DETAILED ACTION
Claim Informality
1. Claims 3 and 4 disclose “NAV”, but do not disclose the term represents “Network allocation vector” IN THE CLAIM. Corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1a. Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ahn (US 20250350394 A1).
1b. Summary of the Cited Prior Art
Ahn discloses a method for concurrent access for wireless local area network.
1c. Claim Analysis
Regarding Claim 1, Ahn discloses:
An access point apparatus (Fig 1, PCP/AP-1) for communicating with multiple station apparatuses (Fig 1, STA-1 and STA-2), the access point apparatus comprising:
a transmitter (Fig 3, Transceiver 120, Transmitting part) configured to transmit a trigger frame (Fig 9, Trigger Frame 312) triggering frame transmission (Fig 9, UL Data (STA1) and (STA2)) performed by each of the multiple station apparatuses (Fig 9. STA1’s and STA2’s ranges; see: [0089] … the AP transmits an MU-RTS frame 312 configured in the format of a trigger frame for NAV setting in the UL-OFDMA transmission process; Examiner’s Note: the trigger frame 312 triggering uplink transmissions UL-OFDMA from STA1 and STA2); and
a receiver (Fig 3, Transceiver 120, Receiving part) configured to perform carrier sense (Fig 6, [0031] FIG. 6 illustrates a carrier sense multiple access (CSMA)/collision avoidance (CA) method used in wireless LAN communication) to reserve multiple radio resources (see: [0093] … the STAs being allocated the resource unit in the UL-OFDMA transmission process transmit a simultaneous CTS frame 322 after SIFS from the reception of the MU-RTS frame 312, and transmit UL data frame 332) in time periods with different lengths (Fig 9, NAVs; see: [0096] … terminals receiving the trigger frame 400 set a NAV based on the duration field of the corresponding trigger frame 400);
wherein the trigger frame (Fig 10, Trigger Frame 400) includes information indicating the time periods (Fig 10, Duration) for the multiple radio resources reserved by the receiver (see: [0093] … the STAs being allocated the resource unit in the UL-OFDMA transmission process).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2a. Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn (US 20250350394 A1) in view of Lou (US 20200037356 A1).
2b. Summary of the Cited Prior Art
Ahn discloses a method for concurrent access for wireless local area network.
Lou discloses a method for multi-user concurrent random access for wireless local area network.
2c. Claim Analysis
Regarding Claim 2, Ahn discloses:
wherein the trigger frame (Fig 9, Trigger Frame 312) is configured to configure first communication that is communication between the multiple station apparatuses (Fig 19 (a)-(d), communication between STAs; see: [0154] First, FIG. 19(a) illustrates a situation in which seven STAs have OBO counters of six or less while six resource units are selected as random access resource units. Examiner’s Note: OBO: OFDMA BackOff counter in [0146]) and
second communication (Fig 9, communication between AP and STA1 STA2), that is communication between the access point apparatus and the multiple station apparatuses, and (see: [0091] The STAs (i.e., STA1, STA2) receiving the MU-RTS frame 312 from the AP transmit a simultaneous CTS frame 322);
the trigger frame includes information associated with transmit power for a frame where the first communication is configured.
Ahn does not disclose about transmit power.
However, Lou discloses transmit power:
the trigger frame (Figs 3A-3B) includes information associated with transmit power for a frame where the first communication is configured (see: [0079] For both of the trigger frames 300A and 300B, the common information field 310, 326 may include different types of information, such as a sequence number and/or trigger token, common transmit power control (TPC) indices).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to integrate Ahn’s method for concurrent access for wireless local area network with Lou’s method for multi-user concurrent random access for wireless with the motivation being to enhance high efficiency wireless local area network (Lou, [0066])
Regarding Claim 3, Ahn discloses:
wherein the information described in the trigger frame (Fig 10, trigger frame) and indicating the time periods (Fig 10, Duration) triggers configuration of NAVs with different attributes for the station apparatus having received the trigger frame (Fig 9, various NAV durations; see: [0096] … the corresponding trigger frame 400 is an MU-RTS frame, and terminals receiving the trigger frame 400 set a NAV based on the duration field of the corresponding trigger frame 400).
Regarding Claim 4, Ahn discloses:
wherein an attribute of a NAV (Fig 9, NAVs) triggered by the trigger frame (Fig 9, Trigger Frame 312) is a NAV that is allowed to be updated by a station apparatus (see: [0091] … The neighboring terminals of STA1 and STA2 set a NAV until the end of the UL-OFDMA session based on the duration field of the simultaneous CTS frame 322. Examiner’s Note: NAVs are set or updated by stations base on the received CTS) where the first communication is configured (Fig 19 (a)-(d), communication between STAs).
Regarding Claim 5, the claim discloses similar features as of Claim 1, and is rejected accordingly.
Conclusion
/JUNG LIU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473