DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, claims 1-9 and 18, in the reply filed on Jun. 9, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-20 remain pending in the current application, claims 10-17 and 19-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention.
The requirement for the restriction of Inventions I-V is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 1-9 and 18 have been considered on the merits.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claims 10-17 and 19-20 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 1-9 and 18 have been considered on the merits.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the use of trademarks.
The use of the term Excel™: MAC® 2004 in 0137 and 0138, which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the first time an acronym is utilized in a claim-set, said acronym should be spelled out in its entirety followed by said acronym in parenthesis (e.g. Heme-Nitric oxide and Oxygen binding domain (H-NOX)).
Claims 2 and 3 are objected to in the recitation of “to claim wherein”, and in the interest of improving claim form, it is suggested that the recited phrase be amended to recite “to claim[[,]] wherein”. In other words, a comma should be added after the word “claim” to be consistent with the other claims and to improve the grammar.
Claim 3 is objected to in the recitation of “wherein the solution is an aqueous solution comprising sodium ions”, and in the interest of improving claim form, it is suggested that the recited phrase be amended to recite “wherein the stabilizing solution
Claim 4 is objected to in the recitation of “at pH 6.8±0.2”, and in the interest of improving claim form, it is suggested that the recited phrase be amended to recite “with a pH of 6.8±0.2”.
Claim 5 is objected to in the recitation of “comprising salts; sugars; antioxidants; active agents”, and in the interest of improving claim form, it is suggested that the recited phrase be amended so that the semi-colons are commas and after the phrase “antioxidants,” the word “and” be added. In other words, it is suggested that phrase read, “comprising salts, sugars, antioxidants, and active agents”.
Claim 6 is objected to in the recitation of “wherein the solution is an aqueous solution comprising”, and in the interest of improving claim form, it is suggested that the recited phrase be amended to recite “wherein the organ preserving solution
Claim 6 at line 3, the term “raffinose” is misspelled “ramose”. Paragraph 0019 of the published application lists raffinose.
Claim 6 at line 3, the term “sucrose” is misspelled “sucrase”. Paragraph 0019 of the published application lists raffinose.
Claim 7 is objected to in the recitation of “in that the composition has an osmolarity”, and in the interest of improving claim form, it is suggested that the recited phrase be amended to recite “
Claim 9 is objected to in the recitation of “transplanted; then” in line 4, and in the interest of improving claim form, it is suggested that the recited phrase be amended to recite “transplanted; and then”. It is suggested that the word “and” be added between steps b) and c).
Claim 9 is objected to in the recitation of “static or dynamic-perfusion preservation of” in line 6, and in the interest of improving claim form, it is suggested that the recited phrase be amended to recite “static or dynamic-perfusion preserving of”. This suggestion is to make preservation an active step.
Claim 18 is objected to in the recitation of “transplanted; then” in line 2, and in the interest of improving claim form, it is suggested that the recited phrase be amended to recite “transplanted; and then”. It is suggested that the word “and” be added between steps a) and b).
Appropriate corrections are appreciated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claims 9 and 18, lines 7 and 5, respectively, the phrase "the aqueous solution" lacks sufficient antecedent basis and renders the claim and its dependents indefinite. Claim 1 does not explicitly state an aqueous solution.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Dutheil et al. (US 2014/0113274 A1) (ref. of record).
With respect to claim 1, Dutheil teaches a method of preserving an organ for donation after brain or cardiac death by administering to the donor a composition containing one globin, one globin promoter or one extracellular hemoglobin of Annelida, a stabilizing solution and/or an organ preservation solution where the composition is at a temperature of 0-37°C (abstract, 0001 and 0009). It is noted that the composition claim 1 “comprising at least one H-NOX protein, a stabilizing solution and/or an organ preservation” only requires one of the listed components.
With respect to claim 2, Dutheil teaches the stabilizing solution is an aqueous solution comprising salts, and comprises a pH of between 6.5 and 7.6 (0010 and 0029).
With respect to claim 3, Dutheil teaches the stabilizing solution is an aqueous solution containing sodium ions (0029).
With respect to claim 5, Dutheil teaches the organ preservation solution is an aqueous solution with a pH of between 6.5 and 7.5 containing salts, sugars, antioxidants, and active agents (0033).
