DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The applicant has amended the following:
Claims: 17, 19, 21-24 and 28-29 have been amended.
Claims: 25-27 have not been amended.
Claims: 1-16, 18 and 20 have been cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 17, 19 and 21-29 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17, 19 and 24-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HUANG et al. (US Patent Publication 2024/0248167 herein after referenced as Huang).
Regarding claim 17 and claim 28, Huang discloses:
A method comprising: and A first station (STA) comprising: at least one transceiver; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one transceiver, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: based on a first measurement session identifier and first sensing measurement parameters, and a second measurement session identifier and second sensing measurement parameters having been provided to a first station (STA) (Huang, Fig. 4 & [0164] discloses In an operation S302, devices, such as the first station, the second station (i.e. reads on to a first STA), and so on, may receive (i.e. reads on having been provided) the beacon frame, obtain the measurement configuration 1 (i.e. reads on based on a first measurement session identifier and first sensing measurement parameters) and the measurement configuration 2 (i.e. reads on and a second measurement session identifier and second sensing measurement parameters), and cache the measurement configuration 1 and the measurement configuration 2; Huang, Fig. 4 & [0162] discloses The measurement configuration 1 includes the measurement configuration identifier 1 (i.e. reads on based on a first measurement session identifier) and an operational parameter (i.e. reads on first sensing measurement parameters) corresponding to the measurement configuration identifier 1. The measurement configuration 2 includes a measurement configuration identifier 2 (i.e. reads on a second measurement session identifier) and an operational parameter (i.e. reads on second sensing measurement parameters) corresponding to the measurement configuration identifier 2; Huang, [0469] discloses the communication device 600 may further include a transceiver 630. The processor 610 controls the transceiver 630 to communicate with other devices, specifically, to send information or data to other devices or to receive information or data sent from the other devices. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it is inherent for a complex device such as the stations to include a processor and transceiver in order to be able to perform the disclosed functionalities).
receiving, by the first STA from the second STA, a first frame including information regarding one measurement session identifier (Huang, Fig. 4 & [0165]-[0166] discloses Further, the first station, serving as the sensing initiator, desires to establish the measurement configuration 1 and discloses In an operation S303, the first station (i.e. reads from the second STA) sends (i.e. reads on receiving) the session establishment request frame (i.e. reads on a first frame) to the second station (i.e. reads on by the first STA). The session establishment request frame includes a measurement configuration identifier (i.e. reads on including information regarding one measurement session identifier) corresponding to the measurement configuration 1, i.e., a measurement configuration identifier 1, and further includes an identifier of the sensing initiator).
among the first measurement session identifier and the second measurement session identifier; (Huang, Fig. 4 & [0162] discloses The measurement configuration 1 includes the measurement configuration identifier 1 (i.e. reads on among the first measurement session identifier) and an operational parameter corresponding to the measurement configuration identifier 1. The measurement configuration 2 includes a measurement configuration identifier 2 (i.e. reads on and the second measurement session identifier) and an operational parameter corresponding to the measurement configuration identifier 2).
Huang discloses in one embodiment that a first station receives measurement configuration information from a second device and also receives a session establishment request frame from a third device but fails to explicitly recite that the second device and the third device may be the same device or fails to explicitly recite the details of what occurs after the first station receives the session establishment request frame and therefore fails to disclose in the same embodiment, the limitations of “based on a first measurement session identifier and first sensing measurement parameters, and a second measurement session identifier and second sensing measurement parameters having been provided to a first station (STA) from a second STA,” and “and performing, by the first STA, at least one of a transmission or a reception of a sensing signal based on sensing measurement parameters of one of the first sensing measurement parameters and the second sensing measurement parameters, wherein the one measurement session identifier identifies the sensing measurement parameters of the one of the first sensing measurement parameters and the second sensing measurement parameters.”
