DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
1. Applicant's arguments filed 30 April 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts, on pages 11-12 of Remarks, that “Chen describes a Tx UE transmitting reference signals to an Rx UE, the Rx UE transmitting feedback for the reference signals to the Tx UE, and the Tx UE determining a DMRS pattern based on the received feedback for the reference signals. The Office Action alleges that the Tx UE receiving the feedback of the measurement results from the Rx UE discussed in Chen is relevant to "receiving, from a second device, a set of transmissions over a shared channel," as recited in previously-presented independent claim 1. Office Action, p. 3 (citing Chen 1 [0082] as well as step 920 of Figure 9). However, receiving feedback of measurement results, as discussed in Chen, does not disclose "receiving, from a second device, a set of reference signals over a shared channel," as recited in amended independent claim 1. The feedback of measurement results in Chen is not analogous to, nor does it disclose "a set of reference signals," as claimed. Moreover, at least because the Tx UE of Chen does not receive "a set of reference signals," the Tx UE of Chen also does not disclose "determining at least one of a Doppler spread or a delay spread based at least in part on the received set of reference signals," as claimed. Thus, Chen does not disclose at least the aforementioned features of amended independent claim 1.”
On the contrary, Chen clearly discloses, in paragraph [0034] that Tx UE receives a set of reference signals over a shared channel: “The sensing UE 102 also measures, for example, the PSSCH reference signal received power (RSRP) over selected or reserved resources in the slots of the sensing window.” [emphasis added]. As seen in the Abstract, “PSSCH” stands for “physical sidelink shared channel”, which means that the PSSCH constitutes a shared channel. As seen in paragraph [0044], the UE 102 is the Tx UE. Therefore, paragraph [0034] of Chen reads on “receiving, from a second device, a set of reference signals over a shared channel”.
Furthermore, Chen clearly discloses the limitation “determining at least one of a Doppler spread or a delay spread based at least in part on the received set of reference signals over the shared channel”. Specifically, Chen states, in paragraph [0077]: “In an example, the Tx UE can determine the Doppler spread and/or delay spread related information based on the reception of physical channels from the Rx UE, e.g., PSFCH/PSCCH/PSSCH channels.” [emphasis added]. As outlined above, paragraph [0034] of Chen indicates that the PSSCH is used to transmit reference signals, while paragraph [0077] of Chen indicates that channel characteristics, such as Doppler spread and delay spread, are determined therefrom.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 1-3, 5-6, 9, 13, 15, 17-20, 22-23, 26, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0067290 (hereinafter Chen).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a method for wireless communication at a first device (disclosed is a method for sidelink communication performed by a Tx UE 102 [“first device”] that communicates with an Rx UE 103, according to Abstract, [0044], [0049], Fig. 1), comprising:
receiving, from a second device, a set of reference signals over a shared channel (the UE 102 receives, from the Rx UE [“second device”], reference signals via a PSSCH (physical sidelink shared channel), according to [0034]);
determining at least one of a Doppler spread or a delay spread based at least in part on the received set of reference signals over the shared channel (the Tx UE determines Doppler spread and/or delay spread based on the reception of signals from the Rx UE via the PSSCH, according to [0077]);
selecting a reference signal configuration from a plurality of reference signal configurations based at least in part on determining at least one of the Doppler spread or the delay spread (the Tx UE determines which PSSCH DMRS (demodulation reference signal) pattern [“reference signal configuration”] (the PSSCH DMRS pattern can be selected from 2-symbol, 3-symbol, or 4-symbol, according to [0082]) is to be used, based on the Doppler spread and/or delay spread, according to [0077]); and
transmitting, to the second device, feedback indicating the selected reference signal configuration for a subsequent set of reference signals over the shared channel (the Tx UE informs, via SCI, the Rx UE of the DMRS pattern that said Tx UE has selected, according to [0077]).
Claim 18 recites a first apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code (a UE comprises a memory that stores program instructions and processing circuitry that executes those instructions, according to [0085]-[0087], Fig. 10 [elements 1000, 1010, and 1020]) to cause the first apparatus to perform the method recited in claim 1, and is therefore rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.
