This office action is in response to application filed on 02/16/2024.
Claims 1-30 are pending and rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/16/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Republic of India on 10/22/2021 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 17-18, 21, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chincholi et al (WO2017136666A1) (hereinafter "Chincholi") in view of Ying et al (US20220225368A1) (hereinafter "Ying").
Regarding claim 1, Chincholi discloses a method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving a control message ([0103] downlink control information (DCI) messages) from a network device, the control message indicating a number of repetitions ([0103] different aggregation/repetition levels) to be transmitted to the UE via a downlink control channel ([0103] In eMTC, an MTC physical downlink control channel (M-PDCCH) can be used to transmit downlink control information (DCI) messages to the MTC UEs within a narrowband control channel. The BS (e.g., such as BS 110) may configure the MTC UE with various parameters for receiving the MPDCCH (e.g., MPDCCH configuration). For example, the BS can configure different aggregation/repetition levels, transmission mode, and a physical resource block (PRB) sets for MPDCCH.);
receiving, at the UE in a connected state ([0109] For example, aspects provide for signaling by the UE (e.g., in the connected mode) to the BS to pre-emptively change the control channel repetition level (and corresponding control channel configuration parameters) to provide the UE with a reliable link quality during coverage level transmission during UE mobility.), an indication ([0110 first configuration) to adjust the number of repetitions to be transmitted to the UE via the downlink control channel from a first number of repetitions to a second number of repetitions; and ([0110] The operations 1100 may begin, at 1102, by receiving a first configuration of parameters for receiving downlink control channel signaling (e.g., an MPDCCH or NPDCCH configuration), the first configuration of parameters associated with a first coverage level. [0104]: As geometry changes, the BS may configure different aggregation/repetition levels for MPDCCH for the MTC UE— since the BLER performance of the MPDCCH configuration changes with respect to geometry, as discussed above.).
Chincholi fails to disclose a method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising: monitoring, by the UE in the connected state, one or more transmission time intervals based at least in part on the second number of repetitions, wherein a number of the one or more transmission time intervals corresponds to the second number of repetitions.
However, Ying discloses a method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising: monitoring, by the UE in the connected state ([0046] That is, activated cells are those cells for which the UE monitors the physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) and in the case of a downlink transmission, those cells for which the UE decodes a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH).), one or more transmission time intervals for the downlink control channel ([0114] Also, the DCI may indicate some related parameters (e.g., priority, numerology/TTI duration, repetition number, hopping flag, hopping pattern, MCS, RV, flag for subframe/slot/mini-slot/OS differentiation, HARQ process number, etc.) for the granted transmission(s)/retransmission(s).) based at least in part on the second number of repetitions, wherein a number of the one or more transmission time intervals corresponds to the second number of repetitions ([0157] In another example, the UE 102 may monitor a PDCCH with UL grant DCI format in multiple control resource sets in a given subframe. If the UE 102 configured with PUSCH repetition detects PDCCH with UL grant DCI format in control resource set A (e.g., control resource set configured by a UE-dedicated RRC configuration message), the UE 102 may be allowed to perform the PUSCH repetition using the UL resource which is scheduled by the detected PDCCH.).
Chincholi and Ying are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for repetition-based monitoring of a control channel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Chincholi with Ying to create a method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising: monitoring, by the UE in the connected state, one or more transmission time intervals based at least in part on the second number of repetitions, wherein a number of the one or more transmission time intervals corresponds to the second number of repetitions.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to increase reliability and to accurately detect transmitted data.
Regarding claim 2, Chincholi discloses the method, further comprising: transmitting a limit indicator for the downlink control channel indicating that a control channel limit associated with the downlink control channel has been reached, wherein the indication to adjust the number of repetitions is in response to the limit indicator ([0110] At 1108, the UE performs RLM functions based on the one or more dynamic RLM threshold values. For example, the UE can send an indication of change in a coverage zone if one of the thresholds is satisfied in order to obtain a second configuration associated with a second coverage level.).
Regarding claim 3, Chincholi discloses the method, further comprising: receiving, from the network device, a channel quality threshold associated with the downlink control channel, wherein the limit indicator is transmitted based at least in part on a channel quality associated with the downlink control channel crossing the channel quality threshold ([0110] The operations 1100 may begin, at 1102, by receiving a first configuration of parameters for receiving downlink control channel signaling (e.g., an MPDCCH or NPDCCH configuration), the first configuration of parameters associated with a first coverage level. ... At 1106, the UE determines (e.g., based on a lookup table) one or more dynamic RLM threshold values (e.g., Qin, Qout, Early_Qin, and/or Early_Qout) for the at least one parameter based, at least in part, on the first configuration of parameters.).
Regarding claim 6, Chincholi discloses the method, wherein the limit indicator is a request to adjust the number of repetitions to be transmitted to the UE via the downlink control channel ([0121] Alternatively, the UE may report a difference between a number of repetitions of the control channel that the UE used for decoding the control channel and the number of configured repetitions of the control channel (e.g., based on the configuration associated with the coverage level).).
Regarding claim 17, Chincholi discloses the method, further comprising: receiving a limit indicator for the downlink control channel indicating that a control channel limit associated with the downlink control channel has been reached at the UE, wherein the indication to adjust the number of repetitions is in response to the limit indicator ([0110] At 1108, the UE performs RLM functions based on the one or more dynamic RLM threshold values. For example, the UE can send an indication of change in a coverage zone if one of the thresholds is satisfied in order to obtain a second configuration associated with a second coverage level.).
