DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of claims 1-10 and 16-19 in the reply filed on 2026/03/04 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Applicant has canceled claim 14 and has withdrawn claims 11-13 and 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Becker et al. (US 2003/0129717 A1) in view of Depoot et al. (US 2016/0040105 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 4-8, Becker teaches a water-soluble film (abstract, 6, 43) comprising carrageenan; [47, 70], plasticizers (instant claims 4-8) such as glycerol (a polyol) in amount of 1-75 wt.% of the film (construed as dry); [49].
Regarding claims 1-3 and 10, Becker does not teach the “at least one surface comprising one or more printed regions” limitation. However, the analogous art of Depoot teaches a laundry care unit dose, a pouch with compartment(s) made of a water soluble film (13, 21-22) comprising carragum (e.g. carrageenan) and glycerol plasticizer; [31, 45], wherein the film has a printed surface area on either side of the film covering 10-80% of its surface; [47-48, 50]. At the time before the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to add a desired print on the surface of a film (capsule, unit dose…etc.) with the motivation of recognition of a specific brand from the others (brand product identification), or as a printed safety instruction for consumers, as taught above by Depoot. Furthermore, Depoot teaches (instant claim 10) the instantly claimed bittering agent; [55]. At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to add a bittering agent to the film’s polymeric material with the motivation of providing safety for children and house pets.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Becker et al. (US 2003/0129717 A1), Depoot al. (US 2016/0040105 A1), as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Paris et al. (US 6,331,205 B1).
Regarding claim 9, Becker does not teach the instantly claimed film comprising lambda- carrageenan. However, the analogous art of Paris teaches a viscus composition for making hard or soft films or capsules (i.e. different elasticities); [abstract C.2: L.22-41]. At the time before the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use lambda-carrageenan with the motivation of using a film material, such as carrageenan, with its thickening characteristics without gelling properties.
Claims 1 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Depoot et al. (US 2016/0040105 A1) in view of Becker et al. (US 2003/0129717 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 16 and 19, Depoot teaches a laundry care (abstract, 13, 16, 56) unit dose (instant claim 19), a pouch (i.e. capsule) with compartment(s) made of a water soluble film (13, 19-22) comprising carragum (e.g. carrageenan) with glycerol plasticizer; [31, 45], wherein the film has a printed surface area on either side of the film covering 10-80% of its surface; [47-48, 50].
Regarding claims 1, Depoot does not teach the amount of plasticizer. However, the analogous art of Becker teaches an identical polymer film for delivery of laundry compositions on fabrics; [72], comprising carrageenan and glycerol as plasticizer in the amount of 1-75 % (i.e. dry weight); [49]. At the time before the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the plasticizer amount of Becker for Depoot with the motivation of trying to adjust the flexibility of water unit dose capsule containing substrates such as laundry composition and its delivery time on fabrics.
Regarding claims 17-18, Depoot teaches each and every limitations of the claims with location of printed regions (internal or external of compartments); [47-48, 50], wherein the internal space compartment (or pouch or capsule) contains active cleaning composition.
Correspondence
/M.R.A./
Examiner, Art Unit 1767
2026/04/02
/MARK EASHOO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1767