DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on 02/20/2024. These drawings are not acceptable.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the offset parameter w, and the related parameters for determining the value of w, must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 8, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “… the second dimming unit is disposed close to the centerline…“, but what degree of closeness or proximity is being claimed is unclear and undefined by the specification and the claims. As currently recited, a person of ordinary skill would not be appraised of what degree of closeness of a dimming unit, or equivalent, to the centerline would be considered as infringing on the device as currently claimed. For purposes of examination, any degree of closeness or proximity of a dimming unit, or equivalent, to a centerline will be considered as satisfying the limitation as currently recited.
Claims 2-13 depend on claim 1, either directly or indirectly, and inherit at least the same deficiencies. Appropriate clarification and correction is required.
Claim 8 is indefinite because it recites the limitation “wherein the number of the second light-emitting unit groups provided in the sub-display area further away from the center display area is larger” without comparing the number of second light-emitting unit groups provided in the sub-display area further away from the center display area to a parameter or limitation that it is intended to be larger than. As currently recited, a person of ordinary skill would not be appraised as to what number of second light-emitting unit groups, or the equivalent thereof, would be considered as infringing on the device as claimed. For purposes of examination, any number of second light-emitting unit groups in the sub-display area further away from the center display area will be considered as satisfying the limitation as currently recited. Appropriate clarification and correction is required.
Claim 19 is indefinite because it recites the limitation “the offset distance w of the second light-emitting unit in the sub-display area further away from the center display area is larger” without specifying what parameter or limitation the offset distance w is larger than. As currently recited, a person of ordinary skill would not be appraised as to what offset distances would be considered as infringing on the device as claimed. For purposes of examination, any offset distance in the sub-display area further away from the center display area will be considered as satisfying the limitation as currently recited. Appropriate clarification and correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. US PGPub 2022/0252765 A1 (of record as CN211236456U, see IDS dated 12/02/2024, hereinafter, “Zhang”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Zhang discloses a display module (refer to at least the title and abstract disclosing a display assembly including a display panel, and see at least Fig. 3A depicting display panel 1 of display assembly 4, par. [0069], equivalent to a display module) comprising:
a light-emitting function layer (Fig. 3A, display panel 1 has a light-emitting side L, par. [0075]) comprising a substrate (Fig. 3A, display panel 1 includes a display substrate 15, pars. [0025], [0141]) and a plurality of light-emitting units disposed on the substrate and arranged in an array (Fig. 3A shows display panel 1 has light-emitting side L with sub-pixels P, par. [0078], and Fig. 9A shows display panel 1 includes a plurality of sub-pixels P arranged in the display region 11, par. [0098], and Fig. 9A shows an example in which the plurality of sub-pixels P are arranged in an array, par. [0099]), wherein the light-emitting function layer comprises a center display area and two edge display areas (Figs. 3A and 3B, display panel 1 has display region 11 which includes a middle display region A and a peripheral display region B on either side of middle region A, par. [0069]), the light-emitting function layer is configured such that one of the edge display areas, the center display area and the other one of the edge display areas are sequentially arranged in a first direction (Figs. 3A and 3B, middle display region A and peripheral display region B, par. [0069], are arranged such that a peripheral region B, middle display region A, and a subsequent peripheral region B are sequentially arranged in a first direction, and as shown in Fig. 5A at least, peripheral display region B includes a first sub-region B1 and a second sub-region B2 located on opposite sides of the middle display region A in the first direction Y, and a third sub-region B3 and a fourth sub-region B4 located on opposite sides of the middle display region A in the second direction X, par. [0083], thereby disclosing sequential arrangement of edge and center display areas in at least a first direction), the plurality of light-emitting units comprises one or more first light-emitting units and one or more second light-emitting units, the one or more first light-emitting units being located in the center display area (Fig. 3A, middle display region A has sub-pixels P and peripheral region B also has sub-pixels P, thereby disclosing the equivalent of first light-emitting units in region A and second light-emitting units in region B), and the one or more second light-emitting units being located in the edge display areas (Fig. 3A shows a plurality of sub-pixels P in peripheral region B); and
a plurality of dimming units disposed on a light-emitting surface of the light-emitting function layer and comprising one or more first dimming units and one or more second dimming units (Fig. 3A, light adjusting layer 12 is disposed on a light-emitting side L of display panel 1, par. [0075], and as shown in Fig. 10A, a plurality of lenses 17 are disposed on display panel 1 and each lens 17 corresponds to at least one sub-pixel P, par. [0108], where lenses 17 are equivalent to a plurality of dimming units), the one or more first dimming units each corresponding to one of the one or more first light-emitting units and the one or more second dimming units each corresponding to one of the one or more second light-emitting units (as shown in Fig. 3A, light adjusting layer 12 is disposed such that it covers middle display region A having sub-pixels P and also covers peripheral region B having sub-pixels P, thus satisfying the limitation of one or more dimming units corresponding to the first and second light-emitting units, and in Fig. 10A lenses 17 are disposed over at least subregion B2 of peripheral region B, thus satisfying the limitation of one or more dimming units corresponding to the second light-emitting units);
wherein the light-emitting function layer has a centerline perpendicular to the first direction on a plane in which the light-emitting function layer is located (Fig. 3A, display panel 1 has a centerline perpendicular to the first direction on a plane in which the panel is located); a dimming main optical axis resulted from a main optical axis of the first light-emitting unit passing through the corresponding first dimming unit coincides with the main optical axis of the first light-emitting unit (Fig. 3A, sub-pixels P of display panel 1 middle region A must have optical axes, therefore Zhang discloses the equivalent of a main optical axis of the first light-emitting unit, and light adjusting layer 12, equivalent to a dimming unit, is disposed on display panel 1 such that the optical axis of the light adjusting layer 12 corresponds to the main optical axis of the sub-pixels P of display panel 1, thus satisfying the limitation); a dimming main optical axis resulted from a main optical axis of the second light-emitting unit passing through the second dimming unit is disposed close to the centerline with respect to the main optical axis of the corresponding second light-emitting unit (Fig. 3A, sub-pixels P of display panel 1 periphery region B must have optical axes, therefore Zhang discloses the equivalent of a main optical axis of the second light-emitting unit, and light adjusting layer 12, equivalent to a dimming unit, is disposed on display panel 1 such that the optical axis of the light adjusting layer 12 corresponds to the main optical axis of the sub-pixels P of peripheral region B of display panel 1, thus satisfying the limitation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 5-6, and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Wu et al. US PGPub 2022/0252899 A1 (hereinafter, “Wu”) and Shi et al. US PGPub 2023/0101633 A1 (of record, see IDS dated 12/02/2024, hereinafter, “Shi”).
