DETAILED ACTION
1. This office action is a response to the Application/Control Number: 18/684,621 filed on
02/16/2024.
Claims Status
2. This office action is based upon claims received on 02/16/2024 (marked amendments to the claims), which replace all prior or other submitted versions of the claims.
-Claims 1-15 are canceled.
-Claims 16-30 are pending.
-Claims 16-30 are rejected.
Priority
4. Acknowledgment is made of a 371 of PCT/KR2022/012281, filed 08/17/2022.
5. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
6. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/04/2025, 02/16/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
7. Claim 16, 17, 23, 24, 25 are objected to because of the following informalities:
A. Regarding claims 16, 17, 24, 25, these claims recite the terms "user data to be sent" and “not allowed to be initiated”, which are not a positively cited claim language. Language that suggests or makes optional/intended use (for example, “so that”; “thereby”; “capable of”; “adapted to”; “able to”; “enable to”; “can be”; “may be”; “should be”; “….able”; “combinable”; “configurable”) but does not require steps to be performed or does not limit a claim to a particular structure does not limit the scope of a claim or claim limitation(s). Such clauses may render parts of the claims optional (see MPEP 2106 and 2111.04). [Note: the limitation recites after “to be” clause is not given patentable weight because it is optional for the positively processing steps. The term may raise a question as to the limiting effect of the language in a claim. A similar alternative term such as a positive action verb to perform the function without any unnecessary ambiguity is suggested.
Examiner interprets the subject claims listed as best possible. Applicant is requested to review and address questions raised and clarify applicant’s objective for the referred to claim language.
B. Claims 16, 17, 23, 24, 25 all recite “in case” multiple times, where separate recitations of “in case” are interpreted as being different instances of “in case”, such as utilizing claim 16 as an example representative of claim 24, first instance of “in case” in recitation “in case that the BO timer is running or deactivated, and the UE is configured to report a change of packet switch (PS) data off UE status” associates with requirements “that the BO timer is running or deactivated, and the UE is configured to report a change of packet switch (PS) data off UE status” and second instance of “in case” in recitation “in case that the BO timer is running or deactivated, and the UE is not configured for the high priority access in the PLMN” associates with requirements “that the BO timer is running or deactivated, and the UE is not configured for the high priority access in the PLMN”. Similar interpretations are made for other instances of recitation of “in case” in claim 17 and parallel features claim 25 where “in case” is separately associated with requirement “that the BO timer is running or deactivated, and the UE is configured to report a change of packet switch (PS) data off UE status”, and a separate instance of “in case” is separately associated with requirement “that the BO timer is running or deactivated, and the UE is not configured to report the change of the PS data off UE status”. Similar interpretations are also made for separate recitation of “in case” in claim 23 which is separately associated with requirement “that CIoT user data is received from a base station”.
The above interpretations are made to avoid any questions raised about antecedent basis associated with multiple instances of recitations of “in case”, made without any utilization of an article “the” prior to subsequent instances of “in case” after a first instance of “in case”.
Should applicant contend otherwise, and for the purposes of verification, applicant is requested to review and address questions raised and clarify applicant’s objective for the referred to claim language. Examiner interprets the subject claims listed as best possible.
C. Claim 23 (which depends from claim 16) recites “CIoT user data” without an article “the” preceding “CIoT user data”, where claim 16 also references “cellular internet of things (CloT) user data to be sent”. To avoid any questions raised about antecedent basis associated with multiple instances of recitations of “CIoT user data”, “CIoT user data” associated with “is received” as recited in claim 23 is interpreted as being distinct from “cellular internet of things (CloT) user data” as associated with “to be sent” in claim 16.
Should applicant contend otherwise, and for the purposes of verification, applicant is requested to review and address questions raised and clarify applicant’s objective for the referred to claim language. Examiner interprets the subject claims listed as best possible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory
basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and
the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the
effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised
of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that
was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner
to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art
against the later invention.
9. Claims 16-22, 24-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20190141609 A1) i.e. “Kim”, in view of 3GPP TSG-CT WG1 Meeting #122-e C1-200420 Electronic meeting , Source Qualcomm, 20-28 February 2020 i.e. “3GPP”.
