DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Claim 11 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 5/21/2026.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
On page 3, line 18, change “where” to –were--,
On page 5, line 31-32, “spend reducing agent” requires grammatical correction
On page 11, line 7, “spend reducing agent” requires grammatical correction.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: transporting means in claim 1, “gas sealing means” in claim 1, “fluidizing means” in claim 4.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 and 17-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2017/125579 (WO ‘579). WO ‘579 discloses a manufacturing apparatus (20) for providing a reduced cementitious material, the apparatus comprising: a heating device (21) , configured to heat a cementitious material precursor to or above an activation temperature; a reducing device (SEE Figure 1) configured to accommodate the cementitious material and to reduce said cementitious material to output a reduced cementitious material; a cooling device (27), configured to cool the reduced cementitious material such that the cementitious material is at least partially maintained in its reduced state; the reducing device (Figure 1) includes a first end (11) being connected to the heating device (SEE Figure 2) and comprising gas sealing means (10), such that a heated cementitious material from the heating device is feedable to the first end of the reducing device substantially without any gas from the heating device entering the reducing device; a second end (5) connected to the cooling device, such that the reduced cementitious material passed through the reducing device is provided to the cooling device; transporting means (2) configured to transport the cementitious material from the first end to the second end (SEE page 6, line 31 – page 7, line 30); and wherein the reducing device is configured to receive a reducing agent (pressurized gas via gas distributor 3) or a precursor for a reducing agent so that a reducing atmosphere is achieved and maintained in the reducing device. In re claim 2, WO ‘579 further discloses that the second end (5) being connected to the cooling device and comprising gas sealing means such that reduced cementitious material passed through the reducing device (Figure 1) is provided to the cooling device substantially without any gases from the reducing device entering the cooling device (WO ‘579 describes the loop as a gas tight environment. In re claim 3, WO ‘579 discloses that the reducing device (Figure 1) and the transporting means (2) are configured for accommodating the cementitious material in powder form and wherein the cementitious material is transported from the first end to the second end in a dense phase (the loop seal is sized to accommodate cement meal and not cement meal combined with alternative fuel, ie: the meal is in powder form). In re claim 4, WO ‘579 discloses that the reducing device is configured with fluidizing means (3) to fluidize the cementitious material (page 6, line 31 – page 7, line 30). In re claim 5, WO ‘479 discloses that the fluidizing means is configured to fluidize by means of pulses of gas (page 6, line 31 – page 7, line 30). In re claims 6 & 7, WO ‘579 discloses that the gas sealing means is a loop seal (SEE Abstract, for example and page 6, lines 19-22). In re claim 8, WO ‘579 discloses
a gas outlet (34) “for removing an excess amount of gas comprising spent reducing agent from the reducing device” is being regarded as a statement of intended use wherein it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987). In re claim 9, WO ‘579 discloses that the cooling device (27) is configured to cool at oxidizing conditions (SEE page 8, lines 29-36). In re claim 10, WO ‘579 discloses that the cooling device comprises one or more of cooling (SEE clinker cooler 27). In re claim 17, WO ‘579 discloses a gas outlet (34) for removing an excess amount of gas comprising spent reducing agent from the reducing device and wherein the heating device is positioned and configured so that the excess amount of gas is provided to the heating device (via 37, SEE Figure 2). In re claim 18, WO ‘579 discloses that the cooling device is configured to cool at oxidizing conditions via air quenching (page 8, lines 29-36). In re claim 19, WO ‘579 discloses that the cementitious material is a powder and the reducing device is configured to fluidize the cementitious material (page 6, line 31 – page 7, line 30). In re claim 20, WO ‘579 implicitly discloses that the cementitious material is a thermally activated clay mineral containing compound (SEE page 8, lines 16-36). In re claim 21, WO ‘579 discloses that the cementitious material is cement clinker (SEE page 8, lines 16-36). In re claim 22, WO ‘579 discloses that the cementitious material is crushed or ground white cement clinker (meal, SEE page 8, lines 16-36).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. EP 0240304 similarly discloses a plant for manufacturing cement clinker including the use of gas tight seal device (16) through which burned cement clinker is dis-charged, to a cooling system such as a fluidized-bed type cooler so as to be cooled and then taken out as the final product. CN 108474618 similarly discloses the U-shaped sealing element of WO ‘579.
/GREGORY A WILSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762 August 6, 2026