Regarding claim 18, Chincholi discloses the method, further comprising: transmitting, to the UE, a channel quality threshold associated with the downlink control channel, wherein the limit indicator is received based at least in part on a channel quality associated with the downlink control channel crossing the channel quality threshold ([0110] The operations 1100 may begin, at 1102, by receiving a first configuration of parameters for receiving downlink control channel signaling (e.g., an MPDCCH or NPDCCH configuration), the first configuration of parameters associated with a first coverage level. ... At 1106, the UE determines (e.g., based on a lookup table) one or more dynamic RLM threshold values (e.g., Qin, Qout, Early_Qin, and/or Early_Qout) for the at least one parameter based, at least in part, on the first configuration of parameters.).
Regarding claim 21, Chincholi discloses the method, wherein the limit indicator is a request to adjust the number of repetitions to be transmitted to the UE via the downlink control channel ([0121] Alternatively, the UE may report a difference between a number of repetitions of the control channel that the UE used for decoding the control channel and the number of configured repetitions of the control channel (e.g., based on the configuration associated with the coverage level).).
Regarding claim 29, Chincholi discloses an apparatus for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
a processor ([0055] For example, processor 240 and/or other processors and modules at base station 110, and processor 280 and/or other processors and modules at UE 120, may perform or direct operations of base station 110 and UE 120, respectively.);
memory coupled with the processor; and ([0055] Memories 242 and 282 may store data and program codes for base station 110 and UE 120, respectively.)
instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the UE to:
receive a control message from a network device, the control message indicating a number of repetitions to be transmitted to the UE via a downlink control channel ([0103] In eMTC, an MTC physical downlink control channel (M-PDCCH) can be used to transmit downlink control information (DCI) messages to the MTC UEs within a narrowband control channel. The BS (e.g., such as BS 110) may configure the MTC UE with various parameters for receiving the MPDCCH (e.g., MPDCCH configuration). For example, the BS can configure different aggregation/repetition levels, transmission mode, and a physical resource block (PRB) sets for MPDCCH.);
receive, at the UE in a connected state, an indication to adjust the number of repetitions to be transmitted to the UE via the downlink control channel from a first number of repetitions to a second number of repetitions; and ([0109] For example, aspects provide for signaling by the UE (e.g., in the connected mode) to the BS to pre-emptively change the control channel repetition level (and corresponding control channel configuration parameters) to provide the UE with a reliable link quality during coverage level transmission during UE mobility. [0110] The operations 1100 may begin, at 1102, by receiving a first configuration of parameters for receiving downlink control channel signaling (e.g., an MPDCCH or NPDCCH configuration), the first configuration of parameters associated with a first coverage level. [0104]: As geometry changes, the BS may configure different aggregation/repetition levels for MPDCCH for the MTC UE— since the BLER performance of the MPDCCH configuration changes with respect to geometry, as discussed above.).
Chincholi fails to disclose an apparatus for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising: monitor, by the UE in the connected state, one or more transmission time intervals for the downlink control channel based at least in part on the second number of repetitions, wherein a number of the one or more transmission time intervals corresponds to the second number of repetitions.
However, Ying discloses an apparatus for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising: monitor, by the UE in the connected state, one or more transmission time intervals for the downlink control channel based at least in part on the second number of repetitions, wherein a number of the one or more transmission time intervals corresponds to the second number of repetitions ([0114] Also, the DCI may indicate some related parameters (e.g., priority, numerology/TTI duration, repetition number, hopping flag, hopping pattern, MCS, RV, flag for subframe/slot/mini-slot/OS differentiation, HARQ process number, etc.) for the granted transmission(s)/retransmission(s). [0157] In another example, the UE 102 may monitor a PDCCH with UL grant DCI format in multiple control resource sets in a given subframe. If the UE 102 configured with PUSCH repetition detects PDCCH with UL grant DCI format in control resource set A (e.g., control resource set configured by a UE-dedicated RRC configuration message), the UE 102 may be allowed to perform the PUSCH repetition using the UL resource which is scheduled by the detected PDCCH.).
Chincholi and Ying are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for repetition-based monitoring of a control channel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Chincholi with Ying to create an apparatus for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising: monitor, by the UE in the connected state, one or more transmission time intervals for the downlink control channel based at least in part on the second number of repetitions, wherein a number of the one or more transmission time intervals corresponds to the second number of repetitions.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to increase reliability and to accurately detect transmitted data.
Claims 15-16 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chincholi in view of Ying, as applied to claims 1 or 29 above, and further in view of Yi et al (US20170374570A1) (hereinafter "Yi").
Regarding claim 15, Chincholi, as modified by Ying, as fails to disclose the method, wherein: the control message is received via radio resource control signaling; and the downlink control channel comprises a physical downlink control channel.
However, Yi discloses the method, wherein:
the control message is received via radio resource control signaling; and ([0052]: The maximum CE/repetition level supported by the network may be configured by higher layer. [0067] System level procedure to change/adapt CE/repetition level according to an embodiment of the present invention is described. It is assumed that the CE/repetition level per each channel or per UE is configured by the network via explicit or implicit configuration. The explicit configuration may include explicit RRC configuration.)
the downlink control channel comprises a physical downlink control channel ([0040] In the description below, one of the followings may be considered for the repetition level configured to a UE: Maximum repetition level for MTC-PDCCH (M-PDCCH) configured to a UE; or [0042] Maximum repetition level for M-PDCCH according to the CE mode where CE mode is configured to a UE.).
Chincholi, as modified by Ying, and Yi are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for adaptive RLM thresholds and early event triggers to obtain new configurations/coverage levels for coverage zone transitions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Chincholi, as modified by Ying, with Yi to create the method, wherein: the control message is received via radio resource control signaling; and the downlink control channel comprises a physical downlink control channel.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to preemptively change control channel repetition levels to provide a UE with reliable link quality during coverage level transmission during UE mobility without increasing UE power consumption.