Regarding Claim 16. (New) Kim teaches: A method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system (KIM – FIG. 12 & ¶0208 […] Proposal 1; ¶0209 […] In the case that a network support CIoT service, the network may forward the indication/information (e.g., NB-IoT support RAT) indicating that it is the RAT in which the CIoT service is supported to a UE through SIB or MIB information; ¶0219 a signal flowchart illustrating Method 1 of Proposal 1 schematically; ¶0220 […] First, a base station (e.g., eNodeB) 200 of a network transmits indication/information informing RAC (e.g., NB-IoT support RAT) that supports the CIoT service and access control information to a wireless device (e.g., CIoT device) 100 through MIB or SIB;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 12 ¶0219 i.e. a signal flow chart reads on: A method performed, where per ¶0219 i.e. a base station (e.g., eNodeB) 200 of a network transmits indication/information informing RAC (e.g., NB-IoT support RAT) that supports the CIoT service and access control information to i.e. a wireless device (e.g., CIoT device) 100 reads on: by a user equipment (UE) per ¶0219 FIG. 12 the system comprising the UE 100 and Base station reads on: in a wireless communication system),
the method comprising: identifying cellular internet of things (CloT) user data to be sent (KIM FIG. 12 & ¶0228 […] even before the Barring timer expires or even before receiving the indication/information informing access barring alleviation according to the expiration of the Barring timer, in the case that a transmission of exceptional data is required, the NAS layer initiates the NAS signaling request procedure and determines the RRC establishment cause of the RRC connection establishment request and the call type. At this time, the RRC establishment cause is set by being determined to exceptional data. The NAS layer forwards the NAS signaling request message, the RRC establishment cause and the call type to the AS layer (i.e., RRC layer);
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0228 i.e. even before the Barring timer expires or even before receiving the indication/information informing access barring alleviation according to the expiration of the Barring timer, i.e. in the case that a transmission of exceptional data is required reads on: the method comprising: identifying cellular internet of things (CloT) user data to be sent i.e. as applied to per ¶0219 FIG. 12 i.e. a wireless device (e.g., CIoT device) 100 );
and in case that a back off (BO) timer is running
or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) deactivated (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
(KIM - ¶0228 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0228 i.e. even before the Barring timer expires or even before receiving the indication/information informing access barring alleviation according to the expiration of the Barring timer reads on: and in case that a back off (BO) timer is running or deactivated ),
and the UE is configured for a high priority access (KIM - ¶0212 […] since the service for MO exceptional service (or exceptional data or exceptional signaling) is urgent data basically, in order to guarantee the RRC connection establishment or RRC connection reestablishment, the NAS layer may provide the indication for passing/skipping the barring check of the access control for the CIoT (or RRC establishment cause field configured as MO exception) to the AS layer (i.e., RRC layer) separately from the indication/information indicating to apply the access control for the CIoT; ¶0228 See above;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0228 i.e. even before the Barring timer expires or even before receiving the indication/information informing access barring alleviation according to the expiration of the Barring timer per ¶0228 i.e. the NAS layer initiates the NAS signaling request procedure and determines the RRC establishment cause of the RRC connection establishment request and the call type. At this time, the RRC establishment cause is set by being determined reads on: and the UE is configured for per ¶0228 i.e. to exceptional data where per ¶0212 i.e. the service for MO exceptional service (or exceptional data or exceptional signaling) is urgent data basically, in order to guarantee the RRC connection establishment reads on: reads on: a high priority access ),
