DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendments
Applicant's amendments and remarks, filed 04/27/2026, are acknowledged.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are currently under examination.
Priority
The instant application is a national stage entry under §371 of the international application PCT/US2022/040621 which was filed on 08/17/2022.
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) to provisional application 63/233,919, filed 08/17/2021, are acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6-9, 11, 13, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brynolfsson et al. (USPN 20220005586 A1; Pub.Date 06/06/2022; Fil.Date 08/31/2020) (hereinafter “Brynolfsson”) in view of Wang et al. (2017 Front. Oncol. 7: article 8 8 pages; Pub.Date 2017) (hereinafter “Wang”) in view of Gray et al. (2012 NeuroImage 60:221–229; Pub.Date 2012) (hereinafter “Gray”) and Xiong et al., (“ A novel noninvasive method for image derived heart input in quantitative small animal FDG PET studies “(2012). Phys Med Biol, 57(23), 8041-8059. doi:10.1088/0031-9155/57/23/8041) (hereinafter “Xiong”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Brynolfsson teaches a method (Title and abstract) for performing FDG positron emission tomography (PET) quantification, segmentation, and classification of abnormalities (abstract system and method using PET imaging as functional imaging device and [0010] for detecting lesions and measuring radiopharmaceutical uptake within selected hotspots representing lesions for quantification, and (abstract) performing segmentation and classification for characterizing the lesion, tumor with estimation of disease severity and risk, wherein one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that FDG is commonly used for PET imaging as taught by Wang when PET imaging is combined with MRI imaging (Title, abstract, p.2 col.2 ¶ Pre-treatment Imaging)) , the method comprising:
receiving a plurality of magnetic resonance (MR) images corresponding to a target site of a subject ([0034], [0075], [0144] with Fig. 1B, receiving/accessing 3D anatomical image of subject targeting cancerous lesions within the subject using anatomical imaging modality such as magnetic resonance imaging, wherein one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize as obvious as the image would refer to a time series of image frames or plurality of conventional images since the term image is interpreted as a video stream according to Brynolfsson [0118]) ;
generating three dimensional (3D) area masks of abnormality volumes from the plurality of MR images ([0052] “ the instructions cause the processor to automatically segment the 3D anatomical image, thereby creating the 3D segmentation map” and [0051] the invention is processing the 3D images of functional (PET) and anatomical (MRI) images to provide “a segmentation map that identifies, within the 3D functional image and/or the 3D anatomical image, one or more volumes of interest (VOIs), each VOI corresponding to a particular target tissue region and/or a particular anatomical region”) ;
segmenting the 3D area masks into one or more individual seed images for each of the abnormality volumes ([0052] “ the instructions cause the processor to automatically segment the 3D anatomical image, thereby creating the 3D segmentation map” and [0051] the invention is processing the 3D images of functional (PET) and anatomical (MRI) images to provide “a segmentation map that identifies, within the 3D functional image and/or the 3D anatomical image, one or more volumes of interest (VOIs), each VOI corresponding to a particular target tissue region and/or a particular anatomical region”);
[…overlaying the one or more individual seed images onto co-registered parametric PET maps to generate kinetic rate parameters for each of the abnormality volumes…]; and
utilizing the kinetic rate parameters to train a logistic regression engine to predict a target site condition assessment based on a classification of the abnormality volumes ([0036]-[0037] using a machine learning module (hotspot classification module) determine the lesion classification for each hotspot to select a subset of one or more hotspot having a high likelihood of corresponding to cancerous lesions, based at least on intensities of hotspots and segmentation map, reading on the accumulation rate of the radiopharmaceutical compounds and anatomical masks discussed above).
Brynolfsson with Wang does not specifically teach overlaying the one or more individual seed images onto co-registered parametric PET maps to generate kinetic rate parameters for each of the abnormality volumes as in claim 1.
