DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-8, and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scorsin et al (US 20170065409 A1) “Scorsin”.
Regarding Claim 1, the first embodiment of Scorsin does not teach a heart valve prosthesis with one movable leaflet secured to a holding element and a double-D shaped cross-section. However, another embodiment of Scorsin discloses a heart valve prosthesis (stent valve 1, par. [0083], Fig. 1) for minimally invasive intravenous implantation, comprising:
at least one movable valve leaflet (leaflet 6, pars. [0085] and [0086], Fig. 1) comprised of a flexible biocompatible material for opening and closing a through-opening between the atrium and ventricle of the heart (pars. [0027], [0028], [0047], [0084]),
wherein the movable valve leaflet is secured to a holding element (atrial extensions 9, par. [0084], Figs. 1 and 2) consisting of a stent-like lattice structure comprising a radially expandable material (pars. [0013], [0083], and [0084], Fig. 1, extensions 9 extend from the inflow end 4 of the expandable stent component 2, which comprises struts 8),
wherein the cross-section of the stent-like lattice structure has the shape of a double-D formed by two abutting D's, wherein one D is horizontally inverted and straight vertical lines of the two D's abut to form an imaginary straight line (par. [0096], Fig. 5, a line divides sides beta and gamma from sides beta and alpha). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the structure disclosed by the first embodiment of Scorsin to include a heart valve prosthesis with one movable leaflet secured to a holding element and a double-D shaped cross-section, as taught by another embodiment of Scorsin, in order to better conform with the patient’s vasculature (par. [0083]).
Regarding Claim 2, the first embodiment of Scorsin does not teach a double-D shaped cross-section in which the curvature of one D is greater than the other. However, another embodiment of Scorsin discloses the heart valve prosthesis according to claim 1, wherein the edge of the cross-section formed by the double D shape is formed by the different curvature or arcs of the two D's and, wherein one D has a greater curvature and the other D has a smaller curavature (pars. [0031] and [0096], oval shape may encompass a double d shaped formed from one D-shaped section and another D-shaped section with a much smaller curvature). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the structure disclosed by the first embodiment of Scorsin to include a double-D shaped cross-section in which the curvature of one D is greater than the other, as taught by another embodiment of Scorsin, in order to have more shape variation and therefore better conform with the patient’s vasculature (par. [0032]).
Regarding Claim 3, the first embodiment of Scorsin does not teach a ratio of a maximum distance between the D having a greater curvature from the imaginary straight line and a corresponding maximum distance of the other D having a smaller curvature from the imaginary straight line between 20:1 mm and 2:1 mm. However, another embodiment of Scorsin discloses the heart valve prosthesis according to claim 2, wherein a ratio of a maximum distance between the D having a greater curvature from the imaginary straight line and a corresponding maximum distance of the other D having a smaller curvature from the imaginary straight line is 20:1 mm to 2:1 mm (pars. [0031] and [0096], oval shape may encompass a double d shaped formed from one D-shaped section and another D-shaped section with a much smaller curvature). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the structure disclosed by the first embodiment of Scorsin to include a ratio of a maximum distance between the D having a greater curvature from the imaginary straight line and a corresponding maximum distance of the other D having a smaller curvature from the imaginary straight line between 20:1 mm and 2:1 mm, as taught by another embodiment of Scorsin, in order to have more shape variation and therefore better conform with the patient’s vasculature (par. [0032]).
Regarding Claim 4, the first embodiment of Scorsin does not teach the stent-like lattice structure on the smaller curvature D with webs of a smaller width than the webs on the stent side of the greater curvature D. However, another embodiment of Scorsin discloses the heart valve prosthesis according to claim 2, wherein the stent-like lattice structure on the side of the D with the smaller curvature has webs with a smaller web width than the webs on the stent side of the D with the greater curvature (struts 8, pars. [0015] and [0083], it is implied that the struts of the expandable valve will have cells or webs of greater width on the greater curvature side of the structure due to expansion). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the structure disclosed by the first embodiment of Scorsin to include the stent-like lattice structure on the smaller curvature D with webs of a smaller width than the webs on the stent side of the greater curvature D, as taught by another embodiment of Scorsin, in order to better conform with the patient’s vasculature (par. [0083]).
Regarding Claim 5, the first embodiment of Scorsin does not teach the stent-like lattice structure with circumferential atraumatic holding elements. However, another embodiment of Scorsin discloses the heart valve prosthesis according to claim 1, wherein the stent-like lattice structure has circumferential atraumatic holding elements for securing the stent-like lattice structure to the heart (atrial extensions 9, par. [0084], Figs. 1 and 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the structure disclosed by the first embodiment of Scorsin to include the stent-like lattice structure with circumferential atraumatic holding elements, as taught by another embodiment of Scorsin, in order to aid in the anchoring and stabilization of the stent-valve (par. [0084]).
