Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II (claims 8-14) in the reply filed on 9/14/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8, 9 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by
EP 3351253 (hereinafter “O’Shaughnessey”).
Apfplicant’s claim 8 recites:
“A method of preparing a plasma composition enriched in IL-1Ra, comprising:
collecting a whole blood sample in a centrifugation tube equipped with glass beads, polymeric microbeads or a combination of glass beads and polymeric microbeads;
contacting the whole blood sample with the surface of the beads for a predetermined period of time;
centrifuging the whole blood sample to obtain IL-1Ra enriched plasma;
passing IL-1Ra enriched plasma through a filter to obtain the plasma composition enriched in IL-1Ra.
O’Shaughnessey discloses the following, which are relevant to Applicant’s claims (see discussion further below).
A method for using the fractionation device 200 can begin by inputting whole blood via an access port 205. The fractionation device 200 is placed into a centrifuge and spun for a period that is appropriate for fractionating whole blood. An exemplary period can be for about five minutes to about twenty minutes at a rate of about 320 rpm to about 5000 rpm. Para. 0039 (emphasis added).
In some cases, the solid extraction material can comprise the internal walls of a container holding the cytokine cell suspension. For example, the solid extraction material may comprise the lumen of a syringe that contains the cytokine cell suspension. Other containers include tubes, such as centrifuge tubes, or a blood fractionation device or concentrator assembly. Para. 0061 (emphasis added).
Where the solid extraction material is a discontinuous material, such as a plurality of particles, the solid extraction material can be combined with the liquid containing the cells to form a slurry-like composition. The slurry can vary in consistency from paste-like, having a high-solids fraction, to a readily flowable slurry having a low-solids fraction. Para. 0062 (emphasis added).
Various polymers, metals, ceramics, and glasses can be used as the solid extraction material. In some embodiments, the solid extraction material comprises a hygroscopic material. Examples of suitable solid extraction material materials include glasses, minerals, polymers, such as polyacrylamide. Para. 0064 (emphasis added).
The solid extraction material may include various beads or particles of various sizes including substantially spherical beads. Beads include polystyrene beads, polyacrylamide beads, glass beads, metal (e.g., titanium) beads, or any other appropriate beads. Para. 0065 (emphasis added).
The surface contact with the solid extraction material can activate the cells and the solid extraction material can, in some cases, assist in the separation and concentration of the resulting Protein Solution rich in cytokines, including IL-1ra. For example, in the case of a porous solid extraction material, a portion of the liquid comprising the cells can enter the pores and remain therein. Cells in the liquid may contact this additional surface area. In some embodiments, the pores are too small for the cells to enter, but a portion of the liquid can enter the pores. Liquid can be removed from the solid extraction material and pores by centrifuging, for example. Para. 0068 (emphasis added).
In some embodiments, the cytokine cell suspension is incubated with solid extraction material for a time effective to remove a portion of the liquid. The incubation may be carried out over a period from about 30 seconds to about 72 hours and may be carried out at a temperature from about 20°C to about 41°C. Para. 0070 (emphasis added).
Contacting of the liquid containing white blood cells with the solid extraction material may be performed using a suitable container or other apparatus to affect the contact. Contacting may be performed in a continuous process wherein a flow of the liquid is passed over or through the solid extraction material, or the liquid and solid extraction material may be contained in a vessel. As discussed above, the vessel may comprise the solid extraction material, or may merely serve as a container holding the beads or other forms of the material. Containers useful in the present technology include those known in the art, such as the Plasmax™ Plus Plasma Concentrator, commercially available from Biomet Biologics, LLC (Warsaw, Indiana, USA) and may include those devices and methods of use as described in U.S. Patent No. 7,553,413, Dorian et al., issued June 30, 2009 ; and U.S. Patent No. 7,694,828, Swift et al., issued April 13, 2010 . Para. 0072 (emphasis added).
Such a device is shown in Figures 3A and 3B , for exemplary use with a polyacrylamide gel bead solid extraction material. The device 300 has an upper chamber 305 and a lower chamber 310. The upper chamber 305 has an end wall 315 through which the agitator stem 320 of a gel bead agitator 325 extends. The device 300 also has an inlet port 330 that extends through the end wall 315 and into the upper chamber 305. The device 300 also includes an outlet port 335 that communicates with a plasma concentrate conduit 340. The floor of upper chamber 305 includes a filter 345, the upper surface of which supports desiccated concentrating polyacrylamide beads 350. Para. 0073 (emphasis added).