In a different embodiment, Huang discloses:
based on a first measurement session identifier and first sensing measurement parameters, and a second measurement session identifier and second sensing measurement parameters having been provided to a first station (STA) from a second STA (Huang, [0118] discloses a third device (i.e. reads on from a second STA) sends (i.e. reads on having been provided to) one or more measurement configurations to at least one device (i.e. reads on a first STA). Each measurement configuration includes the measurement configuration ID (i.e. reads on based on a first measurement session identifier and a second measurement session identifier) and an operational parameter for the sensing measurement (i.e. reads on first sensing measurement parameters, and second sensing measurement parameters); Huang, [0125] discloses the second device and the third device are the same device; Huang, [0132]-[0133] discloses the second device sends the at least one measurement configuration identifier to the first device via a first request frame. The first request frame is used to request establishing the sensing session and discloses the second device, while requesting establishing the sensing session, carries the measurement configuration identifier corresponding to the measurement configuration that is requested to be established; Huang, [0120]-[0121] discloses The at least one device, after being informed of the one or more measurement configurations, may cache the one or more measurement configurations for subsequently establishing the measurement configurations and discloses the third device may be the AP device or a non-AP STA device; Huang, [0123] discloses the at least one device includes at least one non-AP STA device and/or at least one AP device; Huang, [0091] discloses It should be understood that, in the present embodiment, the sense session initiator may be the AP device or a non-AP STA device. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the combination of the cited teachings together as a whole that the device that sent the plurality of measurement configuration may be the same device that subsequently initiates and sends the session establishment request frame that includes the measurement configuration identifier).
and performing, by the first STA, at least one of a transmission or a reception of a sensing signal based on sensing measurement parameters (Huang, [0077]-[0078] discloses For the session establishment stage, the sensing session is established; a participant of the sensing session and a role (i.e. reads on based on sensing measurement parameters) of the participant including the sensing transmitter and the sensing receiver are identified; and optionally, the parameters are interacted between terminals and discloses For the sensing measurement stage, sensing measurement is performed, the sensing transmitter (i.e. reads on performing by the first STA) transmits (i.e. reads on at least one of a transmission or a reception of) sensing signals (i.e. reads on a sensing signal) to the sensing receiver; Huang, [0095]-[0096] discloses the set of operational parameters for a sensing measurement (i.e. reads on sensing measurement parameters) includes at least one of the following and discloses Role information of a device in the sensing measurement, the number of antennas for the sensing measurement, a bandwidth for the sensing measurement, a type of a measurement result, a type of how to report the measurement result, threshold setting information; Huang, [0065] discloses The WLAN terminal may have one or more roles in one sensing session. For example, the sensing initiator may serve as the sensing initiator only, or serve as the sensing transmitter device, or also serve as the sensing receiver, or also serve as both the sensing transmitter and the sensing receiver; Huang, [0061]-[0062] discloses A sensing transmitter or a sensing signal transmitting device is a device that initiates sensing illumination signals and discloses A sensing receiver or a sensing signal receiving device is a device that receives the sensing illumination signals).
of one of the first sensing measurement parameters and the second sensing measurement parameters, wherein the one measurement session identifier identifies the sensing measurement parameters of the one of the first sensing measurement parameters and the second sensing measurement parameters (Huang, [0092] discloses each measurement configuration identifier is used to identify one measurement configuration. The measurement configuration includes the measurement configuration identifier and a set of operational parameters for the sensing measurement. That is, the measurement configuration identifier (i.e. reads on wherein the one measurement session identifier) may be used to identify (i.e. reads on identifies) the operational parameters (i.e. reads on identifies the sensing measurement parameters) corresponding to the measurement configuration (i.e. reads on of one of the first sensing measurement parameters and the second sensing measurement parameters); Huang, Fig. 4 & [0161]-[0162] discloses In an operation S301, the AP device broadcasts one or more measurement configurations including a measurement configuration 1 and a measurement configuration 2 via a beacon frame and discloses The measurement configuration 1 includes the measurement configuration identifier 1 and an operational parameter corresponding to the measurement configuration identifier 1. The measurement configuration 2 includes a measurement configuration identifier 2 and an operational parameter corresponding to the measurement configuration identifier 2).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Huang to incorporate the teachings of the different embodiments for the purpose of conforming to the intent of the invention to modify and combine the various different embodiment (Huang, [0083] & [0507]) to make the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of an embodiment of a first station performing session measurement establishment with another station as taught by Huang) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of a similar embodiment of a first station performing session measurement establishment with another station with additional and/or alternative features and functionalities of the other embodiments as taught by Huang) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of an embodiment of a first station performing session measurement establishment with another station (i.e. as taught by Huang) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 19, Huang discloses:
The method of claim 17, (see claim 17).
