Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Examiner’s Note
It is noted that the status identifiers for claims 1 and 12 appear to be incorrect. The claims do not appear to be amended, although the identifiers state “Currently Amended”. For the purposes of prosecution, these claims will be considered as previously presented.
Response to Arguments
The examiner replaced Brown with the teaching of Thabeth to teach the limitation “wherein the optical interfaces are mechanically and acoustically coupled to each other as well as the same acoustic transducer connected to a power source” in response to the argument in p. 1 para 9 to p. 2 para 5. Brown has been maintained for portions that were not specifically addressed in the arguments. See rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 5, 10, 11, 12, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ulrich, R. et al. DE 19811876 A1 (hereinafter Ulrich) and in view of US9116102B2 (hereinafter Thabeth).
Regarding claim 1, Ulrich teaches a self-cleaning probe for use in optical measurements in a flow containing a known liquid (the probe is shown in fig. 2; the known liquid is water or effluent, Abstract lines 1-2), the probe comprising a measuring cell (fig. 2 housing 1, p. 3 para 2) defining a passage for the liquid to be measured to pass through (the liquid is inside the walls of housing 1), “the probe including minimum a first and second optical interface on opposite sides of the passage” (this is shown in fig. 2, p. 3 para 2), both being in communication with the known liquid (this is shown in fig. 2), the probe comprising at least one optical light source emitting an optical signal (fig. 2 element 7, p. 3 para 2) and a detector for receiving an optical signal having propagated partly or fully through the liquid flow from the first to the second interface (fig. 2 element 8, p. 3 para 2), adapted to produce vibrations in the frequency range of 5kHz-1MHz” (fig. 2 elements 11, Abstract lines 1-6; a piezoelectrical device requires a power source, see evidentiary reference US20160146721A1 para [0032] lines 1-4), “the vibrations being substantially perpendicular to the plane of the interfaces and the acoustic energy of the vibrations of the optical interfaces exceeding the cavitation threshold in the known liquid, so as to remove deposits on the optical interfaces” (Abstract lines 1-6, fig. 2 element 5).
Ulrich does not teach wherein the optical interfaces are mechanically and acoustically coupled to each other as well as the same acoustic transducer connected to a power source.
Thabeth, from the same field of endeavor as Ulrich, teaches wherein the optical interfaces are mechanically and acoustically coupled to each other as well as the same acoustic transducer connected to a power source (figs. 3-4, piezoelectric transducers 30 is represents the acoustic transducer and measurement window 12 is the optical interfaces).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teaching of Thabeth to Ulrich to have wherein the optical interfaces are mechanically and acoustically coupled to each other as well as the same acoustic transducer connected to a power source in order to remove fouling from the measurement window (Abstract line 11).
Regarding claim 2, Ulrich teaches “probe according to claim 1, wherein the first and second optical interfaces are acoustically connected to each other through the passage walls, the acoustic transducer being acoustically connected to one of the interfaces, the produced vibrations having the same direction in both interfaces” (p. 3 para 3; both windows can vibrate in the direction of element 5).
Regarding claim 3, the modified device of Ulrich does not teach probe according to claim 2, wherein the transducer is cylindrical, defining a coaxial space containing optical components such as source, receiver or light guides related to the optical measurements.
Thabeth, from the same field of endeavor as Ulrich, teaches probe according to claim 2, wherein the transducer is cylindrical (fig. 1 element 24 is a cylinder, col 5 lines 3-11), defining “a coaxial space containing optical components such as source, receiver or light guides related to the optical measurements” (fig. 3 shows a define coaxial space, col 5 last sentence).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teaching of Thabeth to the modified device of Ulrich to have probe according to claim 2, wherein the transducer is cylindrical, defining a coaxial space containing optical components such as source, receiver or light guides related to the optical measurements in order to clean the measurement window and mirror and/or agitate or homogenise the water/oil in the measurement (col 6 para 3).
Regarding claim 5, Ulrich teaches probe according to claim 1, wherein both optical interfaces are surfaces on windows being transparent in the range used by the optical measurements (fig. 2 shows light beam 7 passing through the transparent walls).
Regarding claim 10, Ulrich does not explicitly teach probe according to claim 1, wherein the acoustic transducer is configured to operate at a predetermined fixed frequency with equal but adjustable amplitude.
MPEP 2144.05 II-A In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 1149, 14 USPQ2d 1056, 1058 (Fed. Cir. 1990) states a routine experimentation. This means probe according to claim 1, wherein the acoustic transducer is configured to operate at a predetermined fixed frequency (see evidentiary reference US20180369880A1 para [0021] last sentence) with equal but adjustable amplitude (see evidentiary reference US20180369880A1 para [0062] line 7-12) is simply a routine optimization.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply probe according to claim 1, wherein the acoustic transducer is configured to operate at a predetermined fixed frequency with equal but adjustable amplitude to the teaching of Ulrich in order to maximize the cleaning of the optical window.
Regarding claim 11, Ulrich does not explicitly teach probe according to claim 1, wherein the acoustic transducer is configured to operate at least two frequencies with equal but adjustable amplitude.
Similar to claim 10, probe according to claim 1, wherein the acoustic transducer is configured to operate at least two frequencies (see evidentiary reference US20180369880A1 para [0021] last sentence) with equal but adjustable amplitude (see evidentiary reference US20180369880A1 para [0062] line 7-12) is simply a routine optimization.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply probe according to claim 1, wherein the acoustic transducer is configured to operate at least two frequencies with equal but adjustable amplitude in order to further maximize the cleaning of the optical window.
