Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1 - 7 in the reply filed on January 6, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 8 - 42 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on January 6, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 - 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu et al (US 2015/0001681) in view of Kannaka et al (US 2013/0139950) and Watanabe et al (US 2015/0059644).
With regards to claim 1, Lu teaches a substrate processing method of applying a filler to a laminated substrate having a first substrate and a second substrate bonded to each other (Abstract) comprising applying the filler to a gap between the edge portion of the first substrate and the edge portion of the second substrate of the laminated substrate under determined applying condition (as seen in Figure 1 items 104, 106, 107 and 108).
Lu fails to explicitly disclose that the method comprises measuring surface shapes of an edge portion and determining an applying condition for the filler to be applied.
Kannaka discloses a method for bonding wafers (Abstract), in the same field of endeavor as Lu, where Kim discloses measuring the surface shapes of an edge portion of the first substrate and an edge portion of the second substrate (Figure 4, Figures 7A – 7F).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used Kannaka’s sensor in Lu’s method. The rationale being that, as stated by Kannaka, it allows for the apparatus to accurately measure and position the wafers (paragraph 4).
Lu and Kannaka fail to explicitly states that the measurement determines the applying condition for a filler.
Watanabe discloses an apparatus for applying a coating (Abstract), in the same field of endeavor as Lu and Kim, where Watanabe teaches determining an applying condition for a coating based on results of measuring a surface (paragraphs 47, 49, 51 and 53). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have determined the applying conditions for the filler to be applied to the laminated substrate based on results of measuring of the surface shapes, as suggested by Watanabe, in Lu’s method as modified by Kannaka. The rationale being that, as stated by Watanabe, it allows for a uniform coating in view of changing surfaces (paragraphs 10 and 11).
With regards to claims 2 and 3, the teachings of Lu, Kannaka and Watanabe are presented above. Additionally, Kannaka teaches that the shapes of the edge portion of the first and second substrates are measured before and after the substrates have bonded (as seen in Figures 4 and 5).
With regards to claim 4, the teachings of Lu, Kannaka and Watanabe are presented above. Additionally, Kannaka teaches that the surface shapes of the edge portion of the first substrate and the second substrate to be measured are specified by at least one of a dimension of the edge portion of the first substrate in a radial direction of the first substrate and a dimension of the edge portion of the second substrate in a radial direction of the second substrate (paragraphs 47, 48 and 52).
With regards to claim 5, the teachings of Lu, Kannaka and Watanabe are presented above. Additionally, Watanabe teaches that the applying condition includes a distances between the laminated substrate and the emitting port (paragraph 47).
With regards to claim 6, the teachings of Lu, Kannaka and Watanabe are presented above. Additionally, Lu teaches that the method further comprises curing the filler after applying the filler to the laminated substrate (paragraph 27). While Lu states that thermal process is performed for post curing (paragraph 27), Lu, Kannaka and Watanabe fail to explicitly disclose that hot air is performed to cure the filler which would require applying wind pressure and temperature of the hot air as applying conditions. Yet one of ordinary skills in the art would appreciate that application of hot air is well known in the art and would require adjusting the air pressure and the temperature of the hot air in order to control the curing the process.
With regards to claim 7, the teachings of Lu, Kannaka and Watanabe are presented above. Additionally, Lu teaches that the application of the filler is performed while rotating the laminated substrate through a stepper motor (paragraph 13), which would require adjusting the rotation speed of the substrate.
Conclusion
/JOSHEL RIVERA/Examiner, Art Unit 1746
/MICHAEL N ORLANDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1746