Regarding claim 16, Chincholi, as modified by Ying, discloses a method for wireless communications at a network device, comprising:
transmitting a control message to a user equipment (UE), the control message indicating a number of repetitions for a downlink control channel for the UE ([0103] In eMTC, an MTC physical downlink control channel (M-PDCCH) can be used to transmit downlink control information (DCI) messages to the MTC UEs within a narrowband control channel. The BS (e.g., such as BS 110) may configure the MTC UE with various parameters for receiving the MPDCCH (e.g., MPDCCH configuration). For example, the BS can configure different aggregation/repetition levels, transmission mode, and a physical resource block (PRB) sets for MPDCCH.);
transmitting, to the UE in a connected state, an indication to adjust the number of repetitions to be transmitted to the UE via the downlink control channel from a first number of repetitions to a second number of repetitions; and ([0109] For example, aspects provide for signaling by the UE (e.g., in the connected mode) to the BS to pre-emptively change the control channel repetition level (and corresponding control channel configuration parameters) to provide the UE with a reliable link quality during coverage level transmission during UE mobility. [0110] The operations 1100 may begin, at 1102, by receiving a first configuration of parameters for receiving downlink control channel signaling (e.g., an MPDCCH or NPDCCH configuration), the first configuration of parameters associated with a first coverage level. [0104]: As geometry changes, the BS may configure different aggregation/repetition levels for MPDCCH for the MTC UE— since the BLER performance of the MPDCCH configuration changes with respect to geometry, as discussed above.).
Chincholi, as modified by Ying, fails to disclose a method for wireless communications at a network device, comprising: transmitting, to the UE in the connected state, the downlink control channel in one or more transmission time intervals according to the second number of repetitions.
However, Yi discloses a method for wireless communications at a network device, comprising:
transmitting, to the UE in the connected state, the downlink control channel in one or more transmission time intervals according to the second number of repetitions ([0060] Increase or decrease repetition level for (E)PDCCH transmission according to an embodiment of the present invention is described. To optimize and minimize the repetition overhead, it is expected that a UE can be higher layer configured with the number of repetitions for each channel or a single number for all the channels. However, due to inaccurate measurement or potential movement of the UE, it is also possible to change the CE/repetition level. When CE/repetition level is reconfigured, it is possible to have ambiguity between eNB and the UE. In case there is no cell-broadcast search space (CSS) is defined where all control channels are transmitted only via UE-specific search space (USS), it may be assumed that higher layer configurations can be scheduled using a DCI via USS.).
Chincholi, as modified by Ying, and Yi are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for adaptive RLM thresholds and early event triggers to obtain new configurations/coverage levels for coverage zone transitions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Chincholi, as modified by Ying, with Yi to create a method for wireless communications at a network device, comprising: transmitting, to the UE in the connected state, the downlink control channel in one or more transmission time intervals according to the second number of repetitions.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to preemptively change control channel repetition levels to provide a UE with reliable link quality during coverage level transmission during UE mobility without increasing UE power consumption.
Regarding claim 30, Chincholi, as modified by Ying, discloses an apparatus for wireless communications at a network device, comprising:
a processor ([0055] For example, processor 240 and/or other processors and modules at base station 110, and processor 280 and/or other processors and modules at UE 120, may perform or direct operations of base station 110 and UE 120, respectively.);
memory coupled with the processor; and ([0055] Memories 242 and 282 may store data and program codes for base station 110 and UE 120, respectively.)
instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the network device to:
transmit a control message to a user equipment (UE), the control message indicating a number of repetitions for a downlink control channel for the UE ([0103] In eMTC, an MTC physical downlink control channel (M-PDCCH) can be used to transmit downlink control information (DCI) messages to the MTC UEs within a narrowband control channel. The BS (e.g., such as BS 110) may configure the MTC UE with various parameters for receiving the MPDCCH (e.g., MPDCCH configuration). For example, the BS can configure different aggregation/repetition levels, transmission mode, and a physical resource block (PRB) sets for MPDCCH.);
transmit, to the UE in a connected state, an indication to adjust the number of repetitions to be transmitted to the UE via the downlink control channel from a first number of repetitions to a second number of repetitions; and ([0109] For example, aspects provide for signaling by the UE (e.g., in the connected mode) to the BS to pre-emptively change the control channel repetition level (and corresponding control channel configuration parameters) to provide the UE with a reliable link quality during coverage level transmission during UE mobility. [0110] The operations 1100 may begin, at 1102, by receiving a first configuration of parameters for receiving downlink control channel signaling (e.g., an MPDCCH or NPDCCH configuration), the first configuration of parameters associated with a first coverage level. [0104]: As geometry changes, the BS may configure different aggregation/repetition levels for MPDCCH for the MTC UE— since the BLER performance of the MPDCCH configuration changes with respect to geometry, as discussed above.).
Chincholi, as modified by Ying, fails to disclose an apparatus for wireless communications at a network device, comprising: transmit, to the UE in the connected state, the downlink control channel in one or more transmission time intervals according to the second number of repetitions.
However, Yi discloses an apparatus for wireless communications at a network device, comprising: transmit, to the UE in the connected state, the downlink control channel in one or more transmission time intervals according to the second number of repetitions ([0060] Increase or decrease repetition level for (E)PDCCH transmission according to an embodiment of the present invention is described. To optimize and minimize the repetition overhead, it is expected that a UE can be higher layer configured with the number of repetitions for each channel or a single number for all the channels. However, due to inaccurate measurement or potential movement of the UE, it is also possible to change the CE/repetition level. When CE/repetition level is reconfigured, it is possible to have ambiguity between eNB and the UE. In case there is no cell-broadcast search space (CSS) is defined where all control channels are transmitted only via UE-specific search space (USS), it may be assumed that higher layer configurations can be scheduled using a DCI via USS.).
