DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 12 – 21 are pending.
Claims 1 – 11 have been cancelled.
Claim 1 is objected.
Claims 12 – 21 are rejected.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: in step “ii” after formula (4) appears to be missing; and in step “iii” after formula (2) appears to be missing. Both instances appear to be typographical error.
The numbering of claims is not in accordance with 37 CFR 1.126 which requires the original numbering of the claims to be preserved throughout the prosecution. When claims are canceled, the remaining claims must not be renumbered. When new claims are presented, they must be numbered consecutively beginning with the number next following the highest numbered claims previously presented (whether entered or not).
Misnumbered the second number 14 and the claims that follow have been renumbered 15 (14), 16 (15), 17(16), 18(17), 19(18), 20(19), 21(20) and 22(21). The numbers in parenthesis are the original claim numbers. Additonally, applicant is required to correct the dependency of the newly numbered claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13, 14, 16(15), 17(16) and 19(18) is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention.
Clams 13 and 14 recite the limitation “cooling to a suitable temperate”. The phrasing is a term of degree and is not provided with some stand for measuring that degree. The range in temperature is not clearly defined in those claims. For this reason the claim lack clarity and is indefinite.
Claim 19(18) recites the limitation "the reducing agent" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 19(18) in line3 recites the trademark/trade name "Raney". Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe a type of catalyst and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claims 16(15 and 17(16) are rejected for being dependent upon rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 22(21) is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) as being anticipated by Londesbrough, et al. WO2017/112702(A).
The rejected claim cover, inter alia, A compound fenfluramine hydrochloride is having a purity of at least 99.5% by HPLC.
However, Londesbrough discloses that their method produces the fenfluramine hydrochloride with a purity of 99.5%. (pp. 11, [0043] & pp. 35, Table 1C).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 , 13 and 15(14), 16(15) and 18(17) – 22(21) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Londesbrough, et al. WO2017/112702(A).
The rejected clams cover, inter alia, a method for the preparation of fenfluramine hydrochloride of formula (1) according to the following reaction scheme.
.
Wherein (5) is reacted with sodium nitrite or nitrous acid to obtain (4), and aminating (2) with ethyl amine to obtain crude (1a).
Dependent 13 claim further limits the purification process. Dependent clams 15(14) and 16(15) further limit the solvent. Dependent clams 18(17) and 19(18) further limit the reaction process. Dependent claim 20(19) further limits the product. Dependent claims 21(20) further limits the compound of formula (5).
HoweveHowever, Londesbrough discloses in Example 5 (pp. 48 -49), a process for the preparation of fenfluramine hydrochloride comprising the steps of (i) reacting 3-trifluoromethylaniline with sodium nitrite, HX (X= Cl-) to obtain diazonium intermediate (compound of formula (4) of the instant application); (ii) reacting the said diazonium intermediate with isopropenyl acetate in presence of CuCl and NaOAc to obtain ZX008 ketone (compound of formula (2) of the instant application) ; (iii) aminating the said ketone with ethylamine to obtain Fenfluramine hydrochloride crude (pp. 34 [00120]) and (iv) crystallization of said crude to obtain pure Fenfluramine hydrochloride (pp. 36, [00124], [00125]). Also, Londesbrough discloses that their method produces the fenfluramine hydrochloride with a purity of 99.5%. (pp. 11, [0043] & pp. 35, Table 1C).
The difference between Londesbrough and the claimed invention is that it does not teach the invention with particularity so as to amount to anticipation (See M.P.E.P. §2131: "[t]he identical invention must be shown in as complete detail as is contained in the ...claim." Richardson v. Suzuki Motor Co., 868 F.2d 1226, 1236, 9 USPQ2d 1913, 1920 (Fed. Cir. 1989). The elements must be arranged as required by the claim, but this is not an ipsissimis verbis test, i.e., identity of terminology is not required. In re Bond, 910 F.2d 831, 15 USPQ2d 1566 (Fed. Cir. 1990).).
However, based on the above, Londesbrough teaches the elements of the claimed invention with sufficient guidance, particularity, and with a reasonable expectation of success, that the invention would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill (the prior art reference teaches or suggests all the claim limitations with a reasonable expectation of success. (see M.P.E.P. § 2143).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 and 17 (16) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Londesbrough, et al. WO2017/112702(A).
The rejected clam covers, inter alia, a process for purifying 3-trifluoromethylaniline hydrochloride, comprising: A. dissolving crude 3-trifluoromethylaniline in a suitable solvent; B. adding hydrochloric acid to the reaction mass; C. dissolving 3-trifluoromethylaniline hydrochloride in suitable solvent; D. cooling to suitable temperature; and E. isolating 3-trifluormethylaniline hydrochloride.
Dependent claim 17(16) further limits the solvent.
However, even though Londesbrough does not teach or suggest purification of 3-trifluormethylaniline hydrochloride, the prior art discloses the method for the purification of fenfluramine hydrochloride. In Londesbrough purification of fenfluramine hydrochloride is by crystallization ([00124], [00125]) comprising the steps of dissolving fenfluramine hydrochloride crude in a solvent, heating the suspension, cooling the suspension and isolating the desired compound.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to purify the 3-trifluormethylaniline hydrochloride by methods like those taught in the purification of fenfluramine. Motivation for early purification of a starting reactant is found in the teaching of Londesbrough. In the disclosure there is discussion on eliminating isomers (e.g., a regioisomers) by-product of the 3-trifluormethylaniline starting material. The reason is that such by-products can be carried through synthetic steps, and be difficult to substantially eliminate from downstream compositions. (pp. 18, [0062]). Further stating, removing impurities and/or undesirable isomers early in a synthesis can be preferred, especially if such impurities are carried through to final product compositions, as purification of a final product at the end of a synthesis is more costly (e.g., in losses of valuable product) and impacts cost of goods more greatly than removing such minor components early in synthesis before raw materials are invested along the process. (pp. 18, [0062]).
Therefore, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (U.S. 2007).
Conclusion
/YATE' K CUTLIFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1692