wherein: the sensing measurement parameters of the one of the first sensing measurement parameters and the second sensing measurement parameters include information indicating at least one of a sensing transmitter role or a sensing receiver role of the first STA (Huang, [0095]-[0096] discloses the set of operational parameters for a sensing measurement includes at least one of the following and discloses Role information of a device in the sensing measurement, the number of antennas for the sensing measurement, a bandwidth for the sensing measurement, a type of a measurement result, a type of how to report the measurement result, threshold setting information; Huang, [0065] discloses The WLAN terminal may have one or more roles in one sensing session. For example, the sensing initiator may serve as the sensing initiator only, or serve as the sensing transmitter device, or also serve as the sensing receiver, or also serve as both the sensing transmitter and the sensing receiver).
Regarding claim 24, Huang discloses:
The method of claim 17, (see claim 17).
wherein: the first measurement session identifier and the first sensing measurement parameters, and the second measurement session identifier and the second sensing measurement parameters are provided through at least one sensing measurement request frame transmitted from the second STA to the first STA,
and, in response to the at least one sensing measurement request frame, at least one sensing measurement response frame is transmitted from the first STA to the second STA (Huang, [0118] discloses a third device one or more measurement configurations to at least one device. Each measurement configuration includes the measurement configuration ID and an operational parameter for the sensing measurement; Huang, [0312] discloses the third device may carry at least one measurement configuration via the sensing session establishment request frame or the measurement configuration request frame; Huang, [0167] discloses the second device replies a session establishment response frame to the first device. The session establishment request frame includes a response information for establishing the measurement configuration; Huang, [0125] discloses the second device and the third device are the same device).
Regarding claim 25, Huang discloses:
The method of claim 24, (see claim 24).
wherein: at least one of the request frame or the response frame has an action frame format (Huang, [0263] discloses the sensing session establishment request frame may be the action frame or the action no ACK frame; Huang, [0265] discloses the sensing session establishment response frame may be the action frame or the action no Ack frame; Huang, [0376] discloses In the present frame format, the action category field takes a value of 4 to indicate that the frame is the public action frame).
Regarding claim 26, Huang discloses:
The method of claim 24, (see claim 24).
wherein: the response frame includes at least one response frame transmitted by at least one STA including the first STA, (Huang, [0167] discloses the second device replies a session establishment response frame to the first device. The session establishment request frame includes a response information for establishing the measurement configuration. EXAMINER’S NOTE: The examiner notes that the claims are written in an alternative limitation format requiring and contingent on the selection of only one of various alternative options presented and as such the non-selected alternative options are crossed out (i.e. the limitations reciting “the at least one response frame is transmitted simultaneously by the at least one STA, or the at least one response frame is transmitted individually by the at least one STA”) and are not given patentable weight as being directed towards limitations that are not required to be performed as is indicated in MPEP 2143.03 that recites “Language that suggests or makes a feature or step optional but does not require that feature or step does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation. In addition, when a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art” and in MPEP 2111.04, Section ll that recites “The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition precedent are not met”).
Regarding claim 27, Huang discloses:
The method of claim 17, (see claim 17).
wherein: the first STA is a sensing responder, the second STA is a sensing initiator (Huang, [0077]-[0078] discloses For the session establishment stage, the sensing session is established; a participant of the sensing session and a role of the participant including the sensing transmitter and the sensing receiver are identified; and optionally, the parameters are interacted between terminals and discloses For the sensing measurement stage, sensing measurement is performed, the sensing transmitter transmits sensing signals to the sensing receiver; Huang, [0065] discloses The WLAN terminal may have one or more roles in one sensing session. For example, the sensing initiator may serve as the sensing initiator only, or serve as the sensing transmitter device, or also serve as the sensing receiver, or also serve as both the sensing transmitter and the sensing receiver).
