DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The Amendment filed August 19, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1 and 7 have been amended; claims 9-22 have been withdrawn previously; and claim 8 has been cancelled previously. Claims 1-7 and 23 are currently examined herein.
Status of the Rejection
Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome each claim objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed June 30, 2026.
The specification objection from the previous non-final office action is maintained.
The claim interpretations under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) from the previous office action are essentially maintained and modified in response to the amendment.
All 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejections from the previous office action are essentially maintained and modified in response to the amendment.
Specification
Applicant amended the specification on May 27, 2026 by adding “Appendix to the specification”, which was not present in the original specification, thus it is objected to the amendment.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1, “a measuring means for measuring an electrical property of a single biological cell present in a solution”, is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) . Prong 1: a measuring means for (“means for”), prong 2: measuring an electrical property of a single biological cell present in a solution … (functional language), prong 3: sufficient structure for performing the function not recited. Therefore, claim 1 invokes 112(f). The corresponding structure for performing the functions is described in the specification (paragraph [0154] in PGPub) such as “The measuring means can be a handheld portable multimeter, and electrical resistance meter, an electrical capacitance meter, an electrical voltage meter, an electrophysiology amplifier, etc.”
Claim 1, “a sampling and injecting means configured for penetration of a cell membrane for sampling said solution, a membrane of the single biological cell, and/or an intracellular fluid of the single biological cell and for injecting a material into said single biological cell”, is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). Prong 1: a sampling and injecting means (“means”), prong 2: configured for penetration of a cell membrane for sampling said solution, a membrane of the single biological cell, and/or an intracellular fluid of the single biological cell and for injecting a material into said single biological cell (functional language), prong 3: sufficient structure for performing the function not recited. Therefore, claim 1 invokes 112(f). The corresponding structure for performing the functions is described in the specification (paragraph [0142] in PGPub) such as sampling means (32) comprises a micropipette (43) having a sharp tip (45) (made from glass, plastic, carbon fiber, silicon, etc.) filled with an electrolyte.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mor et al. (WO2020077244A1), and in view of Vasylyev et al. (US20050255446A1).
Regarding claim 1, Mor teaches a detection apparatus (an apparatus comprising a bore pipette as shown in Fig.1 [Ln 7-24 on page 13]) for testing biological cells (the large bore pipettes for measuring cell resistance, real-time measurement of membrane resistance and/or capacitance [Ln 11-12, 23-24 on page 13]; thus the disclosed apparatus is configured to perform the intended use of testing biological cells), the apparatus comprising:
a measuring means (an electrical resistance meter connected to the injection pipette tip [claim 1]; Fig.1 shows an electrophysiological amplifier 6 connected to the electrode wire of the injection micropipette 2 [Ln 30-34 on page 16]; measurement device comprising the electrical resistance meter and the electrophysiological amplifier 6 that is connected to the electrode wire of the pipette is deemed as the measuring means) for measuring an electrical property of a single biological cell present in a solution (for measuring membrane resistance [Ln 11-12, 23-24 on page 13] of a single biological cell 1 present in a petri dish with extracellular solution 7 as shown in Fig.1);
a sampling and injection means (a pipette tip as shown in Fig.1; an injection pipette having a tip [claims 1 and 3]; a commercial egg/cell glass injection pipette with a tip curved at 30 degrees was attached to the right manipulator [Ln 27-28 on page 16]; the pipette tip is deemed as the sampling and injection means) configured for penetration of a cell membrane for sampling a membrane of the single biological cell and for injecting a material into said single biological cell (the tip is configured to penetrate a membrane of the cell, and wherein the electrical resistance meter is connected directly or indirectly to the injection pipette tip [claim 1]; Fig.1 shows the pipette tip for sampling a membrane of the single biological cell 1 for measuring membrane resistance and/or capacitance [Ln 18-24 on page 13; Ln 3-6 on page 12]; injecting material into the cell through the injection pipette tip [Ln 5-6 on page 5]; Material can be injected into the cell via an injection micropipette 2 that is coupled to an electrophysiological amplifier 6 [Ln 10-12 on page 17]. Thus, the pipette tip of the injection micropipette is configured to perform the claimed functions), and
an adaptor (Figs.15A-15B show an adaptor for holding a pipette having a wire connected to the electrode wire on one end and connected to an alligator clip of a cable that can connect to one or more measuring devices [Ln 25-28 on page 6]) distinct from and located between said sampling and injecting means (pipette tip) and said measuring means (measurement device such as electrical resistance meter and/or amplifier disposed outside of the pipette) surrounding an electrically conductive material (the pipette having an electrical wire in the pipette lumen [Ln 18-22 on page 13]; electrolyte in the pipette [Ln 17 on page 12]; both the electrical wire and the electrolyte in the pipette are deemed as the electrically conductive material).
