Election/Restrictions
Claims 12-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/16/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For the purpose of examination, the limitation will be treated as optional.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the biological macromolecules" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, Claim 1 will be treated as requiring “attaching biological macromolecules to a substrate”.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the step of" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, the limitation will be treated as “a step of”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mattey (US 20090053789) in view of Storey (US7250195).
Regarding Claim 1. Mattey teaches a method of covalently attaching a biological macromolecule to a substrate (abstract) comprising: (a) generating a plasma at a location separated from the substrate (Fig. 11, [0133], 67 region of corona generation); (b) activating the substrate by exposing the substrate to the plasma (Fig. 11, [0133], carried active species from the corona and merged with the bead aerosol); and (c) contacting the activated substrate with the biological macromolecule while the substrate is in an activated state ([0133], continued on to the phage solution).
Mattey does not explicitly teach wherein the biological macromolecule contacts the substrate under conditions of reduced pressure or vacuum; however, deposition of biomaterials under vacuum is known in the art (Storey, abstract). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the deposition atmosphere of Mattey to include a vacuum atmosphere, as suggested by Storey, and for the benefit of controlling environmental contaminants because it is a known deposition atmosphere and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of predictably achieving the coating of Mattey with a vacuum environment as in Storey.
Regarding Claims 2-3. Mattey teaches moving the plasma by a fluid to expose the substrate thereto (air stream carried active species, [0133]).
Regarding Claim 4. Mattey teaches the biological macromolecule is a bacteriophage ([0119]).
Regarding Claim 5. Mattey teaches the exposing step is carried out within a chamber ([0120]).
Regarding Claims 6-7. Mattey teaches the biological macromolecules are attached on substantially all surfaces of the substrate and the substrate is a powder (bacteriophage coated beads [0128]).
Regarding Claim 8. Mattey teaches embodiments including locating the powder in a rotatable drum ([0094]).
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bilek (US 20160215111) in view of Mattey (US 20090053789) and Storey (US7250195).
Regarding Claims 1-3 and 5. Bilek teaches a method of covalently attaching a biological macromolecule to a substrate (binding of a peptide to a polymer substrate surface, abstract) comprising: (a) generating a plasma ([0061-0063]); (b) activating the substrate by exposing the substrate to the plasma ([0061-0063]); and (c) contacting the activated substrate with the biological macromolecule while the substrate is in an activated state ([0065]).
The combined references do not explicitly teach wherein the biological macromolecule contacts the substrate under conditions of reduced pressure or vacuum; however, deposition of biomaterials under vacuum is known in the art (Storey, abstract). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the deposition atmosphere of the combined references to include a vacuum atmosphere, as suggested by Storey, and for the benefit of controlling environmental contaminants because it is a known deposition atmosphere and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of predictably achieving the coating of the combined references with a vacuum environment as in Storey.
Bilek is silent as to the location of the plasma generation in relation to the substrate surface; therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to look to related art to determine a suitable location. Mattey suggests plasma generation at a location separated from the substrate, moving the plasma by a fluid to expose the substrate to the plasma, and exposing the substrate in a chamber as discussed above. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the method of Bilek to include a remote plasma generation and substrate activation, as suggested in Mattey, because it is a known method of providing a plasma activated surface for biological macromolecule attachment and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of predictably achieving the coating of Bilek with plasma generation and activation as suggested by Mattey.
Regarding Claims 6-7. Bilek teaches the substrate is a powder ([0044]). Mattey teaches the biological macromolecules are attached on substantially all surfaces of the substrate and the substrate is a powder.
Regarding Claim 8. Mattey teaches embodiments including locating the powder in a rotatable drum ([0094]).
Regarding Claim 9. Bilek teaches the substrate is a textile, paper, or medical device ([0044]).
Conclusion
/TABATHA L PENNY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712