Regarding dependent claim 2, Zhang discloses the display module according to claim 1, wherein the one or more second dimming units each comprise one or more second lenses (Fig. 10A, a plurality of lenses 17 are disposed on display panel 1 and each lens 17 corresponds to at least one sub-pixel P, par. [0108], where lenses 17 are equivalent to a plurality of dimming units, and lenses 17 are disposed over at least subregion B2 of peripheral region B, thus disclosing one or more second dimming units of one or more second lenses), the second lenses are identical in structure (Fig. 10A shows lenses 17 are identical in structure), the plurality of light-emitting units comprise one or more first light-emitting unit groups and one or more second light-emitting unit groups (Fig. 3A, middle display region A has sub-pixels P and peripheral region B has sub-pixels P), the one or more first light-emitting unit groups each comprise a plurality of the first light-emitting units arranged at intervals in a second direction (Figs. 3A and 10A show sub-pixels P arranged at intervales along the second direction), the one or more second light-emitting unit groups each comprise a plurality of second light-emitting units arranged at intervals in the second direction (Figs. 3A and 10A show lenses 17 arranged at intervals in the second direction), and the edge display areas each comprise a plurality of the second light-emitting unit groups arranged in sequence in the first direction (Figs. 3A and 10A show lenses 17 arranged at intervals in the first direction); the first direction and the second direction are both located on the plane in which the light-emitting function layer is located (Figs. 3A and 10A show X and Y directions are along the plane defined by the surface of display panel 1), and the second direction is perpendicular to the first direction (Figs. 3A and 10A show X and Y directions are perpendicular to each other).
Zhang does not disclose wherein the one or more first dimming units each comprise one or more first lenses (Zhang does not disclose or depict lenses, such as lenses 17, comprising the first dimming unit or units), therefore Zhang does not disclose the first lenses are identical in structure, and Zhang does not disclose wherein a center of the second lens is offset from the main optical axis of the corresponding second light-emitting unit towards the centerline in the first direction by an offset distance w, and the offset distances w of the centers of the second lenses from the main optical axis of the corresponding plurality of second light-emitting units in the same second light-emitting unit group are equal.
Zhang discloses the claimed invention except for the limitation that the first dimming units each comprise one or more first lenses. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to cover middle region A with lenses 17 in the same way that peripheral regions B of display panel 1 are covered, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8 (1977). Furthermore, Zhang in Fig. 3A shows middle region A of display panel 1 with light adjusting layer 12 disposed thereupon, thus teaching the disposition of first dimming unit equivalents over middle region A, and by disclosing lenses 17 over peripheral region B, a person of ordinary skill would find it obvious to also dispose lenses 17 over middle region A of display panel 1.
Nevertheless, in the same field of invention, Wu discloses a head-up display system (refer to at least title and abstract thereof), where Wu in at least Fig. 2 teaches the head-up display system includes a plurality of light sources 10 (par. [0082] thereof), and in Fig. 2 thereof teaches each micro-lens 201 corresponds to one light source 10, and that the direction of chief light of light emitted by the light source 10 is the central axis direction of the light source 10 (par. [0083] thereof). Furthermore, Wu teaches an active light-emitting image source, see at least Fig. 28 thereof, which includes a light controller device 1000 and a plurality of light sources 104, where light sources 104 are distributed and arranged at different positions and the light controller device 1000 includes a collimating element 107 (par. [0128] thereof).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have applied the teachings of Wu to the disclosure of Zhang and disposed lenses, such as lenses 17 as disclosed by Zhang or micro-lenses 201 as taught by Wu depending on appropriate parameters for optimum disposition, to ensure most of the light emitted by the light-emitting side L of display panel 1 is directed in the same direction (Wu, par. [0129]). As such, the prior art combination of Zhang in view of Wu teaches and renders obvious the limitation that the first lenses are identical in structure, because both Zhang and Wu disclose and teach structurally identical lenses across the display panel.
The prior art combination of Zhang in view of Wu does not disclose wherein a center of the second lens is offset from the main optical axis of the corresponding second light-emitting unit towards the centerline in the first direction by an offset distance w, and the offset distances w of the centers of the second lenses from the main optical axis of the corresponding plurality of second light-emitting units in the same second light-emitting unit group are equal.
In the same field of invention, Shi discloses in Fig. 9 an example of a device 900 including a micro-lens array 940 disposed on an array of light sources 920 (par. [0127] thereof) and Shi teaches a pitch 922 of the array of light sources 920 may be different from a pitch 942 of micro-lens array 940, and thus the optical axis of each micro-lens in micro-lens array 940 may be offset from the center of a respective light source in the array of light sources 920 by a different distance (par. [0129] thereof).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have applied the teachings of Shi to the disclosure of Zhang and offset lenses of the second dimming unit (i.e., lenses 17 disclosed by Zhang) corresponding to a light-emitting unit (i.e., sub-pixels P of display panel 1) so that a center of the second lens is offset from the main optical axis of the corresponding second light-emitting unit towards the centerline in the first direction by an offset distance w, and the offset distances w of the centers of the second lenses from the main optical axis of the corresponding plurality of second light-emitting units in the same second light-emitting unit group are equal so that the light beam from each light source may be deflected by the corresponding lens by a different respective deflection angle to converge on a pre-determined area (Shi, par. [0129]).
