Information Disclosure Statement
2 The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/16/2024, 02/20/2024, 06/24/2024, and 03/18/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
NOTE: Per MPEP 804, a complete response to a nonstatutory double patenting (NSDP) is either a reply by Applicant showing that the claims subject to the rejection are patentably distinct from the reference claims or the filing of a terminal disclaimer. Such a showing or filing will not be held in abeyance.
2 Claim[s 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. US 11525881 B1.. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims are anticipated by the patent claims as shown in chart below.
Pending application 18/684,588 claims 21-40
17/404760 / US 11525881 B1 claims 1-20
21. A system, comprising:
an impedance measurement device configured to output a first AC signal;
a phase-locked current generator configured to generate a second AC signal based on the first AC signal and a first impedance; and
a calibrating device configured to command the phase-locked current generator to generate the second AC signal based on the first impedance,
wherein the impedance measurement device is configured to determine an adjustment factor based on the first impedance and an impedance measured by the impedance measurement device.
22. The system of claim 21, wherein the calibrating device is configured to:
control the impedance measurement device to calibrate the impedance measurement device.
23. The system of claim 21, wherein the second AC signal has an AC signal amplitude that is set to represent the first impedance.
24. The system of claim 23, wherein the calibrating device is configured to:
command the phase-locked current generator to set the AC signal amplitude.
25. The system of claim 23, wherein the calibrating device is configured to:
command the phase-locked current generator to change the AC signal amplitude by a finest step-wise setting provided by the phase-locked current generator.
26. The system of claim 21, wherein the adjustment factor varies linearly as a function of the first impedance.
27. The system of claim 21, wherein the impedance measurement device is configured to:
determine a plurality of adjustment factors based on a respective plurality of pairs of impedances measured by the impedance measurement device and corresponding first impedances.
28. The system of claim 27, wherein the impedance measurement device is configured to:
determine an extrapolated adjustment factor by extrapolating between first and second adjustment factors of the plurality of adjustment factors.
29. The system of claim 21, wherein the impedance measurement device includes:
a sampling resistance configured to receive a current signal and generate the first AC signal in response to passage therethrough of the current signal; and
a reference resistance configured to receive the second AC signal and generate a voltage signal in response to passage therethrough of the second AC signal.
30. The system of claim 29, wherein the second AC signal is operative to cause the voltage signal across the reference resistance to be between 10 nanovolt (nV) and one millivolt (mV).
31. A method, comprising:
outputting, by an impedance measurement device,
a first AC signal; commanding, by a calibrating device,
a phase-locked current generator to generate a second AC signal based on a first impedance;
generating, by the phase-locked current generator, the second AC signal based on the first AC signal and the first impedance; and
determining, by the impedance measurement device, an adjustment factor based on the first impedance and an impedance measured by the impedance measurement device.
32. The method of claim 31, comprising:
controlling, by the calibrating device, the impedance measurement device to calibrate the impedance measurement device.
33. The method of claim 31, wherein the second AC signal has an AC signal amplitude that is set to represent the first impedance.
34. The method of claim 33, comprising:
commanding, by the calibrating device, the phase-locked current generator to set the AC signal amplitude.
35. The method of claim 33, comprising:
commanding, by the calibrating device, the phase-locked current generator to change the AC signal amplitude by a finest step-wise setting provided by the phase-locked current generator.
36. The method of claim 31, wherein the adjustment factor varies linearly as a function of the first impedance.
37. The method of claim 31, comprising:
determining, by the impedance measurement device, a plurality of adjustment factors based on a respective plurality of pairs of impedances measured by the impedance measurement device and corresponding first impedances.
38. The method of claim 37, comprising:
determining, by the impedance measurement device, an extrapolated adjustment factor by extrapolating between first and second adjustment factors of the plurality of adjustment factors.
39. The method of claim 31, comprising:
receiving, by a sampling resistance of the impedance measurement device, a current signal;
generating, by the sampling resistance, the first AC signal in response to passage therethrough of the current signal;
receiving, by a reference resistance of the impedance measurement device, the second AC signal; and
generating, by the reference resistance, a voltage signal in response to passage therethrough of the second AC signal.
40. The method of claim 39, wherein the second AC signal is operative to cause the voltage signal across the reference resistance to be between 10 nanovolt (nV) and one millivolt (mV).