initiating a non access stratum (NAS) transport procedure for sending the CloT user data (KIM FIG. 12 & ¶0228 See above; ¶0229 […] the AS layer (i.e., RRC layer) identifies that the NAS signaling request is for the transmission of exceptional data based on the RRC establishment cause, and skips the barring check of the access control but does not perform it based on the indication/information indicating to apply the access control for the CIoT and the indication for passing/skipping the barring check of the access control for the CIoT with respect to exceptional data (or exceptional signaling or exceptional voice call). Accordingly, the AS layer (i.e., RRC layer) transmits the RRC connection request message;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0229 i.e. the AS layer (i.e., RRC layer) identifies that the NAS signaling request is for the transmission of exceptional data based on the RRC establishment cause, and skips the barring check of the access control but does not perform it based on the indication/information indicating to apply the access control for the CIoT and the indication for passing/skipping the barring check of the access control for the CIoT with respect to exceptional data (or exceptional signaling or exceptional voice call), where per ¶0229 i.e. the AS layer (i.e., RRC layer) transmits the RRC connection request message reads on: initiating a non access stratum (NAS) transport procedure for sending the CloT user data as per ¶0229 applies to i.e. the indication for passing/skipping the barring check of the access control for the CIoT with respect to exceptional data and i.e. the NAS signaling request),
wherein the NAS transport procedure is not allowed to be initiated, in case that the BO timer is running or deactivated, and the UE is not configured for the high priority access (KIM FIG. 12 & ¶0223 […] the Application layer of the wireless device 100 informs that a transmission of normal data or normal signaling is required to the NAS layer; ¶0224 […] the NAS layer determines an RRC establishment cause of an RRC connection request message for the normal data or the normal signaling and a call type. At this time, the RRC establishment cause is set by being determined by MO data or MO signaling; ¶0225 […] The NAS layer forwards NAS signaling request message, the RRC establishment cause and the request type to the AS layer (i.e., RRC layer); ¶0226 The AS layer (i.e., RRC layer) identifies that the NAS signaling request is a transmission of normal data or normal signaling based on the RRC establishment cause, and performs barring check of the access control based on the indication/information indicating to apply the access control for the CIoT provided from the base station 100 and the parameter information in relation to the access control (e.g., Access control parameters for CIoT). As a result of performing the barring check, in the case that an access to a network or a cell is barred, the AS layer (i.e., RRC layer) does not transmit an RRC connection establishment request message to the base station. In addition, the AS layer (i.e., RRC layer) forwards an indication indicating that the access is barred to the NAS layer. Further, the AS layer (i.e., RRC layer) drives a Barring timer […] ; ¶0229 see above;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0223 i.e. Application layer of the wireless device 100 informs that a transmission of normal data or normal signaling is required to the NAS layer and per ¶0226 i.e. The AS layer (i.e., RRC layer) identifies that the NAS signaling request is a transmission of normal data or normal signaling based on the RRC establishment cause reads on: wherein the NAS transport procedure, and performs barring check of the access control based on the indication/information indicating to apply the access control for the CIoT provided from the base station 100 and the parameter information in relation to the access control (e.g., Access control parameters for CIoT). i.e. As a result of performing the barring check, in the case that an access to a network or a cell is barred reads on: is not allowed to be initiated, where per ¶0226 i.e. Further, the AS layer (i.e., RRC layer) drives a Barring timer reads on: in case that the BO timer is running or deactivated i.e. while deactivated at decision and running when Barring timer driven. Furthermore per ¶0226 i.e. The AS layer (i.e., RRC layer) identifies that the NAS signaling request is a transmission of normal data or normal signaling based on the RRC establishment cause reads on: and the UE is not configured for the high priority access as opposed to Per ¶0229 i.e. the AS layer (i.e., RRC layer) identifies that the NAS signaling request is for the transmission of exceptional data based on the RRC establishment cause ).