Regarding dependent claim 3, Zhang in view of Wu and Shi (hereinafter, “modified Zhang”) discloses the display module according to claim 2, and Shi further discloses the display module comprising any two of the second light-emitting unit groups in the first direction, wherein the offset distance w of the second light-emitting unit in the second light-emitting unit group away from the center display area is greater than the offset distance w of the other second light-emitting unit in the second light-emitting unit group close to the center display area (Shi Fig. 9 depicts micro-lens array 940 disposed on an array of light sources 920, par. [0127] thereof, where the offset distance between elements of micro-lens array 940 is greater on the edges than in the center, satisfying the limitation as best understood by the Examiner given the current recitation of the limitations).
Regarding dependent claim 5, modified Zhang discloses the display module according to claim 2, and Zhang further discloses wherein the two edge display areas are respectively a first display area and a second display area (Zhang Figs. 3A and 3B, display panel 1 has display region 11 which includes a middle display region A and a peripheral display region B on either side of middle region A, par. [0069], thereby disclosing edge display areas that are a first and a second display area), the center display area is located between the first display area and the second display area (Zhang Figs. 3A and 3B, display panel 1 has display region 11 which includes a middle display region A and a peripheral display region B on either side of middle region A, par. [0069]), and the one or more second light-emitting units located in the first display area are mirror-symmetric with the one or more second light-emitting units located in the second display area with respect to the centerline (Zhang Figs. 3A and 3B show mirror symmetry of the sub-pixels P of the peripheral display regions B of display panel 1).
Zhang does not explicitly disclose a distribution of offset angles of the dimming main optical axis of the second lenses at both sides of the centerline with respect to the main optical axis of the corresponding second light-emitting units is mirror-symmetrical with respect to the centerline (as Zhang does not teach or suggest offset angles for the dimming main optical axes of the display assembly 4 disclosed therein, Zhang cannot teach or suggest mirror symmetry of the offset angles).
In the same field of invention, Shi discloses device 900 in Fig. 9 including micro-lens array 940 disposed on an array of light sources 920 (par. [0127] thereof) and Shi teaches a pitch 922 of the array of light sources 920 may be different from a pitch 942 of micro-lens array 940, and thus the optical axis of each micro-lens in micro-lens array 940 may be offset from the center of a respective light source in the array of light sources 920 by a different distance (par. [0129] thereof). As shown in Fig. 9, the offset angles are mirror-symmetric with respect to the centerline of device 900.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have applied the teachings of Shi to the disclosure of Zhang and arranged the elements of the dimming units so that the optical axes are offset in a mirror-symmetric arrangement across the centerline of display panel disclosed by Zhang, so that light beams from the light sources (i.e., sub-pixels P of display panel 1) may converge at a pre-determined position for peak luminance of the display (Shi, par. [0129]).
Regarding dependent claim 6, modified Zhang discloses the display module according to claim 5, and Zhang further discloses wherein each of the first display area and the second display area comprises a plurality of sub-display areas arranged at intervals in the first direction (Zhang Figs. 3A and 3B, display panel 1 has display region 11 which includes a middle display region A and a peripheral display region B on either side of middle region A, par. [0069], thereby disclosing edge display areas that are a first and a second display area, and as shown in Fig. 3A Zhang discloses sub-pixels P in the peripheral display regions B arranged at intervals in the first direction), each of the plurality of sub-display areas is provided with N second light-emitting unit groups of the second light-emitting unit groups (as shown in Fig. 3A Zhang discloses an integer number, N, of sub-pixels P in the peripheral display regions B), and N is a positive integer greater than or equal to 2 (as shown in Fig. 3A Zhang discloses an integer number, N, of sub-pixels P in the peripheral display regions B, where N is shown to be at least 5).
Zhang does not disclose the offset distances w of the plurality of second light-emitting units located in the same sub-display area are equal, nor does Zhang disclose in the first direction, the offset distance w of the second light-emitting unit in the sub-display area further away from the center display area is larger
In the same field of invention, Shi discloses in Fig. 9 an example of a device 900 including a micro-lens array 940 disposed on an array of light sources 920 (par. [0127] thereof) and Shi teaches a pitch 922 of the array of light sources 920 may be different from a pitch 942 of micro-lens array 940, and thus the optical axis of each micro-lens in micro-lens array 940 may be offset from the center of a respective light source in the array of light sources 920 by a different distance (par. [0129] thereof).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have applied the teachings of Shi to the disclosure of Zhang and offset lenses of the second dimming unit (i.e., lenses 17 disclosed by Zhang) corresponding to a light-emitting unit (i.e., sub-pixels P of display panel 1) so that a center of the second lens is offset from the main optical axis of the corresponding second light-emitting unit towards the centerline in the first direction by an offset distance w, and the offset distances w of the centers of the second lenses from the main optical axis of the corresponding plurality of second light-emitting units in the same second light-emitting unit group are equal so that the light beam from each light source may be deflected by the corresponding lens by a different respective deflection angle to converge on a pre-determined area (Shi, par. [0129]).
Regarding dependent claim 8, modified Zhang discloses the display module according to claim 6, but the prior art combination does not disclose wherein the number of the second light-emitting unit groups provided in the sub-display area further away from the center display area is larger. However, since the adjective larger is not compared to another number of structures, the claim as recited has been rendered indefinite, and has been rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112, see above, therefore Zhang discloses the limitation as currently recited.
