Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19-28, 30-38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dussarrat (US 2009/0203222) in view of Gordon (US 4377613). Gordon2 (US 4265974) is included as an incorporation by reference.
Claims 19-22, 24, 27-29, 37-38:
Dussarrat teaches a method for depositing a hafnium containing coating onto a substrate (abstract). The precursor mixture is Hf(NMe2)4 [0008], a carrier gas such as He [0040], molecular oxygen [0060], and a carbon source such as ethylene [0064]. The process deposits hafnium oxide [0019; 0073].
Dussarrat does not teach applying the precursor mixture onto a glass substrate.
However, Gordon teaches a method for coating glass with functional, inorganic coatings (1:5-12). The process for forming the films includes vaporizing the precursor mixture and then introducing the vapor to the space above the heated glass (col. 8; 10:21-25). The resulting refractive index of the coating is taken to be an inherent property of the deposited material.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the precursor mixture of Dussarrat to deposit a hafnium layer onto a glass substrate. Gordon states that a wide range of transparent metal oxides can be applied to glass including those of hafnium (6-7:59-25).
Claims 23, 32:
The thickness of the resulting hafnium layer is a result effective process variable that would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to set based on the desired properties of the resulting film. In this case, optical, electrical, and semiconducting properties. Additionally, Gordon teaches a relatively thick functional coating (tin oxide in this case) of 200 nm (2000 angstroms) (10:35). This is deposited over 10 seconds (10:39), resulting in a deposition rate of 200 angstroms per second. The deposition rate is another process variable that would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to set based on the desired thickness of resulting film.
Claims 25-26:
Gordon teaches the glass substrate is 600 °C during deposition (10:24).
Claim 30-31:
Gordon teaches soda lime float glass as the substrate (10:44-45).
Claims 33-35:
Gordon teaches forming two thin layers of transparent material between the glass and the semiconductor film (2-3:67-1). The layers are glass/tin oxide (H)/silica (L)/semiconductor (Table A and B). The silica layer is 0.028 microns (280 angstroms).
Claim 36:
Gordon teaches atmospheric CVD (8:6) and recites Gordon2 as incorporated by reference (9:1). Gordon2 teaches rotating the substrate (4:52). A well-mixed, uniform precursor mixture would have been obvious for uniform layer formation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/15/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Although Dussarrat does not list glass as a substrate, Gordon does provide the motivation for applying hafnium oxide coating to glass (6-7:59-25).
Dussarrat is considered to teach a precursor gas mixture that includes the olefinic hydrocarbon ethylene [0064] that reacts with the organohafnium compound to produce hafnium oxide [0019; 0073]. That is, the reactant carbon source, although present, does not appear in any of the resulting deposited layers.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEX A ROLLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759