However, Gray teaches within the same field of endeavor of multimodal imaging FDG-PET and MRI technology (Title, abstract and p.222 col.2 last ¶) the co-registration between MRI and FDG-PET images in native MRI image space creating MRI-space FDG-PET images (p.223 col.1 2nd ¶ and col.2 2nd ¶) wherein each of the MRI-space FDG-PET image is overlaid with the corresponding masked anatomical segmentation for defining different regions of interest to assess the cerebral metabolic rate of glucose for the time change of the glucose signal (p.224 col.1 last ¶ to col.2 1st ¶ Regional feature extraction and classification) leading to the classification of the regions of interest (p.224 col.2 2nd-3rd ¶) therefore Gray teaches the concept of overlaying anatomical masks from MRI imaging onto co-registered MRI FDG-PET images to select masked regions for which the change of metabolic rate of glucose is being assessed for later classification of these regions therefore teaching overlaying the one or more individual seed images onto co-registered parametric PET maps to generate kinetic rate parameters for each of the abnormality volumes as claimed.
Therefore it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to have modified the method of Brynolfsson as modified by Wang such that the method further comprises: overlaying the one or more individual seed images onto co-registered parametric PET maps to generate kinetic rate parameters for each of the abnormality volumes, since one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that overlaying anatomical masks of regions of interest from MRI of the subject on FDG-PET images being co-registered with the MRI images of the patient to access to metabolic rate of glucose within these regions were known in the art as taught by Gray. One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected that this modification could have been made with predictable results since both Gray and Brynolfsson and Wang teach the basis of combined MRI/PET imaging technology for combining functional and anatomical imaging for improving diagnosis. The motivation would have been to monitor the biological activity of the regions of interest within the subject in order to predict the nature and physiological state of these regions, as suggested by Gray (p.227 col.2 2nd and 4th ¶).
However, the combination of references is silent regarding parametric PET maps computed from dynamic FDG (dFDG) PET data using a model corrected blood input function.
In the same FDG PET field of endeavor, Xiong teaches parametric PET maps (pg. 1 parametric PET maps of CMRglc are calculated suing the corrected IDIF) computed from dynamic FDG (dFDG) PET data (pg. 1 serial arterial samples and dynamic FDG-PET of the head and heart data are obtained) using a model corrected blood input function (pg. 2 the IDIF is a blood input function because its based on serial recordings of the arterial blood pool in the heart; pg. 1 an bi-exponential function is fit to the serial measurements of the IDIF, the measured IDIF is corrected, and the parametric maps of CMRglc are calculated using the corrected IDIF).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the FDG-PET quantification method of modified Brynolfsson with the computational method of parametric PET maps of Xiong, as this would avoid any underestimation produced by uncorrected IDIF, and produces results with no bias and a very high correlation with gold stand results (see Xiong pg. 1).
Regarding the dependent claims 2, 4, 6, 7, all the elements of these claims are instantly disclosed or fully envisioned by the combination of Brynolfsson, Wang and Gray.
Regarding claim 2, Brynolfsson does not teach the MR images are T1-weighted but Gray teaches the MR images are T1-weighted (p.223 col.1 last ¶) as commonly known for acquiring anatomical/structural images.
Regarding claim 4, Brynolfsson teaches also the imaging analysis directed to tumor/cancerous detection and prognosis or progression (abstract, [0080], [0125]-[0126]) therefore teaching the target site condition assessment includes a tumor progression (TPR) assessment or a treatment related necrosis (TRN) assessment as claimed.
Regarding claim 6, Brynolfsson teaches also the use of machine learning module for classifying the targets (abstract with AI-based detection and classification, [0009], [0022]) imaging analysis directed to tumor/cancerous detection and prognosis or progression (abstract, [0080], [0125]-[0126]) therefore teaching the logistic regression engine is subjected to supervised machine learning (ML) to classify the abnormality volumes as claimed.