Chincholi, as modified by Ying, and Yi are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for adaptive RLM thresholds and early event triggers to obtain new configurations/coverage levels for coverage zone transitions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Chincholi, as modified by Ying, with Yi to create an apparatus for wireless communications at a network device, comprising: transmit, to the UE in the connected state, the downlink control channel in one or more transmission time intervals according to the second number of repetitions.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to preemptively change control channel repetition levels to provide a UE with reliable link quality during coverage level transmission during UE mobility without increasing UE power consumption.
Claims 4-5, 11-12, 19-20, and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chincholi in view of Ying, as applied to claims 1 or 29, and further in view of Park et al (EP3796702A1) (hereinafter "Park").
Regarding claim 4, Chincholi, as modified by Ying, fails to disclose the method, wherein transmitting the limit indicator comprises: transmitting the limit indicator in a control element of an uplink message, wherein the control element is configured for limit indicator reporting.
However, Park discloses the method, wherein transmitting the limit indicator comprises: transmitting the limit indicator in a control element of an uplink message, wherein the control element is configured for limit indicator reporting ([0177] When a "maximum repetition number Rmax configured for the search space of a reference MPDCCH format (a maximum number of times an MPDCCH may be repeated in the search space) or a maximum value which may be reported in a CQI (e.g., an MPDCCH repetition number required for the UE to detect a hypothetical MPDCCH with performance equal to or higher than specific reference performance …).
Chincholi, as modified by Ying, and Park are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for changing coverage enhancement/repetition level used for radio link monitoring.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Chincholi, as modified by Ying, with Park to create the method, wherein transmitting the limit indicator comprises: transmitting the limit indicator in a control element of an uplink message, wherein the control element is configured for limit indicator reporting.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to decrease the baseband complexity of a UE by making the operating frequency bandwidth smaller, thereby reducing the cost and battery consumption of the UE according to a low data transmission rate.
Regarding claim 5, Chincholi, as modified by Ying, fails to disclose the method, wherein transmitting the limit indicator comprises: transmitting the limit indicator in a control element of an uplink message, wherein the uplink message comprises a downlink channel quality report.
However, Park discloses the method, wherein transmitting the limit indicator comprises: transmitting the limit indicator in a control element of an uplink message, wherein the uplink message comprises a downlink channel quality report ([0177] When a "maximum repetition number Rmax configured for the search space of a reference MPDCCH format (a maximum number of times an MPDCCH may be repeated in the search space) or a maximum value which may be reported in a CQI (e.g., an MPDCCH repetition number required for the UE to detect a hypothetical MPDCCH with performance equal to or higher than specific reference performance …).
Chincholi, as modified by Ying, and Park are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for changing coverage enhancement/repetition level used for radio link monitoring.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Chincholi, as modified by Ying, with Park to create the method, wherein transmitting the limit indicator comprises: transmitting the limit indicator in a control element of an uplink message, wherein the uplink message comprises a downlink channel quality report.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to decrease the baseband complexity of a UE by making the operating frequency bandwidth smaller, thereby reducing the cost and battery consumption of the UE according to a low data transmission rate.
Regarding claim 11, Chincholi, as modified by Ying, fails to disclose the method, wherein receiving the indication comprises: receiving the indication to increase or decrease the number of repetitions, wherein the increase or decrease of the number of repetitions maintains a periodicity associated with the downlink control channel that corresponds to the first number of repetitions.
However, Park discloses the method, wherein receiving the indication comprises: receiving the indication to increase or decrease the number of repetitions, wherein the increase or decrease of the number of repetitions maintains a periodicity associated with the downlink control channel that corresponds to the first number of repetitions ([0100] The following information may be independently configured on a CE level basis by system information. PRACH resource information: the periodicity/offset of PRACH occasions, and PRACH frequency resources Preamble Group: Preamble set allocated for each CE level Repetition number per preamble attempt and maximum number of preamble attempts RAR window time: the length of a time period during which RAR reception is expected (e.g., in subframes)).
Chincholi, as modified by Ying, and Park are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for changing coverage enhancement/repetition level used for radio link monitoring.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Chincholi, as modified by Ying, with Park to create the method, wherein receiving the indication comprises: receiving the indication to increase or decrease the number of repetitions, wherein the increase or decrease of the number of repetitions maintains a periodicity associated with the downlink control channel that corresponds to the first number of repetitions.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to decrease the baseband complexity of a UE by making the operating frequency bandwidth smaller, thereby reducing the cost and battery consumption of the UE according to a low data transmission rate.
Regarding claim 12, Chincholi, as modified by Ying, fails to disclose the method, wherein receiving the indication comprises: receiving the indication to adjust the number of repetitions to be transmitted by the UE via an uplink control channel.
However, Park discloses the method, wherein receiving the indication comprises: receiving the indication to adjust the number of repetitions to be transmitted by the UE via an uplink control channel ([0034] After the above procedure, the UE may receive a PDCCH and/or a PDSCH from the BS (S17) and transmit a PUSCH and/or a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) to the BS (S18) in a general UL/DL signal transmission procedure. Control information that the UE transmits to the BS is generically called uplink control information (UCI). The UCI includes a hybrid automatic repeat and request acknowledgement/negative acknowledgement (HARQ ACK/NACK), a scheduling request (SR), and channel state information (CSI). The CSI includes a channel quality indicator (CQI), a precoding matrix indicator (PMI), a rank indication (RI), and so on.).
Chincholi, as modified by Ying, and Park are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for changing coverage enhancement/repetition level used for radio link monitoring.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Chincholi, as modified by Ying, with Park to create the method, wherein receiving the indication comprises: receiving the indication to adjust the number of repetitions to be transmitted by the UE via an uplink control channel.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to decrease the baseband complexity of a UE by making the operating frequency bandwidth smaller, thereby reducing the cost and battery consumption of the UE according to a low data transmission rate.
