DETAILED ACTION
1. This communication is a first office action, non-final rejection on the merits. Claims 1-20, filed as preliminary amendment, are currently pending and have been considered below.
Response to Amendment
2. Applicant’s amendment filed February 19, 2024 amends claims 1-20. Claims 1-20 presented for Examination. Applicant’s amendment has been fully considered and entered.
Priority
3. As required by M.P.E.P.201.14(c), acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for priority based on applications filed on Aug 20, 2021 (PCT/CN2021/113833).
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/20/2024 has been considered. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Form PTO-1449 is signed and attached hereto.
Double Patenting
5. Claims 1, 2 and 14 of this application is patentably indistinct from claims 1 and 11 of Application No. 18/694649 and claims 1, 8 and 13 of Application No. 18/703162. Pursuant to 37 CFR 1.78(e) or pre-AIA 37 CFR 1.78(b), when two or more applications filed by the same applicant contain patentably indistinct claims, elimination of such claims from all but one application may be required in the absence of good and sufficient reason for their retention during pendency in more than one application. Applicant is required to either cancel the patentably indistinct claims from all but one application or maintain a clear line of demarcation between the applications. See MPEP § 822.
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Baek (US 20220416976 A1) (hereinafter Baek) in view of REN (US 20230048608 A1) (hereinafter REN).
Regarding claim 1, Baek discloses a base station for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the base station (para 31, wireless communication system supporting sidelink, including at least one processor, and at least one memory operably connectable to the at least one processor) to:
transmit a sidelink (SL) positioning reference signal (PRS) configuration on a downlink, wherein the SL PRS configuration indicates information associated with at least one SL PRS transmission burst in a slot on an unlicensed band (para 89, physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH) a (broadcast) channel on which basic (system) information that UE transmission and reception of an SL signal is transmitted, para 127, BS to the UE on the PDCCH may be referred to as downlink control information (DCI), whereas control information transmitted by the UE, para 80, frequency band of 6 GHz (or 5850 MHz, 5900 MHz, 5925 MHz, etc.) or higher included in FR1 include an unlicensed band, para 171, UE used in various systems for unlicensed band communication, unlicensed communication),
wherein the information associated with at least one SL PRS transmission burst indicates (para 177, PSFCH-PRS resource is multiplexed with the PSFCH-feedback resource in a burst form, para 223, FIG. 12(b), a PSFCH-PRS transmitted in a PSFCH-PRS resource region allocated as burst t) at least one of:
a number of symbols of the sensing region of the at least one SL PRS transmission burst (para 75-76, Table 1 below lists the number of symbols per slot (N.sup.slot.sub.symb), the number of slots per frame, Table 2 below lists the number of symbols per slot, the number of slots per frame, para 183, PRS multiplexing number indicates number of PRSs that may be multiplexed in symbols),
a number of symbols of the AGC region of the at least one SL PRS transmission burst (para 94, PSBCH mapped to symbol in the S-SSB transmitted by transmitting UE. receiving UE perform an automatic gain control (AGC) operation in period of symbol),
a number of symbols of the PRS region of the at least one SL PRS transmission burst (para 203, PRS may be contiguously or consecutively disposed or allocated in the middle of a symbol, para 207, burst for PSFCH-feedback disposed or allocated on continuous frequency resources as symbol), and
a starting symbol of the AGC region of the at least one SL PRS transmission burst or a starting symbol of the PRS region of the at least one SL PRS transmission burst (para 213, PRS frequency-hopped or repeated in every slot (or logical slot) for each of four types: (a) comb type, (b) burst -type-1, (c) burst -type-2, PRS transmission using PRS frequency hopping between different slots, para 127, UE aware of start symbol of PSCCH or number of symbols of the PSCCH).
Baek specifically fails to disclose each of the at least one SL PRS transmission burst comprises at least one of a sensing region, an automatic gain control (AGC) region, and a PRS region.
In analogous art, REN discloses each of the at least one SL PRS transmission burst comprises at least one of a sensing region, an automatic gain control (AGC) region, and a PRS region (para 18, sidelink positioning reference signal includes sidelink physical channel, a sidelink reference signal, a sidelink synchronization signal, a sidelink synchronization signal block (S-SSB), automatic gain control (AGC) information or guard period (GP) information, para 67, sidelink positioning reference signal S-PRS is located on symbol occupied by the automatic gain control signal AGC).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of user terminal to transmit a positioning reference signal (PRS) through a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) in a wireless communication system supporting sidelink communication disclosed by Baek to use terminal transmit the S-PRS to complete the positioning function, while reducing the mutual interference between the S-PRS and other sidelink physical channels as taught by REN to include PRSs transmitted by different terminals being multiplexed on AGC symbols in a comb-like mapping manner, and S-PRSs transmitted by different terminals occupying different frequency domain subcarriers; or, an S-PRS pattern on the symbol in one slot being exactly the same wherein symbol being used as automatic gain control [REN, paragraph 029].
