DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Status of the Claims
The response and amendment filed 05/07/ is acknowledged.
Claims 1-8 are pending.
Claims 9-18 were canceled.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-3, in the reply filed on 05/19/5026 is acknowledged.
Claims 4-8 remain withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 05/19/2026.
Claims 1-3 are treated on the merits in this action.
The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application. Rejections not reiterated herein have been withdrawn.
Withdrawn
The rejection of claims 1-3 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention has been withdrawn because of Applicant’s amendment.
The rejection of claims 2-3 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention has been withdrawn because of Applicant’s amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument that Gu does not teach recombinant human collagen because Gu only teaches non-human sources is unpersuasive.
Gu, 0009 teaches the ECM including collagen (Gu, e.g., 0017) is secreted by autologous or allogeneic bone marrow mesenchymal stem cells. This directs the skilled artisan to use bone marrow mesenchymal stem cells and collagen materials of the species intended to be treated. Gu clearly states the objective of the invention is to prepare biomaterials used for transplants into the human body (Gu, e.g., 0002). The skilled artisan would have understood to use human bone marrow stem cells and human collagen to prepare an autologous or allogeneic nerve graft suitable for treating humans. There does not appear to be any patentable distinction between collagen from ECM secreted by human autologous or allogeneic bone marrow mesenchymal stem cells and recombinant human collagen. Recombinant human collagen has the same protein sequence and is bioidentical to human collagen.
Applicant’s argument that Gu does not teach a scaffold having the combination of human collagen and chitosan is unpersuasive.
Gu, 0009 teaches the nerve conduit (scaffold) is preferably made up of one or a combination of silk fibroin, chitosan, collagen, polylactic acid or polyglycolic acid. The skilled artisan is provided with a limited, and finite, list of equivalent materials to select from for preparing the scaffold. Collagen and chitosan are clearly named.
Applicant’s argument that Liang teaches an acellular matrix derived from animal tissues is unpersuasive because Gu directs the skilled artisan to use stem cells and collagen materials of the species intended to be treated, e.g., decellularized autologous or allogeneic bone marrow mesenchymal stem cells, because these avoid immunogenicity and are beneficial to neural cell adhesion and establish an environment suitable for axonal regrowth (Gu, e.g., 0007).
Applicant argues that Liang teaches that its outer tube needs to be pressed by vacuum to form a dense structure to enhance the barrier function and prevent nerve fibers from overflowing, while the present invention recites a jelly like membrane which forms a tubular structure through self-assembly without vacuum pressing. Applicant argues that the claimed nerve graft is set still at 2-6° C. for at least 24 h for self-assembly to form a tubular structure to form a tubular structure with multiple layers of acellular matrix. Applicant argues the vacuum pressing of Liang is mutually exclusive and structurally antagonistic to the claimed self-assembly and freeze-drying process and therefore the skilled artisan would have no reasonable expectation of success, motivation to combine Liang and Gu, and also means Liang teaches away from the claimed invention.
These arguments are unpersuasive. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to improve Gu’s nerve conduit scaffold with a multilayer sheath to improve the barrier function to surrounding tissue and enhancing directional nerve fiber regeneration (Liang, e.g., 0007) by preventing nerve fibers from escaping (Liang, e.g., 0105). Liang teaches the sheath prepared by rolling the ECM around the scaffold to form ten layers, then the vacuum pressing is done by placing in a vacuum freeze drying to dry for 24 hours (Liang, e.g., 0119) to form the tubular structure with multiple layers of acellular matrix. The prior art sheath is made from an acellular ECM matrix and therefore qualifies as a jelly like membrane when wrapped around the scaffold. Because of this, Liang does not teach away from the claimed invention. Liang’s technique results in a multilayer acellular matrix which is prepared by a process which includes keeping the material still for 24 hours at freeze-drying conditions. The disclosed process also lyophilizes the acellular matrix like the prior art. The patentability of product by process claims is determined based on the product itself. See MPEP 2113, 1. The claimed product by process step does not appear to necessarily imply any patentably distinct structure to the multilayer acellular matrix of the claimed nerve graft. The presently claimed product by process language does not exclude a vacuum pressing step. There does not appear to be any evidence of criticality or unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed product by process language.
The proffered results appear to be present in, or expected from, the prior art. Liang teaches the decellularized matrix retains the natural scaffold structure of the extracellular matrix after decellularization (Liang, e.g., 0003). Thus, even if vacuum pressed, the prior art extracellular matrix sheath contains the natural fiber network structure and orientation. There is no evidence vacuum pressing, as done in Liang, results in damage to the natural structure of the ECM. Gu teaches the decellularized matrix material reduces immunogenicity and is beneficial to neural cell adhesion and establishes an environment suitable for axonal regrowth (Gu, e.g., 0007). There is no risk of cross species immunogenicity since Gu teaches using autologous or allogeneic materials which are necessarily from the same species for which the nerve conduit is designed for use, e.g., humans. The prior art nerve conduit allows for directional growth of nerve fibers (Gu, e.g., 0017 and Liang, e.g., 0001 and 0007). The claimed invention does not exclude a product-by-process step of vacuum pressing.
Rejections Modified to Address Applicant’s Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gu, US 20150352255 and Liang, CN 112546303.
Citations to Liang refer to the attached machine translation.
