Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fowler et al (US 5,438,697), hereinafter Fowler.
Regarding claim 1, Fowler (Figures 1 and 5) teaches an antenna device comprising:
an exterior body (12 and 52) forming an accommodation space;
a substrate 24 accommodated in the accommodation space and held by the exterior body;
a patch antenna 22 accommodated in the accommodation space and disposed on the substrate; and
an elastic body (compressible resilient layer, col 7 lines 47-52) disposed between the exterior body and the patch antenna, wherein
the exterior body includes a case 12 located on a front surface side of the patch antenna and a base 52 located on a back surface side of the patch antenna, and
the elastic body is sandwiched between the case and the base.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2, Fowler fails to specifically teach that at least part of the elastic body contacts the exterior body and the patch antenna.
Claims 3 and 4 would have been found allowable for at least the reason for depending, either directly or indirectly, on claim 2.
Regarding claim 5, Fowler fails to specifically teach that at least part of the elastic body is disposed between the exterior body and side surfaces of the patch antenna.
Claims 9-11 and 13 would have been found allowable for at least the reason for depending, either directly or indirectly, on claim 5.
Regarding claim 6, Fowler fails to specifically teach that at least part of the elastic body is disposed between the exterior body and the front surface of the patch antenna.
Claims 7, 8 and 16 would have been found allowable for at least the reason for depending, either directly or indirectly, on claim 6.
Regarding claim 12, Fowler fails to specifically teach that the exterior body includes a first guide portion, and the elastic body includes a second guide portion to guide the first guide portion.
Claim 15 would have been found allowable for at least the reason for depending on claim 12.
Regarding claim 14, Fowler fails to specifically teach that the patch antenna includes a cable electrically connected thereto, and the elastic body has a grommet through which the cable is inserted.
Regarding claim 17, Fowler fails to further teach that the elastic body has a holding portion, and the holding portion holds the substrate.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HOANG V NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845