DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I and Species A in the reply filed on December 20, 2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that “independent Claim 1 for an apparatus (frame) and independent Claim 18 for a method are obvious variants of each other having commensurate claim scope.” This is not found persuasive because an apparatus (machine) and a method (process) are statutorily different inventions (see MPEP 2106.03) and therefore cannot be obvious variants.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 12-20 and 22-28 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on December 20, 2025. Please note: the examiner is withdrawing all claims not directed to the elected invention of Group I. Requirement for restriction is withdrawn for Claim 11 as it has been amended to depend from claim 1.
Claim Objections
Claims 12-17 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities: although the claims are withdrawn, the text of the claim should still appear in the listing of the claims – see MPEP 714, 37 CFR 1.121(c) . Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “retraction of the first and second parts of the dental dam over each other” of Claim 3, the portions attached to the dental dam of Claims 3 and 6, the “first and second portions being independently rotatable relative to the intermediate portion” of Claim 6, the “independent rotation of each of the first and second pieces about the intermediate piece” of Claim 7, and the detents selectively engageable of Claims 5 and 8 must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Additionally, the drawings are objected to for not having reference numbers to indicate elements. See MPEP 1606.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the specification does not contain reference numbers that correlate with reference numbers on the Figures to indicate claimed subject matter.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-5 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 3, it is unclear what is meant by “retraction of the first and second parts of the dental dam over each other.” The dental dam is not shown in the Figures, so it is difficult to ascertain what specifically is meant that the first and second parts are “over” each other, i.e. do they overlap, or is one higher that the other, or do they cross.
Regarding Claims 4 and 8, it is unclear what is meant by the detent(s) being “selectively engageable” with the hinges. This appears to be a term of degree, in which case one of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to ascertain what constitutes “selectively engageable” and what does not.
Regarding Claims 4 and 5, it is unclear how a detent (singular) engaged with a hinge (singular) is capable of affecting the movement of both (plural) the first and second pieces relative to each other.
Regarding Claim 7, it is unclear how the “independent rotation of each of the first and second pieces about the intermediate piece” is possible. It appears from the drawings that the pieces rotate relative to the central axis of the hinge, not around the intermediate piece directly.
Regarding Claim 9, it is unclear what is meant by “facilitate fitting of the frame”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 6, 7, 9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ahlers (US 6,299,446 B1).
Regarding Claim 1, Ahlers discloses a frame for a dental dam (abstract), the frame comprising a body (frame of Figure 1) defining two portions (ends of frame 4 and 6) configured to engage with the dental dam and that are situated at opposite sides of the body, the body being conformationally adaptable between an open configuration (Figures 1 and 2) and a retracted configuration (Figure 4) such that the two portions are splayed away from each other in the open configuration to spread out the dental dam (as seen in Figures 1 and 2) and are drawn towards each other in the retracted configuration to fold the dental dam (as seen in Figure 4), where the body is elongated between the opposite sides from a first terminal end to a second terminal end, the second terminal end spaced apart from the first terminal end to form a gap at an end of the frame (in the retracted configuration, terminal ends at 4 and 6 are spaced apart from each other to form a gap).
Regarding Claim 3, Ahlers discloses the frame of Claim 1 and further discloses that the two portions comprise a first piece (end 4 taken with legs 3) defining the first terminal end and capable of attachment to a first part of a dental dam, and the two portions comprise a second piece (end 6 taken with legs 5) defining the second terminal end and capable of attachment to a second part of a dental dam, and the body comprises a hinge of the body (7) coupling the first piece to the second piece to allow rotation of the first and second pieces relative to each other that would allow retraction of the first and second parts of the dental dam over each other.
Regarding Claim 6, Ahlers discloses the frame of claim 1, and further discloses that the two portions include a first portion attached to a first part of the dental dam and a second portion attached to a second part of the dental dam, the first and second portions attached to each other via an intermediate portion (where the intermediate portion is the hinge pin 7) disposed between the first and second portions, the first and second portions being independently rotatable relative to the intermediate portion to permit the first and second parts of the dental dam to be selectively retracted towards each other (as the first and second portions would be independently rotatable relative to the hinge pin (e.g. around the hinge pin) when the other portion is held stationary).