1 1. An impedance measurement device, comprising:
an output terminal configured to output a first AC signal to a phase-locked current generator;
an input terminal configured to receive a second AC signal generated by the phase-locked current generator and having a phase that is locked to a phase of the first AC signal and an amplitude that is representative of a presented impedance having a known impedance value; and
a controller configured to:
perform an impedance measurement based on the second AC signal to produce a measured impedance value associated with the presented impedance; and
be calibrated based on the measured impedance value and the known impedance value of the presented impedance.
2. The impedance measurement device of claim 1, wherein:
the phase-locked current generator, in operation, changes the amplitude of the second AC signal,
the presented impedance changes in response to changing the amplitude of the second AC signal, and
a first granularity of the change in the presented impedance corresponds to a second granularity, provided by the phase-locked current generator, of the change in the amplitude of the second AC signal.
The impedance measurement device of claim 1, wherein the input terminal is configured to receive a third AC signal generated by the phase-locked current generator and having an amplitude that is different from the amplitude of the second AC signal by a finest step-wise setting provided by the phase-locked current generator.
The impedance measurement device of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to, based on an adjustment factor, adjust measured impedance values to produce respective read-out impedance measurements, the adjustment factor being determined based on the measured impedance value and the known impedance value of the presented impedance.
5. The impedance measurement device of claim 4, wherein:
the adjustment factor varies linearly as a function of the presented impedance,
the controller is configured to be calibrated with a plurality of adjustment factors that are determined based on a respective plurality of pairs of measured impedance values and corresponding presented impedances, and
the controller is configured to be calibrated with an extrapolated adjustment factor that is determined by extrapolating between first and second adjustment factors of the plurality of adjustment factors.
6. The impedance measurement device of claim 1, comprising:
a sampling resistance coupled to the output terminal and configured to receive a current signal, wherein the sampling resistance is configured to generate the first AC signal in response to passage therethrough of the current signal; and
a reference resistance coupled to the input terminal and configured to receive the second AC signal, wherein the reference resistance is configured to generate a voltage signal in response to passage therethrough of the second AC signal,
wherein the impedance measurement device is configured to determine the measured impedance value based on a ratio of the voltage signal to the current signal, and the measured impedance value is phase-shifted to compensate for phase-shifting performed during processing by the impedance measurement device.
7. The impedance measurement device of claim 6, wherein the second AC signal is operative to cause the voltage signal across the reference resistance to be between 10 nanovolt (nV) and one millivolt (mV).
8. The impedance measurement device of claim 1, wherein an adjustment factor is determined as a ratio between the measured impedance value and the known impedance value of the presented impedance.
9. A method for calibrating an impedance measurement device, comprising:
outputting a first AC signal to
a phase-locked current generator;
receiving a second AC signal generated by the phase-locked current generator and having a phase that is locked to a phase of the first AC signal and an amplitude that is representative of a presented impedance having a known impedance value;
performing, by the impedance measurement device, an impedance measurement based on the second AC signal to produce a measured impedance value associated with the presented impedance; and
calibrating the impedance measurement device based on the measured impedance value and the known impedance value of the presented impedance.
10. The method of claim 9, further comprising:
changing the amplitude of the second AC signal; and
causing the presented impedance to change in response to changing the amplitude of the second AC signal, wherein:
a first granularity of the change in the presented impedance corresponds to a second granularity, provided by the phase-locked current generator, of the change in the amplitude of the second AC signal.
11. The method of claim 9, further comprising:
receiving a third AC signal generated by the phase-locked current generator and having an amplitude that is different from the amplitude of the second AC signal by a finest step-wise setting provided by the phase-locked current generator.
12. The method of claim 9, further comprising:
determining an adjustment factor based on the measured impedance value and the known impedance value of the presented impedance; and
based on the adjustment factor, adjusting measured impedance values to produce respective read-out impedance measurements.
13. The method of claim 12, wherein the adjustment factor varies linearly as a function of the presented impedance, and the method further comprises:
determining a plurality of adjustment factors based on a respective plurality of pairs of measured impedance values and corresponding presented impedances;
determining an extrapolated adjustment factor by extrapolating between first and second adjustment factors of the plurality of adjustment factors; and
calibrating the impedance measurement device with the plurality of adjustment factors and the extrapolated adjustment factor.
14. The method of claim 9, further comprising:
passing the second AC signal through a reference resistance included in the impedance measurement device;
detecting a voltage signal across the reference resistance;
passing a current signal through a sampling resistance;
detecting the first AC signal across the sampling resistance;
determining the measured impedance value as a ratio of the voltage signal and the current signal; and
phase-shifting the measured impedance value to compensate for phase-shifting performed during processing by the impedance measurement device.