Regarding claim 29, Huang discloses:
A second station (STA) comprising: at least one transceiver; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one transceiver, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: based on a first measurement session identifier and first sensing measurement parameters, and a second measurement session identifier and second sensing measurement parameters having been provided to a first STA (Huang, Fig. 4 & [0164] discloses In an operation S302, devices, such as the first station (i.e. reads on a second STA), the second station (i.e. reads on to a first STA), and so on, may receive (i.e. reads on having been provided) the beacon frame, obtain the measurement configuration 1 (i.e. reads on based on a first measurement session identifier and first sensing measurement parameters) and the measurement configuration 2 (i.e. reads on and a second measurement session identifier and second sensing measurement parameters), and cache the measurement configuration 1 and the measurement configuration 2; Huang, Fig. 4 & [0162] discloses The measurement configuration 1 includes the measurement configuration identifier 1 (i.e. reads on based on a first measurement session identifier) and an operational parameter (i.e. reads on first sensing measurement parameters) corresponding to the measurement configuration identifier 1. The measurement configuration 2 includes a measurement configuration identifier 2 (i.e. reads on a second measurement session identifier) and an operational parameter (i.e. reads on second sensing measurement parameters) corresponding to the measurement configuration identifier 2; Huang, [0469] discloses the communication device 600 may further include a transceiver 630. The processor 610 controls the transceiver 630 to communicate with other devices, specifically, to send information or data to other devices or to receive information or data sent from the other devices. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it is inherent for a complex device such as the stations to include a processor and transceiver in order to be able to perform the disclosed functionalities).
transmit, through the at least one transceiver, to the first STA, a first frame including information regarding one measurement session identifier (Huang, Fig. 4 & [0165]-[0166] discloses Further, the first station, serving as the sensing initiator, desires to establish the measurement configuration 1 and discloses In an operation S303, the first station (i.e. reads the second STA) sends (i.e. reads on transmit) the session establishment request frame (i.e. reads on a first frame) to the second station (i.e. reads on to the first STA). The session establishment request frame includes a measurement configuration identifier (i.e. reads on including information regarding one measurement session identifier) corresponding to the measurement configuration 1, i.e., a measurement configuration identifier 1, and further includes an identifier of the sensing initiator).
among the first measurement session identifier and the second measurement session identifier; (Huang, Fig. 4 & [0162] discloses The measurement configuration 1 includes the measurement configuration identifier 1 (i.e. reads on among the first measurement session identifier) and an operational parameter corresponding to the measurement configuration identifier 1. The measurement configuration 2 includes a measurement configuration identifier 2 (i.e. reads on and the second measurement session identifier) and an operational parameter corresponding to the measurement configuration identifier 2).
Huang discloses in one embodiment that a first station receives measurement configuration information from a second device and also receives a session establishment request frame from a third device but fails to explicitly recite that the second device and the third device may be the same device or fails to explicitly recite the details of what occurs after the first station receives the session establishment request frame and therefore fails to disclose in the same embodiment, the limitations of “based on a first measurement session identifier and first sensing measurement parameters, and a second measurement session identifier and second sensing measurement parameters having been provided to a first STA from the second STA” and “and perform, through the at least one transceiver, at least one of a transmission or a reception of a sensing signal based on sensing measurement parameters of one of the first sensing measurement parameters and the second sensing measurement parameters, wherein the one measurement session identifier identifies the sensing measurement parameters of the one of the first sensing measurement parameters and the second sensing measurement parameters.”