Regarding claim 7, as discussed above, Gray teaches the co-registration between MRI and FDG-PET images in native MRI image space creating MRI-space FDG-PET images (p.223 col.1 2nd ¶ and col.2 2nd ¶) wherein each of the MRI-space FDG-PET image is overlaid with the corresponding masked anatomical segmentation for defining different regions of interest to assess the cerebral metabolic rate of glucose for the time change of the glucose signal (p.224 col.1 last ¶ to col.2 1st ¶ Regional feature extraction and classification) leading to the classification of the regions of interest (p.224 col.2 2nd-3rd ¶) therefore Gray teaches the concept of overlaying anatomical masks from MRI imaging onto co-registered MRI DFG-PET images to select masked regions for which the change of metabolic rate of glucose is being assessed for later classification of these regions therefore teaching, prior classification, receiving the co-registered parametric PET maps corresponding to the target site of the subject as claimed.
Regarding independent claim 8, Brynolfsson teaches a system (Title and abstract) for performing FDG positron emission tomography (PET) quantification, segmentation, and classification of abnormalities (abstract system and method using PET imaging as functional imaging device and [0010] for detecting lesions and measuring radiopharmaceutical uptake within selected hotspots representing lesions for quantification, and (abstract) performing segmentation and classification for characterizing the lesion, tumor with estimation of disease severity and risk, wherein one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that FDG is commonly used for PET imaging as taught by Wang when PET imaging is combined with MRI imaging (Title, abstract, p.2 col.2 ¶ Pre-treatment Imaging)) the system comprising:
a PET scanner device configured for collecting volumetric radioactive measurement data associated with an administered radioactive tracer present in a target site of a subject over multiple scanning intervals and generating associated parametric PET maps of the target site ([0014] “using a functional imaging modality (e.g. positron emission tomography (PET)”, “wherein the 3D functional image comprises a plurality of voxels, each representing a particular physical volume within the subject and having an intensity value (e.g., standard uptake value (SUV)) that represents detected radiation emitted from the particular physical volume, wherein at least a portion of the plurality of voxels of the 3D functional image represent physical volumes within the target tissue region” wherein the radiation is originated from radiopharmaceutical injected within the patient (abstract) wherein the collection is performed as a video stream ([0118]) as over several scanning cycles, wherein the functional image reflects the capability of different tissues to accumulate and process the radiopharmaceutical leading the mapping of hotspots ([0014], [0020], [0035]-[0026]));
a magnetic resonance (MR) imaging scanner device configured for capturing a magnetic resonance image of the target site ([0034] “using an anatomical imaging modality … e.g., magnetic resonance imaging (MRI)”..” wherein the 3D anatomical image comprises a graphical representation of tissue … within the subject“ with [0045] “an anatomical classification corresponding to a particular anatomical region and/or group of anatomical regions within the subject in which the potential cancerous lesion that the hotspot represents is determined”, the MRI image directed to a target site);
and a dynamic PET platform (title and abstract AI based analysis system for improving the detection, segmentation and classification of lesions with characterization of the lesions, tumor burden and estimation of disease severity and risk from PET/functional images) comprising:
at least one processor ([0034], [0047] processor of a computing device);
a memory element ([0047] memory having instructions stored thereon); and
a PET processing engine stored in the memory element ([0047] stored instructions including machine learning modules configured to be executed by the processor) and when executed by the at least one processor is configured for performing the method of claim 1 with receiving a plurality of MR images corresponding to a target site of a subject, generating three dimensional (3D) area masks of abnormality volumes from the plurality of MR images, segmenting the 3D area masks into one or more individual seed images for each of the abnormality volumes, overlaying the one or more individual seed images onto co-registered parametric PET maps to generate kinetic rate parameters for each of the abnormality volumes, and utilizing the kinetic rate parameters to train a logistic regression engine to predict a target site condition assessment based on a classification of the abnormality volumes wherein as discussed above, claim 1 is taught by Brynolfsson, Wang, Gray, and Xiong.
