DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 02/16/2024 and 02/11/2026 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-3 and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2 contains misspelling “xanthate gum” which should read “xanthan gum”.
Claim 3 contains misspelling “betonite” which should read “bentonite”.
Claim 9 contains misspelling “Ammonia sulphate” and “Potassium hydrochloride” which should read “ammonium sulfate” and “potassium chloride”, respectively.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regard to claim 1, the use of the term “and/or” in line 4 creates ambiguity because the clear boundaries of the claim are not defined when read in the entirety of the claim. The claim does not recite an embodiment which would apply to an aqueous urease inhibitor and nitrification inhibitor or, alternatively, an aqueous urease inhibitor or nitrification inhibitor as presently presented.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "other urease inhibitors/nitrification inhibitors" in line 2. This open-ended Markush-like recitation leaves the scope of functional equivalents open-ended and indefinite.
Claim 1 defines an aqueous formulation but includes the functional limitations “wherein said coating formulation is applied to urea granules”. The product-by-process type hybrid composition renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if this represents an intended use or if the claim is directed to a granular formulation instead. For the purposes of examination, the claim is interpreted as an aqueous formulation which may be applied to granules.
In regard to claims 3-4, the use of the language “further consists of” contradicts with claim 1 which uses the semi-closed transitional phrase “essentially consisting of”. Additional essential ingredients contradict the transitional phrase of the independent claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the average particle size of ZnO" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
In regard to claim 5, the term “substantially” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear whether “substantially” introduces a degree of acceptable deviation from the parameters recited, and if so, how much deviation thereof is permissible.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. The claim is fully redundant to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-8 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Waliwitiya (US Patent Publication No. 2019/0048260 A1).
In regard to claims 1-2, 6, and 10, Waliwitya teaches an aqueous urease inhibitor and/or nitrification inhibitor coating formulation (e.g. ArmU formulation containing water, NMP and NBPT) [para. 0052] essentially consisting of:
a thickening agent in the form of a microbial gum (e.g. xanthan gum) present at an amount of .1 % w/w to 1.0 % (e.g. 0.2%) [0052];
NBPT present in the amount of 0.5 % w/w to 35 % w/w (e.g. 15%) [0052]; and
water to 100 % w/w (e.g. 2.5%) [0052].
In regard to claims 7-8, Waliwitya teaches a fertilizer composition which includes a nutrient source in the form of a fertilizer granule (e.g. urea granules) [0055] coated with the coating composition of claim 1 (e.g. coated with ArmU) [0055].
In regard to claim 11, Waliwitiya teaches the coating formulation of claim 1 wherein the formulation does not contain urea [0052] and although a surfactant is recited in the example, a surfactant is not required (e.g. method may include a further step (c) adding a surfactant to the mixture) [0006].
In regard to claims 12-13, Waliwitiya teaches the coating formulation of claim 1, wherein the coating formulation maintains a viscosity below 10,000 cP at 20°C (e.g. 12.8 cP) [0061].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waliwitiya (US Patent Publication No. 2019/0048260 A1) in view of Van Hijfte et al. (US Patent No. 4,150,965).
In regard to claims 3 and 5, Waliwitiya teaches the coating formulation of claim 1 but does not explicitly teach the composition which further consists of kaolin clay or calcium bentonite.
Van Hijfte et al. describes materials added to improve storage properties of fertilizer pellets. Normally the pellets are dusted with a fine inorganic powder such as kaolin, diatomaceous earth, chalk [col. 1, lines 33-36]. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to formulate the coating formulation as described by Waliwitiya with powdered kaolin clay. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to improve the storage properties of the fertilizer coated with the coating formulation. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success choosing from a powdered kaolin clay within the claimed size range because powdered materials are typically 100 micron or less and can be easily classified using mesh sieves.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waliwitiya (US Patent Publication No. 2019/0048260 A1) in view of Tucker et al. (US Patent No. 3,941,578).
In regard to claim 4, Waliwitiya teaches the coating formulation of claim 1 but does not explicitly teach the composition which further consists of powdered ZnO.
Tucker et al. is directed to urea particles coated with zinc oxide powder [abstract]. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to formulate the coating formulation as described by Waliwitiya with powdered ZnO. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because zinc is a micronutrient identified as essential to all living things, and therefore a very desirable trace element [col. 1, lines 21-24]. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in formulating a coating with zinc oxide for adherence to a urea fertilizer particle as demonstrated by Tucker [col. 2, lines 5-25].
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waliwitiya (US Patent Publication No. 2019/0048260 A1) in view of Blaylock (Crop Nutrition, 2021).
In regard to claim 9, Waliwitiya teaches a fertilizer blend including the fertilizer of claim 8 (e.g. a fertilizer blend comprising sulfur, nitrogen, phosphate, and potash at a 90-30-30-25 was subsequently
added at a 2:1 ratio of fertilizer blend to coated urea granules, and the final fertilizer product is shown in FIG. 5E) [0059].
While the reference does not explicitly disclose the chemical makeup of the fertilizer blend, Blaylock describes phosphorus as a primary essential plant nutrient and the most common phosphorus fertilizers are ammoniated phosphates such as monoammonium phosphate (MAP), diammonium phosphate (DAP), and ammonium polyphosphate solutions (APP). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to formulate the fertilizer blend as described by Waliwitiya with granular ammonium phosphate. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because these are the most commonly used phosphate fertilizer material with wide commercial availability. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
/JENNIFER A SMITH/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1731 September 9, 2026