Claim 30 recites a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for wireless communication at a first device, the code comprising instructions executable by a processor to non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for wireless communication at a first device, the code comprising instructions executable by a processor (a UE comprises a memory that includes non-transitory storage media that stores program instructions and processing circuitry that executes those instructions, according to [0085]-[0087], Fig. 10 [elements 1000, 1010, and 1020]) to perform the method recited in claim 1, and is therefore rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Chen discloses the method of claim 1, wherein receiving the set of reference signals comprises receiving, from the second device, one or more sidelink transmissions over a sidelink shared channel (the reference signals are received via the PSSCH, according to [0034]),
wherein selecting the reference signal configuration from the plurality of reference signal configurations is based at least in part on the received one or more sidelink transmissions over the sidelink shared channel (the DMRS pattern is selected by the Tx UE based on the reception from the Rx UE via the PSSCH, according to [0077]).
Regarding claim 3, Chen discloses the method of claim 1, wherein selecting the reference signal configuration from the plurality of reference signal configurations comprises selecting a demodulation reference signal pattern from a set of demodulation reference signal patterns based at least in part on determining at least one of the Doppler spread or the delay spread (a DMRS pattern from a plurality of DMRS patterns is chosen based on the determined Doppler spread and/or delay spread, according to [0051], [0077], [0082]),
wherein transmitting the feedback comprises: transmitting, to the second device, an indication of the selected demodulation reference signal pattern (the Tx UE transmits, to the Rx UE, an indication of the selected DMRS pattern, according to [0077]).
Regarding claim 5, Chen discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining a reference signal density associated with the received set of reference signals over the shared channel, the reference signal density comprising a sidelink phase tracking reference signal density in at least one of a time domain or a frequency domain (the time density of DMRS for sidelink transmissions is determined, according to [0051], whereby the PSSCH symbols have an associated phase tracking reference signal configuration of time/frequency location within the sidelink channel, according to [0068]),
wherein transmitting the feedback comprises: transmitting, to the second device, an indication of the sidelink phase tracking reference signal density in at least one of the time domain or the frequency domain (the PSSCH DMRS pattern (e.g., the number of symbols (2, 3, or 4), which corresponds to a particular density) is specified by the Tx UE to the Rx UE, according to [0051], [0077], [0082], whereby the PSSCH symbols have an associated phase tracking reference signal configuration of time/frequency location within the sidelink channel, according to [0068]).
Regarding claim 6, Chen discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining at least one of a resource pool or a set of resource pools for the wireless communication based at least in part on the selected reference signal configuration, at least one of the resource pool or the set of resource pools corresponding to one or more of a demodulation reference signal pattern or a set of demodulation reference signal patterns, a sidelink shared channel allocation, a set of sidelink shared channel allocations, a sidelink phase tracking reference signal configuration, or a set of sidelink phase tracking reference signal configurations (the reference signal configuration is a DMRS (demodulation reference signal) pattern, according to [0051], [0077]),
wherein transmitting the feedback comprises: transmitting, to the second device, an indication of at least one of the resource pool or the set of resource pools for the wireless communication (the PSSCH DMRS pattern is specified by the Tx UE to the Rx UE, according to [0051], [0077]).
Regarding claim 9, Chen discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, from the second device, a control message comprising an indication to transmit the feedback indicating the selected reference signal configuration, the control message comprising a sidelink control information message (the Tx UE receives, from the Rx UE, feedback information that prompts said Tx UE to transmit the identification of the selected PSSCH DMRS pattern to said Rx UE, according to [0051], [0077]),
wherein transmitting the feedback indicating the selected reference signal configuration is based at least in part on the received control message (the TX transmits the identification of the selected PSSCH DMRS pattern based on the feedback information received from the Rx UE, according to [0051], [0077]).
Regarding claim 13, Chen discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving control signaling comprising an indication of a criterion for transmitting the feedback indicating the selected reference signal configuration, the criterion indicating to transmit the feedback after receiving a number of transmissions of the set of reference signals, the control signaling comprising one or more of a radio resource control message, a medium access control-control element, or a downlink control information (reserved resources, in the form of a specified number of transmissions, are indicated in SCI (sidelink control information) for the purpose of the PSSCH reference signal power measurements, according to [0032]-[0036], whereby sidelink control information is signaled using RRC signaling, according to [0068]-[0071]),
wherein transmitting the feedback indicating the selected reference signal configuration is based at least in part on the received control signaling (the Tx UE provides the indication of the selected DMRS pattern to the Rx UE after said Rx UE performs the measurements of the transmissions, according to [0051], [0077]).
Regarding claim 15, Chen discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, from the second device, control signaling indicating a mode of operation for transmitting reference signals, the mode of operation corresponding to one or more types of reference signals enabled, the one or more types of reference signals comprising one or more of demodulation reference signals, tracking reference signals, or phase tracking reference signals (the Rx UE provides the preferred DMRS pattern to the Tx UE, according to [0077]).