Regarding dependent claim 9, modified Zhang discloses the display module according to claim 2, and Zhang further discloses wherein the one or more first light-emitting unit groups exist (Zhang discloses in Fig. 3A middle display region A has sub-pixels P, equivalent to one or more first light-emitting unit groups), and the one or more second light-emitting unit groups each correspond to at least one of the one or more second lenses (as shown in Zhang Fig. 10A, there are a plurality of lenses 17 disposed on display panel 1 and each lens 17 corresponds to at least one sub-pixel P, par. [0108], where lenses 17 are equivalent to a plurality of dimming units and in Fig. 3A, peripheral region B has sub-pixels P, therefore Zhang discloses one or more second light-emitting unit groups).
Zhang discloses the claimed invention except for the limitation one or more first light-emitting unit groups each correspond to at least one of the one or more first lenses. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to cover middle region A with lenses 17 in the same way that peripheral regions B of display panel 1 are covered, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8 (1977). Furthermore, Zhang in Fig. 3A shows middle region A of display panel 1 with light adjusting layer 12 disposed thereupon, thus teaching the disposition of first dimming unit equivalents over middle region A, and by disclosing lenses 17 over peripheral region B, a person of ordinary skill would find it obvious to also dispose lenses 17 over middle region A of display panel 1.
Nevertheless, in the same field of invention, Wu discloses a head-up display system (refer to at least title and abstract thereof), where Wu in at least Fig. 2 teaches the head-up display system includes a plurality of light sources 10 (par. [0082] thereof), and in Fig. 2 thereof teaches each micro-lens 201 corresponds to one light source 10, and that the direction of chief light of light emitted by the light source 10 is the central axis direction of the light source 10 (par. [0083] thereof). Furthermore, Wu teaches an active light-emitting image source, see at least Fig. 28 thereof, which includes a light controller device 1000 and a plurality of light sources 104, where light sources 104 are distributed and arranged at different positions and the light controller device 1000 includes a collimating element 107 (par. [0128] thereof).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have applied the teachings of Wu to the disclosure of Zhang and disposed lenses, such as lenses 17 as disclosed by Zhang or micro-lenses 201 as taught by Wu depending on appropriate parameters for optimum disposition, to ensure most of the light emitted by the light-emitting side L of display panel 1 is directed in the same direction (Wu, par. [0129]), and therefore the prior art combination of Zhang in view of Wu teaches and renders obvious the limitation wherein the one or more first light-emitting unit groups exist each correspond to at least one of the one or more first lenses.
Regarding dependent claim 10, modified Zhang discloses the display module according to claim 9, and Zhang further discloses wherein an orthographic projection of the first lens on the substrate covers orthographic projections of the plurality of first light-emitting units in the first light-emitting unit group on the substrate (Zhang in Fig. 9A at least shows the light adjusting unit 121 includes a single lens 17, the lens 17 corresponds to a plurality of sub-pixels P in the first sub-region B2, and an orthographic projection of the lens 17 on the display panel 1 at least partially overlaps with opening regions R of the plurality of sub-pixels P corresponding thereto, par. [0103]), and an orthographic projection of the second lens on the substrate covers orthographic projections of the plurality of second light-emitting units in the second light-emitting unit group on the substrate (Zhang in Fig. 9A at least shows the light adjusting unit 121 includes a single lens 17, the lens 17 corresponds to a plurality of sub-pixels P in the second sub-region B2, and an orthographic projection of the lens 17 on the display panel 1 at least partially overlaps with opening regions R of the plurality of sub-pixels P corresponding thereto, par. [0101]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Wu and Shi as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Kuo et al. US PGPub 2018/0239152 A1 (hereinafter, “Kuo”).
Regarding dependent claim 11, modified Zhang discloses the display module according to claim 9, and Zhang further discloses wherein an orthographic projection of the first lens on the substrate covers the orthographic projections of at least two of the first light-emitting units in the first light-emitting unit group on the substrate (Zhang in Fig. 9A at least shows the light adjusting unit 121 includes a single lens 17, the lens 17 corresponds to a plurality of sub-pixels P in the first sub-region B2, and an orthographic projection of the lens 17 on the display panel 1 at least partially overlaps with opening regions R of the plurality of sub-pixels P corresponding thereto, par. [0103]), and an orthographic projection of the second lens on the substrate covers the orthographic projection of one of the first light-emitting units in the first light-emitting unit group on the substrate (Zhang in Fig. 9A at least shows the light adjusting unit 121 includes a single lens 17, the lens 17 corresponds to a plurality of sub-pixels P in the second sub-region B2, and an orthographic projection of the lens 17 on the display panel 1 at least partially overlaps with opening regions R of the plurality of sub-pixels P corresponding thereto, par. [0101]); and/or,
the second lens comprises a third sub-lens and a fourth sub-lens, wherein an orthographic projection of the third sub-lens on the substrate covers the orthographic projections of at least two of the second light-emitting units in the second light-emitting unit group on the substrate, and an orthographic projection of the fourth sub-lens on the substrate covers the orthographic projection of one of the second light- emitting units in the second light-emitting unit group on the substrate.
The prior art combination of Zhang in view of Wu and Shi does not disclose wherein each first lens comprises a first sub-lens and a second sub-lens.
In the same field of invention, Kuo discloses a head-up display system 100 for a vehicle 300 (refer to at least par. [0026] thereof), shown in at least Fig. 1A and 2 thereof, including optic element 104 with first lens module 1041 and second lens module 1042 as shown in Fig. 3 thereof (par. [0029] thereof). As shown in Fig. 3 Kuo teaches lens module 1041 is comprised of lenses L1, L2, and L3, where lens L3 includes first sub-lens L31 and a second sub-lens L32 (par. [0029] thereof).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have applied the teachings of Kuo to the disclosure of Zhang and modified the lenses 17 of the display assembly 4 disclosed by Zhang to include or be comprised of a first sub-lens and a second sub-lens, as taught by Kuo, so as to result in images perceived by the user in different speeds can be harmonized with the real environment, and the user experience and the driving safety can both be improved (Kuo, par. [0047]).