During use, a fluid 355 containing white blood cells and, optionally, platelets is injected to the upper chamber 305 via the inlet port 330 and mixed with the polyacrylamide beads 350. The fluid 355 and polyacrylamide beads 350 may be mixed by rotating the agitator stem 320 and the gel bead agitator 325, to help mix the fluid 355 and beads 350. The mixed fluid 355 and polyacrylamide beads 350 are then incubated for the desired time at the desired temperature. The device 300 is then centrifuged so that liquid passes to the lower chamber 310 while the polyacrylamide beads 350 are retained by a filter 345, thereby separating the polyacrylamide beads 350 from the resulting solution 360 of IL-1ra and other proteins that collects in the lower chamber 310. The solution 360 may be removed from the device via outlet port 335. Para. 0074 (emphasis).
In some embodiments, a Protein Solution can be made in a process wherein a liquid containing white blood cells is isolated from a tissue and then contacted with a solid extraction material in a continuous process. Referring again to Figure 1 , in some embodiments the isolating 110, 120, 135 and contacting 140 are performed using a single apparatus, referred to herein as a single separation and concentration device ("S/C device"). One such device is described in U.S. Patent Application Serial Number 13/434,245, O'Connell, filed March 29,2012. Para. 0075 (emphasis added).
The S/C device comprises a separation region, a first concentration region, a second concentration region, a buoy system, an inlet port, a check valve, a first withdrawal port and a second withdrawal port. Figure 5 shows an S/C device 500 capable of generating an anti-inflammatory cytokine composition from whole blood. For example, the method may start with obtaining a volume of whole blood, which is filled into a separation region 505 of the S/C device 500 by injecting through the inlet port 510. A buoy system 515 is located within the separation region 505. Para. 0076 (emphasis added).
A method for obtaining a Protein Solution comprises spinning the S/C device 500 by centrifugation. Centrifugal forces allow the buoy system 515 to move through the whole blood, resulting in a fraction of the whole blood to be located in the buoy separation region 535. For example, this fraction may comprise platelet-rich plasma. With a use of a withdrawal syringe, the selected fraction can be removed from the collection volume 535 through the third buoy member 530 that defines a removal passage 540 that is connected with collection face passages 545. A connection elbow 550 can interconnect with the removal passage 540 to allow a vacuum to be formed through the connection elbow 550, the collection passage 540, and the buoy collection passages 545. A collection tube 555 can interconnect the connection elbow 550 with a withdrawal elbow 560 that extends from a wall 565 that can be a bottom wall of concentration region 570. A second withdrawal tube 575 can be first connected with a check valve assembly 580 and a first withdrawal port 585. The first withdrawal port 585 can be connected with the withdrawal syringe with a Luer lock type connection or other appropriate connection. Para. 0077 (emphasis added).
The blood fraction is then re-injected through the first withdrawal port 285, through the check valve assembly 580, and into an upper volume 588 of the concentration region 570. Polyacrylamide beads 590 are added to the blood fraction in the upper volume 588 and the blood fraction and the polyacrylamide beads 590 can be mixed by shaking. Optionally, the blood fraction and the beads 590 can be incubated for a selected period of time before proceeding with the method. Para. 0079 (emphasis added).
The method comprises a second step of spinning by centrifugation. During the second centrifugation, the anti-inflammatory cytokine composition is separated from the beads 590 by being forced through a filter 592 and into a lower concentration region 595 of the concentration region 570. The Protein Solution can be withdrawn through a third withdrawal tube 596 and out a second withdrawal port 598 by use of a second withdrawal syringe. Again, the syringe can be connected to the second withdrawal port by a Luer® lock type connection. Para. 0080 (emphasis added).
Referring again to Figure 1 , following contacting the liquid with the solid extraction materials, a Protein Solution is isolated, as indicated at step 150. Isolation may be accomplished by drawing off at least a portion of the liquid volume and leaving the beads. In some cases, the extraction material may be sedimented by centrifugation prior to drawing off the Protein Solution. Isolation may also be performed by filtration, where the material is retained by a filter and the Protein Solution passes through the filter using centrifugal force or by using vacuum, for example. 0081 (emphasis added).
Cell cultures can either release anti-inflammatory cytokines into culture medium naturally, or the cultures can be induced to release the anti-inflammatory cytokines into the culture medium. The culture medium can be isolated by aspiration, centrifugation or filtration to form the acellular anti-inflammatory cytokine composition. Para. 0103 (emphasis added).
