DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14, 18-22, 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Japanese reference(JP5805978B2) taken together with Japanese reference(JP2005-337616A).
Japanese reference(JP5805978B2) in figures 1 and 2 teaches a dehumidifier comprising a dehumidifier rotor(1), which is rotatably arranged around a center axis of the desiccant rotor, a process air circuit(suction side supply line 7 to adsorption zone 2) arranged to conduct a process airflow(7) through a process sector(2) of the dehumidifier rotor, a regeneration air circuit(unnumbered conduit downstream of heater 12 through desorption zone 3) arranged to conduct a regeneration airflow through a regeneration sector(3) of the dehumidifier rotor, a purge air circuit arranged to conduct a purge air flow(from purge pipe 9) through a first purge sector(purge zone 4) and a second purge sector(preheating zone 5; noting no heating of purge air upstream or within preheating zone 5) of the dehumidifier rotor, an air fan(desorption side blower 13) arranged downstream of the dehumidifier rotor (downstream arrangement shown in figure 1), the air fan being configured to generate the regeneration airflow in the regeneration air circuit and the purge airflow in the purge air circuit, wherein the purge air circuit is arranged to conduct the purge airflow through the first purge sector in a first direction through the dehumidifier rotor, and through the second purge sector in a second direction through the desiccant rotor, the first direction being opposite to the second direction(noting forward airflow through purge zone 4 and reverse airflow through preheating zone 5). Japanese reference(JP5805978B2) is silent as to the rotor being a desiccant rotor.
Japanese reference(JP2005-337616A) in figure 1 teaches a desiccant dehumidifier including a desiccant rotor(1; noting translation stating adsorbent such as silica gel or zeolite), a process air circuit through adsorption zone 2), a regeneration air circuit(downstream of heater 11), and a purge air circuit(noting branch conduit upstream of adsorption zone 2). It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the dehumidifier rotor with a desiccant material in order to provide a mechanism for adsorption of the process air flow of Japanese reference(JP5805978B2) with a rotor including a desiccant material.
With regards to claim 18, Japanese reference(JP5805978B2) taken together with Japanese reference(JP2005-337616A) further teaches wherein the first purge sector is arranged adjacent to the regeneration sector on a first side of the regeneration sector, and the second purge sector is arranged adjacent to the regeneration sector on a second side of the regeneration sector.
With regards to claim 19, Japanese reference(JP5805978B2) taken together with Japanese reference(JP2005-337616A) further teaches wherein the ratio between a regeneration sector angle of the regeneration sector and the sum a first purge sector angle and a second purge sector angle of the respective first and second purge sectors is selected such that both the regeneration airflow and the purge airflow are generated.
With regards to claim 20 Japanese reference(JP5805978B2) taken together with Japanese reference(JP2005-337616A) is silent as to wherein the ratio between a regeneration sector angle of the regeneration sector and the sum of a first purge sector angle and a second purge sector angle of the respective first and purge sectors is in the range of 1:1 – 1.5:1. Figure 2 of Japanese reference(JP5805978B2) shows a regeneration sector angle of the regeneration sector of 40 degrees, and a sum of a first purge sector angle and a second purge sector angle of the respective first and purge sectors of 50 degrees, however Japanese reference specifically teaches that an angle of the desorption zone > an angle of the preheating zone > an angle of the purge zone. Examiner respectfully submits that given information that an angle of a regeneration zone should be greater than either angle of the separate purge zones, someone of ordinary skill in the art, through routine experimentation, would have been motivated to adjust the ratio between a regeneration sector angle of the regeneration sector and the sum of a first purge sector angle and a second purge sector angle of the respective first and purge sectors is in the range of 1:1 – 1.5:1, so that flow velocity of the air passing through the desorption zone is slowed down so that the heat of air is given to the dehumidication rotor as much as possible(from translation of Japanese reference(JP5805978B2). For example, providing a desorption zone angle of 50 degrees, a preheating zone angle of 30 degrees , and a purge zone angle of 10 degrees provides for a ratio in the range of 1:1 – 1.5:1, and still meets requirements of an angle of the desorption zone > an angle of the preheating zone > an angle of the purge zone of Japanese reference(JP5805978B2). Examiner also notes that the claimed ratio between a regeneration sector angle of the regeneration sector and the sum of a first purge sector angle and a second purge sector angle of the respective first and purge sectors is a result effective variable, wherein someone of ordinary skill in the art would have motivation to adjust the sector angle of the regeneration sector and each purge sector to meet the claimed ratio. Examiner notes MPEP 2144.05(II)(B) for a discussion of result effective variable.
With regards to claim 21 Japanese reference(JP5805978B2) taken together with Japanese reference(JP2005-337616A) is silent as to wherein the ratio between a regeneration sector angle of the regeneration sector and the sum of a first purge sector angle and a second purge sector angle of the respective first and purge sectors is in the range of 1:1 – 1.25:1. Figure 2 of Japanese reference(JP5805978B2) shows a regeneration sector angle of the regeneration sector of 40 degrees, and a sum of a first purge sector angle and a second purge sector angle of the respective first and purge sectors of 50 degrees, however Japanese reference specifically teaches that an angle of the desorption zone > an angle of the preheating zone > an angle of the purge zone. Examiner respectfully submits that given information that an angle of a regeneration zone should be greater than either angle of the separate purge zones, someone of ordinary skill in the art, through routine experimentation, would have been motivated to adjust the ratio between a regeneration sector angle of the regeneration sector and the sum of a first purge sector angle and a second purge sector angle of the respective first and purge sectors is in the range of 1:1 – 1.25:1, so that flow velocity of the air passing through the desorption zone is slowed down so that the heat of air is given to the dehumidication rotor as much as possible(from translation of Japanese reference(JP5805978B2). For example, providing a desorption zone angle of 50 degrees, a preheating zone angle of 30 degrees , and a purge zone angle of 10 degrees provides for a ratio in the range of 1:1 – 1.25:1, and still meets requirements of an angle of the desorption zone > an angle of the preheating zone > an angle of the purge zone of Japanese reference(JP5805978B2). Examiner also notes that the claimed ratio between a regeneration sector angle of the regeneration sector and the sum of a first purge sector angle and a second purge sector angle of the respective first and purge sectors is a result effective variable, wherein someone of ordinary skill in the art would have motivation to adjust the sector angle of the regeneration sector and each purge sector to meet the claimed ratio. Examiner notes MPEP 2144.05(II)(B) for a discussion of result effective variable.
