DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-3, 5-6, 9, 13, 15, 17-20, 22-23, 26, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0067290 (hereinafter Chen).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a method for wireless communication at a first device (disclosed is a method for sidelink communication performed by a Tx UE [“first device”], according to [0080], Fig. 9), comprising:
receiving, from a second device, a set of transmissions over a shared channel (the Tx UE receives, from an Rx UE [“second device”], feedback information on measurement results [“a set of transmissions over a shared channel”], according to [0082], Fig. 9 [step 920]);
determining at least one of a Doppler spread or a delay spread based at least in part on the received set of transmissions over the shared channel (the feedback information from the Rx UE indicates to the Tx UE a Doppler spread and/or delay spread, according to [0051], [0082], Fig. 9 [step 920]);
selecting a reference signal configuration from a plurality of reference signal configurations based at least in part on determining at least one of the Doppler spread or the delay spread (the Tx UE determines which PSSCH (physical sidelink shared channel) DMRS (demodulation reference signal) pattern [“reference signal configuration”] of a plurality of PSSCH DMRS patterns (such as 2-symbol, 3-symbol, or 4-symbol) is to be used, based on the Doppler spread and/or delay spread, according to [0051], [0082], Fig. 9 [step 920]); and
transmitting, to the second device, feedback indicating the selected reference signal configuration for a subsequent set of transmissions over the shared channel (the Tx UE transmits, to the Rx UE, a PSSCH including a 1st-stage SCI that indicates the PSSCH DMRS pattern that has been selected for use, according to [0083], Fig. 9 [step 930]).
Claim 18 recites a first apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code (a UE comprises a memory that stores program instructions and processing circuitry that executes those instructions, according to [0085]-[0087], Fig. 10 [elements 1000, 1010, and 1020]) to cause the first apparatus to perform the method recited in claim 1, and is therefore rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.
Claim 30 recites a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for wireless communication at a first device, the code comprising instructions executable by a processor to non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for wireless communication at a first device, the code comprising instructions executable by a processor (a UE comprises a memory that includes non-transitory storage media that stores program instructions and processing circuitry that executes those instructions, according to [0085]-[0087], Fig. 10 [elements 1000, 1010, and 1020]) to perform the method recited in claim 1, and is therefore rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Chen discloses the method of claim 1, wherein receiving the set of transmissions comprises: receiving, from the second device, one or more sidelink transmissions over a sidelink shared channel, wherein selecting the reference signal configuration from the plurality of reference signal configurations is based at least in part on the received one or more sidelink transmissions over the sidelink shared channel (the communications between the Tx UE and the Rx UE are sidelink communications (therefore, the feedback information that is transmitted from the Rx UE to the Tx UE is sent via a sidelink channel), according to [0080]).
Regarding claim 3, Chen discloses the method of claim 1, wherein selecting the reference signal configuration from the plurality of reference signal configurations comprises:
selecting a demodulation reference signal pattern from a set of demodulation reference signal patterns based at least in part on determining at least one of the Doppler spread or the delay spread (a DMRS pattern from a plurality of DMRS patterns is chosen based on the determined Doppler spread and/or delay spread, according to [0051], [0082]),
wherein transmitting the feedback comprises: transmitting, to the second device, an indication of the selected demodulation reference signal pattern (the Tx UE transmits, to the Rx UE, an indication of the selected DMRS pattern, according to [0083]).
Regarding claim 5, Chen discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining a reference signal density associated with the received set of transmissions over the shared channel, the reference signal density comprising a sidelink phase tracking reference signal density in at least one of a time domain or a frequency domain (the time density of DMRS for sidelink transmissions is determined, according to [0051], whereby the PSSCH symbols have an associated phase tracking reference signal configuration of time/frequency location within the sidelink channel, according to [0068]),
wherein transmitting the feedback comprises: transmitting, to the second device, an indication of the sidelink phase tracking reference signal density in at least one of the time domain or the frequency domain (the PSSCH DMRS pattern (e.g., the number of symbols (2, 3, or 4), which corresponds to a particular density) is specified by the Tx UE to the Rx UE, according to [0051], [0082], whereby the PSSCH symbols have an associated phase tracking reference signal configuration of time/frequency location within the sidelink channel, according to [0068]).
Regarding claim 6, Chen discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining at least one of a resource pool or a set of resource pools for the wireless communication based at least in part on the selected reference signal configuration, at least one of the resource pool or the set of resource pools corresponding to one or more of a demodulation reference signal pattern or a set of demodulation reference signal patterns, a sidelink shared channel allocation, a set of sidelink shared channel allocations, a sidelink phase tracking reference signal configuration, or a set of sidelink phase tracking reference signal configurations (the reference signal configuration is a DMRS (demodulation reference signal) pattern, according to [0051], [0082]),
wherein transmitting the feedback comprises: transmitting, to the second device, an indication of at least one of the resource pool or the set of resource pools for the wireless communication (the PSSCH DMRS pattern is specified by the Tx UE to the Rx UE, according to [0051], [0082]).
Regarding claim 9, Chen discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, from the second device, a control message comprising an indication to transmit the feedback indicating the selected reference signal configuration, the control message comprising a sidelink control information message (the Tx UE receives, from the Rx UE, feedback information that prompts said Tx UE to transmit the identification of the selected PSSCH DMRS pattern to said Rx UE, according to [0051], [0082]),
wherein transmitting the feedback indicating the selected reference signal configuration is based at least in part on the received control message (the TX transmits the identification of the selected PSSCH DMRS pattern based on the feedback information received from the Rx UE, according to [0051], [0082]).
