DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after 16 March 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. §§ 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. §§ 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Response to Remarks
The remarks filed 25 June 2026 have been fully considered.
The applicant argues with regards to the Richmond reference that Richmond “teaches away from eliminating tamping elements” (see page 12 of the applicant’s response) since “Richmond emphasizes the importance of the tamping means at paragraphs [0111]-[0113] and even advocates for the inclusion of additional tamping elements at paragraph [0010] to improve performance.” The argument is not persuasive since Richmond teaches an entire embodiment wherein a tamping element is not included (fig. 31-34). Further, even in the embodiments that include a tamping element it is a removable feature and, thus, its inclusion and/or use by a user during operation of Richmond’s device is optional. Moreover, the applicant’s claim 22 recites “the reservoir portion does not comprise a tamper”. Note that in the embodiments of Richmond having a tamping element, the tamping element 142 is not a part of the reservoir portion 110 (see e.g., fig. 9).
Then the applicant argues that the Reyes reference “teaches a motor configured to cause rotational or reciprocal motion of the chain within the inner chamber and with respect to handling of ground material teaches that in some embodiments, the lid 180 can hold the ground product for delivery of the ground product. Reyes does not teach or suggest filling a receptacle with ground material. Accordingly, a user seeking to fill a receptacle, such as a cone, with ground material obtained using the device of Reyes would need to ‘pack’ or ‘stuff' the ground material from the lid (or other surface) into the receptacle and would likely employ a tamping device to push the ground material down into the cone.” The argument is not persuasive since no particular structure for the receptacle is required in claim 22 and the lid is a receptacle in the same way that a tray is a receptacle. Reyes discloses “the lid 180 can be positioned to receive [i.e., to be filled with] a ground product from the chamber 116” and that “the sidewall 182 can prevent spillage of the ground product from within the lid 180” (¶ 136). Therefore, the lid of Reyes is “a receptacle to be filled with a ground material received from the grinder portion” as recited in claim 22. Lastly, the allegation that a user “would likely employ a tamping device to push the ground material down into the cone” amounts to nothing more than speculation.
For at least these reasons, the claims stand rejected in view of the previously-cited prior art. See the current rejections below.
Drawing Objections
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following features must be shown or the features canceled from the claims:
“the receptacle to be filled with ground material is a spice jar” (clm. 24, 35); note that fig. 11 illustrates a spice jar 410 as a reservoir portion as opposed to a receptacle to be held by the reservoir portion 300, as claim 22 requires;
“a bicycle chain” (clm. 26); note that fig. 10 illustrates a chain having links that are shaped like link plates of a bicycle chain, but it is not a bicycle chain as it would not be able to cooperate with a sprocket of a bicycle.
Specification Objections
The specification is objected to because of the following informalities.
In re ¶ 35: the applicant amended the paragraph to recite “… a reservoir portion 300, wherein the reservoir portion can be removably attached, and wherein the reservoir portion is adapted to hold a desired receptacle (410, 420) …” However, the spice jar 420 (fig. 11) is not adapted to be held by the reservoir portion 300 but, rather, is a reservoir portion that is interchangeable with the cone-shaped reservoir portion 300 (fig. 9).
In re ¶ 56: the applicant amended the paragraph to recite “… the chain can be a bike or bicycle chain 154 comprising links inspired by a chain of a bicycle or motor vehicle.” However, chain 154 in fig. 10 and 11 is a chain having links that are in the shape of link plates of a bicycle chain, the chain 154 is not a bicycle chain as it would not be able to cooperate with a sprocket of a bicycle.
In re ¶¶ 75, 95, 113, 114: the use of the term Bluetooth and Keurig, which are trade names or marks used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The terms should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore, the terms should be capitalized wherever they appear or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM, or ® following the terms.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 24-26, 35 and 38 are objected to because of the following informalities.
In re claims 24 and 35: the claims would be in better form if “the receptacle to be filled with ground material is a spice jar” were replaced with –the reservoir portion is a spice jar–. Note that this suggestion would also overcome the corresponding drawing objection above.
In re claim 25: the claim would be in better form if “can” were deleted.
In re claim 26: the claim would be in better form if “the one or more chains comprise a bicycle chain” were replaced with –the one or more chains comprise links shaped like link plates of a bicycle chain–. Note that this suggestion would also overcome the corresponding drawing objection above.
In re claim 38: the claim would be in better form if “the need for” were deleted.
Appropriate correction for the above list of issues is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 22-27, 29 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Reyes et al. (WO 2019/147819, which corresponds to previously-cited US 2021/0345828 but has a better date of publishing).
In re claims 22 and 29: Reyes discloses a combination grinding and filling device comprising:
a grinder portion 100 comprising one or more chains 128 coupled to a motor 152 (fig. 2, 9) and capable of circular or rotational motion (¶ 98),
wherein the grinder portion 100 can be removably attached to a reservoir portion 180, wherein the reservoir portion is capable of holding a desired receptacle to be filled with a ground material received from the grinder portion (see fig. 13, 9; for example, the reservoir portion 180 is capable of holding a receptacle having sides configured to fit within the rim 106 and chamber 116),
wherein the reservoir portion 180 does not comprise a tamper (fig. 13) [Richmond et al. (US 2018/ 0213838) also teaches combination grinding and filling devices having reservoir portions 110 that do not comprise a tamper, see at least fig. 6-9 and 31-34].
