DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regard to claim 6, it is unclear what limitations are required. It is unclear if the “transfer element” and associated limitations are part of the tubular barrel and thus not required if the actuating body comprises an actuating nut or if the transfer arrangement is required regardless of the type of actuating body. Furthermore, it is unclear how the anchor arrangement may have a actuating nut and transfer arrangement as it appears the actuating nut is the transfer arrangement. The metes and bounds of the claim cannot be ascertained.
With regard to claim 10, the claim further defines the tubular barrel which is optional in parent claim 6. It is unclear if these limitations are required and if the anchor arrangement requires a tubular barrel. The metes and bounds of the claim cannot be ascertained. For the purpose of examination on the merits, the examiner has assumed a tubular barrel and all limitations are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 13, 19-20, 26, 28, 36, and 39-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Martin (4,472,088).
With regard to claims 1 and 36, Martin discloses a method/anchor arrangement for a solid body, the anchor arrangement (e.g. fig. 3) comprising: an elongate body (34) configured for, in use, being received at least partially within a hole in the solid body (fig. 3); an internal fixing arrangement (46/50/80) comprising a substance (56/80) received within a containing arrangement (46), the containing arrangement in use arranged within the hole (fig. 6); and an activating arrangement (54/62/74) configured for, in use, actuating the containing arrangement and causing the internal fixing arrangement to engage with the hole, thereby causing the elongate body to become fixed within the hole (col. 4, lines 27-37).
With regard to claim 2, Martin further discloses the elongate body is substantially cylindrical and takes the form of one of a rock bolt and a cable (fig. 3), wherein a first end of the anchor arrangement is, operatively advanced into the hole, and wherein a second end of the elongate body operatively protrudes from the hole beyond an outer surface of the solid body (fig. 3).
With regard to claim 3, Martin further discloses the activating arrangement is configured operatively to exert an axial force (figs. 1-3), and therefore a pressure on a portion of the internal fixing arrangement, thereby to cause the substance to become pressurized within the hole and causing the anchor arrangement to become fixed within the hole and relative to the solid body (col. 4, lines 27-37), wherein a second end portion of the elongate body comprises an outer thread (42) configured in a first directional orientation and wherein the activating arrangement comprises an actuating body (74), comprising an inner thread configured in the first directional orientation and operatively received on the outer thread of the second end portion of the elongate body (fig. 3), and wherein, an operative torque applied, directly or indirectly, to the actuating body causes same to be displaced along the threaded second portion of the elongate body, thereby, directly or indirectly, to actuate the containing arrangement (col. 4, lines 27-37).
With regard to claim 6, Martin further discloses the actuating body comprising an actuating nut (74).
With regard to claim 13, Martin further discloses the activating arrangement further comprises a contact body (62) received between the actuating body and the containing arrangement (fig. 3), which contact body comprises a contact surface shaped to engage the containing arrangement, in use (fig. 3).
With regard to claim 19, Martin further discloses the containing arrangement is dimensioned operatively to be received completely within the hole (fig. 3) without any portion thereof protruding beyond an outer surface of the solid body (fig. 3).
With regard to claim 20, Martin further discloses the containing arrangement is operatively arranged at least partially between an internal sidewall of the hole and the elongate body (fig. 3), wherein the substance comprises a setting compound in the form of one of a cementitious material, a powder, a dry grout, a resin, or an epoxy resin (col. 4, lines 37-47), and wherein actuating the containing arrangement causes the setting compound to become set, thereby engaging with the hole and causing the elongate body to become fixed within the hole (col. 4, lines 37-47), and wherein the containing arrangement takes the form of a grout pack, receptacle, enclosure, sleeve, sock, or bag within which the substance is received in use (fig. 3; col. 4, lines 37-47).
With regard to claim 26, Martin further discloses the elongate body is operatively received within, surrounded by, or wrapped by the internal fixing arrangement along at least a portion of a length of the elongate body (fig. 3) and wherein an outer dimension of the anchor, once the elongate body is received within, surrounded by, or wrapped by the internal fixing arrangement, is smaller than a diameter of the hole, to allow the anchor arrangement to be, at least partially, advanced into the hole col. 4, lines 37-47).
With regard to claim 28, Martin further discloses a first end of the elongate body is associated with a locking body (38), selected from a list comprising a nut, washer, plate, collar, collet, and shoulder, which locking body is provided operatively for limiting or inhibiting axial displacement of the fixing arrangement relative to the elongate body and/or for providing back-pressure in the internal fixing arrangement when same is engaged by the activating arrangement (fig. 3).