In a different embodiment, Huang discloses:
based on a first measurement session identifier and first sensing measurement parameters, and a second measurement session identifier and second sensing measurement parameters having been provided to a first STA from the second STA, (Huang, [0118] discloses a third device (i.e. reads on from a second STA) sends (i.e. reads on having been provided to) one or more measurement configurations to at least one device (i.e. reads on a first STA). Each measurement configuration includes the measurement configuration ID (i.e. reads on based on a first measurement session identifier and a second measurement session identifier) and an operational parameter for the sensing measurement (i.e. reads on first sensing measurement parameters, and second sensing measurement parameters); Huang, [0125] discloses the second device and the third device are the same device; Huang, [0132]-[0133] discloses the second device sends the at least one measurement configuration identifier to the first device via a first request frame. The first request frame is used to request establishing the sensing session and discloses the second device, while requesting establishing the sensing session, carries the measurement configuration identifier corresponding to the measurement configuration that is requested to be established; Huang, [0120]-[0121] discloses The at least one device, after being informed of the one or more measurement configurations, may cache the one or more measurement configurations for subsequently establishing the measurement configurations and discloses the third device may be the AP device or a non-AP STA device; Huang, [0123] discloses the at least one device includes at least one non-AP STA device and/or at least one AP device; Huang, [0091] discloses It should be understood that, in the present embodiment, the sense session initiator may be the AP device or a non-AP STA device. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the combination of the cited teachings together as a whole that the device that sent the plurality of measurement configuration may be the same device that subsequently initiates and sends the session establishment request frame that includes the measurement configuration identifier).
and perform, through the at least one transceiver, at least one of a transmission or a reception of a sensing signal based on sensing measurement parameters (Huang, [0077]-[0078] discloses For the session establishment stage, the sensing session is established; a participant of the sensing session and a role (i.e. reads on based on sensing measurement parameters) of the participant including the sensing transmitter and the sensing receiver are identified; and optionally, the parameters are interacted between terminals and discloses For the sensing measurement stage, sensing measurement is performed, the sensing transmitter (i.e. reads on perform) transmits (i.e. reads on at least one of a transmission or a reception of) sensing signals (i.e. reads on a sensing signal) to the sensing receiver; Huang, [0095]-[0096] discloses the set of operational parameters for a sensing measurement (i.e. reads on sensing measurement parameters) includes at least one of the following and discloses Role information of a device in the sensing measurement, the number of antennas for the sensing measurement, a bandwidth for the sensing measurement, a type of a measurement result, a type of how to report the measurement result, threshold setting information; Huang, [0065] discloses The WLAN terminal may have one or more roles in one sensing session. For example, the sensing initiator may serve as the sensing initiator only, or serve as the sensing transmitter device, or also serve as the sensing receiver, or also serve as both the sensing transmitter and the sensing receiver; Huang, [0061]-[0062] discloses A sensing transmitter or a sensing signal transmitting device is a device that initiates sensing illumination signals and discloses A sensing receiver or a sensing signal receiving device is a device that receives the sensing illumination signals).
of one of the first sensing measurement parameters and the second sensing measurement parameters, wherein the one measurement session identifier identifies the sensing measurement parameters of the one of the first sensing measurement parameters and the second sensing measurement parameters (Huang, [0092] discloses each measurement configuration identifier is used to identify one measurement configuration. The measurement configuration includes the measurement configuration identifier and a set of operational parameters for the sensing measurement. That is, the measurement configuration identifier (i.e. reads on wherein the one measurement session identifier) may be used to identify (i.e. reads on identifies) the operational parameters (i.e. reads on identifies the sensing measurement parameters) corresponding to the measurement configuration (i.e. reads on of one of the first sensing measurement parameters and the second sensing measurement parameters); Huang, Fig. 4 & [0161]-[0162] discloses In an operation S301, the AP device broadcasts one or more measurement configurations including a measurement configuration 1 and a measurement configuration 2 via a beacon frame and discloses The measurement configuration 1 includes the measurement configuration identifier 1 and an operational parameter corresponding to the measurement configuration identifier 1. The measurement configuration 2 includes a measurement configuration identifier 2 and an operational parameter corresponding to the measurement configuration identifier 2).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Huang to incorporate the teachings of the different embodiments for the purpose of conforming to the intent of the invention to modify and combine the various different embodiment (Huang, [0083] & [0507]) to make the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of an embodiment of a first station performing session measurement establishment with another station as taught by Huang) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of a similar embodiment of a first station performing session measurement establishment with another station with additional and/or alternative features and functionalities of the other embodiments as taught by Huang) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of an embodiment of a first station performing session measurement establishment with another station (i.e. as taught by Huang) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Claim(s) 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HUANG et al. (US Patent Publication 2024/0248167 herein after referenced as Huang) in view of CHITRAKAR et al. (US Patent Publication 2023/0319877 herein after referenced as Chitra).