With respect to claim 6, Dutheil teaches the organ preservation solution is an aqueous solution containing salts including chloride, sulfate, sodium, calcium, magnesium and potassium ions; sugars including mannitol, raffinose, sucrose, glucose, fructose, lactobionate or gluconate; antioxidants including glutathione; active agents including xanthine oxidase inhibitors, lactates, and amino acids; and optionally colloids selected from hydroxyethyl starch, poly-ethylene glycol and dextran (0033).
With respect to claim 9, Dutheil teaches for preserving an organ ex situ in a donation after brain death donor or a donation after cardiac death donor, comprising the following steps: a) perfusion of said deceased donor with the composition containing the one globin, one globin promoter or one extracellular hemoglobin of Annelida, a stabilizing solution and/or an organ preservation solution; then b) harvesting of the organ to be transplanted; and then c) static or dynamic-perfusion preservation of said organ obtained in b), at a temperature of between 0°C and 37°C, for a time predetermined according to said organ, in the composition or the aqueous solution defined in step a) (0075).
With respect to claim 18, Dutheil teaches for preserving an organ ex situ comprising the following steps: a) harvesting of the organ to be transplanted; then b) maintaining in static or dynamic perfusion said organ obtained in a), at a temperature of between 0°C and 37°C, for a time predetermined according to said organ, with the composition containing the one globin, one globin promoter or one extracellular hemoglobin of Annelida, a stabilizing solution and/or an organ preservation solution (0075).
Therefore, the reference anticipates the claimed subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dutheil et al. (US 2014/0113274 A1) (ref. of record) in view of Le Moan et al. (WO 2017/143104 A1) (ref. of record).
With respect to claim 1, Dutheil teaches a method of preserving an organ for donation after brain or cardiac death by administering to the donor a composition containing one globin, one globin promoter or one extracellular hemoglobin of Annelida, a stabilizing solution and/or an organ preservation solution where the composition is at a temperature of 0-37°C (abstract, 0001 and 0009). It is noted that the composition claim 1 “comprising at least one H-NOX protein, a stabilizing solution and/or an organ preservation” only requires one of the listed components.
With respect to claim 2, Dutheil teaches the stabilizing solution is an aqueous solution comprising salts, and comprises a pH of between 6.5 and 7.6 (0010 and 0029).
With respect to claim 3, Dutheil teaches the stabilizing solution is an aqueous solution containing sodium ions (0029).
With respect to claim 5, Dutheil teaches the organ preservation solution is an aqueous solution with a pH of between 6.5 and 7.5 containing salts, sugars, antioxidants, and active agents (0033).
With respect to claim 6, Dutheil teaches the organ preservation solution is an aqueous solution containing salts including chloride, sulfate, sodium, calcium, magnesium and potassium ions; sugars including mannitol, raffinose, sucrose, glucose, fructose, lactobionate or gluconate; antioxidants including glutathione; active agents including xanthine oxidase inhibitors, lactates, and amino acids; and optionally colloids selected from hydroxyethyl starch, poly-ethylene glycol and dextran (0033).
With respect to claim 9, Dutheil teaches for preserving an organ ex situ in a donation after brain death donor or a donation after cardiac death donor, comprising the following steps: a) perfusion of said deceased donor with the composition containing the one globin, one globin promoter or one extracellular hemoglobin of Annelida, a stabilizing solution and/or an organ preservation solution; then b) harvesting of the organ to be transplanted; and then c) static or dynamic-perfusion preservation of said organ obtained in b), at a temperature of between 0°C and 37°C, for a time predetermined according to said organ, in the composition or the aqueous solution defined in step a) (0075).
With respect to claim 18, Dutheil teaches for preserving an organ ex situ comprising the following steps: a) harvesting of the organ to be transplanted; then b) maintaining in static or dynamic perfusion said organ obtained in a), at a temperature of between 0°C and 37°C, for a time predetermined according to said organ, with the composition containing the one globin, one globin promoter or one extracellular hemoglobin of Annelida, a stabilizing solution and/or an organ preservation solution (0075).
Dutheil does not teach the method where the composition contains a Heme-Nitric oxide and Oxygen binding domain (H-NOX) protein as recited in claim 1.