15. The method of claim 14, further comprising:
detecting the voltage signal across the reference resistance to be between 10 nanovolt (nV) and one millivolt (mV).
16. The method of claim 9, further comprising:
determining an adjustment factor as a ratio between the measured impedance value and the known impedance value of the presented impedance.
17. A system, comprising:
an impedance measurement device including:
an output terminal configured to output a first AC signal;
an input terminal configured to receive a second AC signal having an amplitude that is representative of a presented impedance having a known impedance value; and
a controller configured to:
perform an impedance measurement based on the second AC signal to produce a measured impedance value associated with the presented impedance; and
be calibrated based on the measured impedance value and the known impedance value of the presented impedance; and
a phase-locked current generator including:
an input terminal coupled to the output terminal of the impedance measurement device and configured to receive the first AC signal;
a controller configured to cause the second AC signal to be generated having a phase that is locked to a phase of the first AC signal; and
an output terminal coupled to the input terminal of the impedance measurement device and configured to output the second AC signal.
18. The system of claim 17, wherein:
the controller of the phase-locked current generator is configured to change the amplitude of the second AC signal,
the presented impedance changes in response to changing the amplitude of the second AC signal, and
a first granularity of the change in the presented impedance corresponds to a second granularity, provided by the phase-locked current generator, of the change in the amplitude of the second AC signal.
19. The system of claim 17, wherein the controller of the phase-locked current generator is configured to:
generate a third AC signal having an amplitude that is different from the amplitude of the second AC signal by a finest step-wise setting provided by the phase-locked current generator.
20. The system of claim 17, wherein the controller of the impedance measurement device is configured to, based on an adjustment factor, adjust measured impedance values to produce respective read-out impedance measurements, the adjustment factor being determined based on the measured impedance value and the known impedance value of the presented impedance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 21 recites the limitation (lines 7-8) " determining, by the impedance measurement device, an adjustment factor based on the first impedance and an impedance measured by the impedance measurement device "
It is unclear the relationship between the first impedance and impedance and whether a difference or the same.
Claim 21-30 are rejected to as being dependent upon claim 21.
Claim 31 recites the limitation (lines 7-8) " determining, by the impedance measurement device, an adjustment factor based on the first impedance and an impedance measured by the impedance measurement device "
It is unclear the relationship between the first impedance and impedance and whether a difference or the same.
Claim 32-40 are rejected to as being dependent upon claim 31.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4 Claim 21-27, 31-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HAMMERSCHMIDT (US 2022/0163613 A1) in view of FRANCIS et al. (US 20130099800 A1).
5 Regarding to claim 21, HAMMERSCHMIDT discloses a system, comprising:
an impedance measurement device (Fig. 1-3 discloses the impedance device in Paragraph [[0029])) configured to output a first AC signal (Fig. 1-3 Item A1 and M1 discloses FIG. 3 shows the arrangement of A1 (source) and M1 (sense) and AC current signal I(t) and measuring Paragraph [[0003 & 0030]))
a current generator configured to generate a second AC signal based on the first AC signal (Fig. 1-3 Item A1 and M1 discloses FIG. 3 shows the arrangement of A1 (source) and M1 (sense) in Page 5 Paragraph [[0030])) and a first impedance; and
a calibrating device (Fig. 1-3 discloses the impedance device includes calibration and optionally the repetition for further calibration points can be performed in Paragraph [[0041])) configured to command the current generator to generate the second AC signal (Fig. 1-3 Item A2 and M2 discloses FIG. 3 shows the arrangement of A2 (source) and M2 (sense) in Page 5 Paragraph [[0030])) based on the first impedance, wherein:
the impedance measurement device (Fig. 1-3 discloses the impedance device in Paragraph [[0029])) is configured to determine an adjustment factor based on the first impedance and an impedance measured by the impedance measurement device (Fig. 1-3 discloses the calibration method includes (a) connecting a impedance measuring device in Paragraph [[0029])).
However HAMMERSCHMIDT does not explicitly teach a phase-locked current generator
However, FRANCIS teaches a phase-locked current generator (Fig. 5 item 51 discloses FIG. 5 uses system for measuring impedance with phase locked loop 51 to generate an AC signal in Paragraph [[0069]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the common feature of a calibration method includes connecting an impedance measuring device as taught by HAMMERSCHMIDT to further a phase-locked current generator (as taught by FRANCIS in order to improve accuracy of the impedance measurement by using a PLL and impedance analyzer in Paragraph [[0069]).