Regarding claim 21, Huang discloses:
The method of claim 17, (see claim 17).
Huang discloses performing a session measurement process where a device transmits a request frame and sensing signals to be measured but fails to explicitly recite that said sensing signals are NDP and therefore fails to disclose “wherein: the sensing signal is a null data physical layer protocol unit (NDP).”
In a related field of endeavor, Chitra discloses:
wherein: the sensing signal is a null data physical layer protocol unit (NDP) (Chitra, [0102] discloses The sensing transmitter 1512 transmits a SENS NDP Announcement SENS NDPA frame 1522 in a broadcast manner and received by all three sensing receivers 1514, 1516, 1518. After the last symbol of the SENS NDPA frame 1522 is transmitted, a SIFs may take effect, and the sensing transmitter 1512 then again transmits a Sounding PPDU 1526, for example VHT NDP in this case, in a broadcast manner received by all three sensing receivers 1514, 1516, 1518. Subsequently, each of the sensing receivers 1514, 1516, 1518, uses the Sounding PPDU 1526 to perform channel measurements, while the SENS NDPA frame 1522 is used to identify the Sensing transmitter, Sensing Group/Session etc.; Chitra, [0053] discloses In various embodiments below, the term “null data packet” or “NDP” may be used interchangeably with the term “sounding physical layer protocol data unit PPDU” or “response PPDU”; Chitra, Fig. 17 & [0118] discloses the process for sensing session negotiation may start in step 1708 when a WLAN sensing requester, in this case STA1 1702, transmits a sensing session request frame comprising a Session ID and transmission parameters for subsequent solicited channel measurements to a first sensing receiver, in this case STA2 1704 and in step 1710, the first sensing receiver 1704 then transmits a sensing session response frame comprising a status to accept or reject the request; Chitra, [0126] discloses the sensing requester transmits a trigger frame simultaneously to three sensing responders STA2, STA3, STA4 and in this example, the Request frame is requesting one 40 MHz Sounding PPDU from STA2, one 20 MHz Sounding PPDU from STA3 and one 20 MHz Sounding PPDU from STA4 and after the last symbol of the trigger frame is transmitted, a SIFS may take effect and the sensing responder transmits a 40 MHz HE TB Ranging NDP in the first and second 20 MHz subchannels of the 80 MHz frequency segment; the sensing responder transmits a 20 MHz HE TB Ranging NDP in the third 20 MHz subchannel of the 80 MHz frequency segment; and the sensing responder transmits a 20 MHz HE TB Ranging NDP in the fourth 20 MHz subchannel of the 80 MHz frequency segment and subsequently, the sensing requester uses the HE TB Ranging PPDUs to perform channel measurements for sensing responders; Chitra, [0077] discloses during solicited channel measurements such as Request/Response exchange, the request specifies the transmission parameters of a Response PPDU, such as the format of the Response PPDU including HT NDP, VHT NDP, HE NDP, etc., requester's transmit power and target RSSI for the Response PPDU, number of spatial streams in the Response PPDU and bandwidth of the Response PPDU and the responder then transmits a response PPDU using the requested transmission parameters).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Huang to incorporate the teachings of Chitra for the purpose of providing the system with a means to utilize alternative forms or formats of sensing signals and request frames when performing a measurement procedure (Chitra, [0102] & [0126]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with added functionalities and various different alternatives in design, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios (Huang, [0083] & [0507]) and thereby, preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a session measurement process where a device transmits a request frame and sensing signals to be measured as taught by Huang) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a session measurement process where a device transmits a request frame and sensing signals to be measured, wherein the request frame is an NDPA frame or a trigger frame and wherein the sensing signals are PPDU NDPs as taught by Chitra) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a session measurement process where a device transmits a request frame and sensing signals to be measured (i.e. as taught by both Huang & Chitra) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 22, Huang discloses:
The method of claim 17, (see claim 17).