Regarding claim 2, Baek discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE (para 31, wireless communication system supporting sidelink, including at least one processor, and at least one memory operably connectable to the at least one processor) to:
transmit a sidelink (SL) positioning reference signal (PRS) on an unlicensed band according to an SL PRS configuration (para 89, physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH) a (broadcast) channel on which basic (system) information that UE transmission and reception of an SL signal is transmitted, para 127, BS to the UE on the PDCCH may be referred to as downlink control information (DCI), whereas control information transmitted by the UE, para 80, frequency band of 6 GHz (or 5850 MHz, 5900 MHz, 5925 MHz, etc.) or higher included in FR1 include an unlicensed band, para 171, UE used in various systems for unlicensed band communication, unlicensed communication), each of the at least one SL PRS transmission burst comprises at least one of a sensing region, an automatic gain control (AGC) region, and a PRS region),
wherein the SL PRS configuration indicates information associated with at least one SL PRS transmission burst in a slot (para 177, PSFCH-PRS resource is multiplexed with the PSFCH-feedback resource in a burst form, para 223, FIG. 12(b), a PSFCH-PRS transmitted in a PSFCH-PRS resource region allocated as burst),
the SL PRS is transmitted on a first SL PRS transmission burst of the at least one SL PRS transmission burst (para 75-76, Table 1 below lists the number of symbols per slot (N.sup.slot.sub.symb), the number of slots per frame, Table 2 below lists the number of symbols per slot, the number of slots per frame, para 183, PRS multiplexing number indicates number of PRSs that may be multiplexed in symbols); and
wherein the information associated with at least one SL PRS transmission burst indicates at least one of: a number of symbols of the sensing region of the at least one SL PRS transmission burst (para 75-76, Table 1 below lists the number of symbols per slot (N.sup.slot.sub.symb), the number of slots per frame, Table 2 below lists the number of symbols per slot, the number of slots per frame, para 183, PRS multiplexing number indicates number of PRSs that may be multiplexed in symbols),
a number of symbols of the AGC region of the at least one SL PRS transmission burst (para 94, PSBCH mapped to symbol in the S-SSB transmitted by transmitting UE. receiving UE perform an automatic gain control (AGC) operation in period of symbol, para 175, symbol can be used for AGC training),
a number of symbols of the PRS region of the at least one SL PRS transmission burst (para 203, PRS may be contiguously or consecutively disposed or allocated in the middle of a symbol, para 207, burst for PSFCH-feedback disposed or allocated on continuous frequency resources as symbol), and
a starting symbol of the AGC region of the at least one SL PRS transmission burst or a starting symbol of the PRS region of the at least one SL PRS transmission burst (para 213, PRS frequency-hopped or repeated in every slot (or logical slot) for each of four types: (a) comb type, (b) burst -type-1, (c) burst -type-2, PRS transmission using PRS frequency hopping between different slots, para 127, UE aware of start symbol of PSCCH or number of symbols of the PSCCH).
Baek specifically fails to disclose each of the at least one SL PRS transmission burst comprises at least one of a sensing region, an automatic gain control (AGC) region, and a PRS region.
In analogous art, REN discloses each of the at least one SL PRS transmission burst comprises at least one of a sensing region, an automatic gain control (AGC) region, and a PRS region (para 18, sidelink positioning reference signal includes sidelink physical channel, a sidelink reference signal, a sidelink synchronization signal, a sidelink synchronization signal block (S-SSB), automatic gain control (AGC) information or guard period (GP) information, para 67, sidelink positioning reference signal S-PRS is located on symbol occupied by the automatic gain control signal AGC).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of user terminal to transmit a positioning reference signal (PRS) through a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) in a wireless communication system supporting sidelink communication disclosed by Baek to use terminal transmit the S-PRS to complete the positioning function, while reducing the mutual interference between the S-PRS and other sidelink physical channels as taught by REN to include PRSs transmitted by different terminals being multiplexed on AGC symbols in a comb-like mapping manner, and S-PRSs transmitted by different terminals occupying different frequency domain subcarriers; or, an S-PRS pattern on the symbol in one slot being exactly the same wherein symbol being used as automatic gain control [REN, paragraph 029].