Kim does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (Note: i.e. see italicized portions): high priority access in a public land mobile network (PLMN);
3GPP teaches: the method comprising: in case that a back off (BO) timer is running or deactivated, and the UE is configured for a high priority access in a public land mobile network (PLMN), initiating a non access stratum (NAS) transport procedure for sending the CloT user data, wherein the NAS transport procedure is not allowed to be initiated, in case that the BO timer is running or deactivated, and the UE is not configured for the high priority access in the PLMN (3GPP Section 6.2.7 […] Handling of DNN based congestion control; ln 14-17 […] If T3396 is running or is deactivated, then the UE is neither allowed to initiate the PDU session establishment procedure nor, the PDU session modification procedure nor the transfer of user data using control plane CIoT 5GS optimization for the respective DNN or without a DNN unless the UE is a UE configured for high priority access in selected PLMN or to report a change of 3GPP PS data off UE status;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: as applied to congestion control i.e. per ln 14-17 i.e. If T3396 is running or is deactivated reads on: the method comprising: in case that a back off (BO) timer is running or deactivated , and per Ln 14-17 i.e. unless the UE is a UE configured for high priority access in selected PLMN reads on: and the UE is configured for a high priority access in a public land mobile network (PLMN) , where i.e. then the UE is neither allowed to initiate the PDU session establishment procedure nor, the PDU session modification procedure nor the transfer of user data using control plane CIoT 5GS optimization for the respective DNN or without a DNN unless the UE is a UE configured for high priority access i.e. the alternate case of i.e. unless when UE is high priority reads on: initiating a non access stratum (NAS) transport procedure for sending the CloT user data , and per ln 14-17 i.e. then the UE is neither allowed to initiate the PDU session establishment procedure nor, the PDU session modification procedure nor the transfer of user data using control plane CIoT 5GS optimization for the respective DNN reads on: wherein the NAS transport procedure is not allowed to be initiated , and i.e. If T3396 is running or is deactivated, then the UE is neither allowed to initiate the PDU session establishment procedure nor, the PDU session modification procedure nor the transfer of user data using control plane CIoT 5GS optimization reads on: in case that the BO timer is running or deactivated , as applied to i.e. an alternate case where unless UE is high priority does not apply reads on: and the UE is not configured for the high priority access in the PLMN );
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim with teachings of 3GPP, since 3GPP enables procedures where Congestion mechanisms will be applicable to control plane CIoT optimizations, and User experience will not be degraded (3GPP – Page 1 Consequences if not approved Ln 23- 30).
Regarding Claim 17. (New) Kim in view of 3GPP teaches: The method of claim 16,
furthermore 3GPP teaches: wherein the NAS transport procedure is initiated, in case that the BO timer is running or deactivated, and the UE is configured to report a change of packet switch (PS) data off UE status (3GPP - 3GPP Section 6.2.7 […] See claim 16 ; ln 14-17 […] See claim 16; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: as applied to congestion control i.e. per ln 14-17 i.e. If T3396 is running or is deactivated, then the UE is neither allowed to initiate the PDU session establishment procedure nor, the PDU session modification procedure nor the transfer of user data using control plane CIoT 5GS optimization for the respective DNN or without a DNN i.e. unless the UE is a UE configured i.e. in which case UE is i.e. allowed to initiate the PDU session establishment procedure nor, the PDU session modification procedure nor the transfer of user data using control plane CIoT 5GS optimization for the respective DNN reads on: wherein the NAS transport procedure is initiated , and where the condition includes i.e. If T3396 is running or is deactivated reads on: in case that the BO timer is running or deactivated, where the “unless” condition includes a UE configured for high priority access in selected PLMN i.e. or to report a change of 3GPP PS data off UE status reads on: and the UE is configured to report a change of packet switch (PS) data off UE status ),
and wherein the NAS transport procedure is not allowed to be initiated, in case that the BO timer is running or deactivated, and the UE is not configured to report the change of the PS data off UE status (3GPP - 3GPP Section 6.2.7 […] See claim 16 ; ln 14-17 […] See claim 16; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: as applied to congestion control i.e. per ln 14-17 i.e. If T3396 is running or is deactivated, then the UE is neither allowed to initiate the PDU session establishment procedure nor, the PDU session modification procedure nor the transfer of user data using control plane CIoT 5GS optimization for the respective DNN or without a DNN i.e. reads on: and wherein the NAS transport procedure is not allowed to be initiated, and where the condition includes i.e. If T3396 is running or is deactivated reads on: in case that the BO timer is running or deactivated, where the unless condition does not apply i.e. UE not configured for high priority access in selected PLMN i.e. or not to report a change of 3GPP PS data off UE status reads on: and the UE is not configured to report the change of the PS data off UE status);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim in view of 3GPP, further with teachings of 3GPP, since 3GPP enables procedures where Congestion mechanisms will be applicable to control plane CIoT optimizations, and User experience will not be degraded (3GPP – Page 1 Consequences if not approved Ln 23- 30).