Huang discloses performing a session measurement process where a device transmits a request frame and sensing signals to be measured but fails to explicitly recite that said request frames are NDPA and therefore fails to disclose “wherein: the first frame is a NDP announcement (NDPA) frame within a sensing measurement exchange.”
In a related field of endeavor, Chitra discloses:
wherein: the first frame is a NDP announcement (NDPA) frame within a sensing measurement exchange (Chitra, [0102] discloses The sensing transmitter 1512 transmits a SENS NDP Announcement SENS NDPA frame 1522 in a broadcast manner and received by all three sensing receivers 1514, 1516, 1518. After the last symbol of the SENS NDPA frame 1522 is transmitted, a SIFs may take effect, and the sensing transmitter 1512 then again transmits a Sounding PPDU 1526, for example VHT NDP in this case, in a broadcast manner received by all three sensing receivers 1514, 1516, 1518. Subsequently, each of the sensing receivers 1514, 1516, 1518, uses the Sounding PPDU 1526 to perform channel measurements, while the SENS NDPA frame 1522 is used to identify the Sensing transmitter, Sensing Group/Session etc.; Chitra, [0053] discloses In various embodiments below, the term “null data packet” or “NDP” may be used interchangeably with the term “sounding physical layer protocol data unit PPDU” or “response PPDU”; Chitra, Fig. 17 & [0118] discloses the process for sensing session negotiation may start in step 1708 when a WLAN sensing requester, in this case STA1 1702, transmits a sensing session request frame comprising a Session ID and transmission parameters for subsequent solicited channel measurements to a first sensing receiver, in this case STA2 1704 and in step 1710, the first sensing receiver 1704 then transmits a sensing session response frame comprising a status to accept or reject the request; Chitra, [0126] discloses the sensing requester transmits a trigger frame simultaneously to three sensing responders STA2, STA3, STA4 and in this example, the Request frame is requesting one 40 MHz Sounding PPDU from STA2, one 20 MHz Sounding PPDU from STA3 and one 20 MHz Sounding PPDU from STA4 and after the last symbol of the trigger frame is transmitted, a SIFS may take effect and the sensing responder transmits a 40 MHz HE TB Ranging NDP in the first and second 20 MHz subchannels of the 80 MHz frequency segment; the sensing responder transmits a 20 MHz HE TB Ranging NDP in the third 20 MHz subchannel of the 80 MHz frequency segment; and the sensing responder transmits a 20 MHz HE TB Ranging NDP in the fourth 20 MHz subchannel of the 80 MHz frequency segment and subsequently, the sensing requester uses the HE TB Ranging PPDUs to perform channel measurements for sensing responders; Chitra, [0077] discloses during solicited channel measurements such as Request/Response exchange, the request specifies the transmission parameters of a Response PPDU, such as the format of the Response PPDU including HT NDP, VHT NDP, HE NDP, etc., requester's transmit power and target RSSI for the Response PPDU, number of spatial streams in the Response PPDU and bandwidth of the Response PPDU and the responder then transmits a response PPDU using the requested transmission parameters).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Huang to incorporate the teachings of Chitra for the purpose of providing the system with a means to utilize alternative forms or formats of sensing signals and request frames when performing a measurement procedure (Chitra, [0102] & [0126]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with added functionalities and various different alternatives in design, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios (Huang, [0083] & [0507]) and thereby, preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a session measurement process where a device transmits a request frame and sensing signals to be measured as taught by Huang) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a session measurement process where a device transmits a request frame and sensing signals to be measured, wherein the request frame is an NDPA frame or a trigger frame and wherein the sensing signals are PPDU NDPs as taught by Chitra) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a session measurement process where a device transmits a request frame and sensing signals to be measured (i.e. as taught by both Huang & Chitra) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 23, Huang discloses:
The method of claim 17, (see claim 17).