Gu teaches a nerve graft comprising a nerve conduit and an ECM secreted by autologous or allogeneic cells and obtained by decellularization (Gu, e.g., 0009 and claim 9). The nerve conduit corresponds to the claimed scaffold (Gu, e.g., 0010), and the ECM secreted by cell and obtained by decellularization corresponds to the claimed acellular matrix (Gu, e.g., 0011). The ECM acellular matrix is derived from bone marrow mesenchymal stem cells (Gu, e.g., claim 10). The nerve conduit is biodegradable, e.g., based on chitosan and/or collagen (Gu, e.g., claim 11). Since Gu teaches the nerve conduit may be a combination of polymers including chitosan and collagen, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the presently claimed invention to configure the nerve conduit as a biodegradable scaffold comprising chitosan and collagen. Gu provides an express teaching which would have prompted the skilled artisan to configure the nerve conduit (scaffold) using the claimed polymers with a reasonable expectation of success. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the presently claimed invention to use human BMSCs and collagen to reduce the risk of cross species immunogenicity and to promote nerve growth for human patients.
Gu teaches the ECM secreted by cell and obtained by decellularization corresponding to the claimed acellular matrix is coated on the inner and outer surfaces of the nerve conduit (Gu, e.g., 0005, 0019, 0068, 0070). However, Gu does not expressly teach the acellular matrix is wrapped around the nerve conduit scaffold to form multiple layers.
Liang teaches nerve repair materials like Gu, comprising a tubular shape (conduit) comprising an inner core matrix and an outer multilayered tube (Liang, e.g., claim 1), wherein the multilayer outer tube comprises 2-12 layers of decellularized (acellular) matrix (Liang, e.g., claim 2). The layer range in claim 3 is within the range suggested by Liang. Liang teaches the multilayer configuration enables a dense structure with improved barrier function (Liang, e.g., 0004), which inhibits outgrowth of nerve fibers thereby reducing the formation of neuromas (Liang, e.g., 0001, 0031, ¶ spanning pp. 19-20). This promotes the desired directional regeneration of nerve fibers (Liang, e.g., 0001).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the presently claimed invention to modify a nerve graft known from Gu by configuring the outer acellular matrix as a multilayered construct by rolling the matrix material around the nerve conduit to improve the device in the same way suggested by Liang with a reasonable expectation of success. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to make this modification to promote desired directional regeneration of nerve fibers and reduce the risk of neuromas in the same way reported by Liang. The skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success since both references teach improvements for nerve grafts comprising an acellular matrix.
The prior art sheath is made from an acellular ECM matrix and therefore qualifies as a jelly-like membrane when wrapped around the scaffold.
Accordingly, the subject matter of claims 1-3 would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the presently claimed invention, absent evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claim(s) 1-3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1-14 of US 9492589 in view of Liang, CN 112546303.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Gu teaches a nerve graft comprising a nerve conduit and an ECM secreted by autologous or allogeneic cells and obtained by decellularization (Gu, e.g., claim 9). The nerve conduit corresponds to the claimed scaffold, and the ECM secreted by cell and obtained by decellularization corresponds to the claimed acellular matrix (Gu, e.g., claim 2). The ECM acellular matrix is derived from bone marrow mesenchymal stem cells (Gu, e.g., claim 10). The nerve conduit is biodegradable, e.g., based on chitosan and/or collagen (Gu, e.g., claim 11). Since Gu teaches the nerve conduit may be a combination of polymers including chitosan and collagen, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the presently claimed invention to configure the nerve conduit as a biodegradable scaffold comprising chitosan and collagen. Gu provides an express teaching which would have prompted the skilled artisan to configure the nerve conduit (scaffold) using the claimed polymers with a reasonable expectation of success. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the presently claimed invention to use human BMSCs and collagen to reduce the risk of cross species immunogenicity and to promote nerve growth for human patients.
Gu teaches the ECM secreted by cell and obtained by decellularization, corresponding to the claimed acellular matrix, is coated on the inner and outer surfaces of the nerve conduit (Gu, e.g., claim 2). However, Gu does not expressly teach the acellular matrix is wrapped around the nerve conduit scaffold to form multiple layers.
Liang teaches nerve repair materials like Gu, comprising a tubular shape (conduit) comprising an inner core matrix and an outer multilayered tube (Liang, e.g., claim 1), wherein the multilayer outer tube comprises 2-12 layers of decellularized (acellular) matrix (Liang, e.g., claim 2). The layer range in claim 3 is within the range suggested by Liang. Liang teaches the multilayer configuration enables a dense structure with improved barrier function (Liang, e.g., 0004), which inhibits outgrowth of nerve fibers thereby reducing the formation of neuromas (Liang, e.g., 0001, 0031, ¶ spanning pp. 19-20). This promotes the desired directional regeneration of nerve fibers (Liang, e.g., 0001).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the presently claimed invention to modify a nerve graft known from Gu by configuring the outer acellular matrix as a multilayered construct by rolling the matrix material around the nerve conduit to improve the device in the same way suggested by Liang with a reasonable expectation of success. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to make this modification to promote desired directional regeneration of nerve fibers and reduce the risk of neuromas in the same way reported by Liang. The skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success since both references teach improvements for nerve grafts comprising an acellular matrix.
The prior art sheath is made from an acellular ECM matrix and therefore qualifies as a jelly-like membrane when wrapped around the scaffold.
Accordingly, the subject matter of claims 1-3 would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the presently claimed invention, absent evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/WILLIAM CRAIGO/Examiner, Art Unit 1615
/SUSAN T TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615