the at least one track groove.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the station of Yang to further include the at least one track-cleaning member is arranged not perpendicularly to an extending direction of the at least one track groove, and is arranged as being tilted toward an end portion of the at least one track groove, as claimed, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Although Yang teaches the base station wherein the cleaning assembly (Fig. 9) comprises a bracket (4112) capable of running along the track grooves (4122), the reference fails to teach, suggest or make obvious the at least one track- cleaning member comprises multiple track-cleaning members which are provided at two ends of the bracket.
Claims 7, 9 – 17 and 20 are further objected as dependents of rejected claim 6.
Contact Information
/KATINA N. HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723