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Wu.
Regarding dependent claim 12, Zhang discloses the display module according to claim 1, but Zhang does not disclose wherein a shape of the lens comprises at least one of a cylinder, a cone, a circular cone, and a trapezoid (Zhang depicts lenses 17 as airfoil shaped in at least Fig. 9A, and as semi-cylindrical in at least Fig. 9D, but does not disclose or suggest the shapes of cylinder, cone, circular cone, or a trapezoid).
In the same field of invention, Wu discloses cylindrical lens 2012, shown in at least Figs. 5 and 6 thereof, arranged in the light-emitting direction of a plurality of light sources 10 along a first direction (par. [0095] thereof).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have applied the teachings of Wu to the disclosure of Zhang and selected cylindrical lenses, such as those taught by Wu, as the shape for lenses 17 of display assembly 4 of Zhang, to adjust the direction of light emitted by the light sources as desired (Wu, par. [0095]).
Regarding dependent claim 13, Zhang discloses the display module according to claim 1, wherein the one or more second dimming units each comprise a second lens (Fig. 10A, a plurality of lenses 17 are disposed on display panel 1 and each lens 17 corresponds to at least one sub-pixel P, par. [0108], where lenses 17 are equivalent to a plurality of dimming units, and lenses 17 are disposed over at least subregion B2 of peripheral region B, thus disclosing one or more second dimming units of one or more second lenses), and an orthographic projection of the vector vertex of the second lens on the substrate is located on a side of an orthographic projection of the main optical axis of the corresponding second light-emitting unit on the substrate close to the centerline (Zhang in Fig. 9A at least shows the light adjusting unit 121 includes a single lens 17, the lens 17 corresponds to a plurality of sub-pixels P in the second sub-region B2, and an orthographic projection of the lens 17 on the display panel 1 at least partially overlaps with opening regions R of the plurality of sub-pixels P corresponding thereto, par. [0101], and a lens represented as a geometric object will inherently have a vector vertex, therefore any orthographic projection of a lens will include the orthographic projection of the vector vertex of the lens, and as such Zhang discloses the limitation as recited and currently understood by the Examiner).
Zhang does not disclose wherein the one or more first dimming units each comprise a first lens (Zhang does not disclose or depict lenses, such as lenses 17, comprising the first dimming unit or units), and therefore Zhang does not disclose vector vertices of the first lens and the second lens have different positions, nor that an orthographic projection of the vector vertex of the first lens on the substrate coincides with an orthographic projection of the main optical axis of the corresponding first light-emitting unit on the substrate.
Zhang discloses the claimed invention except for the limitation that the first dimming units each comprise a first lens. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to cover middle region A with at least one lens, such as lens 17 of Zhang, in the same way that peripheral regions B of display panel 1 are covered, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8 (1977). Furthermore, Zhang in Fig. 3A shows middle region A of display panel 1 with light adjusting layer 12 disposed thereupon, thus teaching the disposition of first dimming unit equivalents over middle region A, and by disclosing lenses 17 over peripheral region B, a person of ordinary skill would find it obvious to also dispose lenses 17 over middle region A of display panel 1.
Nevertheless, in the same field of invention, Wu discloses a head-up display system (refer to at least title and abstract thereof), where Wu in at least Fig. 2 teaches the head-up display system includes a plurality of light sources 10 (par. [0082] thereof), and in Fig. 2 thereof teaches each micro-lens 201 corresponds to one light source 10, and that the direction of chief light of light emitted by the light source 10 is the central axis direction of the light source 10 (par. [0083] thereof). Furthermore, Wu teaches an active light-emitting image source, see at least Fig. 28 thereof, which includes a light controller device 1000 and a plurality of light sources 104, where light sources 104 are distributed and arranged at different positions and the light controller device 1000 includes a collimating element 107 (par. [0128] thereof).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have applied the teachings of Wu to the disclosure of Zhang and disposed lenses, such as lenses 17 as disclosed by Zhang or micro-lenses 201 as taught by Wu depending on appropriate dimensions and other parameters for optimum disposition, to ensure most of the light emitted by the light-emitting side L of display panel 1 is directed in the same direction (Wu, par. [0129]). As such, the prior art combination of Zhang in view of Wu teaches and renders obvious the limitation that vector vertices of the first lens and the second lens have different positions, because the first lens and the second lens cannot have the same position, as they are separate elements and therefore cannot occupy the same position, and an orthographic projection of the vector vertex of the first lens on the substrate coincides with an orthographic projection of the main optical axis of the corresponding first light-emitting unit on the substrate.