Reyes does not explicitly disclose the circular or rotational motion creates a vortex in the device that facilitates movement of the ground material from the grinder portion to the receptacle in the reservoir portion and, from claim 29, the vortex uniformly and evenly distributes the ground material in the receptacle.
However, the applicant is reminded that claim limitations consisting of functional language and/or intended use language are given little, if any, patentable weight as the apparatus must merely be capable of functioning, or being used, as claimed. See MPEP § 2111.04 stating that claim scope may not be limited by claim language, such as “wherein” clauses, that do not limit a claim to a particular structure, and § 2114 stating that the manner of operating a device does not differentiate device claims from the prior art. Further, applicant is reminded that the patentability of apparatus claims must depend upon structural limitations, not mere statements of functions (see Galland-Henning Manufacturing Company et al. v. Dempster Brothers, Inc., 165 USPQ 688 (E.D. Tenn. 1970)).
Therefore, because the claims do not recite any particular feature that distinguishes the claimed combination grinding and filling device from that of Reyes, then the grinding and filling device of Reyes must be considered to be configured to perform in the claimed manner.
In re claim 23, which depends on claim 22: Reyes does not explicitly disclose the receptacle to be filled with ground material is a pre-formed cone. However, the receptacle is not a positively-recited/required feature of the claimed combination grinding and filling device since it is introduced in the intended use portion of the reservoir portion limitations recited in claim 22. And since it is not a required feature, it is not germane to the patentability of the claimed combination grinding and filling device. Consequently, the receptacle is not being given patentable weight.
In re claim 24, which depends on claim 22: Reyes does not explicitly disclose the receptacle to be filled with ground material is a spice jar. However, the receptacle is not a positively-recited/required feature of the claimed combination grinding and filling device since it is introduced in the intended use portion of the reservoir portion limitations recited in claim 22. And since it is not a required feature, it is not germane to the patentability of the claimed combination grinding and filling device. Consequently, the receptacle is not being given patentable weight.
In re claim 25, which depends on claim 22: Reyes discloses the one or more chains 128 can comprise a plurality of balls 130 and chain links 132 (fig. 8 and ¶ 90).
In re claim 26, which depends on claim 22: Reyes does not explicitly disclose the one or more chains comprise a bicycle chain.
However, the examiner notes that there is no criticality established within the applicant’s disclosure for the use of a chain, let alone a chain having links inspired by a chain of a bicycle. Fig. 11 of the drawings “depicts various blades that can be used with the invention” (see ¶ 30 of the specification). Also see ¶¶ 49-67 which describe all the different types of chains that the applicant considers acceptable and different variations of features of each type of chain. For at least these reasons, the claimed feature cannot be the basis for patentability and, accordingly, the claim is not being given patentable weight.
In re claim 27, which depends on claim 22: Reyes discloses the one or more chains are between 25 mm and 125 mm in length (¶ 16).
In re claim 32, which depends on claim 22: Reyes discloses the reservoir portion is adapted to hold two or more receptacles (see fig. 13, 9; for example, the reservoir portion 180 is capable of holding two or more stackable/nestable receptacles having sides configured to fit within the rim 106 and chamber 116).
Claims 30-31, 33-34, 36 and 39-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Reyes, in view of Richmond et al. (US 2018/0213838).
In re claim 30, which depends on claim 22: Reyes does not explicitly disclose a filter portion removably attached between the grinder portion and the reservoir portion.
Richmond et al. (US 2018/0213838) is in the same field of endeavor and teaches a filter portion 112 removably attached between a grinder portion (the upper portion having hinge 152) and a reservoir portion 110 (fig. 9 and ¶ 74). Richmond teaches the filter portion ensures only ground material of a desired size pass through the filter into the reservoir portion (¶ 74). Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Reyes in the claimed manner, thereby providing Reyes with means for filtering out a desired size of ground material, as taught by Richmond.
In re claim 31, which depends on claim 22: Reyes does not explicitly disclose the device is a handheld device.
Richmond discloses a combination grinding and filling device that is a handheld device (¶ 4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Reyes such that it is a handheld device, as taught by Richmond, because selecting from known sizes of combination grinding and filling devices allowing for sufficient functionality would be obvious to the ordinary artisan.
In re claim 33: Reyes discloses a method of grinding a starting material and filling a receptacle with ground material comprising:
providing the device of claim 22 (see claim 22 above);
obtaining a starting material to be ground (¶¶ 1-2);
placing the starting material in the grinder portion of the device of claim 22 (¶ 134);
removably attaching the reservoir portion to the grinder portion (¶¶ 134, 136);
positioning the grinder portion such that the one or more chains contact the starting material (¶ 134);
activating the grinder portion to cause rotational or reciprocal motion of the one or more chains within the grinder portion (¶ 6);
disengaging the reservoir portion from the grinder portion (¶ 136).