The examiner notes also that Wang teaches the combined FDG-PET and MRI imaging scanners (p.2 col.2 ¶ Pretreatment Imaging) and so do Gray (p.223 col.1 3rd and last ¶ and col.2 1st ¶).
Therefore the claim 8 is therefore made obvious by the teachings discussed above mutandis mutatis. Brynolfsson, Wang, Gray, and Xiong teach claim 8.
Regarding the dependent claims 9, 11, 13, 14, all the elements of these claims are instantly disclosed or fully envisioned by the combination of Brynolfsson, Wang, Gray, and Xiong.
Regarding claim 9, Brynolfsson does not teach the MR images are T1-weighted but Gray teaches the MR images are T1-weighted (p.223 col.1 last ¶) as commonly known for acquiring anatomical/structural images.
Regarding claim 11, Brynolfsson teaches also the imaging analysis directed to tumor/cancerous detection and prognosis or progression (abstract, [0080], [0125]-[0126]) therefore teaching the target site condition assessment includes a tumor progression (TPR) assessment or a treatment related necrosis (TRN) assessment as claimed.
Regarding claim 13, Brynolfsson teaches also the use of machine learning module for classifying the targets (abstract with AI-based detection and classification, [0009], [0022]) imaging analysis directed to tumor/cancerous detection and prognosis or progression (abstract, [0080], [0125]-[0126]) therefore teaching the logistic regression engine is subjected to supervised machine learning (ML) to classify the abnormality volumes as claimed.
Regarding claim 14, as discussed above, Gray teaches the co-registration between MRI and FDG-PET images in native MRI image space creating MRI-space FDG-PET images (p.223 col.1 2nd ¶ and col.2 2nd ¶) wherein each of the MRI-space FDG-PET image is overlaid with the corresponding masked anatomical segmentation for defining different regions of interest to assess the cerebral metabolic rate of glucose for the time change of the glucose signal (p.224 col.1 last ¶ to col.2 1st ¶ Regional feature extraction and classification) leading to the classification of the regions of interest (p.224 col.2 2nd-3rd ¶) therefore Gray teaches the concept of overlaying anatomical masks from MRI imaging onto co-registered MRI DFG-PET images to select masked regions for which the change of metabolic rate of glucose is being assessed for later classification of these regions therefore teaching, prior classification, receiving the co-registered parametric PET maps corresponding to the target site of the subject as claimed.
Claims 3 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brynolfsson in view of Wang, Gray and Xiong as applied to claims 1 and 8 and further in view of Mikhno et al. (USPN 20170039706 A1; Pub.Date 02/09/2017; Fil.Date 09/02/2016).
Brynolfsson, Wang, Gray, and Xiong teach a method and system as set forth above.
Brynolfsson, Wang, Gray, and Xiong do not specifically teach generates a total blood volume (TBV) parameter for each of the abnormality volumes as in claims 3 and 10.
However, Mikhno teaches within the same field of endeavor of image reconstruction and analysis (title and abstract) the analysis of PET regions with the determination of the blood volume ([0348] and [0440} for an estimate total blood volume) therefore, since each volume of interest was already separated with overlaid masks as discussed above, Mikhno teaches generates a total blood volume (TBV) parameter for each of the abnormality volumes as claimed.
Therefore it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to have modified the method and system of Brynolfsson as modified by Wang, Gray, and Xiong such that the method and system further comprise: generates a total blood volume (TBV) parameter for each of the abnormality volumes, since one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that determining the total blood volume within volume of interest using PET imaging was known in the art as taught by Mikhno. One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected that this modification could have been made with predictable results since both Gray and Brynolfsson and Mikhno teach the basis of combined MRI/PET imaging technology for combining functional and anatomical imaging for improving diagnosis. The motivation would have been to monitor the biological activity of the regions of interest within the subject in order to predict the nature and physiological state of these regions as related to the vascularization of the region, as suggested by Mikhno ([0469]).