Regarding independent claim 14, Zhang discloses a field-of-view display device (refer to title and abstract disclosing a display assembly including a display panel, and see at least Fig. 3A depicting display panel 1, par. [0069], equivalent to a field-of-view display device), wherein the field-of-view display device comprises a display module (refer to title and abstract disclosing a display assembly including a display panel, and see at least Fig. 3A depicting display panel 1, par. [0069], equivalent to a display module), the display module comprising:
a light-emitting function layer (Fig. 3A, display panel 1 has a light-emitting side L, par. [0075]) comprising a substrate (Fig. 3A, display panel 1 includes a display substrate 15, pars. [0025], [0141]) and a plurality of light-emitting units disposed on the substrate and arranged in an array (Fig. 3A, display panel 1 has light-emitting side L, par. [0078], and Fig. 9A, display panel 1 includes a plurality of sub-pixels P arranged in the display region 11, par. [0098], and Fig.. 9A shows an example in which the plurality of sub-pixels P are arranged in an array, par. [0099]), wherein the light-emitting function layer comprises a center display area and two edge display areas (Fig. 3A, display panel 1 has display region 11 which includes a middle display region A and a peripheral display region B, par. [0069]), the light-emitting function layer is configured such that one of the edge display areas, the center display area and the other one of the edge display areas are sequentially arranged in a first direction (Figs. 3A and 3B, middle display region A and peripheral display region B, par. [0069], are arranged such that a peripheral region B, middle display region A, and peripheral region B are sequentially arranged in a first direction), the plurality of light-emitting units comprises one or more first light-emitting units and one or more second light-emitting units, the one or more first light-emitting units being located in the center display area, and the one or more second light-emitting units being located in the edge display areas (Fig. 3A, middle display region A has sub-pixels P and peripheral region B has sub-pixels P, thereby disclosing first light-emitting units and second light-emitting units, and Fig. 3A shows a plurality of sub-pixels P in peripheral region B); and
a plurality of dimming units disposed on a light-emitting surface of the light-emitting function layer and comprising one or more first dimming units and one or more second dimming units (Fig. 3A, light adjusting layer 12 is disposed on a light-emitting side L of display panel 1, par. [0075]), the one or more first dimming units each corresponding to one of the one or more first light-emitting units and the one or more second dimming units each corresponding to one of the one or more second light-emitting units (as shown in Fig. 3A, light adjusting layer 12 is disposed such that it covers middle display region A with sub-pixels P and also covers peripheral region B with sub-pixels P, thus satisfying the limitation of one or more dimming units corresponding to the first and second light-emitting units);
wherein the light-emitting function layer has a centerline perpendicular to the first direction on a plane in which the light-emitting function layer is located (Fig. 3A, display panel 1 has a centerline perpendicular to the first direction on a plane in which the panel is located); a dimming main optical axis resulted from a main optical axis of the first light-emitting unit passing through the corresponding first dimming unit coincides with the main optical axis of the first light-emitting unit (Fig. 3A, sub-pixels P of display panel 1 middle region A must have optical axes, therefore Zhang discloses the equivalent of a main optical axis of the first light-emitting unit, and light adjusting layer 12, equivalent to a dimming unit, is disposed on display panel 1 such that the optical axis of the light adjusting layer 12 corresponds to the main optical axis of the sub-pixels P of display panel 1, thus satisfying the limitation); a dimming main optical axis resulted from a main optical axis of the second light-emitting unit passing through the second dimming unit is disposed close to the centerline with respect to the main optical axis of the corresponding second light-emitting unit (Fig. 3A, sub-pixels P of display panel 1 periphery region B must have optical axes, therefore Zhang discloses the equivalent of a main optical axis of the second light-emitting unit, and light adjusting layer 12, equivalent to a dimming unit, is disposed on display panel 1 such that the optical axis of the light adjusting layer 12 corresponds to the main optical axis of the sub-pixels P of peripheral region B of display panel 1, thus satisfying the limitation).
Zhang does not disclose a field-of-view display device for a vehicle, and therefore Zhang does not disclose a windshield for reflecting light from the display module to an eye box.
In the same field of invention, Wu discloses a head-up display system for a motor vehicle (refer to at least title and abstract thereof), where Wu in at least Fig. 2 teaches the head-up display system includes a plurality of light sources 10 (par. [0082] thereof), and in Fig 2 teaches each micro-lens 201 corresponds to one light source 10, and that the direction of chief light of light emitted by the light source 10 is the central axis direction of the light source 10 (par. [0083] thereof).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have applied the teachings of Wu to the disclosure of Zhang and added the disclosed display device to a vehicle, as taught by Wu, so that a driver can directly see a picture without looking down, thereby avoiding a distraction caused by the driver looking down at a dashboard during driving, improving a driving safety factor and bringing a better driving experience (Wu par. [0003]).
Claims 15-16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Wu as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Shi.
Regarding dependent claim 15, Zhang in view of Wu discloses the field-of-view display device for a vehicle according to claim 14, and Zhang further discloses wherein the one or more second dimming units each comprise one or more second lenses (Zhang Fig. 10A, a plurality of lenses 17 are disposed on display panel 1 and each lens 17 corresponds to at least one sub-pixel P, par. [0108], where lenses 17 are equivalent to a plurality of dimming units, and lenses 17 are disposed over at least subregion B2 of peripheral region B, thus disclosing one or more second dimming units of one or more second lenses), the second lenses are identical in structure (Fig. 10A of Zhang shows lenses 17 are identical in structure), the plurality of light-emitting units comprise one or more first light-emitting unit groups and one or more second light-emitting unit groups (Zhang Fig. 3A, middle display region A has sub-pixels P and peripheral region B has sub-pixels P), the one or more first light-emitting unit groups each comprise a plurality of the first light-emitting units arranged at intervals in a second direction (Zhang Figs. 3A and 10A show sub-pixels P arranged at intervales along the second direction), the one or more second light-emitting unit groups each comprise a plurality of second light-emitting units arranged at intervals in the second direction (Zhang Figs. 3A and 10A show lenses 17 arranged at intervals in the second direction), and the edge display areas each comprise a plurality of the second light-emitting unit groups arranged in sequence in the first direction (Zhang Figs. 3A and 10A show lenses 17 arranged at intervals in the first direction); the first direction and the second direction are both located on the plane in which the light-emitting function layer is located (Zhang Figs. 3A and 10A show X and Y directions are along the plane defined by the surface of display panel 1), and the second direction is perpendicular to the first direction (Zhang Figs. 3A and 10A show X and Y directions are perpendicular to each other).
Zhang does not disclose wherein the one or more first dimming units each comprise one or more first lenses (Zhang does not disclose or depict lenses, such as lenses 17, comprising the first dimming unit or units), and therefore does not disclose the first lenses and the second lenses are identical in structure, and Zhang does not disclose wherein a center of the second lens is offset from the main optical axis of the corresponding second light-emitting unit towards the centerline in the first direction by an offset distance w, and the offset distances w of the centers of the second lenses from the main optical axis of the corresponding plurality of second light-emitting units in the same second light-emitting unit group are equal.