However, Le Moan teaches administering H-NOX proteins in a composition to treat hypoxic tissue following stroke. Le Moan teaches that H-NOX proteins are nitric-oxide-neutral unlike hemoglobin-based oxygen carriers and do not scavenge circulating nitric oxide and therefore do not cause hypertensive or renal side effects (0005). Le Moan further teaches that lower inactivation of H-NOX by endogenous NO and the lower scavenging of endogenous NO by H-NOX proteins makes H-NOX proteins desirable blood substitutes (0005). Le Moan teaches that H-NOX oxygen binding proteins can deliver oxygen in a variety of clinical and industrial settings and hypoxic/ischemic conditions (0006).
In further support, Dutheil teaches one of the difficulties in donation is when the organ undergoes warm ischemia where it is not refrigerated and no longer perfused by blood and, therefore, is not supplied with oxygen (0003). Dutheil teaches the need for blood substitutes capable of transporting oxygen for organs for donation (0005-0006).
Accordingly, at the effective time of filing of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the method of Dutheil to include a H-NOX protein for the benefit of providing oxygen to the organ without scavenging the NO oxide as taught by Le Moan. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the method of Dutheil to include a H-NOX protein for providing oxygen, since it was known to be administered to provide oxygen to hypoxic organs and tissues as taught by Le Moan and organs for donation are susceptible to hypoxia as taught by Dutheil. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success of making such a modification to the method of Dutheil, since Le Moan teaches the administration of a composition containing H-NOX proteins provides oxygen to hypoxic organs in patients and Dutheil teaches an alternative protein, hemoglobin, for providing oxygen to an organ for donation.
Although Dutheil does not teach the H-NOX protein is present at a concentration, relative to the final volume of composition, of between 0.001 mg/ml and 100 mg/ml as recited in claim 7. However, Dutheil teaches the composition where the globin, one globin promoter or one extracellular hemoglobin of Annelida are in a concentration of between 0.001 mg/ml and 100 mg/ml relative to the final volume of composition (0071). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a similar concentration of H-NOX protein in composition administered in Dutheil, since the globin and hemoglobin are oxygen delivery proteins like H-NOX proteins. Further with respect to claim 7, Dutheil teaches the composition with an osmolarity of between 300 and 350 mOsm/l (0010) and where the composition has an osmolarity of 250-350 mOsm/l (claim 6).
Similarly, Dutheil does not teach the H-NOX protein is present at a concentration, relative to the final volume of composition, of between 0.5 mg/ml and 5 mg/ml as recited in claim 8. However, Dutheil teaches the composition where the globin, one globin promoter or one extracellular hemoglobin of Annelida are in a concentration of between 1 mg/ml and 5 mg/ml relative to the final volume of composition (0071). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a similar concentration of H-NOX protein in composition administered in Dutheil, since the globin and hemoglobin are oxygen delivery proteins like H-NOX proteins. Further with respect to claim 8, Dutheil teaches the composition with an osmolarity of between 275 and 310 mOsm/l (0072).
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective time of filing of the invention, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claims 1-6, 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dutheil et al. (US 2014/0113274 A1) (ref. of record) in view of Tang et al. (Frontiers in Pharmacology, Jul. 15, 2021).
With respect to claim 1, Dutheil teaches a method of preserving an organ for donation after brain or cardiac death by administering to the donor a composition containing one globin, one globin promoter or one extracellular hemoglobin of Annelida, a stabilizing solution and/or an organ preservation solution where the composition is at a temperature of 0-37°C (abstract, 0001 and 0009). It is noted that the composition claim 1 “comprising at least one H-NOX protein, a stabilizing solution and/or an organ preservation” only requires one of the listed components.
With respect to claim 2, Dutheil teaches the stabilizing solution is an aqueous solution comprising salts, and comprises a pH of between 6.5 and 7.6 (0010 and 0029).
With respect to claim 3, Dutheil teaches the stabilizing solution is an aqueous solution containing sodium ions (0029).
With respect to claim 5, Dutheil teaches the organ preservation solution is an aqueous solution with a pH of between 6.5 and 7.5 containing salts, sugars, antioxidants, and active agents (0033).