Regarding claim 19, Chincholi, as modified by Ying, fails to disclose the method, wherein receiving the limit indicator comprises: receiving the limit indicator in a control element of an uplink message, wherein the control element is configured for limit indicator reporting.
However, Park discloses the method, wherein receiving the limit indicator comprises: receiving the limit indicator in a control element of an uplink message, wherein the control element is configured for limit indicator reporting ([0177] When a "maximum repetition number Rmax configured for the search space of a reference MPDCCH format (a maximum number of times an MPDCCH may be repeated in the search space) or a maximum value which may be reported in a CQI (e.g., an MPDCCH repetition number required for the UE to detect a hypothetical MPDCCH with performance equal to or higher than specific reference performance …).
Chincholi, as modified by Ying, and Park are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for changing coverage enhancement/repetition level used for radio link monitoring.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Chincholi, as modified by Ying, with Park to create the method, wherein receiving the limit indicator comprises: receiving the limit indicator in a control element of an uplink message, wherein the control element is configured for limit indicator reporting.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to decrease the baseband complexity of a UE by making the operating frequency bandwidth smaller, thereby reducing the cost and battery consumption of the UE according to a low data transmission rate.
Regarding claim 20, Chincholi, as modified by Ying, fails to disclose the method, further comprising: transmitting the limit indicator in a control element of an uplink message, wherein the uplink message comprises a downlink channel quality report.
However, Park discloses the method, further comprising: transmitting the limit indicator in a control element of an uplink message, wherein the uplink message comprises a downlink channel quality report ([0177] When a "maximum repetition number Rmax configured for the search space of a reference MPDCCH format (a maximum number of times an MPDCCH may be repeated in the search space) or a maximum value which may be reported in a CQI (e.g., an MPDCCH repetition number required for the UE to detect a hypothetical MPDCCH with performance equal to or higher than specific reference performance …).
Chincholi, as modified by Ying, and Park are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for changing coverage enhancement/repetition level used for radio link monitoring.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Chincholi, as modified by Ying, with Park to create the method, further comprising: transmitting the limit indicator in a control element of an uplink message, wherein the uplink message comprises a downlink channel quality report.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to decrease the baseband complexity of a UE by making the operating frequency bandwidth smaller, thereby reducing the cost and battery consumption of the UE according to a low data transmission rate.
Regarding claim 25, Chincholi, as modified by Ying, fails to disclose the method, wherein transmitting the indication comprises: transmitting the indication to increase or decrease the number of repetitions, wherein the increase or decrease of the number of repetitions maintains a periodicity associated with the downlink control channel that corresponds to the first number of repetitions.
However, Park discloses the method, wherein transmitting the indication comprises: transmitting the indication to increase or decrease the number of repetitions, wherein the increase or decrease of the number of repetitions maintains a periodicity associated with the downlink control channel that corresponds to the first number of repetitions ([0100] The following information may be independently configured on a CE level basis by system information. PRACH resource information: the periodicity/offset of PRACH occasions, and PRACH frequency resources Preamble Group: Preamble set allocated for each CE level Repetition number per preamble attempt and maximum number of preamble attempts RAR window time: the length of a time period during which RAR reception is expected (e.g., in subframes)).
Chincholi, as modified by Ying, and Park are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for changing coverage enhancement/repetition level used for radio link monitoring.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Chincholi, as modified by Ying, with Park to create the method, wherein transmitting the indication comprises: transmitting the indication to increase or decrease the number of repetitions, wherein the increase or decrease of the number of repetitions maintains a periodicity associated with the downlink control channel that corresponds to the first number of repetitions.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to decrease the baseband complexity of a UE by making the operating frequency bandwidth smaller, thereby reducing the cost and battery consumption of the UE according to a low data transmission rate.
Regarding claim 26, Chincholi, as modified by Ying, fails to disclose the method, wherein transmitting the indication comprises: transmitting the indication to adjust the number of repetitions to be transmitted by the UE via an uplink control channel.
However, Park discloses the method, wherein transmitting the indication comprises: transmitting the indication to adjust the number of repetitions to be transmitted by the UE via an uplink control channel ([0034] After the above procedure, the UE may receive a PDCCH and/or a PDSCH from the BS (S17) and transmit a PUSCH and/or a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) to the BS (S18) in a general UL/DL signal transmission procedure. Control information that the UE transmits to the BS is generically called uplink control information (UCI). The UCI includes a hybrid automatic repeat and request acknowledgement/negative acknowledgement (HARQ ACK/NACK), a scheduling request (SR), and channel state information (CSI). The CSI includes a channel quality indicator (CQI), a precoding matrix indicator (PMI), a rank indication (RI), and so on.).
Chincholi, as modified by Ying, and Park are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for changing coverage enhancement/repetition level used for radio link monitoring.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Chincholi, as modified by Ying, with Park to create the method, wherein transmitting the indication comprises: transmitting the indication to adjust the number of repetitions to be transmitted by the UE via an uplink control channel.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to decrease the baseband complexity of a UE by making the operating frequency bandwidth smaller, thereby reducing the cost and battery consumption of the UE according to a low data transmission rate.
Claims 7-10, 13-14, 22-24, and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chincholi in view of Ying, as applied to claims 1 or 29, and further in view of Panasonic et al (R1 -161921) (hereinafter "Panasonic").
Regarding claim 7, Chincholi, as modified by Ying, fails to disclose the method, wherein receiving the indication comprises: receiving the indication to adjust the number of repetitions by a step factor.