Regarding claim 13, Chen discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving control signaling comprising an indication of a criterion for transmitting the feedback indicating the selected reference signal configuration, the criterion indicating to transmit the feedback after receiving a number of transmissions of the set of transmissions, the control signaling comprising one or more of a radio resource control message, a medium access control-control element, or a downlink control information (reserved resources, in the form of a specified number of transmissions, are indicated in SCI (sidelink control information) for the purpose of the PSSCH measurements, according to [0032]-[0036], whereby sidelink control information is signaled using RRC signaling, according to [0068]-[0071]),
wherein transmitting the feedback indicating the selected reference signal configuration is based at least in part on the received control signaling (the Tx UE provides the indication of the selected DMRS pattern to the Rx UE after said Rx UE performs the measurements of the transmissions, according to [0051], [0082]).
Regarding claim 15, Chen discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, from the second device, control signaling indicating a mode of operation for transmitting reference signals, the mode of operation corresponding to one or more types of reference signals enabled, the one or more types of reference signals comprising one or more of demodulation reference signals, tracking reference signals, or phase tracking reference signals (the Rx UE provides the preferred DMRS pattern to the Tx UE, according to [0082]).
Regarding claim 17, Chen discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the feedback comprises at least one of an indication to enable a reference signal or adjust a reference signal density in at least one of a time domain associated with the reference signal or a frequency domain associated with the reference signal (the Tx UE instructs the Rx UE to use a particular PSSCH DMRS pattern (this constitutes both an indication to enable a reference signal (e.g., the DMRS) and an indication to adjust a reference signal density (e.g., adjusting the number of symbols used)), according to [0051], [0082]).
Claim 19 does not differ substantively from claim 2, and is therefore rejected on the same grounds as claim 2.
Claim 20 does not differ substantively from claim 3, and is therefore rejected on the same grounds as claim 3.
Claim 22 does not differ substantively from claim 5, and is therefore rejected on the same grounds as claim 5.
Claim 23 does not differ substantively from claim 6, and is therefore rejected on the same grounds as claim 6.
Claim 26 does not differ substantively from claim 9, and is therefore rejected on the same grounds as claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 10 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen as applied to claims 1 and 18 above, in view of Falkenberg, U.S. Patent Application Publication 2024/0187291 (hereinafter Falkenberg).
Regarding claim 10, Chen discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Chen discloses that selecting the reference signal configuration from the plurality of reference signal configurations is based at least in part on estimating at least one of the Doppler spread or the delay spread, the selected reference signal configuration indicating one or more of a reference signal type, a reference signal pattern, a set of antenna ports, or a reference signal satisfying a criterion (the DMRS pattern is selected based on the Doppler spread and/or the delay spread, according to [0051], [0082]).
Chen does not expressly disclose that receiving the set of transmissions comprises: receiving, from the second device, one or more downlink transmissions over a downlink shared channel, the method further comprising: estimating at least one of the Doppler spread or the delay spread based at least in part on the received one or more downlink transmissions over the downlink shared channel.
Falkenberg discloses that receiving the set of transmissions comprises: receiving, from the second device, one or more downlink transmissions over a downlink shared channel (a phase tracking reference signal (PT-RS) is received by a UE via a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), according to [0009]-[0013]),
the method further comprising: estimating at least one of the Doppler spread or the delay spread based at least in part on the received one or more downlink transmissions over the downlink shared channel (estimation of each of a Doppler spread and a delay spread is performed using the PT-RS that is transmitted over the PDSCH, according to [0012]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen with Falkenberg such that receiving the set of transmissions comprises: receiving, from the second device, one or more downlink transmissions over a downlink shared channel, the method further comprising: estimating at least one of the Doppler spread or the delay spread based at least in part on the received one or more downlink transmissions over the downlink shared channel.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to enhance a UE’s phase tracking performance (Falkenberg: [0003]).
Claim 27 does not differ substantively from claim 10, and is therefore rejected on the same grounds as claim 10.
9. Claims 11 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen as applied to claims 1 and 18 above, in view of Barbu et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2024/0251377 (hereinafter Barbu).
Regarding claim 11, Chen discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Chen discloses determining one or more resources to transmit the feedback indicating the selected reference signal configuration based at least in part on the resource allocation (a resource pool for sidelink communications between the two UEs is configured, according to [0024]),
wherein transmitting the feedback comprises: transmitting, to the second device, the feedback indicating the selected reference signal configuration using the one or more resources (communications between the two UEs is conducted using the configured resource pool for sidelink communications, according to [0024]).
Chen does not expressly disclose receiving, from the second device, a grant comprising a resource allocation based at least in part on transmitting a scheduling request for the resource allocation to transmit the feedback indicating the selected reference signal configuration.
Barbu discloses receiving, from the second device, a grant comprising a resource allocation based at least in part on transmitting a scheduling request for the resource allocation to transmit the feedback indicating the selected reference signal configuration (a device transmits a solicitation for scheduling information [“scheduling request”] for a positioning reference signal, and in response, receives a resource allocation, whereupon the device transmits the positioning reference signal using the resources allocated [“indicating the selected reference signal configuration”], according to [0011]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen with Barbu by receiving, from the second device, a grant comprising a resource allocation based at least in part on transmitting a scheduling request for the resource allocation to transmit the feedback indicating the selected reference signal configuration.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to reduce interference caused by collisions (Barbu: [0103]).
Claim 28 does not differ substantively from claim 11, and is therefore rejected on the same grounds as claim 11.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW W GENACK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645