Claims 5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brynolfsson in view of Wang, Gray, and Xiong as applied to claims 1 and 8 and further in view of Li et al. (2017 IEEE Nuclear Science Symposium and Medical Imaging Conference IEEE Xplore 3 pages; Pub.Date 2017).
Brynolfsson, Wang, Gray, and Xiong teach a one or more non-transitory computer readable media as set forth above.
Brynolfsson, Wang, Gray, and Xiong do not specifically teach one or more wavelet transforms are utilized to determine the kinetic rate parameters as in claims 5 and 12.
However, Li teaches within the same field of endeavor of imaging and diagnosis tumors using FDG-PET (Title and abstract) the use of wavelet transforms/analysis for analyzing the time course features of the pharmacokinetics of FDG using dynamic PET (abstract, p.1 col.2 last ¶ to p.2 col.1 1st ¶, and Fig.2 with application of wavelet transform WT to FDG uptake from PET images) therefore teaching one or more wavelet transforms are utilized to determine the kinetic rate parameters as claimed.
Therefore it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to have modified the method and system of Brynolfsson as modified by Wang, Gray, and Xiong such that the method and system further comprise: one or more wavelet transforms are utilized to determine the kinetic rate parameters, since one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that using wavelet transformation for analyzing the rate of uptake of FDG with the PET imaging data was known in the art as taught by Li. One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected that this modification could have been made with predictable results since both Gray and Brynolfsson and Li teach the basis of combined MRI/PET imaging technology for combining functional and anatomical imaging for improving diagnosis. The motivation would have been to monitor the biological activity of the regions of interest within the subject in order to predict the nature and physiological state of these regions for better classification of the lesions, as suggested by Li (abstract).
Claims 15, 16, 18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brynolfsson et al. in view of Gray and Xiong.
Regarding independent claim 15, Brynolfsson teaches a memory element being or containing a computer-readable medium (CRM) ([0047] [0223]-[0224] memory/CRM having instructions stored thereon wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform a method) therefore teaching one or more non-transitory computer readable media having stored thereon executable instructions that when executed by a processor of a computer cause the computer to perform steps comprising :
receiving a plurality of magnetic resonance (MR) images corresponding to a target site of a subject ([0034], [0075], [0144] with Fig. 1B, receiving/accessing 3D anatomical image of subject targeting cancerous lesions within the subject using anatomical imaging modality such as magnetic resonance imaging, wherein one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize as obvious as the image would refer to a time series of image frames or plurality of conventional images since the term image is interpreted as a video stream according to Brynolfsson [0118]) ;
generating three dimensional (3D) area masks of abnormality volumes from the plurality of MR images ([0052] “ the instructions cause the processor to automatically segment the 3D anatomical image, thereby creating the 3D segmentation map” and [0051] the invention is processing the 3D images of functional (PET) and anatomical (MRI) images to provide “a segmentation map that identifies, within the 3D functional image and/or the 3D anatomical image, one or more volumes of interest (VOIs), each VOI corresponding to a particular target tissue region and/or a particular anatomical region”) ;
segmenting the 3D area masks into one or more individual seed images for each of the abnormality volumes ([0052] “ the instructions cause the processor to automatically segment the 3D anatomical image, thereby creating the 3D segmentation map” and [0051] the invention is processing the 3D images of functional (PET) and anatomical (MRI) images to provide “a segmentation map that identifies, within the 3D functional image and/or the 3D anatomical image, one or more volumes of interest (VOIs), each VOI corresponding to a particular target tissue region and/or a particular anatomical region”);
[…overlaying the one or more individual seed images onto co-registered parametric PET maps to generate kinetic rate parameters for each of the abnormality volumes…]; and
utilizing the kinetic rate parameters to train a logistic regression engine to predict a target site condition assessment based on a classification of the abnormality volumes ([0036]-[0037] using a machine learning module (hotspot classification module) determine the lesion classification for each hotspot to select a subset of one or more hotspot having a high likelihood of corresponding to cancerous lesions, based at least on intensities of hotspots and segmentation map, reading on the accumulation rate of the radiopharmaceutical compounds and anatomical masks discussed above).