Zhang discloses the claimed invention except for the limitation that the first dimming units each comprise one or more first lenses. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to cover middle region A with lenses 17 in the same way that peripheral regions B of display panel 1 are covered, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8 (1977). Furthermore, Zhang in Fig. 3A shows middle region A of display panel 1 with light adjusting layer 12 disposed thereupon, thus teaching the disposition of first dimming unit equivalents over middle region A, and by disclosing lenses 17 over peripheral region B, a person of ordinary skill would find it obvious to also dispose lenses 17 over middle region A of display panel 1.
Nevertheless, in the same field of invention, Wu discloses a head-up display system (refer to at least title and abstract thereof), where Wu in at least Fig. 2 teaches the head-up display system includes a plurality of light sources 10 (par. [0082] thereof), and in Fig. 2 thereof teaches each micro-lens 201 corresponds to one light source 10, and that the direction of chief light of light emitted by the light source 10 is the central axis direction of the light source 10 (par. [0083] thereof). Furthermore, Wu teaches an active light-emitting image source, see at least Fig. 28 thereof, which includes a light controller device 1000 and a plurality of light sources 104, where light sources 104 are distributed and arranged at different positions and the light controller device 1000 includes a collimating element 107 (par. [0128] thereof).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have applied the teachings of Wu to the disclosure of Zhang and disposed lenses, such as lenses 17 as disclosed by Zhang or micro-lenses 201 as taught by Wu depending on appropriate parameters for optimum disposition, to ensure most of the light emitted by the light-emitting side L of display panel 1 is directed in the same direction (Wu, par. [0129]). As such, the prior art combination of Zhang in view of Wu teaches and renders obvious the limitation that the first lenses are identical in structure, because both Zhang and Wu disclose and teach structurally identical lenses across the display panel.
The prior art combination of Zhang in view of Wu does not disclose wherein a center of the second lens is offset from the main optical axis of the corresponding second light-emitting unit towards the centerline in the first direction by an offset distance w, and the offset distances w of the centers of the second lenses from the main optical axis of the corresponding plurality of second light-emitting units in the same second light-emitting unit group are equal.
In the same field of invention, Shi discloses in Fig. 9 an example of a device 900 including a micro-lens array 940 disposed on an array of light sources 920 (par. [0127] thereof) and Shi teaches a pitch 922 of the array of light sources 920 may be different from a pitch 942 of micro-lens array 940, and thus the optical axis of each micro-lens in micro-lens array 940 may be offset from the center of a respective light source in the array of light sources 920 by a different distance (par. [0129] thereof).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have applied the teachings of Shi to the disclosure of Zhang and offset lenses of the second dimming unit (i.e., lenses 17 disclosed by Zhang) corresponding to a light-emitting unit (i.e., sub-pixels P of display panel 1) so that a center of the second lens is offset from the main optical axis of the corresponding second light-emitting unit towards the centerline in the first direction by an offset distance w, and the offset distances w of the centers of the second lenses from the main optical axis of the corresponding plurality of second light-emitting units in the same second light-emitting unit group are equal so that the light beam from each light source may be deflected by the corresponding lens by a different respective deflection angle to converge on a pre-determined area (Shi, par. [0129]).
Regarding dependent claim 16, modified Zhang discloses the field-of-view display device for a vehicle according to claim 15, and Shi further discloses the device comprising any two of the second light-emitting unit groups in the first direction, wherein the offset distance w of the second light-emitting unit in the second light-emitting unit group away from the center display area is greater than the offset distance w of the other second light-emitting unit in the second light-emitting unit group close to the center display area (Shi Fig. 9 depicts micro-lens array 940 disposed on an array of light sources 920, par. [0127] thereof, where the offset distance between elements of micro-lens array 940 is greater on the edges than in the center, satisfying the limitation as best understood by the Examiner given the current recitation of the limitations).
Regarding dependent claim 18, modified Zhang discloses the field-of-view display device for a vehicle according to claim 15, and Zhang further discloses wherein the two edge display areas are respectively a first display area and a second display area (Zhang Figs. 3A and 3B, display panel 1 has display region 11 which includes a middle display region A and a peripheral display region B on either side of middle region A, par. [0069], thereby disclosing edge display areas that are a first and a second display area), the center display area is located between the first display area and the second display area (Zhang Figs. 3A and 3B, display panel 1 has display region 11 which includes a middle display region A and a peripheral display region B on either side of middle region A, par. [0069]), and the one or more second light-emitting units located in the first display area are mirror-symmetric with the one or more second light-emitting units located in the second display area with respect to the centerline (Zhang Figs. 3A and 3B show mirror symmetry of the sub-pixels P of the peripheral display regions B of display panel 1).
Zhang does not explicitly disclose a distribution of offset angles of the dimming main optical axis of the second lenses at both sides of the centerline with respect to the main optical axis of the corresponding second light-emitting units is mirror-symmetrical with respect to the centerline (as Zhang does not teach or suggest offset angles for the dimming main optical axes of the display assembly 4 disclosed therein, Zhang cannot teach or suggest mirror symmetry of the offset angles).
In the same field of invention, Shi discloses device 900 in Fig. 9 including micro-lens array 940 disposed on an array of light sources 920 (par. [0127] thereof) and Shi teaches a pitch 922 of the array of light sources 920 may be different from a pitch 942 of micro-lens array 940, and thus the optical axis of each micro-lens in micro-lens array 940 may be offset from the center of a respective light source in the array of light sources 920 by a different distance (par. [0129] thereof). As shown in Fig. 9, the offset angles are mirror-symmetric with respect to the centerline of device 900.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have applied the teachings of Shi to the disclosure of Zhang and arranged the elements of the dimming units so that the optical axes are offset in a mirror-symmetric arrangement across the centerline of display panel disclosed by Zhang, so that light beams from the light sources (i.e., sub-pixels P of display panel 1) may converge at a pre-determined position for peak luminance of the display (Shi, par. [0129]).