6 Regarding to claim 22, HAMMERSCHMIDT discloses the system of claim 21, wherein the calibrating device is configured to:
control the impedance measurement device to calibrate the impedance measurement device (Fig. 1-3 discloses the impedance device in Paragraph [[0029])).
7 Regarding to claim 23, HAMMERSCHMIDT discloses the system of claim 21, wherein the second AC signal (Fig. 1-3 Item A2 discloses FIG. 3 shows the arrangement of A2 AC signal (source) Paragraph [[0030])) has an AC signal amplitude that is set to represent the first impedance (Fig. 1-3 Item A1 and M1 discloses FIG. 3 shows the arrangement of A1 AC signal (source) and M1 (sense) Paragraph [[0030])).
8 Regarding to claim 24, HAMMERSCHMIDT discloses the system of claim 23, wherein the calibrating device is configured to:
However HAMMERSCHMIDT does not explicitly teach command the phase-locked current generator to set the AC signal amplitude.
However, FRANCIS teaches a phase-locked current generator (Fig. 5 item 51 discloses FIG. 5 uses system for measuring impedance with phase locked loop 51 to generate an AC signal in Paragraph [[0069]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the common feature of a calibration method includes connecting an impedance measuring device as taught by HAMMERSCHMIDT to further a phase-locked current generator (as taught by FRANCIS in order to improve accuracy of the impedance measurement by using a PLL and impedance analyzer in Paragraph [[0069]).
9 Regarding to claim 25, HAMMERSCHMIDT discloses the system of claim 23, wherein the calibrating device is configured to:
However HAMMERSCHMIDT does not explicitly teach command the phase-locked current generator to change the AC signal amplitude by a finest step-wise setting provided by the phase-locked current generator.
However, FRANCIS teaches command the phase-locked current generator to change the AC signal amplitude by a finest step-wise setting provided by the phase-locked current generator (Fig. 5 item 51 discloses FIG. 5 uses system for measuring impedance with phase locked loop 51 to generate an AC signal in Paragraph [[0069]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the common feature of a calibration method includes connecting an impedance measuring device as taught by HAMMERSCHMIDT to further a phase-locked current generator (as taught by FRANCIS in order to improve accuracy of the impedance measurement by using a PLL and impedance analyzer in Paragraph [[0069]).
10 Regarding to claim 26, HAMMERSCHMIDT discloses the system of claim 21, wherein the adjustment factor varies linearly as a function of the first impedance (Fig. 1-3 Item A1 discloses the impedance normal at least two excitation connections (A1, A2) for feeding in the source in Paragraph [[0025])).
11 Regarding to claim 27, HAMMERSCHMIDT discloses the system of claim 21, wherein the impedance measurement device is configured to:
determine a plurality of adjustment factors based on a respective plurality of pairs of impedances measured by the impedance measurement device and corresponding first impedances. (Fig. 1-3 Item A1 & A2 discloses the impedance normal at least two excitation connections (A1, A2) for feeding in the source in Paragraph [[0025])).
12 Regarding to claim 29, HAMMERSCHMIDT discloses the system of claim 21, wherein the impedance measurement device includes:
generate the first AC signal in response to passage therethrough of the current signal (Fig. 1-3 Item A1 discloses the impedance normal at least two excitation connections (A1, A2) for feeding in the source in Paragraph [[0025])).; and
generate a voltage signal in response to passage therethrough of the second AC signal (Fig. 1-3 Item A2 discloses the impedance normal at least two excitation connections (A1, A2) for feeding in the source in Paragraph [[0025])).
However HAMMERSCHMIDT does not explicitly teach a sampling resistance configured to receive a current signal and generate the first AC signal;
a reference resistance configured to receive the second AC signal;
However, FRANCIS teaches a sampling resistance configured to receive a current signal and generate the first AC signal (Fig. 5 item 51 discloses FIG. 5 uses system for measuring impedance with phase locked loop 51 to generate an AC signal in Paragraph [[0069]).
a reference resistance configured to receive the second AC signal;
(Fig. 5 item 51 discloses FIG. 5 uses system for measuring impedance with phase locked loop 51 to generate an AC signal in Paragraph [[0069])
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the common feature of a calibration method includes connecting an impedance measuring device as taught by HAMMERSCHMIDT to further a phase-locked current generator (as taught by FRANCIS in order to improve accuracy of the impedance measurement by using a PLL and impedance analyzer in Paragraph [[0069]).