Regarding Claim 18. (New) Kim in view of 3GPP teaches: The method of claim 16,
furthermore 3GPP teaches: wherein the BO timer includes at least one of (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight)
a first BO timer associated with a data network name (DNN) (3GPP - 3GPP Section 6.2.7 […] See claim 16 ; ln 14-17 […] See claim 16; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: as applied to congestion control i.e. per ln 14-17 i.e. If T3396 is running or is deactivated reads on: wherein the BO timer includes at least one of a first BO timer, where i.e. If T3396 is running or is deactivated, then the UE is neither allowed to initiate the PDU session establishment procedure nor, the PDU session modification procedure nor the transfer of user data using control plane CIoT 5GS optimization for the respective DNN reads on: associated with a data network name (DNN) ),
a second BO timer associated with a combination of the DNN and a single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight),
or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
a third BO timer associated with the S-NSSAI (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim in view of 3GPP, further with teachings of 3GPP, since 3GPP enables procedures where Congestion mechanisms will be applicable to control plane CIoT optimizations, and User experience will not be degraded (3GPP – Page 1 Consequences if not approved Ln 23- 30).
Regarding Claim 19. (New) Kim in view of 3GPP teaches: The method of claim 18,
furthermore 3GPP teaches: wherein the first BO timer includes a T3396 timer (3GPP - 3GPP Section 6.2.7 […] See claim 16 ; ln 14-17 […] See claim 16; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: as applied to congestion control i.e. per ln 14-17 i.e. If T3396 is running or is deactivated reads on: wherein the first BO timer includes a T3396 timer), the second BO timer includes a T3584 timer (NOTE: Claim 19 depends from claim 18, and the claim 19 limitations recite “the second BO timer” and “the third BO timer” which associate with and recite “a second BO timer” and “a third BO timer” presented in the alternative in claim 18, and therefore the limitations in claim 19 “the second BO timer” and “the third BO timer” are also deemed and interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required),
and the third BO timer includes a T3585 timer (NOTE: Claim 19 depends from claim 18, and the claim 19 limitations recite “the second BO timer” and “the third BO timer” which associate with and recite “a second BO timer” and “a third BO timer” presented in the alternative in claim 18, and therefore the limitations in claim 19 “the second BO timer” and “the third BO timer” are also deemed and interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim in view of 3GPP, further with teachings of 3GPP, since 3GPP enables procedures where Congestion mechanisms will be applicable to control plane CIoT optimizations, and User experience will not be degraded (3GPP – Page 1 Consequences if not approved Ln 23- 30).
Regarding Claim 20. (New) Kim in view of 3GPP teaches: The method of claim 16,
furthermore 3GPP teaches: wherein the CIoT user data is transmitted to a base station via a control plane based on the NAS transport procedure (3GPP - 3GPP Section 6.2.7 […] See claim 16 ; ln 14-17 […] See claim 16; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ln 14-17 […] If T3396 is running or is deactivated, then the UE is neither allowed to initiate the PDU session establishment procedure nor, the PDU session modification procedure nor the transfer of user data using control plane CIoT 5GS optimization for the respective DNN or without a DNN i.e. unless the UE is a UE configured for high priority access in selected PLMN or to report a change of 3GPP PS data off UE status reads on: wherein the CIoT user data is transmitted to a base station via a control plane based on the NAS transport procedure for the alternative case where the UE is a UE configured for high priority access ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim in view of 3GPP, further with teachings of 3GPP, since 3GPP enables procedures where Congestion mechanisms will be applicable to control plane CIoT optimizations, and User experience will not be degraded (3GPP – Page 1 Consequences if not approved Ln 23- 30).