Example 1 Preparing and Characterizing a Protein Solution: A Protein Solution rich in interleukin-I receptor antagonist is prepared from seven consented human providers. Blood (55 mL) is drawn into a 60 cc syringe with 5 mL of anticoagulant citrate dextrose solution A (ACD-A, Citra Labs, Braintree, MA). Platelet-rich plasma (PRP) is created using the GPS® III platelet concentration system. The solution is generated by adding 6 mL of PRP to a modified Plasmax device containing 1 gram of polyacrylamide beads. The IL-Ira solution is removed from the Plasmax devices and frozen at minus 50°C for the assay. Cytokine content is assayed. Para. Para. 0122 (emphasis added).
The anti-inflammatory cytokines IL-1ra and sTNF-R are all detected. Para. 0123 (emphasis added).
An IL-1ra-rich solution is created as follows. Whole blood anticoagulated with ACD-A is drawn from 5 healthy volunteers. Platelet-rich plasma (PRP) (6 mL) is produced using the GPS® II System. Para. 0124 (emphasis added).
Following the PRP production, 5 mL of the PRP is added to a modified plasma concentration device (Plasmax™) and incubated with polyacrylamide desiccating beads in the device for 24 hours at room temperature. Para. 0125 (emphasis added).
Regarding Applicant’s claim 8, O’Shaughnessey discloses:
a method of preparing a plasma composition enriched in IL-1Ra [see para. 0074 and 0103], comprising:
collecting a whole blood sample in a centrifugation tube equipped with glass beads, polymeric microbeads or a combination of glass beads and polymeric microbeads
[see para. 0039 disclosing that fractionation device is placed into a centrifuge]
[see para. 0061 disclosing a syringe that contains cytokine cell suspension; or other containers such as centrifuge tubes, blood fractionation device or concentrator assembly]
[see para. 0062 disclosing the solid extraction material being particles combined with liquid containing cells]
[see para. 0064 disclosing glasses or polymers can be used as the solid extraction material]
[see para. 0065 disclosing the solid extraction material may include beads or particles]
[see para. 0066 disclosing polyacrylamide [i.e., polymer] beads used as the solid extraction material];
contacting the whole blood sample with the surface of the beads for a predetermined period of time
[see para. 0068 disclosing contact of solid extraction material with cell, to activate, separate, and concentrate the resulting protein solution rich in cytokines, including IL-1ra; and liquid can be removed from the solid extraction material and pores by centrifuging]
[see para. 0070 disclosing the cytokine cell suspension is incubated with solid extraction material to remove a portion of the liquid, for about 30 seconds to about 72 hours, in temperature from about 20 to about 41 degrees C]
[see para. 0072 disclosing containers holding beads, for example, the container being Plasmax TM Plus Plasma Concentrator]
[see para. 0079 disclosing polyacrylamide beads are added to the blood fraction in the upper volume 588 and the blood fraction and the polyacrylamide beads 590 can be mixed and incubated];
centrifuging the whole blood sample to obtain IL-1Ra enriched plasma;
[see para. 0073 disclosing polyacrylamide gel bead solid extraction material in a device 300 having an upper chamber 305 and lower chamber 310]
[see para. 0074 disclosing a fluid is injected to the upper chamber 305 and mixed with polyacrylamide beads and incubated for the desired time at the desired temperature; the device 300 is then centrifuged so that liquid passes to the lower chamber 310 while the polyacrylamide beads 350 are retained by a filter 345, thereby separating the polyacrylamide beads 350 from the resulting solution 360 of Il-1ra and other proteins that collects in the lower chamber 310]
[see para. 0080 dislcoisng a second step of spinning by centrifugation; during the second centrifugation, the anti-inflammatory cytokine composition is separated from the beads 590 by being forced through a filter 592, and into a lower concentration region 595 of the concentration region 570]
[see para. 0081 disclosing following contacting the liquid with the solid extraction materials, a protein solution is isolated; isolation may be accomplished by drawing off at least a portion of the liquid volume and leaving the beads; the extraction material may b sedimented by centrifugation prior to drawing off the protein solution; isolation may also be performed by filtration, where the material is retained by a filter and the protein solution passes throught he filter using centrifugal force or by using vacuum]
passing IL-1Ra enriched plasma through a filter to obtain the plasma composition enriched in IL-1Ra
[see para. 0073 disclosing a device with a polyacrylamide gel bead solid extraction material. The device 300 has an upper chamber 305 and a lower chamber 310]
[see para. 0074 disclosing that a fluid 355 containing white blood cells and, optionally, platelets is injected to the upper chamber 305 via the inlet port 330 and mixed with the polyacrylamide beads 350; the mixed fluid 355 and polyacrylamide beads 350 are then incubated for the desired time at the desired temperature; the device 300 is then centrifuged so that liquid passes to the lower chamber 310 while the polyacrylamide beads 350 are retained by a filter 345, thereby separating the polyacrylamide beads 350 from the resulting solution 360 of IL-1ra and other proteins that collects in the lower chamber 310. The solution 360 may be removed from the device via outlet port 335. Para. 0074 (emphasis).