Mor is silent to wherein the adaptor is an electrically insulating component having resistance to an alkaline solution of pH of 8 to 11 containing chlorine ions, and wherein said electrically insulating component comprises sealing material which maintains positive pressure of air during use of said sampling and injection means.
Vasylyev teaches a perfusion system and apparatus for high throughput patch clamp measurements. Each patch clamp configuration comprises a cell sealed to a pipette (title and abstract). Fig.4C shows the single pipette 40 is held in place by a polyurethane (or other polymer or similar material) tube 54 [para. 0079], and the polyurethane tube 54 surrounds an electrically conductive material (electrode 4 and solution inside the pipette 40). The polyurethane tube 54 further connects plastic fixtures 56 comprising barbed fittings to help ensure an airtight seal between the tube 54 and plastic fixtures 56, which may help to prevent outside air from entering the pipette 40 [para. 0082]. Thus, Vasylyev teaches an adaptor (combined polyurethane tube 54 and plastic fixture 56 disposed within the polyurethane tube 54 as shown in Fig.4C is deemed as the adaptor) for holding a pipette 40. The adaptor is deemed as the electrically insulating component having resistance to an alkaline solution of pH 8 to 11 containing chlorine solutions since polyurethane tube has resistance to an alkaline solution of pH 8 to 11 containing chlorine solutions. Note that the disclosed polyurethane material of the electrically insulating component is the same as that used in the instant application, as evidenced by the last column in Table 3 of the instant specification. The plastic fixture is deemed as the sealing material which is capable of maintaining positive pressure of air during use since it comprises barbed fittings to help ensure an airtight seal between the tube 54 and plastic fixtures 56, which may help to prevent outside air from entering the pipette 40.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the adaptor in Mor to an adaptor comprising a polyurethane tube comprising plastic fixture disposed inside the polyurethane tube, which is distinct from and located between the sampling and injecting means and the measuring means surrounding the electrically conductive material, as taught by combined Mor and Vasylyev, since Vasylyev teaches the suitable alternative adaptor for holding the pipette in place for measuring electrical properties of the cell sealed to the pipette [para. 0079 and abstract in Vasylyev]. Furthermore, the selection of a known material for the adaptor, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art [MPEP § 2144.07].
Since the disclosed electrically insulating component comprises the polyurethane tube, and its material is the same as the material of the electrically insulating component used in this instant application (see the last column in Table 3 in instant specification), it is contended that the electrically insulating component of the prior art also has resistance to an alkaline solution of pH 8 to 11 containing chlorine ions. Accordingly, products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties, and thus, the claimed property (i.e. the electrically insulating component has resistance to an alkaline solution of pH 8 to 11 containing chlorine ions), is necessarily present in the prior art material. The courts have held that “[p]roducts of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2112.01 (II).
The modified adaptor further comprises sealing material (plastic fixture disposed within the polyurethane tube to hold the pipette), which is capable of maintaining positive pressure of air during use of said sampling and injecting means since the plastic fixture comprises barbed fittings to help ensure an airtight seal between the polyurethane tube and the plastic fixture, which may help to prevent outside air from entering the pipette [para. 0082 in Vasylyev].