With respect to claim 6, Dutheil teaches the organ preservation solution is an aqueous solution containing salts including chloride, sulfate, sodium, calcium, magnesium and potassium ions; sugars including mannitol, raffinose, sucrose, glucose, fructose, lactobionate or gluconate; antioxidants including glutathione; active agents including xanthine oxidase inhibitors, lactates, and amino acids; and optionally colloids selected from hydroxyethyl starch, poly-ethylene glycol and dextran (0033).
With respect to claim 9, Dutheil teaches for preserving an organ ex situ in a donation after brain death donor or a donation after cardiac death donor, comprising the following steps: a) perfusion of said deceased donor with the composition containing the one globin, one globin promoter or one extracellular hemoglobin of Annelida, a stabilizing solution and/or an organ preservation solution; then b) harvesting of the organ to be transplanted; and then c) static or dynamic-perfusion preservation of said organ obtained in b), at a temperature of between 0°C and 37°C, for a time predetermined according to said organ, in the composition or the aqueous solution defined in step a) (0075).
With respect to claim 18, Dutheil teaches for preserving an organ ex situ comprising the following steps: a) harvesting of the organ to be transplanted; then b) maintaining in static or dynamic perfusion said organ obtained in a), at a temperature of between 0°C and 37°C, for a time predetermined according to said organ, with the composition containing the one globin, one globin promoter or one extracellular hemoglobin of Annelida, a stabilizing solution and/or an organ preservation solution (0075).
With respect to claim 4, Dutheil teaches a preserving composition containing citrate (54 mM) and glucose (194 mM) (0050). Dutheil teaches a preserving composition containing glucose (5 mM) (0051). Dutheil teaches preserving compositions containing glutathione (3 mM) (0035, 0038-0040 and 0054). Dutheil teaches that the preservation solution is an aqueous solution with a pH of between 6.5 and 7.5 (0033). Dutheil does not explicitly teach a stabilizing solution that is an aqueous solution comprising 20 mM sodium citrate, 250 mM glucose, 10 mM glutathione, and 0.1% poloxamer 188 with a pH of 6.8±0.2 as recited in claim 4. Dutheil does not teach the composition contains poloxamer 188.
However, Tang teaches administering a composition containing poloxamer 188 to treat hypoxia/reoxygenation or ischemia/reperfusion (IR)-induced injury (abstract). Tang teaches that poloxamer 188 has anti-inflammatory properties and can help maintain plasma membrane function and has been reported to exert beneficial effects in the treatment of various disorders (abstract and pg. 1-2 bridging para.). Tang teaches poloxamer 188 maintains cell membrane integrity and inhibits the inflammatory response (pg. 2 Col. 2 para. 1). Tang further reports that poloxamer 188 protects against lung IR injury (abstract). Tang teaches donor lungs are exposed to ischemia during the transplantation procedure (pg. 2 Col. 1 para. 2). Tang teaches that P188 may have potential to reduce IR-induced lung injury during lung transplantation (pg. 11 Col. 2 para. 2).
Accordingly, at the effective time of filing of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the method of Dutheil so that the stabilizing solution contains poloxamer 188 for the benefits of preventing ischemia/reperfusion (IR)-induced injury, maintain cell membrane integrity, and inhibiting inflammatory response in the organ as taught by Tang. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the method of Dutheil so that the stabilizing solution contains poloxamer 188, since it was known to be beneficial for organs which have undergone ischemia and has been suggested be used to reduce IR-induced lung injury during lung transplantation as taught by Tang and organs for donation are susceptible to hypoxia as taught by Dutheil. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success of making such a modification to the method of Dutheil, since Tang teaches the administration of a composition containing poloxamer 188 provides protection to hypoxic organs.
Although, the combined teachings of Dutheil and Tang don’t teach the claimed components in one composition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was made to combine the instant ingredients for their known benefit, as disclosed by the cited references above, since each is well known in the art for their claimed purpose. This rejection is based on the well-established proposition of patent law that no invention resides in combining old ingredients of known properties where the results obtained thereby are no more than the additive effect of the ingredients. The idea for combining them flows logically from their having been used individually in the prior art. Although Dutheil and Tang do not teach the exact amounts of the components in the stabilizing solution recited in claim 4, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the amounts of the components in the stabilizing solution are result effective variables and that the amounts of the components would be matter of routine optimization depending on such factors as the type of organ, the size of the organ and donation conditions.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective time of filing of the invention, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Examiner Contact Information
/EMILY A CORDAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1632