Brynolfsson does not specifically teach overlaying the one or more individual seed images onto co-registered parametric PET maps to generate kinetic rate parameters for each of the abnormality volumes as in claim 15.
However, Gray teaches within the same field of endeavor of multimodal imaging FDG-PET and MRI technology (Title, abstract and p.222 col.2 last ¶) the co-registration between MRI and FDG-PET images in native MRI image space creating MRI-space FDG-PET images (p.223 col.1 2nd ¶ and col.2 2nd ¶) wherein each of the MRI-space FDG-PET image is overlaid with the corresponding masked anatomical segmentation for defining different regions of interest to assess the cerebral metabolic rate of glucose for the time change of the glucose signal (p.224 col.1 last ¶ to col.2 1st ¶ Regional feature extraction and classification) leading to the classification of the regions of interest (p.224 col.2 2nd-3rd ¶) therefore Gray teaches the concept of overlaying anatomical masks from MRI imaging onto co-registered MRI DFG-PET images to select masked regions for which the change of metabolic rate of glucose is being assessed for later classification of these regions therefore teaching overlaying the one or more individual seed images onto co-registered parametric PET maps to generate kinetic rate parameters for each of the abnormality volumes as claimed.
Therefore it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to have modified the method of Brynolfsson such that the method further comprises: overlaying the one or more individual seed images onto co-registered parametric PET maps to generate kinetic rate parameters for each of the abnormality volumes, since one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that overlaying anatomical masks of regions of interest from MRI of the subject on FDG-PET images being co-registered with the MRI images of the patient to access to metabolic rate of glucose within these regions were known in the art as taught by Gray. One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected that this modification could have been made with predictable results since both Gray and Brynolfsson teach the basis of combined MRI/PET imaging technology for combining functional and anatomical imaging for improving diagnosis. The motivation would have been to monitor the biological activity of the regions of interest within the subject in order to predict the nature and physiological state of these regions, as suggested by Gray (p.227 col.2 2nd and 4th ¶).
However, the combination of references is silent regarding parametric PET maps computed from dynamic FDG (dFDG) PET data using a model corrected blood input function.
In the same FDG PET field of endeavor, Xiong teaches parametric PET maps (pg. 1 parametric PET maps of CMRglc are calculated suing the corrected IDIF) computed from dynamic FDG (dFDG) PET data (pg. 1 serial arterial samples and dynamic FDG-PET of the head and heart data are obtained) using a model corrected blood input function (pg. 2 the IDIF is a blood input function because its based on serial recordings of the arterial blood pool in the heart; pg. 1 an bi-exponential function is fit to the serial measurements of the IDIF, the measured IDIF is corrected, and the parametric maps of CMRglc are calculated using the corrected IDIF).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the FDG-PET quantification method of modified Brynolfsson with the computational method of parametric PET maps of Xiong, as this would avoid any underestimation produced by uncorrected IDIF, and produces results with no bias and a very high correlation with gold stand results (see Xiong pg. 1).
Regarding the dependent claims 16, 18, 20, all the elements of these claims are instantly disclosed or fully envisioned by the combination of Brynolfsson, Gray, and Xiong.
Regarding claim 16, Brynolfsson does not teach the MR images are T1-weighted but Gray teaches the MR images are T1-weighted (p.223 col.1 last ¶) as commonly known for acquiring anatomical/structural images.
Regarding claim 18, Brynolfsson teaches also the imaging analysis directed to tumor/cancerous detection and prognosis or progression (abstract, [0080], [0125]-[0126]) therefore teaching the target site condition assessment includes a tumor progression (TPR) assessment or a treatment related necrosis (TRN) assessment as claimed.