Regarding Claim 7, the first embodiment of Scorsin does not teach the stent-like lattice structure cross-section with a maximum length of 20-50 mm. However, another embodiment of Scorsin discloses the heart valve prosthesis according to claim 1, wherein a cross-section of the stent-like lattice structure has a maximum length of 20-50 mm (pars. [0088] and [0096], Fig. 1, because the length of the fixation lines 7’ is 25 mm and the lines are at an angle of at least 20 degrees from the place perpendicular to flow direction A, the cross-sectional length of the structure may be approximately 23.5 mm). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the structure disclosed by the first embodiment of Scorsin to include the stent-like lattice structure cross-section with a maximum length of 20-50 mm, as taught by another embodiment of Scorsin, in order to aid in the stent attachment and thus minimize the risk of paravalvular leakage (par. [0018]).
Regarding Claim 8, the first embodiment of Scorsin does not teach biocompatible material made from collagen, an autograft, human graft, or xenograft. However, another embodiment of Scorsin discloses the heart valve prosthesis according to claim 1, wherein the biocompatible material is a biological tissue from collagen, an autograft, human graft, or xenograft (par. [0019], leaflets are made of pericardium, which comprises collagen). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the structure disclosed by the first embodiment of Scorsin to include biocompatible material made from collagen, an autograft, human graft, or xenograft, as taught by another embodiment of Scorsin, in order to best enhance the device’s function within the heart (par. [0019]).
Regarding Claim 10, the first embodiment of Scorsin further teaches the heart valve prosthesis according to claim 1, wherein the stent-like lattice structure is made of nitinol (par. [0083]).
Regarding Claim 11, the first embodiment of Scorsin further teaches the heart valve prosthesis according to claim 1, wherein the stent-like lattice structure has outwardly directed securing elements (atrial extensions 9, pars. [0056] and [0084], Figs. 1 and 2).
Claim(s) 6, 9, and 12-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scorsin et al (US 20170065409 A1) “Scorsin” in view of Morriss et al (US 20190000614 A1) “Morriss”.
Regarding Claim 6, Scorsin does not teach the stent-like lattice structure with a positioning aid. However, Morriss, in the same field of art discloses a prosthetic heart valve (Abstract), wherein the stent-like lattice structure has a positioning aid (arms 120, pars. [0206] and [0207], Figs. 2F and 2F1-B). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the structure disclosed by Scorsin to include the stent-like lattice structure with a positioning aid, as taught by Morriss, in order to engage vessel surfaces and help anchor the stent (Morriss, par. [0096]).
Regarding Claim 9, Scorsin does not teach a length of the lattice structure projecting at least 2 mm into the atrium. However, Morriss, in the same field of art discloses a prosthetic heart valve (Abstract), wherein the length of the lattice structure is selected such that it projects at least 2 mm into the atrium (par. [0197], the tip portions 122 are projected into the atrium, and have a height 138 between 1 to 15 mm). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the structure disclosed by Scorsin to include a length of the lattice structure projecting at least 2 mm into the atrium, as taught by Morriss, in order to engage vessel surfaces and help anchor the stent (Morriss, pars. [0096] and [0197]).
Regarding Claim 12, Scorsin does not teach the cross-section of the lattice structure decreasing at the through- opening and increasing after. However, Morriss, in the same field of art discloses a prosthetic heart valve (Abstract), wherein the cross-section of the stent-like lattice structure decreases from the atrium to the through-opening and increases again in the direction of flow after the through-opening (Fig. 1I). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the structure disclosed by Scorsin to include the cross-section of the lattice structure decreasing at the through- opening and increasing after, as taught by Morriss, in order to engage vessel surfaces and help anchor the stent (Morriss, pars. [0020] and [0096]).
Regarding Claim 13, Scorsin does not teach two movable valve leaflets that are miter-shaped bicuspid valve leaflets. However, Morriss, in the same field of art discloses a prosthetic heart valve (Abstract), wherein the prosthesis comprises two movable valve leaflets that are miter-shaped bicuspid valve leaflets (leaflets L, par. [0130], Figs. 1C-1 and 1E). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the structure disclosed by Scorsin to include two movable valve leaflets that are miter-shaped bicuspid valve leaflets, as taught by Morriss, in order to help secure the device in the vessel (Morriss, pars. [0127] and [0130]).
Regarding Claim 14, Scorsin does not teach a controllable catheter that receives a positioning aid. However, Morriss, in the same field of art discloses a prosthetic heart valve (Abstract), wherein the implantation device comprises a controllable catheter having an element exclusively for reception of a positioning aid (arms 120) on the stent-like lattice structure (catheters 20 and 200, pars. [0166], [0167], [0181], Figs. 2B-1 and 2B-2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the structure disclosed by Scorsin to include a controllable catheter that receives a positioning aid, as taught by Morriss, in order to engage vessel surfaces and help anchor the stent (Morriss, par. [0096]).