[see paras. 0075-0076 disclosing a single separation and concentration device (“S/C device”); the S/C device comprising a separation region, a first concentration region, a second concentration region; the S/C device 500 capable of generating an anti-inflammatory cytokine composition from whole blood; the method may start with obtaining whole blood, which is filled into a separation region 505 of the S/C device 500 by injecting through the inlet port 510]
[see para. 0077 disclosing a method for obtaining a protein solution comprising spinning the s/C device 500 by centrifugation; the centrifugal forces allow the buoy system 515 to move through the whole blood, resulting in a fraction of the whole blood to be located in the buoy separation region 535;
with use of a withdrawal syringe, the selected fraction can be removed from the collection volume 535; the first withdrawal port 585 can be connected with the withdrawal syringe]
[see para. 0079 disclosing polyacrylamide beads 590 are added to the blood fraction in the upper volume 588]
[see para. 0080 disclosing spinning by centrifugation, wherein the anti-inflammatory cytokine composition is separated from the beads 590 by being forced through a filter 592 and into a lower concentration region 595 of the concentration region 570. The Protein Solution can be withdrawn through a third withdrawal tube 596 and out a second withdrawal port 598 by use of a second withdrawal syringe, which can be connected to the second withdrawal port]
[see para. 0081 disclosing that following contacting the liquid with the solid extraction materials, a Protein Solution is isolated, as indicated at step 150. Isolation may be accomplished by drawing off at least a portion of the liquid volume and leaving the beads. In some cases, the extraction material may be sedimented by centrifugation prior to drawing off the Protein Solution. Isolation may also be performed by filtration, where the material is retained by a filter and the Protein Solution passes through the filter using centrifugal force or by using vacuum]
[see para. 0103 disclosing cell cultures can either release anti-inflammatory cytokines into culture medium naturally, or the cultures can be induced to release the anti-inflammatory cytokines into the culture medium; the culture medium can be isolated by aspiration, centrifugation or filtration to form the acellular anti-inflammatory cytokine composition].
Applicant’s claim 9 recites that the whole blood sample is collected in a centrifugation tube provided with anticoagulant, separation gel and the glass beads.
[See para. 0122 disclosing Example 1: a protein solution rich in interleukin-1 receptor antagonist is prepared from human providers; Blood is draw into a syringe with anticoagulant citrate dextrose solution; platelet-rich plasma (PRP) is created using the GPS III platelet concentration system; the solution is generated by added PRP to a modified Plasmax device containing polyacrylamide beads; the IL-Ira solution is removed from the Plasmax device; the cytokine content is assayed]
[see para. 0124 disclosing how IL-1ra-rich solution is created: whole blood is anticoagulated with ACD-A; platelet-rich plasma (PRP) is produced using the GPS II System]
[see para. 0125 disclosing that following the PRP production, PRP is added to a modified plasma concentration device (Plasmax), and incubated with polyacrylamide desiccating beads in the device for 24 hours at room temperature]
As to claim 11, the IL-Ra enriched plasma is withdrawn from the centrifugation tube via syringe having a disc filter and the IL- Ra enriched plasma i passed through a disc filter to obtain dosage aliquots of IL- Ra enriched plasma.
See discussion of claim 8 above.
Also see paragraph 0080 disclosing a step of spinning by centrifugation. During the second centrifugation, the anti-inflammatory cytokine composition is separated from the beads 590 by being forced through a filter 592 and into a lower concentration region 595 of the concentration region 570. The Protein Solution can be withdrawn through a third withdrawal tube 596 and out a second withdrawal port 598 by use of a second withdrawal syringe. Again, the syringe can be connected to the second withdrawal port by a Luer® lock type connection. Para. 0080 (emphasis added).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10, 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 3351253 (hereinafter “O’Shaughnessey”).
O’Shaughnessey has been discussed above.
Applicant’s claim 10 recites that the whole blood sample is contacted with the surface of the beads for i) 4 to 24 hours at a temperature of 30- 40 °C or ii) 5 minutes to 1 hour at room temperature; followed by centrifugation at 1000g to 3000 g. This combination of parameters does not appear to be clearly shown by O’Shaughnessey.