Regarding claim 20, Brynolfsson teaches also the use of machine learning module for classifying the targets (abstract with AI-based detection and classification, [0009], [0022]) imaging analysis directed to tumor/cancerous detection and prognosis or progression (abstract, [0080], [0125]-[0126]) therefore teaching the logistic regression engine is subjected to supervised machine learning (ML) to classify the abnormality volumes as claimed.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brynolfsson in view of Gray and Xiong as applied to claim 15 and further in view of Mikhno et al. (USPN 20170039706 A1; Pub.Date 02/09/2017; Fil.Date 09/02/2016).
Brynolfsson, Gray, and Xiong teach one or more non-transitory computer readable media as set forth above.
Brynolfsson, Gray, and Xiong do not specifically teach generates a total blood volume (TBV) parameter for each of the abnormality volumes as in claims 3 and 10.
However, Mikhno teaches within the same field of endeavor of image reconstruction and analysis (title and abstract) the analysis of PET regions with the determination of the blood volume ([0348] and [0440} for an estimate total blood volume) therefore, since each volume of interest was already separated with overlaid masks as discussed above, Mikhno teaches generates a total blood volume (TBV) parameter for each of the abnormality volumes as claimed.
Therefore it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to have modified the one or more non-transitory computer readable media of Brynolfsson as modified by Gray and Xiong such that the method and system further comprise: generates a total blood volume (TBV) parameter for each of the abnormality volumes, since one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that determining the total blood volume within volume of interest using PET imaging was known in the art as taught by Mikhno. One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected that this modification could have been made with predictable results since both Gray and Brynolfsson and Mikhno teach the basis of combined MRI/PET imaging technology for combining functional and anatomical imaging for improving diagnosis. The motivation would have been to monitor the biological activity of the regions of interest within the subject in order to predict the nature and physiological state of these regions as related to the vascularization of the region, as suggested by Mikhno ([0469]).
Claim 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brynolfsson in view of Gray, and Xiong as applied to claim 15 and further in view of Li et al. (2017 IEEE Nuclear Science Symposium and Medical Imaging Conference IEEE Xplore 3 pages; Pub.Date 2017).
Brynolfsson, Gray, and Xiong teach a one or more non-transitory computer readable media as set forth above.
Brynolfsson, Gray, and Xiong do not specifically teach one or more wavelet transforms are utilized to determine the kinetic rate parameters as in claim 19.
However, Li teaches within the same field of endeavor of imaging and diagnosis tumors using FDG-PET (Title and abstract) the use of wavelet transforms/analysis for analyzing the time course features of the pharmacokinetics of FDG using dynamic PET (abstract, p.1 col.2 last ¶ to p.2 col.1 1st ¶, and Fig.2 with application of wavelet transform WT to FDG uptake from PET images) therefore teaching one or more wavelet transforms are utilized to determine the kinetic rate parameters as claimed.
Therefore it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to have modified the method and system of Brynolfsson as modified by Gray and Xiong such that the method and system further comprise: one or more wavelet transforms are utilized to determine the kinetic rate parameters, since one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that using wavelet transformation for analyzing the rate of uptake of FDG with the PET imaging data was known in the art as taught by Li. One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected that this modification could have been made with predictable results since both Gray and Brynolfsson and Li teach the basis of combined MRI/PET imaging technology for combining functional and anatomical imaging for improving diagnosis. The motivation would have been to monitor the biological activity of the regions of interest within the subject in order to predict the nature and physiological state of these regions for better classification of the lesions, as suggested by Li (abstract).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 8, and 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Specifically, Xiong has now been brought in to teach the newly added claim limitations. Therefore Xiong, combined with Brynolfsson, Gray, and Wang, teach the limitations of the claims.
The remaining claims are rejected for substantially the same reasons.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL YIMING FANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3798
/PASCAL M BUI PHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3798