Regarding Claim 21. (New) Kim in view of 3GPP teaches: The method of claim 16,
furthermore Kim teaches: further comprising: receiving, from a base station, a message including a value of the BO timer (Kim ¶0139 […] if the core network performs the NAS level congestion control, a back-off timer value is transmitted to a UE in an idle mode or a connected mode by being carried on a NAS reject message. In this case, the UE does not request an EMM/GMM/(E)SM signal to the network until the back-off timer expires.; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0139 i.e. a back-off timer value is transmitted to a UE in an idle mode or a connected mode by being carried on a NAS reject message such as from eNodeB in FIG. 12 reads on: further comprising: receiving, from a base station, a message including a value of the BO timer);
and starting the BO timer based on the value of the BO timer (Kim ¶0139 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0139 i.e. the UE does not request an EMM/GMM/(E)SM signal to the network until the back-off timer expires reads on: and starting the BO timer based on the value of the BO timer such as also per FIG. 12 & ¶0226 i.e. the AS layer (i.e., RRC layer) forwards an indication indicating that the access is barred to the NAS layer. Further, the AS layer (i.e., RRC layer) drives a Barring timer. When the Barring timer expires, the AS layer informs by providing indication/information informing access barring alleviation to the NAS layer. ).
Regarding Claim 22. (New) Kim in view of 3GPP teaches: The method of claim 16,
furthermore 3GPP teaches: wherein the BO timer corresponds to a fifth generation session management (5GSM) timer (3GPP - 3GPP Section 6.2.7 […] See claim 16 ; ln 11-17 […] The timer T3396 associated with no DNN will never be started due to any 5GSM procedure related to an emergency PDU session also See claim 16; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: as applied to congestion control i.e. per ln 14-17 i.e. If T3396 is running or is deactivated reads on: wherein the BO timer, where i.e. If T3396 is running or is deactivated, then the UE is neither allowed to initiate the PDU session establishment procedure nor, the PDU session modification procedure nor the transfer of user data using control plane CIoT 5GS optimization, where i.e. The timer T3396 associated with no DNN will never be started due to any 5GSM procedure related to an emergency PDU session reads on: corresponds to a fifth generation session management (5GSM) timer for the respective DNN).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim in view of 3GPP, further with teachings of 3GPP, since 3GPP enables procedures where Congestion mechanisms will be applicable to control plane CIoT optimizations, and User experience will not be degraded (3GPP – Page 1 Consequences if not approved Ln 23- 30).
Regarding Claim 24. (New) KIM teaches: A user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system(KIM – FIG. 12 & ¶0208 […] Proposal 1; ¶0209 […] In the case that a network support CIoT service, the network may forward the indication/information (e.g., NB-IoT support RAT) indicating that it is the RAT in which the CIoT service is supported to a UE through SIB or MIB information; ¶0219 a signal flowchart illustrating Method 1 of Proposal 1 schematically; ¶0220 […] First, a base station (e.g., eNodeB) 200 of a network transmits indication/information informing RAC (e.g., NB-IoT support RAT) that supports the CIoT service and access control information to a wireless device (e.g., CIoT device) 100 through MIB or SIB;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 12 ¶0219 i.e. a signal flow chart, where per ¶0219 i.e. a base station (e.g., eNodeB) 200 of a network transmits indication/information informing RAC (e.g., NB-IoT support RAT) that supports the CIoT service and access control information to i.e. a wireless device (e.g., CIoT device) 100 reads on: A user equipment (UE) per ¶0219 FIG. 12 the system comprising the UE 100 and Base station reads on: in a wireless communication system),
the UE comprising: a transceiver; and a controller coupled with the transceiver and configured to (FIG.14 & ¶0285 […] the wireless device 100 includes a storage means 101, a controller 102 and a transceiver unit 103; ¶0287 […] the controllers 102 and 202 perform the methods stored in the storage means 101 ; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 14 & ¶0285 i.e. a controller 102 and a transceiver unit 103 reads on: the UE comprising: a transceiver; and a controller coupled with the transceiver . Per ¶0287 i.e. the controllers 102 and 202 perform the methods stored reads on: and configured to: ):
(See the rejection of Claim 16, Claim 24 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 16, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 16 applies similarly to Claim 24. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate)
identify cellular internet of things (CIoT) user data to be sent, and in case that a back off (BO) timer is running or deactivated, and the UE is configured for a high priority access in a public land mobile network (PLMN), initiate a non access stratum (NAS) transport procedure for sending the CIoT user data, wherein the NAS transport procedure is not allowed to be initiated, in case that the BO timer is running or deactivated, and the UE is not configured for the high priority access in the PLMN(See the rejection of Claim 16, Claim 24 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 16, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 16 applies similarly to Claim 24. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 25. (New) Kim in view of 3GPP teaches: The UE of claim 24,