13 Regarding to claim 30, HAMMERSCHMIDT discloses the system of claim 29, wherein the second AC signal is operative to cause the voltage signal across the reference resistance to be between 10 nanovolt (nV) and one millivolt (mV).
14 Regarding to claim 31, HAMMERSCHMIDT discloses a method, comprising:
outputting, by an impedance measurement device (Fig. 1-3 discloses the impedance device in Paragraph [[0029])), a first AC signal (Fig. 1-3 Item A1 and M1 discloses FIG. 3 shows the arrangement of A1 AC signal (source) and M1 (sense) and AC current signal I(t) and measuring Paragraph [[0003 & 0030]));
commanding, by a calibrating device Fig. 1-3 discloses the impedance device includes calibration and optionally the repetition for further calibration points can be performed in Paragraph [[0041])),
a current generator to generate a second AC signal (Fig. 1-3 Item A2 and M2 discloses FIG. 3 shows the arrangement of A2 AC signal (source) and M2 (sense) in Page 5 Paragraph [[0030])) based on a first impedance (Fig. 1-3 Item A1 and M1 discloses FIG. 3 shows the arrangement of A1 (source) and M1 (sense) in Page 5 Paragraph [[0030]));
generating, by the current generator, the second AC signal (Fig. 1-3 Item A2 and M2 discloses FIG. 3 shows the arrangement of A2 (source) and M2 (sense) in Page 5 Paragraph [[0030])) based on the first AC signal and the first impedance (Fig. 1-3 Item A1 and M1 discloses FIG. 3 shows the arrangement of A1 (source) and M1 (sense) in Page 5 Paragraph [[0030])); and
determining, by the impedance measurement device (Fig. 1-3 discloses the impedance device in Paragraph [[0029])), an adjustment factor based on the first impedance and an impedance measured by the impedance measurement device (Fig. 1-3 Item A1 and M1 discloses FIG. 3 shows the arrangement of A1 (source) and M1 (sense) and AC current signal I(t) and measuring Paragraph [[0003 & 0030])).
However HAMMERSCHMIDT does not explicitly teach a phase-locked current generator
However, FRANCIS teaches a phase-locked current generator (Fig. 5 item 51 discloses FIG. 5 uses system for measuring impedance with phase locked loop 51 to generate an AC signal in Paragraph [[0069]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the common feature of a calibration method includes connecting an impedance measuring device as taught by HAMMERSCHMIDT to further a phase-locked current generator (as taught by FRANCIS in order to improve accuracy of the impedance measurement by using a PLL and impedance analyzer in Paragraph [[0069]).
15 Regarding to claim 32, HAMMERSCHMIDT discloses the method of claim 31, comprising:
controlling, by the calibrating device, the impedance measurement device to calibrate the impedance measurement device (Fig. 1-3 discloses the impedance device in Paragraph [[0029])).
16 Regarding to claim 33, HAMMERSCHMIDT discloses the e method of claim 31, wherein the second AC signal (Fig. 1-3 Item A2 discloses FIG. 3 shows the arrangement of A2 AC signal (source) Paragraph [[0030])) has an AC signal amplitude that is set to represent the first impedance (Fig. 1-3 Item A1 and M1 discloses FIG. 3 shows the arrangement of A1 AC signal (source) and M1 (sense) Paragraph [[0030])).
17 Regarding to claim 34, HAMMERSCHMIDT discloses the method of claim 33, comprising:
commanding, by the calibrating device (Fig. 1-3 discloses the calibrating device in Paragraph [[0029])),
However HAMMERSCHMIDT does not explicitly teach command the phase-locked current generator to set the AC signal amplitude.
However, FRANCIS teaches command the phase-locked current generator to set the AC signal amplitude (Fig. 5 item 51 discloses FIG. 5 uses system for measuring impedance with phase locked loop 51 to generate an AC signal in Paragraph [[0069]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the common feature of a calibration method includes connecting an impedance measuring device as taught by HAMMERSCHMIDT to further a phase-locked current generator (as taught by FRANCIS in order to improve accuracy of the impedance measurement by using a PLL and impedance analyzer in Paragraph [[0069]).
18 Regarding to claim 35, HAMMERSCHMIDT discloses method of claim 33, comprising: wherein the calibrating device (Fig. 1-3 discloses the calibrating device in Paragraph [[0029])) is configured to:
However HAMMERSCHMIDT does not explicitly teach command the phase-locked current generator to change the AC signal amplitude by a finest step-wise setting provided by the phase-locked current generator.