Reyes does not explicitly disclose placing a receptacle into the reservoir portion, and removing the receptacle filled with ground material.
Richmond et al. (US 2018/0213838) teaches a method of grinding a starting material and filling a receptacle with ground material comprising:
obtaining a starting material to be ground (abstract, “smokeable material”);
placing the starting material in the grinder portion (the upper portion having hinge 152, fig. 9);
placing a desired receptacle 120 into the reservoir portion 110;
removably attaching the reservoir portion to the grinder portion (note that the claim does not require direct attachment);
positioning the grinder portion such that the one or more cutting means 230 contact the starting material;
activating the grinder portion (via motor 246) to cause rotational or reciprocal motion of the one or more cutting means within the grinder portion;
disengaging the reservoir portion 110 from the grinder portion; and
removing the receptacle 120 filled with ground material (fig. 9).
Because Richmond teaches the concept of providing and filling a receptacle positioned in a reservoir portion of a grinding device, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Reyes in the claimed manner, since it has been held that applying known techniques to yield predictable results requires only routine skill in the art (KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)). The receptacle could be, e.g., a rolling paper for a smokeable material.
In re claim 34, which depends on claim 33: modified Reyes does not explicitly teach the receptacle is a pre-formed cone.
However, Richmond teaches a reservoir portion 110 configured to hold a receptacle 120 that is a pre-formed cone (fig. 9). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Reyes with an additional reservoir portion that is configured to receive a pre-formed cone as the receptacle, thereby allowing for the filling of wrappers for smokeable materials in a simpler manner, as taught by Richmond.
In re claim 36, which depends on claim 33: Richmond et al. (US 2018/0213838) teaches a filter portion 112 removably attached between a grinder portion (the upper portion having hinge 152) and a reservoir portion 110, wherein starting material is placed between the grinder portion and the filter portion (fig. 9 and ¶ 74). Richmond teaches the filter portion ensures only ground material of a desired size pass through the filter into the reservoir portion (¶ 74). Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Reyes in the claimed manner, thereby providing Reyes with means for filtering out a desired size of ground material, as taught by Richmond.
In re claim 39, which depends on claim 33: Reyes discloses the receptacle 180 is filled with the ground material without a packing means (fig. 2, 13 and ¶ 136).
In re claim 40, which depends on claim 33: Reyes discloses the step of activating the grinder portion 100 results in grinding of the starting material and filling of the receptacle 180 in the reservoir with ground material substantially simultaneously (fig. 2, 13 and ¶ 136).
In re claim 41, which depends on claim 33: Reyes does not explicitly disclose the device is a handheld device.
Richmond discloses a combination grinding and filling device that is a handheld device (¶ 4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Reyes such that it is a handheld device, as taught by Richmond, because selecting from known sizes of combination grinding and filling devices allowing for sufficient functionality would be obvious to the ordinary artisan.
Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Reyes, in view of Richmond, and further in view of Spielman (US 2021/0100277).
In re claim 35, which depends on claim 33: modified Reyes does not teach the receptacle to be filled with ground material is a spice jar.
Spielman is in the same field of endeavor and teaches a receptacle 16 to be filled with ground material is a jar capable of storing spices (fig. 2 and ¶ 66). Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Richmond with a spice jar for receiving and storing the ground material thereby providing Richmond a means for storing ground material for future use, as taught by Spielman.
Claims 37 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Reyes, in view of Richmond, as evidenced by Wabnig (EP 1479 441 A2) and Cheng et al. (CN 112 206 874 A), and further in view of Bildstein et al. (WO 2011/127500 A1).
In re claims 37 and 38, which depend on claims 33 and 37: modified Reyes does not explicitly teach the rotational or reciprocal motion of the one or more chains within the grinder portion creates a vortex in the device that facilitates movement of ground material from the grinder portion to the receptacle in the reservoir portion and, from claim 38, wherein the vortex uniformly and evenly distributes ground material in the receptacle without the need for a tamper, or blender, or mixer, or spreader, or vibrator, or packing means.
However, it is well known in the particular comminuting art wherein chains are used as the comminuting means that one or more chains create a vortex within a comminuting chamber that facilitates movement of ground material, as evidenced by Wabnig (see § [0009]) and Cheng (see § [0041]).
And Bildstein provides a device for producing cigarettes (title) and teaches a grinder portion that creates a vortex that facilitates movement of ground material from the grinder portion to a receptacle evenly and uniformly without the need for a tamper, or blender, or mixer, or spreader, or vibration means (§ [0003], ¶ 3; and § [0004]; although Bildstein teaches pressing a strand of tobacco with a pressing device, note that the pressing is not required to achieve even distribution of the material as the pressing comes after the even distribution has already been achieved). Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Richmond such that ground material is evenly and uniformly distributed by the vortex created in the grinder portion of Richmond, thereby ensuring the smokable products of Richmond are neither filled with too much nor too little ground material, as taught by Bildstein.
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendment necessitated any new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office Action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JARED O BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725