Regarding Claim 7, Ahlers discloses the frame of claim 6, and further discloses that the first portion is a first piece, the second portion is a second piece, and the intermediate portion is an intermediate piece, the first and second pieces being hinged at opposed ends of the intermediate portion to allow independent rotation of each of the first and second pieces about the intermediate piece (as portions would be connected at opposite ends of the hinge pin, they can be considered a first piece and a second piece with an intermediate piece and are hinged at opposed ends of the intermediate portion allowing rotation about the intermediate piece).
Regarding Claim 9, Ahlers discloses the frame of Claim 1, and further discloses that the two portions comprise first and second portions (3 and 5) that extend in a common plane and connect to each other in a plane that is offset (offset seen in Figure 2) from the common plane to facilitate fitting of the frame.
Regarding Claim 11, Ahlers discloses the frame of claim 1 , and is capable for use in a dental procedure to facilitate intraprocedural access to an oral cavity of a patient, where the body is mounted over the oral cavity such that the open configuration is suitable to hinder access to the oral cavity and the retracted configuration is suitable to allow access to the oral cavity (as would be the case with use of the frame of Ahlers). Please note: as this claim is only functional in nature and does not claim additional structure, the frame of Ahlers is capable of meeting the limitation as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 5, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahlers in view of Sauveur (US 4,820,155).
Regarding Claim 4, Ahlers discloses the frame of claim 3, but does not disclose that the body includes a detent selectively engageable with the hinge to prevent rotation of the first and second pieces relative to each other. In the same art of frames for dental dams, Sauveur teaches a detent (as seen on either side of hinge at 5A and 5B) that is selectively engageable (when selected to be in an extended position it would be engaged) with the hinge and would prevent rotation of first and second pieces (2 and 3) relative to each other (as seen in Figures 2 and 3). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to construct the hinge of Ahlers with detents as taught by Sauveur to provide a more stable connection between the first and second pieces that would be less prone to deformation due to stress.
Regarding Claim 5, Ahlers in view of Sauveur discloses the frame of claim 4, and the detent of Ahlers as modified by Sauveur would be slidably engageable (as it opens it would slide into place) with the first piece to at least partially girdle the hinge to obstruct rotation of the first and second pieces about the hinge (detents would at least partially prevent rotation). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to construct the hinge of Ahlers with detents as taught by Sauveur to provide a more stable connection between the first and second pieces that would at least partially prevent rotation and therefore be less prone to deformation due to stress.
Regarding Claim 8, Ahlers discloses the frame of claim 7, but does not include a first detent selectively engageable with a first hinge hinging the first piece to the intermediate piece to prevent rotation of the first and intermediate pieces about the first hinge, and a second detent selectively engageable with a second hinge hinging the second piece to the intermediate piece to prevent rotation of the second and intermediate pieces about the second hinge. In the same art of frames for dental dams, Sauveur teaches a detent (as seen on either side of hinge at 5A and 5B) that is selectively engageable (when selected to be in an extended position it would be engaged) with the hinge and would prevent rotation of first and second pieces (2 and 3) and intermediate piece relative to each other (as seen in Figures 2 and 3). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to construct the hinge of Ahlers with detents as taught by Sauveur to provide a more stable connection between the first and second pieces that would be less prone to deformation due to stress.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahlers in view of Shanel (US 4,583,946).
Regarding Claim 10, Ahlers discloses the frame of Claim 1, but does not disclose that the body includes a plurality of spikes extending outwardly therefrom to pierce and frictionally engage with the dental dam. In the same art of frames for dental dams, Shanel teaches spikes extending from a body (as seen in Figure 9). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize the spikes of Shanel on the frame of Ahlers in order to hold the rubber sheet of a dental dam in place as is taught by Shanel (Column 7, lines 7-15).
Conclusion
/CHRISTINE L NELSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3772 /EDWARD MORAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772