However, Panasonic discloses the method, wherein receiving the indication comprises: receiving the indication to adjust the number of repetitions by a step factor (Pg 1: Therefore, the number of the repetition of MPDCCH is indicated in DCI. … As the flexible indication method of NB-PDSCH/NB-PUSCH, following methods are identified. Method 1: NB-PDCCH repetition number is indicated. NB-PDSCH/PUSCH starting subframe is defined relative to the end of NB-PDCCH candidate. Pg. 2: For NB-PDCCH UE-specific search space: UE monitors one of the following sets of {AL, #repetition, #blind decodes}: {1, 1, 2}, {2, 1, 1} for Rmax = 1, {1, 1, 2}, {2, 1, 1}, {2, 2, 1} for Rmax = 2, {2, 1, 1}, {2, 2, 1}, {2, 4, 1} for Rmax = 4, {2, Rmax/8, 1}, {2, Rmax/4, 1}, {2, Rmax/2, 1}, {2, Rmax, 1} for Rmax >= 8).
Chincholi, as modified by Ying, and Panasonic are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of configuring the number of control channel repetitions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Chincholi, as modified by Ying, with Panasonic to create the method, wherein receiving the indication comprises: receiving the indication to adjust the number of repetitions by a step factor.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to minimize processing time and allow for flexibility of the repetition number.
Regarding claim 8, Chincholi, as modified by Ying, fails to disclose the method, wherein receiving the indication comprises: receiving the indication to adjust the number of repetitions by a multiplication factor of the first number of repetitions.
However, Panasonic discloses the method, wherein receiving the indication comprises: receiving the indication to adjust the number of repetitions by a multiplication factor of the first number of repetitions (Pg 1: Therefore, the number of the repetition of MPDCCH is indicated in DCI. … As the flexible indication method of NB-PDSCH/NB-PUSCH, following methods are identified. Method 1: NB-PDCCH repetition number is indicated. NB-PDSCH/PUSCH starting subframe is defined relative to the end of NB-PDCCH candidate. Pg. 2: For NB-PDCCH UE-specific search space: UE monitors one of the following sets of {AL, #repetition, #blind decodes}: {1, 1, 2}, {2, 1, 1} for Rmax = 1, {1, 1, 2}, {2, 1, 1}, {2, 2, 1} for Rmax = 2, {2, 1, 1}, {2, 2, 1}, {2, 4, 1} for Rmax = 4, {2, Rmax/8, 1}, {2, Rmax/4, 1}, {2, Rmax/2, 1}, {2, Rmax, 1} for Rmax >= 8).
Chincholi, as modified by Ying, and Panasonic are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor configuring the number of control channel repetitions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Chincholi, as modified by Ying, with Panasonic to create the method, wherein receiving the indication comprises: receiving the indication to adjust the number of repetitions by a multiplication factor of the first number of repetitions.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to minimize processing time and allow for flexibility of the repetition number.
Regarding claim 9, Chincholi, as modified by Ying, fails to disclose the method, wherein the multiplication factor is from a set of defined multiplication factors.
However, Panasonic discloses the method, wherein the multiplication factor is from a set of defined multiplication factors (Pg 1: Therefore, the number of the repetition of MPDCCH is indicated in DCI. … As the flexible indication method of NB-PDSCH/NB-PUSCH, following methods are identified. Method 1: NB-PDCCH repetition number is indicated. NB-PDSCH/PUSCH starting subframe is defined relative to the end of NB-PDCCH candidate. Pg. 2: For NB-PDCCH UE-specific search space: UE monitors one of the following sets of {AL, #repetition, #blind decodes}: {1, 1, 2}, {2, 1, 1} for Rmax = 1, {1, 1, 2}, {2, 1, 1}, {2, 2, 1} for Rmax = 2, {2, 1, 1}, {2, 2, 1}, {2, 4, 1} for Rmax = 4, {2, Rmax/8, 1}, {2, Rmax/4, 1}, {2, Rmax/2, 1}, {2, Rmax, 1} for Rmax >= 8).
Chincholi, as modified by Ying, and Panasonic are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor configuring the number of control channel repetitions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Chincholi, as modified by Ying, with Panasonic to create the method, wherein the multiplication factor is from a set of defined multiplication factors.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to minimize processing time and allow for flexibility of the repetition number.
Regarding claim 10, Chincholi, as modified by Ying, fails to disclose the method, wherein the multiplication factor is from a set of multiplication factors received via broadcast signaling.
However, Panasonic discloses the method, wherein the multiplication factor is from a set of multiplication factors received via broadcast signaling (Pg 1: Therefore, the number of the repetition of MPDCCH is indicated in DCI. … As the flexible indication method of NB-PDSCH/NB-PUSCH, following methods are identified. Method 1: NB-PDCCH repetition number is indicated. NB-PDSCH/PUSCH starting subframe is defined relative to the end of NB-PDCCH candidate. Pg. 2: For NB-PDCCH UE-specific search space: UE monitors one of the following sets of {AL, #repetition, #blind decodes}: {1, 1, 2}, {2, 1, 1} for Rmax = 1, {1, 1, 2}, {2, 1, 1}, {2, 2, 1} for Rmax = 2, {2, 1, 1}, {2, 2, 1}, {2, 4, 1} for Rmax = 4, {2, Rmax/8, 1}, {2, Rmax/4, 1}, {2, Rmax/2, 1}, {2, Rmax, 1} for Rmax >= 8).
Chincholi, as modified by Ying, and Panasonic are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor configuring the number of control channel repetitions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Chincholi, as modified by Ying, with Panasonic to create the method, wherein the multiplication factor is from a set of multiplication factors received via broadcast signaling.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to minimize processing time and allow for flexibility of the repetition number.
Regarding claim 13, Chincholi, as modified by Ying, fails to disclose the method, wherein receiving the control message comprises: receiving one or more parameters that indicate a period of the downlink control channel for the UE, the one or more parameters comprising a first parameter and a second parameter, the first parameter indicating the second number of repetitions to be transmitted to the UE via the downlink control channel and the second parameter indicating a starting transmission time interval of the one or more transmission time intervals.
