DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1 and a2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over USPub20100054652
Regarding claims 1-2, 4-10: ‘652 teaches a silicon nitride sintered body comprising silicon nitride particles, a rare earth element, an aluminum element and can include an additional metal of at least one of Zr, W, Hf, Ti, etc. (see abstract, 0012-0015, 0035, Table 1) as claimed.
‘652 also teaches a bearing comprising a machine part comprised of the silicon nitride sintered body wherein the part is configured as a bearing rolling element (see Figures, 0010-0011, 0031-0033).
Regarding the features required by claims 1, 4-6 and 9, initially note that ‘652’s sintered body comprises silicon nitride particles, a rare earth element, an aluminum element and can include an additional metal of at least one of Zr, W, Hf, Ti, etc. which is the same as Applicants.
‘652’s rare earth element can be in the form of an oxide of a rare earth element such as an yttrium oxide, the aluminum can be aluminum oxide and the additional element can be in the form of simple metal or an oxide which is the same as that disclosed by Applicants (see ‘652’s par 0013-0014, 0016-0017, 0035, Example 6 in Table 1 and Applicants’ published specification 0027, 0029, 0034 and Example 1)
‘652’s rare earth element is added in an amount of 1-6wt% and even 4wt%, the aluminum is added in an amount of 0.5-6wt% and even 5wt%, and the additional metal is added in an amount of 0.01-5wt% or even 1wt% with the remainder being the silicon nitride all meeting contents used by Applicants (see ‘652’s par 0013-0014, 0017, 0035, Example 6 in Table 1 and Applicants’ published specification 0028-0029, 0035 and Example 1, Table 1).
‘652’s silicon nitride particles have an average size of 0.4-0.6micron (0025) with the average size of the additives being 0.6-1.2micron (0024) which overlaps the sizes disclosed by Applicants’ (see Applicants’ published specification 0056, 0059).
‘652’s sintered body is formed by first mixing the components using a ball mill (see 0026-0029, see 0035-0036), the mixture is then molded by CIP (0029, 0035-0036), followed by a degreasing treatment (0029, 0035-0036) before finally sintering (either pressureless or under atmosphere pressure) at 1600-2000oC in an inert atmosphere (N or Ar) for 3-10hr such as 1750oC for 4hours (0029, 0036). After sintering, the sintered body can undergo a HIP treatment with a pressure of 100-200MPa at 1,600-1,900oC such as 100MPa at 1,700oC for 1 hour (0030, 0036).
Note that the ‘652’s method of forming their sintered body is substantially similar to that done by Applicants’ (see Applicants’ Publication 0053-0055, 0063, Example 1).
Given the similarities, one skilled in the art would reasonably conclude the same features to result absent a showing to the contrary (MPEP 2112).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1 and a2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over USPub20100054652 as applied to claim 1 above, or alternatively further evidenced by or in view of USPub20160137556.
Regarding claim 3: Given that ‘652 does not teach any intentional addition of Fe, one skilled in the art would reasonably conclude none (0%) to be present.
Alternatively, in the instance Applicants argue that although ‘652 may not teach intentionally adding Fe that one skilled in the art would expect Fe to be present as an unavoidable impurity during the formation of silicon nitride as known in the art, note that even if this is true ‘652 explicitly teaches that their sintered body includes 0.3wt% or less impurity (0025). As such, any theoretical Fe impurity would still be 0.3wt% or less meeting the claimed requirement.
Even further, even if Fe is present as an unavoidable impurity during the formation of silicon nitride, given that ‘556 that silicon nitride produced by nitriding contains 100-3000ppm (0.01-0.3wt%) Fe as impurity and silicon nitride formed by imide decomposition contains 50ppm (0.005wt%) Fe as impurity (‘556 par 0051), again, any theoretical Fe impurity would still be expected, or at the very least be rendered obvious, to fall within the claimed range.
Conclusion
LAUREN ROBINSON COLGAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1784
/LAUREN R COLGAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784