Regarding claim 3, Baek discloses the UE of claim 2, wherein the information associated with at least one SL PRS transmission burst further indicates a number of SL PRS transmission bursts in the slot (para 75-76, Table 1 below lists the number of symbols per slot (N.sup.slot.sub.symb), the number of slots per frame, Table 2 below lists the number of symbols per slot, the number of slots per frame, para 183, PRS multiplexing number indicates number of PRSs that multiplexed in symbols).
Regarding claim 4, Baek discloses the UE of claim 2, wherein the SL PRS configuration further indicates an effective time of the SL PRS configuration (para 183, PRS multiplexing number indicates number of PRSs that multiplexed in symbols).
Regarding claim 5, Baek discloses the UE of claim 2, wherein the SL PRS configuration is received on a downlink or a SL (para 89, basic information may include SLSS related information, a duplex mode (DM), time division duplex uplink/ downlink (TDD UL/DL) configuration, para 112, BS perform resource scheduling for UE 1 through PDCCH (more specifically, downlink control information (DCI))).
Regarding claim 6, Baek discloses the UE of claim 2, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: transmit an SL PRS indication on a licensed band, wherein the SL PRS indication indicates the first SL PRS transmission burst of the at least one SL PRS transmission burst (para 01, transmitting and receiving a positioning reference signal (PRS) by a user equipment through a sidelink feedback channel, para 178, PSFCH- PRS resource on/off indicate whether PSFCH- PRS resource for SL positioning is allocated, para 171, UE may be usefully used in various systems for mmWave communication, licensed band communication, unlicensed communication).
Regarding claim 7, Baek discloses the UE of claim 6, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive an SL PRS request on the licensed band, wherein the transmission of the SL PRS indication is in response to the SL PRS request (para 171, UE used in various systems for mmWave communication, licensed band communication, unlicensed communication, para 178, PRS resource indicate whether PSFCH- PRS resource for SL positioning).
Regarding claim 8, Baek discloses the UE of claim 6, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: transmit the SL PRS configuration scheduled by the SL PRS indication on the licensed band (para 127, UE may be aware of the start symbol of the PSCCH and/or the number of symbols of the PSCCH. For example, the SCI may include SL scheduling information, para 265, UE makes a request to the BS for resource allocation and reservation for V2X data communication and positioning through a scheduling request (SR)).
Regarding claim 9, Baek discloses the UE of claim 2, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive an SL PRS indication on a licensed band, wherein the SL PRS indication indicates the first SL PRS transmission burst of the at least one SL PRS transmission burst (para 273, UE indicate whether PRS is transmitted through the SCI, para 291, UE participating in positioning, reservation information related to a PRS ID or pattern, a PRS transmission indicator, reservation information related to the period of PRS transmission and/or the number of PRS transmissions).
Regarding claim 10, Baek discloses the UE of claim 9, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive the SL PRS configuration scheduled by the SL PRS indication on the licensed band (para 171, UE used in various systems for mmWave communication, licensed band communication, unlicensed communication).
Regarding claim 11, Baek discloses the UE of claim 9, wherein the SL PRS indication is received on a downlink or a SL (para 112, BS perform resource scheduling for UE 1 through PDCCH (more specifically, downlink control information (DCI))).
Regarding claim 12, Baek discloses the UE of claim 9, wherein the SL PRS indication indicates an offset between a slot where the SL PRS indication is transmitted on the licensed band and a slot where the SL PRS is transmitted on the unlicensed band (para 171, UE used in various systems for unlicensed band communication, unlicensed communication, para 294, PRS transmission indicator: The PRS transmission indicator indicates whether a PRS is transmitted in a current slot).
Regarding claim 13, Baek discloses the UE of claim 9, wherein the SL PRS indication comprises a field to indicate the first SL PRS transmission burst, and a size of the field is determined based on a number of SL PRS transmission bursts in the slot (para 203, PRS may be contiguously or consecutively disposed or allocated in the middle of a symbol, para 207, burst for PSFCH-feedback disposed or allocated on continuous frequency resources as symbol).