However, Panasonic discloses the method, wherein receiving the control message comprises: receiving one or more parameters that indicate a period of the downlink control channel for the UE, the one or more parameters comprising a first parameter and a second parameter, the first parameter indicating the second number of repetitions to be transmitted to the UE via the downlink control channel and the second parameter indicating a starting transmission time interval of the one or more transmission time intervals (Pg 1: Therefore, the number of the repetition of MPDCCH is indicated in DCI. … As the flexible indication method of NB-PDSCH/NB-PUSCH, following methods are identified. Method 1: NB-PDCCH repetition number is indicated. NB-PDSCH/PUSCH starting subframe is defined relative to the end of NB-PDCCH candidate. Pg. 2: For NB-PDCCH UE-specific search space: UE monitors one of the following sets of {AL, #repetition, #blind decodes}: {1, 1, 2}, {2, 1, 1} for Rmax = 1, {1, 1, 2}, {2, 1, 1}, {2, 2, 1} for Rmax = 2, {2, 1, 1}, {2, 2, 1}, {2, 4, 1} for Rmax = 4, {2, Rmax/8, 1}, {2, Rmax/4, 1}, {2, Rmax/2, 1}, {2, Rmax, 1} for Rmax >= 8).
Chincholi, as modified by Ying, and Panasonic are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor configuring the number of control channel repetitions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Chincholi, as modified by Ying, with Panasonic to create the method, wherein receiving the control message comprises: receiving one or more parameters that indicate a period of the downlink control channel for the UE, the one or more parameters comprising a first parameter and a second parameter, the first parameter indicating the second number of repetitions to be transmitted to the UE via the downlink control channel and the second parameter indicating a starting transmission time interval of the one or more transmission time intervals.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to minimize processing time and allow for flexibility of the repetition number.
Regarding claim 14, Chincholi, as modified by Ying, fails to disclose the method, wherein the second number of repetitions is an integer multiple of the first number of repetitions.
However, Panasonic discloses the method, wherein the second number of repetitions is an integer multiple of the first number of repetitions (Pg 1: Therefore, the number of the repetition of MPDCCH is indicated in DCI. … As the flexible indication method of NB-PDSCH/NB-PUSCH, following methods are identified. Method 1: NB-PDCCH repetition number is indicated. NB-PDSCH/PUSCH starting subframe is defined relative to the end of NB-PDCCH candidate. Pg. 2: For NB-PDCCH UE-specific search space: UE monitors one of the following sets of {AL, #repetition, #blind decodes}: {1, 1, 2}, {2, 1, 1} for Rmax = 1, {1, 1, 2}, {2, 1, 1}, {2, 2, 1} for Rmax = 2, {2, 1, 1}, {2, 2, 1}, {2, 4, 1} for Rmax = 4, {2, Rmax/8, 1}, {2, Rmax/4, 1}, {2, Rmax/2, 1}, {2, Rmax, 1} for Rmax >= 8).
Chincholi, as modified by Ying, and Panasonic are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor configuring the number of control channel repetitions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Chincholi, as modified by Ying, with Panasonic to create the method, wherein the second number of repetitions is an integer multiple of the first number of repetitions.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to minimize processing time and allow for flexibility of the repetition number.
Regarding claim 22, Chincholi, as modified by Ying, fails to disclose the method, wherein transmitting the indication comprises: transmitting the indication to adjust the number of repetitions by a step factor.
However, Panasonic discloses the method, wherein transmitting the indication comprises: transmitting the indication to adjust the number of repetitions by a step factor (Pg 1: Therefore, the number of the repetition of MPDCCH is indicated in DCI. … As the flexible indication method of NB-PDSCH/NB-PUSCH, following methods are identified. Method 1: NB-PDCCH repetition number is indicated. NB-PDSCH/PUSCH starting subframe is defined relative to the end of NB-PDCCH candidate. Pg. 2: For NB-PDCCH UE-specific search space: UE monitors one of the following sets of {AL, #repetition, #blind decodes}: {1, 1, 2}, {2, 1, 1} for Rmax = 1, {1, 1, 2}, {2, 1, 1}, {2, 2, 1} for Rmax = 2, {2, 1, 1}, {2, 2, 1}, {2, 4, 1} for Rmax = 4, {2, Rmax/8, 1}, {2, Rmax/4, 1}, {2, Rmax/2, 1}, {2, Rmax, 1} for Rmax >= 8).
Chincholi, as modified by Ying, and Panasonic are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor configuring the number of control channel repetitions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Chincholi, as modified by Ying, with Panasonic to create the method, wherein transmitting the indication comprises: transmitting the indication to adjust the number of repetitions by a step factor.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to minimize processing time and allow for flexibility of the repetition number.
Regarding claim 23, Chincholi, as modified by Ying, fails to disclose the method, wherein transmitting the indication comprises: transmitting the indication to adjust the number of repetitions by a multiplication factor of the first number of repetitions.
However, Panasonic discloses the method, wherein transmitting the indication comprises: transmitting the indication to adjust the number of repetitions by a multiplication factor of the first number of repetitions (Pg 1: Therefore, the number of the repetition of MPDCCH is indicated in DCI. … As the flexible indication method of NB-PDSCH/NB-PUSCH, following methods are identified. Method 1: NB-PDCCH repetition number is indicated. NB-PDSCH/PUSCH starting subframe is defined relative to the end of NB-PDCCH candidate. Pg. 2: For NB-PDCCH UE-specific search space: UE monitors one of the following sets of {AL, #repetition, #blind decodes}: {1, 1, 2}, {2, 1, 1} for Rmax = 1, {1, 1, 2}, {2, 1, 1}, {2, 2, 1} for Rmax = 2, {2, 1, 1}, {2, 2, 1}, {2, 4, 1} for Rmax = 4, {2, Rmax/8, 1}, {2, Rmax/4, 1}, {2, Rmax/2, 1}, {2, Rmax, 1} for Rmax >= 8).