Regarding claim 12, Ulrich teaches probe according to claim 1, wherein the probe has an elongated shape with an axial direction (fig. 2 shows housing 1 is elongated) and the passage for the liquid (this is shown in fig. 2) has a direction being essentially perpendicular to the probe axis (this is shown in fig. 2).
Regarding claim 13, Ulrich teaches probe according to claim 1, where the probe has an elongated shape with an axial direction and the transducer(s) are positioned symmetrically relative to the probe axis (fig. 2 element 11 are positioned symmetrically relative to the probe axis), transmitting longitudinal vibrations along the probe axis (this is shown in fig. 2).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ulrich and Thabeth as applied to claim(s) 1 above, and in view of Brown or Pope, J. et al., CN1672032A (hereinafter Pope).
Regarding claim 4, Ulrich does not teach probe according to claim 1, wherein the acoustic transducer is mounted in the passage wall between the optical interfaces, the produced vibrations in the interfaces having opposite directions (note this limitation is fig. 3 of the instant application).
Brown, from the same field of endeavor as Ulrich, teaches probe according to claim 1, wherein the acoustic transducer is mounted in the passage wall between the optical interfaces, the produced vibrations in the interfaces having opposite directions (fig. 3 element 25 is placed on the other side of element 47, para [0039] lines 10-12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teaching of Brown to Ulrich to have probe according to claim 1, wherein the acoustic transducer is mounted in the passage wall between the optical interfaces, the produced vibrations in the interfaces having opposite directions in order to minimize or eliminate contamination on measuring surface(s) that may affect the optical measurements (para [0015] lines 5-8).
Or
Pope, from the same field of endeavor as Ulrich, teaches probe according to claim 1, wherein the acoustic transducer is mounted in the passage wall between the optical interfaces, the produced vibrations in the interfaces having opposite directions (fig. 12 element 50 is placed in the same position as fig. 3 of the instant application; p. 6 para 5 lines 2-4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teaching of Brown to Ulrich to have probe according to claim 1, wherein the acoustic transducer is mounted in the passage wall between the optical interfaces, the produced vibrations in the interfaces having opposite directions in order to clean the window and to eliminate coal (p. 6 para 5 lines 2-9).
Claim(s) 6, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ulrich and Thabeth as applied to claim(s) 1 above, and in view of Wang, P., US20160146721A1 (hereinafter Wang).
Regarding claim 6, the modified device of Ulrich fails to teach probe according to claim 1, wherein an optical signal travel from source side at first interface window, through two windows and is reflected from optical components being positioned behind second window interface, returning to the optical detector positioned at the first interface side, together with the source.
Wang, from the same field of endeavor as Ulrich, teaches “probe according to claim 1, wherein an optical signal travel from source side at first interface window, through two windows and is reflected from optical components being positioned behind second window interface, returning to the optical detector positioned at the first interface side, together with the source” (this entire limitation is shown in fig. 3, para [0038] lines 6-10)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teaching of Wang to the modified device of Ulrich to have probe according to claim 1, wherein an optical signal travel from source side at first interface window, through two windows and is reflected from optical components being positioned behind second window interface, returning to the optical detector positioned at the first interface side, together with the source in order to for the light to reflect multiple times in the sample thus increasing the accuracy of the measurements.
Regarding claim 7, the modified device of Ulrich fails to teach probe according to claim 1, wherein the transducer is constituted by at least one piezoelectric element connected to a control unit.
Wang, from the same field of endeavor as Ulrich, teaches probe according to claim 1, wherein the transducer is constituted by at least one piezoelectric element (para [0032] lines 1-4) connected to a control unit (para [0034] lines 5-12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teaching of Wang to the modified device of Ulrich to have according to claim 1, wherein the transducer is constituted by at least one piezoelectric element connected to a control unit in order to control the transducer in specified manner by the user (para [0034] lines 5-12).
Claim(s) 8, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ulrich and Thabeth as applied to claim(s) 1 above, and in view of US20160349157A1 (hereinafter Brown).
Regarding claim 8, the modified device of Ulrich does not teach probe according to claim 1, wherein the optical detector is adapted to recognize reflections or backscatter from deposits on the optical interfaces and to initiate production of the vibration and thus the cleaning process, and to stop them when the reflections or backscatter are within a predetermined limit.
Brown, from the same field of endeavor as Ulrich, teaches probe according to claim 1, wherein the optical detector is adapted to recognize reflections or backscatter from deposits on the optical interfaces and to initiate production of the vibration and thus the cleaning process, and to stop them when the reflections or backscatter are within a predetermined limit (para [0048] last sentence).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teaching of Brown to Ulrich to have probe according to claim 1, wherein the optical detector is adapted to recognize reflections or backscatter from deposits on the optical interfaces and to initiate production of the vibration and thus the cleaning process, and to stop them when the reflections or backscatter are within a predetermined limit in order to obtain the desired measurement accuracy (para [0048] last sentence).
Regarding claim 9, the modified device of Ulrich does not teach probe according to claim 8, wherein the acoustic transducer is configured to adjust the emitted energy, frequency and/or amplitude, until the optical receiver detects that the deposits have been removed.
Brown, from the same field of endeavor as Ulrich, teaches probe according to claim 8, wherein the acoustic transducer is configured to adjust the emitted energy, frequency and/or amplitude (para [0049] lines 3-6), until the optical receiver detects that the deposits have been removed (para [0048] last sentence).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teaching of Brown to Ulrich to have probe according to claim 8, wherein the acoustic transducer is configured to adjust the emitted energy, frequency and/or amplitude, until the optical receiver detects that the deposits have been removed in order to obtain the desired measurement accuracy (para [0048] last sentence).
Conclusion
/ROBERTO FABIAN JR/ Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/Kara E. Geisel/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877