Regarding claim 17, Chen discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the feedback comprises at least one of an indication to enable a reference signal or adjust a reference signal density in at least one of a time domain associated with the reference signal or a frequency domain associated with the reference signal (the Tx UE instructs the Rx UE to use a particular PSSCH DMRS pattern (this constitutes both an indication to enable a reference signal (e.g., the DMRS) and an indication to adjust a reference signal density (e.g., adjusting the number of symbols used)), according to [0051], [0077]).
Claim 19 does not differ substantively from claim 2, and is therefore rejected on the same grounds as claim 2.
Claim 20 does not differ substantively from claim 3, and is therefore rejected on the same grounds as claim 3.
Claim 22 does not differ substantively from claim 5, and is therefore rejected on the same grounds as claim 5.
Claim 23 does not differ substantively from claim 6, and is therefore rejected on the same grounds as claim 6.
Claim 26 does not differ substantively from claim 9, and is therefore rejected on the same grounds as claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 10 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen as applied to claims 1 and 18 above, in view of Falkenberg, U.S. Patent Application Publication 2024/0187291 (hereinafter Falkenberg).
Regarding claim 10, Chen discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Chen discloses that selecting the reference signal configuration from the plurality of reference signal configurations is based at least in part on estimating at least one of the Doppler spread or the delay spread, the selected reference signal configuration indicating one or more of a reference signal type, a reference signal pattern, a set of antenna ports, or a reference signal satisfying a criterion (the DMRS pattern is selected based on the Doppler spread and/or the delay spread, according to [0051], [0077]).
Chen does not expressly disclose that receiving the set of transmissions comprises: receiving, from the second device, one or more downlink transmissions over a downlink shared channel, the method further comprising: estimating at least one of the Doppler spread or the delay spread based at least in part on the received one or more downlink transmissions over the downlink shared channel.
Falkenberg discloses that receiving the set of transmissions comprises: receiving, from the second device, one or more downlink transmissions over a downlink shared channel (a phase tracking reference signal (PT-RS) is received by a UE via a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), according to [0009]-[0013]),
the method further comprising: estimating at least one of the Doppler spread or the delay spread based at least in part on the received one or more downlink transmissions over the downlink shared channel (estimation of each of a Doppler spread and a delay spread is performed using the PT-RS that is transmitted over the PDSCH, according to [0012]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen with Falkenberg such that receiving the set of transmissions comprises: receiving, from the second device, one or more downlink transmissions over a downlink shared channel, the method further comprising: estimating at least one of the Doppler spread or the delay spread based at least in part on the received one or more downlink transmissions over the downlink shared channel.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to enhance a UE’s phase tracking performance (Falkenberg: [0003]).
Claim 27 does not differ substantively from claim 10, and is therefore rejected on the same grounds as claim 10.
8. Claims 11 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen as applied to claims 1 and 18 above, in view of Barbu et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2024/0251377 (hereinafter Barbu).
Regarding claim 11, Chen discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Chen discloses determining one or more resources to transmit the feedback indicating the selected reference signal configuration based at least in part on the resource allocation (a resource pool for sidelink communications between the two UEs is configured, according to [0024]),
wherein transmitting the feedback comprises: transmitting, to the second device, the feedback indicating the selected reference signal configuration using the one or more resources (communications between the two UEs is conducted using the configured resource pool for sidelink communications, according to [0024]).
Chen does not expressly disclose receiving, from the second device, a grant comprising a resource allocation based at least in part on transmitting a scheduling request for the resource allocation to transmit the feedback indicating the selected reference signal configuration.
Barbu discloses receiving, from the second device, a grant comprising a resource allocation based at least in part on transmitting a scheduling request for the resource allocation to transmit the feedback indicating the selected reference signal configuration (a device transmits a solicitation for scheduling information [“scheduling request”] for a positioning reference signal, and in response, receives a resource allocation, whereupon the device transmits the positioning reference signal using the resources allocated [“indicating the selected reference signal configuration”], according to [0011]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen with Barbu by receiving, from the second device, a grant comprising a resource allocation based at least in part on transmitting a scheduling request for the resource allocation to transmit the feedback indicating the selected reference signal configuration.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to reduce interference caused by collisions (Barbu: [0103]).
Claim 28 does not differ substantively from claim 11, and is therefore rejected on the same grounds as claim 11.
Conclusion
9. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW W GENACK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645