Chincholi, as modified by Ying, and Panasonic are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor configuring the number of control channel repetitions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Chincholi, as modified by Ying, with Panasonic to create the method, wherein transmitting the indication comprises: transmitting the indication to adjust the number of repetitions by a multiplication factor of the first number of repetitions.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to minimize processing time and allow for flexibility of the repetition number.
Regarding claim 24, Chincholi, as modified by Ying, fails to disclose the method, further comprising: transmitting a set of multiplication factors via broadcast signaling, wherein the multiplication factor is from the set of multiplication factors.
However, Panasonic discloses the method, further comprising: transmitting a set of multiplication factors via broadcast signaling, wherein the multiplication factor is from the set of multiplication factors (Pg 1: Therefore, the number of the repetition of MPDCCH is indicated in DCI. … As the flexible indication method of NB-PDSCH/NB-PUSCH, following methods are identified. Method 1: NB-PDCCH repetition number is indicated. NB-PDSCH/PUSCH starting subframe is defined relative to the end of NB-PDCCH candidate. Pg. 2: For NB-PDCCH UE-specific search space: UE monitors one of the following sets of {AL, #repetition, #blind decodes}: {1, 1, 2}, {2, 1, 1} for Rmax = 1, {1, 1, 2}, {2, 1, 1}, {2, 2, 1} for Rmax = 2, {2, 1, 1}, {2, 2, 1}, {2, 4, 1} for Rmax = 4, {2, Rmax/8, 1}, {2, Rmax/4, 1}, {2, Rmax/2, 1}, {2, Rmax, 1} for Rmax >= 8).
Chincholi, as modified by Ying, and Panasonic are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor configuring the number of control channel repetitions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Chincholi, as modified by Ying, with Panasonic to create the method, further comprising: transmitting a set of multiplication factors via broadcast signaling, wherein the multiplication factor is from the set of multiplication factors.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to minimize processing time and allow for flexibility of the repetition number.
Regarding claim 27, Chincholi, as modified by Ying, fails to disclose the method, wherein transmitting the control message comprises: transmitting one or more parameters that indicate a period of the downlink control channel for the UE, the one or more parameters comprising a first parameter and a second parameter, the first parameter indicating the second number of repetitions to be transmitted to the UE via the downlink control channel and the second parameter indicating a starting transmission time interval of the one or more transmission time intervals.
However, Panasonic discloses the method, wherein transmitting the control message comprises: transmitting one or more parameters that indicate a period of the downlink control channel for the UE, the one or more parameters comprising a first parameter and a second parameter, the first parameter indicating the second number of repetitions to be transmitted to the UE via the downlink control channel and the second parameter indicating a starting transmission time interval of the one or more transmission time intervals (Pg 1: Therefore, the number of the repetition of MPDCCH is indicated in DCI. … As the flexible indication method of NB-PDSCH/NB-PUSCH, following methods are identified. Method 1: NB-PDCCH repetition number is indicated. NB-PDSCH/PUSCH starting subframe is defined relative to the end of NB-PDCCH candidate. Pg. 2: For NB-PDCCH UE-specific search space: UE monitors one of the following sets of {AL, #repetition, #blind decodes}: {1, 1, 2}, {2, 1, 1} for Rmax = 1, {1, 1, 2}, {2, 1, 1}, {2, 2, 1} for Rmax = 2, {2, 1, 1}, {2, 2, 1}, {2, 4, 1} for Rmax = 4, {2, Rmax/8, 1}, {2, Rmax/4, 1}, {2, Rmax/2, 1}, {2, Rmax, 1} for Rmax >= 8).
Chincholi, as modified by Ying, and Panasonic are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor configuring the number of control channel repetitions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Chincholi, as modified by Ying, with Panasonic to create the method, wherein transmitting the control message comprises: transmitting one or more parameters that indicate a period of the downlink control channel for the UE, the one or more parameters comprising a first parameter and a second parameter, the first parameter indicating the second number of repetitions to be transmitted to the UE via the downlink control channel and the second parameter indicating a starting transmission time interval of the one or more transmission time intervals.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to minimize processing time and allow for flexibility of the repetition number.
Regarding claim 28, Chincholi, as modified by Ying, fails to disclose the method, wherein the second number of repetitions is an integer multiple of the first number of repetitions.
However, Panasonic discloses the method, wherein the second number of repetitions is an integer multiple of the first number of repetitions (Pg 1: Therefore, the number of the repetition of MPDCCH is indicated in DCI. … As the flexible indication method of NB-PDSCH/NB-PUSCH, following methods are identified. Method 1: NB-PDCCH repetition number is indicated. NB-PDSCH/PUSCH starting subframe is defined relative to the end of NB-PDCCH candidate. Pg. 2: For NB-PDCCH UE-specific search space: UE monitors one of the following sets of {AL, #repetition, #blind decodes}: {1, 1, 2}, {2, 1, 1} for Rmax = 1, {1, 1, 2}, {2, 1, 1}, {2, 2, 1} for Rmax = 2, {2, 1, 1}, {2, 2, 1}, {2, 4, 1} for Rmax = 4, {2, Rmax/8, 1}, {2, Rmax/4, 1}, {2, Rmax/2, 1}, {2, Rmax, 1} for Rmax >= 8).
Chincholi, as modified by Ying, and Panasonic are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor configuring the number of control channel repetitions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Chincholi, as modified by Ying, with Panasonic to create the method, wherein the second number of repetitions is an integer multiple of the first number of repetitions.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to minimize processing time and allow for flexibility of the repetition number.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nazar et al (US11743898B2) discloses methods for transmitting uplink control information and feedback for carrier aggregation systems.
Papasakellariou et al (US10305623B2) discloses methods for determining resources for repetitions of channels transmissions to low cost user equipments.
/D LITTLE/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419