Regarding claim 14, Baek discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (para 31, wireless communication system supporting sidelink, including at least one processor, and at least one memory operably connectable to the at least one processor) and configured to:
receive a sidelink (SL) positioning reference signal (PRS) on an unlicensed band according to an SL PRS configuration, wherein the SL PRS configuration indicates information associated with at least one SL PRS transmission burst in a slot (para 89, physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH) a (broadcast) channel on which basic (system) information that UE transmission and reception of an SL signal is transmitted, para 127, BS to the UE on the PDCCH may be referred to as downlink control information (DCI), whereas control information transmitted by the UE, para 80, frequency band of 6 GHz (or 5850 MHz, 5900 MHz, 5925 MHz, etc.) or higher included in FR1 include an unlicensed band, para 171, UE used in various systems for unlicensed band communication, unlicensed communication),
a PRS region, and the SL PRS is received on a first SL PRS transmission burst of the at least one SL PRS transmission burst (para 177, PSFCH-PRS resource is multiplexed with the PSFCH-feedback resource in a burst form, para 223, FIG. 12(b), a PSFCH-PRS transmitted in a PSFCH-PRS resource region allocated as burst); and
wherein the information associated with at least one SL PRS transmission burst indicates at least one of: a number of symbols of the sensing region of the at least one SL PRS transmission burst (para 75-76, Table 1 below lists the number of symbols per slot (N.sup.slot.sub.symb), the number of slots per frame, Table 2 below lists the number of symbols per slot, the number of slots per frame, para 183, PRS multiplexing number indicates number of PRSs that may be multiplexed in symbols),,
a number of symbols of the AGC region of the at least one SL PRS transmission burst (para 94, PSBCH mapped to symbol in the S-SSB transmitted by transmitting UE. receiving UE perform an automatic gain control (AGC) operation in period of symbol),
a number of symbols of the PRS region of the at least one SL PRS transmission burst (para 203, PRS may be contiguously or consecutively disposed or allocated in the middle of a symbol, para 207, burst for PSFCH-feedback disposed or allocated on continuous frequency resources as symbol), and
a starting symbol of the AGC region of the at least one SL PRS transmission burst or a starting symbol of the PRS region of the at least one SL PRS transmission burst burst (para 213, PRS frequency-hopped or repeated in every slot (or logical slot) for each of four types: (a) comb type, (b) burst -type-1, (c) burst -type-2, PRS transmission using PRS frequency hopping between different slots, para 127, UE aware of start symbol of PSCCH or number of symbols of the PSCCH).
Baek specifically fails to disclose each of the at least one SL PRS transmission burst comprises at least one of a sensing region, an automatic gain control (AGC) re.
In analogous art, REN discloses each of the at least one SL PRS transmission burst comprises at least one of a sensing region, an automatic gain control (AGC) re (para 18, sidelink positioning reference signal includes sidelink physical channel, a sidelink reference signal, a sidelink synchronization signal, a sidelink synchronization signal block (S-SSB), automatic gain control (AGC) information or guard period (GP) information, para 67, sidelink positioning reference signal S-PRS is located on symbol occupied by the automatic gain control signal AGC).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of user terminal to transmit a positioning reference signal (PRS) through a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) in a wireless communication system supporting sidelink communication disclosed by Baek to use terminal transmit the S-PRS to complete the positioning function, while reducing the mutual interference between the S-PRS and other sidelink physical channels as taught by REN to include PRSs transmitted by different terminals being multiplexed on AGC symbols in a comb-like mapping manner, and S-PRSs transmitted by different terminals occupying different frequency domain subcarriers; or, an S-PRS pattern on the symbol in one slot being exactly the same wherein symbol being used as automatic gain control [REN, paragraph 029].
Regarding claim 15, Baek discloses the UE of claim 14, wherein the information associated with at least one SL PRS transmission burst further indicates a number of SL PRS transmission bursts in the slot (para 75-76, Table 1 below lists the number of symbols per slot (N.sup.slot.sub.symb), the number of slots per frame, Table 2 below lists the number of symbols per slot, the number of slots per frame, para 183, PRS multiplexing number indicates number of PRSs that multiplexed in symbols).
Regarding claim 16, Baek discloses the UE of claim 14, wherein the SL PRS configuration further indicates an effective time of the SL PRS configuration (para 183, PRS multiplexing number indicates number of PRSs that multiplexed in symbols).
Regarding claim 17, Baek discloses the UE of claim 14, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive an SL PRS indication on a licensed band, wherein the SL PRS indication indicates the first SL PRS transmission burst of the at least one SL PRS transmission burst (para 01, transmitting and receiving a positioning reference signal (PRS) by a user equipment through a sidelink feedback channel, para 178, PSFCH- PRS resource on/off indicate whether PSFCH- PRS resource for SL positioning is allocated, para 171, UE usefully used in various systems communication, licensed band communication, unlicensed communication).