(See the rejection of Claim 17, Claim 25 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 17, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 17 applies similarly to Claim 25. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) wherein the NAS transport procedure is initiated, in case that the BO timer is running or deactivated, and the UE is configured to report a change of packet switch (PS) data off UE status, and wherein the NAS transport procedure is not allowed to be initiated, in case that the BO timer is running or deactivated, and the UE is not configured to report the change of the PS data off UE status (See the rejection of Claim 17, Claim 25 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 17, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 17 applies similarly to Claim 25. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding 26. (New) Kim in view of 3GPP teaches: The UE of claim 24,
(See the rejection of Claim 18, Claim 26 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 18, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 18 applies similarly to Claim 26. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate)
wherein the BO timer includes at least one of a first BO timer associated with a data network name (DNN), a second BO timer associated with a combination of the DNN and a single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI), or a third BO timer associated with the S-NSSAI(See the rejection of Claim 18, Claim 26 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 18, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 18 applies similarly to Claim 26. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 27. (New) Kim in view of 3GPP teaches: The UE of claim 26, (See the rejection of Claim 19, Claim 27 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 19, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 19 applies similarly to Claim 27. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) wherein the first BO timer includes a T3396 timer, the second BO timer includes a T3584 timer, and the third BO timer includes a T3585 timer (See the rejection of Claim 19, Claim 27 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 19, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 19 applies similarly to Claim 27. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 28. (New) Kim in view of 3GPP teaches: The UE of claim 24,
(See the rejection of Claim 20, Claim 28 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 20, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 20 applies similarly to Claim 28. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) wherein the CIoT user data is transmitted to a base station via a control plane based on the NAS transport procedure (See the rejection of Claim 20, Claim 28 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 20, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 20 applies similarly to Claim 28. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 29. (New) Kim in view of 3GPP teaches: The UE of claim 24,
(See the rejection of Claim 21, Claim 29 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 21, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 21 applies similarly to Claim 29. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) wherein the controller is further configured to: receive, from a base station, a message including a value of the BO timer, and start the BO timer based on the value of the BO timer (See the rejection of Claim 21, Claim 29 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 21, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 21 applies similarly to Claim 29. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 30. (New) Kim in view of 3GPP teaches: The UE of claim 24, (See the rejection of Claim 22, Claim 30 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 22, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 22 applies similarly to Claim 30. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) wherein the BO timer corresponds to a fifth generation session management (5GSM) timer(See the rejection of Claim 22, Claim 30 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 22, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 22 applies similarly to Claim 30. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
10. Claims 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of 3GPP, further in view of GRIOT et .al (US 20180098240 A1), i.e. “GRIOT”.
Regarding Claim 23. (New) Kim in view of 3GPP teaches: The method of claim 16,
Kim in view of 3GPP does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (i.e. See Italicized portions): stopping the BO timer in case that CIoT user data is received from a base station;
GRIOT teaches: further comprising: stopping the BO timer in case that CIoT user data is received from a base station (GRIOT ¶0093 […] while the back-off timer is running, the UE may not send any NAS messages to the MME if a NAS data PDU with user data is included (i.e., data transfer via Control Plane CIoT EPS Optimization). However, there are a few exceptions.[…] if the UE receives MT data while the back-off timer is running, the UE may stop the back-off timer.; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0093 i.e. the UE may stop the back-off timer reads on: further comprising: stopping the BO timer , where UE is associated with NAS data PDU with user data is included (i.e., data transfer via Control Plane CIoT EPS Optimization) and per ¶0093 i.e. if the UE receives MT data while the back-off timer is running the UE may stop the back-off timer reads on: in case that CIoT user data is received from a base station ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim in view of 3GPP, with teachings of GRIOT, since GRIOT enables improved communications between access points and stations in a wireless network (GRIOT - ¶0005).
Conclusion
/M.A.S./
Examiner, Art Unit 2414
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414