Regarding Claim 15, Scorsin does not teach the positioning aid on the stent-like lattice structure at or near the 7:00 position. However, Morriss, in the same field of art discloses a prosthetic heart valve (Abstract), wherein the positioning aid on the stent-like lattice structure is at or near the 7:00 position (Figs. 2F and 2F1-B). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the structure disclosed by Scorsin to include the positioning aid on the stent-like lattice structure at or near the 7:00 position, as taught by Morriss, in order to engage vessel surfaces and help anchor the stent (Morriss, par. [0096]).
Regarding Claim 16, Scorsin discloses mitral valve prosthesis (stent valve 1, Abstract, par. [0083], Fig. 1) for minimally invasive intravenous implantation, comprising:
a. a holding element (atrial extensions 9, par. [0084], Figs. 1 and 2) consisting of a stent-like structure comprising a radially expanding material (pars. [0013], [0083], and [0084], Fig. 1, extensions 9 extend from the inflow end 4 of the expandable stent component 2, which comprises struts 8);
wherein the stent-like structure has a shape of a double-D formed by two abutting D's, one D is horizontally inverted so that the straight vertical lines of the two D's abut to form an imaginary straight line (par. [0096], Fig. 5, a line divides sides beta and gamma from sides beta and alpha),
wherein one D has a greater curvature than the other D having a smaller curvature (pars. [0031] and [0096], oval shape may encompass a double d shaped formed from one D-shaped section and another D-shaped section with a much smaller curvature),
and wherein a ratio of a maximum distance between the imaginary straight line to the greater curvature D and a corresponding maximum distance between the imaginary straight line and the smaller curvature D is 20:1 to 2:1 mm (pars. [0031] and [0096], oval shape may encompass a double d shaped formed from one D-shaped section and another D-shaped section with a much smaller curvature), but does not disclose two movable, miter shaped bicuspid valve leaflets and the cross-section of the lattice structure decreasing at the through- opening and increasing after.
However, Morriss, in the same field of art discloses a prosthetic heart valve (Abstract), including b. two movable, miter shaped bicuspid valve leaflets contained within the stent-like structure for use in opening and closing a through-opening between an atrium and ventricle of a human heart (leaflets L, par. [0130], Figs. 1C-1 and 1E);
wherein the stent-like structure has a cross section that decreases from the atrium to the through-opening and increases again in the direction of flow after the through-opening (Fig. 1I). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the structure disclosed by Scorsin to include two movable, miter shaped bicuspid valve leaflets and the cross-section of the lattice structure decreasing at the through- opening and increasing after, as taught by Morriss, in order to help secure the device in the vessel and to engage vessel surfaces and help anchor the stent (Morriss, pars. [0020], [0096], [0127] and [0130]).
Regarding Claim 17, Scorsin teaches the mitral valve prosthesis according to claim 16, wherein the stent-like holding structure is a lattice or web structure having outwardly directed securing elements (atrial extensions 9, pars. [0056] and [0084], Figs. 1 and 2),
circumferential atraumatic holding elements for securing the prosthesis to the diseased mitral valve (atrial extensions 9, par. [0084], Figs. 1 and 2),
and wherein the stent-like holding structure is made of nitinol (par. [0083]), but does not disclose a positioning aid corresponding to a receiving portion of an implantation device.
However, Morriss, in the same field of art discloses a prosthetic heart valve (Abstract), including a positioning aid corresponding to a receiving portion of an implantation device (arms 120, pars. [0206] and [0207], Figs. 2F and 2F1-B). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the structure disclosed by Scorsin to include a positioning aid corresponding to a receiving portion of an implantation device, as taught by Morriss, in order to engage vessel surfaces and help anchor the stent (Morriss, par. [0096]).
Regarding Claim 18, the first embodiment of Scorsin does not teach biocompatible material made from collagen, an autograft, human graft, or xenograft. However, another embodiment of Scorsin discloses the two movable, miter-shaped bicuspid valve leaflets are made of a biocompatible material consisting of a biological tissue from collagen, an autograft, human graft or xenograft (par. [0019], leaflets are made of pericardium, which comprises collagen). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the structure disclosed by the first embodiment of Scorsin to include biocompatible material made from collagen, an autograft, human graft, or xenograft, as taught by another embodiment of Scorsin, in order to best enhance the device’s function within the heart (par. [0019]).
Regarding Claim 19, Scorsin does not teach the positioning aid on the stent-like lattice structure at or near the 7:00 position. However, Morriss, in the same field of art discloses a prosthetic heart valve (Abstract), wherein the implantation device is a controllable catheter (catheters 20 and 200, pars. [0166], [0167], [0181], Figs. 2B-1 and 2B-2) having a receiving portion for the positioning aid in the 7:00 position (Figs. 2F and 2F1-B). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the structure disclosed by Scorsin to include the positioning aid on the stent-like lattice structure at or near the 7:00 position, as taught by Morriss, in order to engage vessel surfaces and help anchor the stent (Morriss, par. [0096]).
Conclusion
/NATALIE N THOMAS/Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/JERRAH EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774