Regarding claim 18, Baek discloses the UE of claim 14, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: transmit an SL PRS indication on a licensed band, wherein the SL PRS indication indicates the first SL PRS transmission burst of the at least one SL PRS transmission burst para 273, UE indicate whether PRS is transmitted through the SCI, para 291, UE participating in positioning, reservation information related to a PRS ID or pattern, a PRS transmission indicator, reservation information related to period of PRS transmission or number of PRS transmissions).
Regarding claim 19, Baek discloses the UE of claim 18, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: transmit the SL PRS configuration scheduled by the SL PRS indication on the licensed band (para 171, UE used in various systems for mmWave communication, licensed band communication, unlicensed communication).
Regarding claim 20, Baek discloses a processor for wireless communication, comprising: at least one controller coupled with at least one memory and configured to cause the processor (para 31, wireless communication system supporting sidelink, including at least one processor, and at least one memory operably connectable to the at least one processor) to:
transmit a sidelink (SL) positioning reference signal (PRS) on an unlicensed band according to an SL PRS configuration (para 89, physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH) a (broadcast) channel on which basic (system) information that UE transmission and reception of an SL signal is transmitted),
wherein the SL PRS configuration indicates information associated with at least one SL PRS transmission burst in a slot (para 177, PSFCH-PRS resource is multiplexed with the PSFCH-feedback resource in a burst form, para 223, FIG. 12(b), a PSFCH-PRS transmitted in a PSFCH-PRS resource region allocated as burst),
a PRS region, and the SL PRS is transmitted on a first SL PRS transmission burst of the at least one SL PRS transmission burst (para 75-76, Table 1 below lists the number of symbols per slot (N.sup.slot.sub.symb), the number of slots per frame, Table 2 below lists the number of symbols per slot, the number of slots per frame, para 183, PRS multiplexing number indicates number of PRSs that multiplexed in symbols); and
wherein the information associated with at least one SL PRS transmission burst indicates at least one of: a number of symbols of the sensing region of the at least one SL PRS transmission burst (para 94, PSBCH mapped to symbol in S-SSB transmitted by transmitting UE. receiving UE perform automatic gain control (AGC) operation in period of symbol),
a number of symbols of the AGC region of the at least one SL PRS transmission burst (para 203, PRS may be contiguously or consecutively disposed or allocated in the middle of a symbol, para 207, burst for PSFCH-feedback disposed or allocated on continuous frequency resources as symbol),
a number of symbols of the PRS region of the at least one SL PRS transmission burst (para 203, PRS may be contiguously or consecutively disposed or allocated in the middle of a symbol, para 94, PSBCH mapped to symbol in the S-SSB transmitted by transmitting UE), and
a starting symbol of the AGC region of the at least one SL PRS transmission burst or a starting symbol of the PRS region of the at least one SL PRS transmission burst (para 213, PRS frequency-hopped or repeated in every slot (or logical slot) for each of four types: (a) comb type, (b) burst -type-1, (c) burst -type-2, PRS transmission using PRS frequency hopping between different slots, para 127, UE aware of start symbol of PSCCH or number of symbols of the PSCCH).
Baek specifically fails to disclose each of the at least one SL PRS transmission burst comprises at least one of a sensing region, an automatic gain control (AGC) region
In analogous art, REN discloses each of the at least one SL PRS transmission burst comprises at least one of a sensing region, an automatic gain control (AGC) region (para 18, sidelink positioning reference signal includes sidelink physical channel, a sidelink reference signal, a sidelink synchronization signal, a sidelink synchronization signal block (S-SSB), automatic gain control (AGC) information or guard period (GP) information, para 67, sidelink positioning reference signal S-PRS is located on symbol occupied by the automatic gain control signal AGC).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of user terminal to transmit a positioning reference signal (PRS) through a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) in a wireless communication system supporting sidelink communication disclosed by Baek to use terminal transmit the S-PRS to complete the positioning function, while reducing the mutual interference between the S-PRS and other sidelink physical channels as taught by REN to include PRSs transmitted by different terminals being multiplexed on AGC symbols in a comb-like mapping manner, and S-PRSs transmitted by different terminals occupying different frequency domain subcarriers; or, an S-PRS pattern on the symbol in one slot being exactly the same wherein symbol being used as automatic gain control [REN, paragraph 029].
Conclusion
/MIRZA F ALAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2688