Regarding claim 2, modified Mor teaches the detection apparatus of claim 1, and Mor teaches wherein said electrical property is selected from the group consisting of membrane resistance (membrane resistance [Ln 5 on page 10; Ln 23-24 on page 13]), wherein said measuring means comprises an electrical resistance meter (an electrical resistance meter is connected directly or indirectly to the injection pipette tip [claim 1; Ln 12-14 on page 26]).
Regarding claim 3, modified Mor teaches the detection apparatus of claim 1, and Mor teaches wherein the electrically conductive material comprises a metal (electrical wire [Ln 20-22 on page 13]; electrical conductors include metal [e.g., copper, gold, silver] [Ln 23-26 on page 8]; metal wire selected from a silver wire and a copper wire [claim 9]) and/or a conductive fluid (electrical conductors include fluid [e.g., a liquid or a gel] containing charged particles [e.g., electrolytes] [Ln 25-27 on page 8]; the electrical conductor is an electrolyte solution [claim 10]).
Regarding claim 7, modified Mor teaches the detection apparatus of claim 1, and Mor teaches wherein the sampling and injecting means comprises a micropipette tip (These pipettes can have bore diameters that are about 4 micrometers to about 10 micrometers, or about 4 micrometers to about 7 micrometers, or about 4 micrometers to about 6 micrometers, or about 4 micrometers, or about 5 micrometers, or about 6 micrometers [Ln 14-17 on page 13]; an injection pipette having a tip [claim 1]; glass injection pipette with a tip curved at 30 degrees was attached to the right micromanipulator [Ln 28-29 on page 16]).
Regarding claim 23, modified Mor teaches the detection apparatus of claim 1, and the limitations “wherein said resistance to said alkaline solution comprises at least one property selected from the group consisting of resistance to formation of microcracks for at least 1 minute upon exposure to said alkaline solution; resistance to electrical insulation failure for at least 12 minutes upon exposure to said alkaline solution; and resistance to visible structural integrity failure for at least 20 minutes upon exposure to said alkaline solution” are inherent characteristic of the adaptor comprising the polyurethane tube, the material of which is the same as the material of the electrically insulating component used in this instant application (see the last column in Table 3 in instant specification), it is contended that the electrically insulating component of the prior art also has the same resistance as that in the instant application. Accordingly, products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties, and thus, the claimed property (i.e. said resistance to said alkaline solution comprises at least one property selected from the group consisting of resistance to formation of microcracks for at least 1 minute upon exposure to said alkaline solution; resistance to electrical insulation failure for at least 12 minutes upon exposure to said alkaline solution; and resistance to visible structural integrity failure for at least 20 minutes upon exposure to said alkaline solution), is necessarily present in the prior art material. The courts have held that “[p]roducts of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2112.01 (II).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mor and Vasylyev, as applied to claim 3 above, and in view of Cliffel et al. (US20050014129A1).
Regarding claim 4, modified Mor teaches the detection apparatus of claim 3, and Mor further teaches wherein the electrically conductive material comprises silver (a silver wire [claim 9]).
Mor is silent to wherein the silver wire is coated with chloride.
Cliffel teaches an apparatus for detecting at least one analyte of interest either produced or consumed by a plurality of cell (abstract) and further teaches wherein the electrode is coated with silver chloride (A 2 mm wide pad 3101 of platinum on the glass substrate is coupled to interdigitated microstrip electrodes 3102 and 3103 that are five microns wide and separated by five microns and thus forming a plurality of fingers. Each of the individual fingers can be coated with silver/silver chloride [para. 0251]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the silver wire in modified Mor to silver wire coated with chloride, as taught by Cliffel, since Cliffel teaches silver coated with chloride as a suitable alternative electrode material for testing biological cells [para. 0251 and abstract]. Furthermore, the selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art [MPEP § 2144.07].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
Regarding claim 5, modified Mor teaches the detection apparatus of claim 3.