Huang discloses performing a session measurement process where a device transmits a request frame and sensing signals to be measured but fails to explicitly recite that said request frame is a trigger frame and therefore fails to disclose “wherein: the first frame is a trigger frame within a sensing measurement exchange.”
In a related field of endeavor, Chitra discloses:
wherein: the first frame is a trigger frame within a sensing measurement exchange (Chitra, [0126] discloses the sensing requester transmits a trigger frame simultaneously to three sensing responders STA2, STA3, STA4 and in this example, the Request frame is requesting one 40 MHz Sounding PPDU from STA2, one 20 MHz Sounding PPDU from STA3 and one 20 MHz Sounding PPDU from STA4 and after the last symbol of the trigger frame is transmitted, a SIFS may take effect and the sensing responder transmits a 40 MHz HE TB Ranging NDP in the first and second 20 MHz subchannels of the 80 MHz frequency segment; the sensing responder transmits a 20 MHz HE TB Ranging NDP in the third 20 MHz subchannel of the 80 MHz frequency segment; and the sensing responder transmits a 20 MHz HE TB Ranging NDP in the fourth 20 MHz subchannel of the 80 MHz frequency segment and subsequently, the sensing requester uses the HE TB Ranging PPDUs to perform channel measurements for sensing responders; Chitra, [0102] discloses The sensing transmitter 1512 transmits a SENS NDP Announcement SENS NDPA frame 1522 in a broadcast manner and received by all three sensing receivers 1514, 1516, 1518. After the last symbol of the SENS NDPA frame 1522 is transmitted, a SIFs may take effect, and the sensing transmitter 1512 then again transmits a Sounding PPDU 1526, for example VHT NDP in this case, in a broadcast manner received by all three sensing receivers 1514, 1516, 1518. Subsequently, each of the sensing receivers 1514, 1516, 1518, uses the Sounding PPDU 1526 to perform channel measurements, while the SENS NDPA frame 1522 is used to identify the Sensing transmitter, Sensing Group/Session etc.; Chitra, [0053] discloses In various embodiments below, the term “null data packet” or “NDP” may be used interchangeably with the term “sounding physical layer protocol data unit PPDU” or “response PPDU”; Chitra, Fig. 17 & [0118] discloses the process for sensing session negotiation may start in step 1708 when a WLAN sensing requester, in this case STA1 1702, transmits a sensing session request frame comprising a Session ID and transmission parameters for subsequent solicited channel measurements to a first sensing receiver, in this case STA2 1704 and in step 1710, the first sensing receiver 1704 then transmits a sensing session response frame comprising a status to accept or reject the request; Chitra, [0077] discloses during solicited channel measurements such as Request/Response exchange, the request specifies the transmission parameters of a Response PPDU, such as the format of the Response PPDU including HT NDP, VHT NDP, HE NDP, etc., requester's transmit power and target RSSI for the Response PPDU, number of spatial streams in the Response PPDU and bandwidth of the Response PPDU and the responder then transmits a response PPDU using the requested transmission parameters).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Huang to incorporate the teachings of Chitra for the purpose of providing the system with a means to utilize alternative forms or formats of sensing signals and request frames when performing a measurement procedure (Chitra, [0102] & [0126]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with added functionalities and various different alternatives in design, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios (Huang, [0083] & [0507]) and thereby, preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a session measurement process where a device transmits a request frame and sensing signals to be measured as taught by Huang) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a session measurement process where a device transmits a request frame and sensing signals to be measured, wherein the request frame is an NDPA frame or a trigger frame and wherein the sensing signals are PPDU NDPs as taught by Chitra) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a session measurement process where a device transmits a request frame and sensing signals to be measured (i.e. as taught by both Huang & Chitra) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL Y MAPA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645