Regarding dependent claim 19, modified Zhang discloses the field-of-view display device for a vehicle according to claim 18, and Zhang further discloses wherein each of the first display area and the second display area comprises a plurality of sub-display areas arranged at intervals in the first direction (Zhang Figs. 3A and 3B, display panel 1 has display region 11 which includes a middle display region A and a peripheral display region B on either side of middle region A, par. [0069], thereby disclosing edge display areas that are a first and a second display area, and as shown in Fig. 3A Zhang discloses sub-pixels P in the peripheral display regions B arranged at intervals in the first direction), each of the plurality of sub-display areas is provided with N second light-emitting unit groups of the second light-emitting unit groups (as shown in Fig. 3A Zhang discloses an integer number, N, of sub-pixels P in the peripheral display regions B), the offset distances w of the plurality of second light-emitting units located in the same sub-display area are equal (Zhang does not disclose specific non-zero offset distances, therefore Zhang implicitly discloses zero offset distances, and as such Zhang discloses equal offset distances in the same sub-display area, in that the offset distances are all zero, thus satisfying the limitation as currently recited), and N is a positive integer greater than or equal to 2 (as shown in Fig. 3A Zhang discloses an integer number, N, of sub-pixels P in the peripheral display regions B, where N is shown to be at least 5).
Zhang does not disclose the limitation that in the first direction, the offset distance w of the second light-emitting unit in the sub-display area further away from the center display area is larger.
In the same field of invention, Shi discloses in Fig. 9 an example of a device 900 including a micro-lens array 940 disposed on an array of light sources 920 (par. [0127] thereof) and Shi teaches a pitch 922 of the array of light sources 920 may be different from a pitch 942 of micro-lens array 940, and thus the optical axis of each micro-lens in micro-lens array 940 may be offset from the center of a respective light source in the array of light sources 920 by a different distance (par. [0129] thereof).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have applied the teachings of Shi to the disclosure of Zhang and offset lenses of the second dimming unit (i.e., lenses 17 disclosed by Zhang) corresponding to a light-emitting unit (i.e., sub-pixels P of display panel 1) so that a center of the second lens is offset from the main optical axis of the corresponding second light-emitting unit towards the centerline in the first direction by an offset distance w, and the offset distances w of the centers of the second lenses from the main optical axis of the corresponding plurality of second light-emitting units in the same second light-emitting unit group are larger, so that the light beam from each light source may be deflected by the corresponding lens by a different respective deflection angle to converge on a pre-determined area (Shi, par. [0129]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 7, 17, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding dependent claim 4, modified Zhang discloses the display module according to claim 2, but the prior art combination does not disclose the limitation wherein in the k-th one of the second light-emitting unit groups arranged in a direction away from the center display area, the offset distance is obtained according to the following formula: w = a/(m/2)*(k-1),
wherein a denotes a target distance by which a dimming main optical axis resulted from the main optical axis of the second light-emitting unit in the second light-emitting unit group farthest from the center display area passing through the corresponding second dimming unit is offset away from close to the centerline in the first direction with respect to an orthographic projection of the main optical axis of the second light-emitting unit on the substrate, m denotes a total number of the light-emitting units arranged at intervals in the first direction on the light-emitting function layers, and k denotes the k-th one of the second light-emitting unit groups arranged in the direction away from the center display area (Zhang, Wu, and Shi do not disclose the specific relationship between the parameters w, a, m, and k as currently recited).
Regarding dependent claim 7, modified Zhang discloses the display module according to claim 6, but the prior art combination does not disclose wherein when N is an odd number, the offset distances w of the plurality of the second light-emitting units in the same sub-display area are equal to the offset distances w of the second light-emitting units in the second light-emitting unit group located in the center of the sub- display area; and
when N is an even number, the offset distances w of the plurality of the second light-emitting units in the same sub-display area are equal to an average value of the offset distances w of the second light-emitting units in the N second light-emitting unit groups located in the sub-display area (Zhang, Wu, and Shi do not disclose the specific relationship between the number N of second light-emitting units in the same sub-display area and the related offset distances w as currently recited).
Regarding dependent claim 17, Zhang in view of Wu and Shi disclose the field-of-view display device for a vehicle according to claim 15, but the prior art combination does not disclose the limitation that in the k-th one of the second light-emitting unit groups arranged in a direction away from the center display area, the offset distance is obtained according to the following formula: w = a/(m/2)*(k-1),
wherein a denotes a target distance by which a dimming main optical axis resulted from the main optical axis of the second light-emitting unit in the second light-emitting unit group farthest from the center display area passing through the corresponding second dimming unit is offset away from close to the centerline in the first direction with respect to an orthographic projection of the main optical axis of the second light-emitting unit on the substrate, m denotes a total number of the light-emitting units arranged at intervals in the first direction on the light-emitting function layers, and k denotes the k-th one of the second light-emitting unit groups arranged in the direction away from the center display area (Zhang, Wu, and Shi do not disclose the specific relationship between the parameters w, a, m, and k as currently recited).
Regarding dependent claim 20, modified Zhang discloses the field-of-view display device for a vehicle according to claim 19, but the prior art combination does not disclose the limitation wherein when N is an odd number, the offset distances w of the plurality of the second light-emitting units in the same sub-display area are equal to the offset distances w of the second light-emitting units in the second light-emitting unit group located in the center of the sub-display area; and
when N is an even number, the offset distances w of the plurality of the second light-emitting units in the same sub-display area are equal to an average value of the offset distances w of the second light-emitting units in the N second light-emitting unit groups located in the sub-display area (Zhang, Wu, and Shi do not disclose the specific relationship between the number N of second light-emitting units in the same sub-display area and the related offset distances w as currently recited).
Conclusion
/JUSTIN W. HUSTOFT/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/THOMAS K PHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872