Note that claim 1 recites “an electrically insulating component distinct from and located between said sampling and injecting means and said measuring means surround an electrically conductive material”, and claim 5 further recites “wherein the electrically conductive material comprises a mineral oil”. Thus, claim 5 requires the electrically insulating component (which is the adaptor made of polyurethane as outlined in the rejection of claim 1 above) surrounding the electrically conductive material, which comprises a mineral oil. Mor teaches a droplet of commercial MII medium was placed on a petri dish. Mineral oil was added until it fully covered the droplet to prevent droplet evaporation. A commercial egg/cell glass holding pipette with a tip curved at 30 degrees was attached to the left micromanipulator. A commercial egg/cell glass injection pipette with a tip curved at 30 degrees was attached to the right manipulator. Of note, the injection pipette was prefilled with MII medium and was attached to an electrophysiological headstage (available, e.g., from Axon instruments). A silver wire originating from the headstage was in contact with the MII medium in the injection pipette [Ln 22-32 on page 16]. Thus, the injection pipette was prefilled with MII medium, and the mineral oil covers the MII medium of the petri dish. Mor and other prior art of the record does not teach and/or suggest the adaptor of the injection pipette is filled with a mixture of electrolyte and mineral oil, thus does not teach and/or suggest the adaptor surrounding the electrically conductive material comprising a mineral oil required in claim 5. Claim 6 is allowable because claim 6 depends from claim 5.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see Remarks Pgs. 6-9, filed 8/19/2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejections have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant’s Argument #1:
Applicant argues at pages 6-9 that the amended claim 1 specifies that the
electrically insulating component comprises sealing material which maintains positive air pressure during use of the sampling and injecting means. Vasylyev describes a multicomponent arrangement in which polyurethane tubing is expressly distinguished from other components identified merely as "plastic." The polyurethane component itself does not provide airtight capability. The airtight connection of Vasylyev is not provided by polyurethane tube 54 alone, but by a multi-component assembly that includes additional plastic components of unspecified composition (see para. [0082]). Vasylyev provides no basis for concluding that such unspecified plastic fixtures are polyurethane, or that they possess the chemical-resistance property recited in claim 1.Vasylyev has no reason to require the polyurethane tube itself to perform all of the functions of the claimed electrically insulating component, nor does it have any reason to require the remaining plastic components of its airtight assembly to withstand the alkaline chloride-containing environment recited in claim 1. Dependent claims are allowable for the same reason for claim 1 above.
Examiner’s Response #1:
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered, but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection above. Note that the electrically insulating component of the instant application is also a multi-component assembly, as shown as the adaptor 60 in Fig.19. The instant specification discloses: The electrically insulating component (36) is provided as a connector (also referred to herein as an adapter) (60) which further serves to integrate sampling means (32) with measuring means (34) and optionally further with an injection system. The portions of connector (60) which during use are in contact with fluid of an injection system (such as aqueous solutions, air or oil) have resistance to an alkaline solution of pH 8 to 11 [para. 0156] in PG-Pub of the instant specification. Adaptor (60) further comprises sealing material(s) which maintain positive and negative pressure of air, water, or oil during the fluid micromanipulation and cell microinjection processes [para. 0160] in PG-Pub of the instant specification. Note that only the portions of the connector 60, which are in contact with fluid of an injection system (such as aqueous solutions, air or oil), have resistance to an alkaline solution of pH 8 to 11 [para. 0156]. Thus, not all components of the adaptor have resistance to an alkaline solution of pH 8 to 11 containing chloride ions, and only the portions that are in contact with fluid of an injection system have resistance to an alkaline solution of pH 8 to 11 containing chloride ions. The specification does not disclose the material and position of the sealing material, and does not disclose that the sealing material is in contact with the fluid of the injection system. Thus, the specification does not disclose that the sealing material also having resistance to an alkaline solution of pH 8 to 11 containing chloride ions.
Furthermore, the amended claim 1 recites the electrically insulating component comprises sealing material, and does not require that the sealing material to have resistance to an alkaline solution of pH 8 to 11 containing chloride ions.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHIZHI QIAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795