With regards to claim 22 Japanese reference(JP5805978B2) taken together with Japanese reference(JP2005-337616A) is silent as to wherein a regeneration sector angle of the regeneration sector is equal to the sum of a first purge sector angle and a second purge sector angle of the respective first and second purge sectors. Figure 2 of Japanese reference(JP5805978B2) shows a regeneration sector angle of the regeneration sector of 40 degrees, and a sum of a first purge sector angle and a second purge sector angle of the respective first and purge sectors of 50 degrees, however Japanese reference specifically teaches that an angle of the desorption zone > an angle of the preheating zone > an angle of the purge zone. Examiner respectfully submits that given information that an angle of a regeneration zone should be greater than either angle of the separate purge zones, someone of ordinary skill in the art, through routine experimentation, would have been motivated to adjust the ratio between a regeneration sector angle of the regeneration sector and the sum of a first purge sector angle and a second purge sector angle of the respective first and purge sectors is 1:1 , so that flow velocity of the air passing through the desorption zone is slowed down so that the heat of air is given to the dehumidication rotor as much as possible(from translation of Japanese reference(JP5805978B2). For example, providing a desorption zone angle of 45 degrees, a preheating zone angle of 35 degrees , and a purge zone angle of 10 degrees provides for a ratio of 1:1 , and still meets requirements of an angle of the desorption zone > an angle of the preheating zone > an angle of the purge zone of Japanese reference(JP5805978B2). Examiner also notes that the claimed ratio between a regeneration sector angle of the regeneration sector and the sum of a first purge sector angle and a second purge sector angle of the respective first and purge sectors is a result effective variable, wherein someone of ordinary skill in the art would have motivation to adjust the sector angle of the regeneration sector and each purge sector to meet the claimed ratio. Examiner notes MPEP 2144.05(II)(B) for a discussion of result effective variable.
With regards to claim 25, Japanese reference(JP5805978B2) taken together with Japanese reference(JP2005-337616A) further teaches wherein the purge airflow is configured to flow through the first purge sector in the same direction as the direction of the regeneration airflow through the regeneration sector.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15,16,17,23,24,26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 15 recites “wherein the purge air circuit is connected to the regenerated air circuit downstream of the desiccant rotor.”. Japanese reference(JP5805978B2) taken together with Japanese reference(JP2005-337616A) teaches a purge air circuit and a regenerated air circuit, however Japanese reference(JP5805978B2) taken together with Japanese reference(JP2005-337616A) does not teach or suggest wherein the purge air circuit is connected to the regenerated air circuit downstream of the desiccant rotor.
Claim 16 recites “wherein the purge air circuit is connected to the regeneration air circuit upstream of the desiccant rotor, and wherein the purge airflow is configured to be collected from regeneration airflow in the regeneration airflow in the regeneration air circuit.”. Japanese reference(JP5805978B2) taken together with Japanese reference(JP2005-337616A) teaches a purge air circuit and a regenerated air circuit, however Japanese reference(JP5805978B2) taken together with Japanese reference(JP2005-337616A) does not teach or suggest wherein the purge air circuit is connected to the regeneration air circuit upstream of the desiccant rotor, and wherein the purge airflow is configured to be collected from regeneration airflow in the regeneration airflow in the regeneration air circuit. Claim 17 depends on claim 16 and hence would also be allowable upon incorporation of claim 16 into claim 14.
Claim 23 recites “wherein the regeneration sector angle is 60o , the first purge sector angle (B1) is 30o , and the second purge sector angle (B2) is 30o.”. Japanese reference(JP5805978B2) taken together with Japanese reference(JP2005-337616A) teaches a regeneration angle sector equal to the sum of a first purge sector angle and a second purge section angle of the respective first and second purge sectors, however Japanese reference(JP5805978B2) taken together with Japanese reference(JP2005-337616A) teaches against wherein the regeneration sector angle is 60o , the first purge sector angle (B1) is 30o , and the second purge sector angle (B2) is 30o.
Claim 24 recites “wherein the purge airflow is configured to flow through the first purge sector in the opposite direction to the direction of the regeneration airflow through the regeneration sector.”. Japanese reference(JP5805978B2) taken together with Japanese reference(JP2005-337616A) teaches a first purge sector and a regeneration airflow through a regeneration sector, however Japanese reference(JP5805978B2) taken together with Japanese reference(JP2005-337616A) does not teach or suggest wherein the purge airflow is configured to flow through the first purge sector in the opposite direction to the direction of the regeneration airflow through the regeneration sector.
Claim 26 recites “wherein the first purge sector is arranged after the regeneration sector in relation to the rotational direction of the desiccant rotor.”. Japanese reference(JP5805978B2) taken together with Japanese reference(JP2005-337616A) teaches a first purge sector and a regeneration airflow through a regeneration sector, however Japanese reference(JP5805978B2) taken together with Japanese reference(JP2005-337616A) does not teach or suggest wherein the first purge sector is arranged after the regeneration sector in relation to the rotational direction of the desiccant rotor.
/ROBERT A HOPKINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776
March 3, 2026