However, FRANCIS teaches command the phase-locked current generator to change the AC signal amplitude by a finest step-wise setting provided by the phase-locked current generator (Fig. 5 item 51 discloses FIG. 5 uses system for measuring impedance with phase locked loop 51 to generate an AC signal in Paragraph [[0069]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the common feature of a calibration method includes connecting an impedance measuring device as taught by HAMMERSCHMIDT to further a phase-locked current generator (as taught by FRANCIS in order to improve accuracy of the impedance measurement by using a PLL and impedance analyzer in Paragraph [[0069]).
19 Regarding to claim 36, HAMMERSCHMIDT discloses the method of claim 31, wherein the adjustment factor varies linearly as a function of the first impedance (Fig. 1-3 Item A1 discloses the impedance normal at least two excitation connections (A1, A2) for feeding in the source in Paragraph [[0025])).
20 Regarding to claim 37, HAMMERSCHMIDT discloses the method of claim 31, comprising:
determining, by the impedance measurement device, a plurality of adjustment factors based on a respective plurality of pairs of impedances measured by the impedance measurement device and corresponding first impedances. (Fig. 1-3 Item A1 & A2 discloses the impedance normal at least two excitation connections (A1, A2) for feeding in the source in Paragraph [[0025])).
21 Claim 28 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HAMMERSCHMIDT (US 2022/0163613 A1) in view of FRANCIS et al. (US 20130099800 A1) in further view of Adamian et al. (US 20050030047 A1)
22 Regarding to claim 28, HAMMERSCHMIDT discloses the system of claim 27, wherein the impedance measurement device is configured to:
However HAMMERSCHMIDT does not explicitly teach determine an extrapolated adjustment factor by extrapolating between first and second adjustment factors of the plurality of adjustment factors.
However, Adamian teaches determine an extrapolated adjustment factor by extrapolating between first and second adjustment factors of the plurality of adjustment factors (Fig. 1-3 discloses characteristic impedance measurement device which uses calibration process by extrapolating the results in Paragraph [[017 & 0046]))
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the common feature of a calibration method includes connecting an impedance measuring device as taught by HAMMERSCHMIDT to further utilize a calibration process by extrapolating the results as taught by Adamian extrapolating is a standard used in the calibration process in Paragraph [[0046])).
23 Regarding to claim 38, HAMMERSCHMIDT discloses the method of claim 37, comprising:
However HAMMERSCHMIDT does not explicitly teach determine an extrapolated adjustment factor by extrapolating between first and second adjustment factors of the plurality of adjustment factors.
However, Adamian teaches determine an extrapolated adjustment factor by extrapolating between first and second adjustment factors of the plurality of adjustment factors (Fig. 1-3 discloses characteristic impedance measurement device which uses calibration process by extrapolating the results in Paragraph [[017 & 0046]))
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the common feature of a calibration method includes connecting an impedance measuring device as taught by HAMMERSCHMIDT to further utilize a calibration process by extrapolating the results as taught by Adamian extrapolating is a standard used in the calibration process in Paragraph [[0046])).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 29-30 and 39-40 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 29 the prior art or record taken alone or in combination fail to teach or suggest the system of claim 21, wherein the impedance measurement device includes: “sampling resistance configured to receive a current signal and generate the first AC signal in response to passage therethrough of the current signal; and
a reference resistance configured to receive the second AC signal and generate a voltage signal in response to passage therethrough of the second AC signal.” in combination with all the other elements of claim 29.
Claim 30 is also allowed as they further limit claim 29.
Regarding claim 39 the prior art or record taken alone or in combination fail to teach or suggest the method of claim 31, comprising: “receiving, by a sampling resistance of the impedance measurement device, a current signal;
generating, by the sampling resistance, the first AC signal in response to passage therethrough of the current signal;
receiving, by a reference resistance of the impedance measurement device, the second AC signal; and
generating, by the reference resistance, a voltage signal in response to passage therethrough of the second AC signal.in combination with all the other elements of claim 39.
Claim 40 is also allowed as they further limit claim 39.
24 Any comments considered necessary by applicant must be submitted no later than the payment of the issue fee and, to avoid processing delays, should preferably accompany the issue fee. Such submissions should be clearly labeled “Comments on Statement of Reasons for Allowance.
Conclusion
/BRENT J ANDREWS/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/JUDY NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858