Claim Objections
Claims 2-3 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Recitation of “SP” in claims 2-3 should be spelled out as “solubility parameter (SP)”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2017/0281535 A1 to Singh et al. (hereinafter “Singh”) as evidenced by Coleman et al., Polymer, 1990, Vol. 31, pages 1187-1203 (hereinafter “Coleman”).
Regarding claim 1, Singh discloses a microneedle array (corresponding to the microprojection array 60 (see Fig. 9B) formed of a needle portion (corresponding to microprojections 66) and a substrate portion (corresponding to the base part 68), the needle portion containing a valuable material e.g. parathyroid hormone (PTH) in a base containing a water-soluble polymer as a main component (see paragraph [0081]), the substrate portion does not contain the valuable material (paragraph [0081]), and the base of the substrate portion contains a water-insoluble polymer as a main component (paragraph [0081]).
Singh further discloses polyvinyl alcohol (PVA) as water soluble polymer (see Examples B1-B2 in Table 4-1 in paragraph [0127]) which has solubility parameter (SP) value of 12.6 (according to Table 3 of the present application). Singh further discloses Eudragit EPO 100 which is polymethacrylate (see paragraph [0083]) as water insoluble polymer (see Examples C1-C2 in Table 5-1 in paragraph [0130]), but does not disclose SP value.
Coleman discloses SP value of polymethacrylate i.e. poly(methyl methacrylate)(PMMA) of 9.1-12.8 (see Table 5 on page 1192). Hence, a difference between the SP value of the water-soluble polymer of PVA (12.6) in the needle portion and the SP value of the water insoluble polymer of PMMA (9.1-12.8) as disclosed in Singh is 4 or less (0.2-3.5).
Regarding claims 2 and 6, Singh discloses that the water-insoluble polymer in the substrate portion is a cellulose derivative such as cellulose acetate or ethyl cellulose which has SP value of 9.0 or more (according to Table 3 of the present application, SP value of ethyl cellulose is 10.3; SP value of cellulose acetate is 11.0 as disclosed in paragraph [0014] of the present application). Also, SP value of PMMA is 9.1-12.8.
Regarding claim 4, Singh discloses that the needle portion has a height of at least about 100 µm to 1 mm (within the claimed length of 0.02 to 1.5 mm) and has a conical shape or a triangular or polygonal pyramid shape (see paragraph [0063]).
Regarding claim 7, Singh discloses that a tip end portion (corresponding to the distal tip 62) of the needle portion contains a valuable material and a root portion (corresponding to the upper part near the flat base 64) of the needle portion does not contain a valuable material (paragraph [0081]) and includes a base mainly formed of a water-insoluble polymer (Fig. 9B; paragraph [0081]).
Regarding claim 9, Singh discloses a method for manufacturing the microneedle array (see Example 3; paragraphs [0123]-[0126]) comprising:
1) a step of preparing a mold having a concave microneedle pattern by a lithography method or a precision metal working method (see paragraphs [0068], [0076]);
2) a step of applying an aqueous solution containing a valuable material and a base water-soluble polymer i.e. first layer to a surface of the mold and drying the aqueous solution (see paragraphs [0082], [0084], [0125]);
3) a step of applying a base solution formed of an organic solvent of a base containing a water-insoluble polymer as a main component e.g. a second layer to a surface of a mold after the drying step and drying the base solution (see paragraphs [0082], [0084], [0126]); and
4) a step of taking out the formed microneedle array from the mold i.e. demolded (see Example 3; paragraph [0126]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh.
Singh teaches the microneedle array as described above.
Claim 5 differs from Singh in reciting that the substrate portion has a thickness of 0.01 to 1.0 mm.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the substrate portion has a thickness of 0.01 to 1.0 mm depending on necessary support for needle portion of water soluble polymer, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim 8 differs from Singh in reciting that a length of the root portion formed of the base containing no valuable material and containing a water-insoluble polymer as a main component is 60% or less of a needle length of the entire needle portion.
Singh teaches that the root portion formed of the base contains no valuable material and contains a water-insoluble polymer as a main component (see paragraph [0081]; Fig. 9B).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a length of the root portion formed of the base to be 60% or less of a needle length of the entire needle depending on necessary support for tip portion of water soluble polymer, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-2 and 4-9 have been considered but are moot because Singh discloses the limitation of claim 1 reciting “wherein a difference between the solubility parameter (SP) value of the water-soluble polymer in the needle portion and the solubility parameter (SP) value of the water-insoluble polymer in the substrate portion is 4 or less”. Singh discloses polyvinyl alcohol (PVA) as water soluble polymer (see Examples B1-B2 in Table 4-1 in paragraph [0127]) which has solubility parameter (SP) value of 12.6 (according to Table 3 of the present application). Singh further discloses Eudragit EPO 100 which is polymethacrylate (see paragraph [0083]) as water insoluble polymer (see Examples C1-C2 in Table 5-1 in paragraph [0130]), but does not disclose SP value. However, Coleman provides evidence that SP value of polymethacrylate i.e. poly(methyl methacrylate)(PMMA) of 9.1-12.8 (see Table 5 on page 1192). Hence, a difference between the SP value of the water-soluble polymer of PVA (12.6) in the needle portion and the SP value of the water insoluble polymer of PMMA (9.1-12.8) as disclosed in Singh is 4 or less (0.2-3.5).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/John Kim/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1772
JK
9/2/26