However, O’Shaughnessey does disclose the following.
See paragraph 0039 disclosing whole blood inputted into a fractionation device 200, which is placed into a centrifuge for five minutes at a rate of of about 320 rpm to about 5000 rpm.
See paragraph 0070 disclosing incubation of the cytokine cell suspension being incubated with the solid extraction material for a time effective to remove a portion of the liquid, that may be from about 30 seconds to about 72 hours, at a temperature from about 20°C to about 41°C, or ambient conditions, e.g., at a temperature of about 20-25°C.
See paragraph 0074 disclosing a fluid 355 containing white blood cells and, optionally, platelets is injected to the upper chamber 305 via the inlet port 330 and mixed with the polyacrylamide beads 350. The fluid 355 and polyacrylamide beads 350 may be mixed…and incubated for the desired time at the desired temperature.
See paragraph 0125 disclosing that following the PRP production, 5 mL of the PRP is added to a modified plasma concentration device (Plasmax™) and incubated with polyacrylamide desiccating beads in the device for 24 hours at room temperature.
Thus, regarding Applicant’s claim 10, O’Shaughnessey discloses the general conditions of the claim (see discussion of claim 8 above), and contacting the whole blood sample with the surface of the beads for i) 4 to 24 hours at a temperature of 30- 40 °C or ii) 5 minutes to 1 hour at room temperature; followed by centrifugation at 1000g to 3000 g falls within a workable or optimum range. Discovery of workable or optimum range requires routine skills in the art and thus would have been obvious.
Applicant’s claim 12 recites the following.
A method of preparing a plasma composition enriched in IL-1Ra, comprising:
collecting whole blood in a glass collection vessel or tube, said vessel or tube containing density separation gel and glass microbeads in the absence of anticoagulant;
incubating the vessel or tube for 30 minutes to 24 hours;
centrifuging the vessel or tube, after incubating, at 900 to 2500g;
passing the mixture through a 0.2 to 1.0 micron filter, or conducting a second centrifuging step at 3000-5000g to separate the microbeads, cells and cellular fractions;
and collecting the plasma composition enriched in IL-1Ra.
O’Shaughnessey discloses the following limitations of Applicant’s claim 12.
O’Shaughnessey discloses a method of preparing a plasma composition enriched in IL-1Ra, comprising:
collecting whole blood in a glass collection vessel or tube, said vessel or tube containing density separation gel and glass microbeads in the absence of anticoagulant
[See paras. 0039, 0061, 0062, 0064-0066, discussed above regarding claim 8].
As to the limitation that the contacting of the whole blood with the vessel or tube containg gell and glass microbeads in the absence of anticoagulant, O’Shaughnessey discloses the following.
Obtaining a Liquid Containing White Blood Cells from Blood Clots: Cell releasate can be generated from the blood clot by either compression ("squeezing"), clot disruption, or centrifugation. The blood clot can be made with or without anticoagulant and with or without exogenous thrombin by combining blood or a blood fraction with a clotting agent. Para. 0052.
It would have been predictable to one skilled in the art that the O’Shaughnessey embodiment discussed above regarding Applicant’s claim 8 can be done without an anticoagulant, particularly given that O’Shaughnessey teaches that cell releasate can be generated from blood clot by centrifugation.
Regarding the limitations of
incubating the vessel or tube for 30 minutes to 24 hours;
centrifuging the vessel or tube, after incubating, at 900 to 2500g;
passing the mixture through a 0.2 to 1.0 micron filter, or conducting a second centrifuging step at 3000-5000g to separate the microbeads, cells and cellular fractions,
the steps of incubating, centrifuging, and passing through a filter has been discussed above (see discussion of claim 8 above). The range in incubation time, rate of centrifuging, and filter pore size falls within a workable or optimum range, the discovery of which requires routine skills in the art, given that the general conditions of the claims are disclosed or suggested by O’Shaughnessey as discussed above.
Regarding the step of collecting the plasma composition enriched in IL-1Ra (see paras. 0075-0077, 0103, discussed above regarding claim 8.
Regarding claim 13, the incubation being conducted in an atmosphere containing 5% CO2 falls within a workable or optimum range, and thus its discovery requires routine skills in the art.
Regarding claim 14, the step of passing the mixture through a 0.2 to 1.0 micron filter comprises passing the mixture through a disc filter directly into a syringe. See paragraphs 0073-0077, 0079-0081 and 0103, discussed above regarding claim 8.)
Conclusion
/Ann Montgomery/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1678