With regard to claim 39, Martin further discloses providing a substance through an opening into a thin-walled vessel associated with the anchor arrangement (fig. 3) and exerting a force on the thin-walled vessel thereby to increase a pressure within the thin-walled vessel and/or causing an expansion of the thin-walled vessel (col. 4, lines 37-47).
With regard to claim 40, Martin further discloses providing a bearing plate (70) over a second end of the elongate body (fig. 3) and providing a torque (via 74) to the transfer arrangement, thereby causing the actuating body directly or indirectly to engage the internal fixing arrangement (col. 4, lines 37-47).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin (4,472,088) in view of Abreu et al. (2018/0030832).
With regard to claim 10, Martin discloses the invention substantially as claimed however is silent regarding a tubular barrel and a transfer arrangement are separate components and wherein a torque limiting arrangement taking the form of one or more shear pins provided between the tubular barrel and the transfer arrangement which is provided between the tubular barrel and the transfer arrangement to allow a torque below a predetermined magnitude to be transferred from the transfer arrangement to the tubular barrel, wherein the tubular barrel comprises an outer thread configured in the first directional orientation, wherein the transfer arrangement comprises an inner thread configured in the first directional orientation and received on the outer thread of the tubular barrel, and wherein a torque applied in the first directional orientation exceeding the predetermined magnitude allows the transfer arrangement to overcome the torque limiting arrangement, following which interaction with the outer thread of the tubular barrel causes the transfer arrangement to be displaced relative to the tubular barrel until an axial load is transferred between the anchor and the solid body, to create tension in the anchor arrangement.
Abreu discloses an anchor arrangement (e.g. figs. 10A, 10B) comprising a tubular barrel (10A; inner segment) and a transfer arrangement (10A; outer segment)are separate components and wherein a torque limiting arrangement (76) taking the form of one or more shear pins (para 0083) provided between the tubular barrel and the transfer arrangement which is provided between the tubular barrel and the transfer arrangement to allow a torque below a predetermined magnitude to be transferred from the transfer arrangement to the tubular barrel (para 0083), wherein the tubular barrel comprises an outer thread configured in the first directional orientation, wherein the transfer arrangement comprises an inner thread configured in the first directional orientation and received on the outer thread of the tubular barrel (figs. 10A, 10B), and wherein a torque applied in the first directional orientation exceeding the predetermined magnitude allows the transfer arrangement to overcome the torque limiting arrangement (fig. 10B; para 0083), following which interaction with the outer thread of the tubular barrel causes the transfer arrangement to be displaced relative to the tubular barrel until an axial load is transferred between the anchor and the solid body, to create tension in the anchor arrangement (fig. 10B).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Martin and utilize a tubular barrel and transfer arrangement as taught in Abreu, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to allow rotational and axial forces to the elongate body.
Claim(s) 23 and 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin (4,472,088) in view of Sandahi (4,232,984).
With regard to claim 23, Martin discloses the invention substantially as claimed however is silent regarding the containing arrangement is manufactured from a water-permeable fabric or textile material, configured operatively to allow water to penetrate therethrough and into the containing arrangement to contact the substance when the internal fixing arrangement is operatively submerged in water, and wherein a permeability, size and shape of the material from which the containing arrangement is manufactured, is selected to allow a suitable amount of water to penetrate the containing arrangement to allow for a predetermined water to substance ratio.
Sandahi discloses an anchor arrangement wherein the containing arrangement (abstract, “cartridge/casing”) is manufactured from a water-permeable fabric or textile material, configured operatively to allow water to penetrate therethrough and into the containing arrangement to contact the substance when the internal fixing arrangement is operatively submerged in water (col. 3, lines 12-35), and wherein a permeability, size and shape of the material from which the containing arrangement is manufactured, is selected to allow a suitable amount of water to penetrate the containing arrangement to allow for a predetermined water to substance ratio (col. 3, lines 12-67).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Martin and utilize a permeable containing arrangement as taught in Sandahi, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to ensure a uniform mixture as taught by Sandahi (abstract).
With regard to method claim 38, the claimed method of installing an anchor arrangement would inherently be performed by the modification of Martin to include permeable containing arrangement as taught by Sandahi as discussed above.
Claim(s) 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin (4,472,088) in view of Kern (4,092,814).
With regard to claim 34, Martin discloses the invention substantially as claimed however is silent regarding a breather passage extends axially and/or centrally along a portion of the elongate body.
Kern discloses an anchor arrangement (2) comprising a breather passage (8) extends axially and/or centrally along a portion of the elongate body (figs. 2-3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Martin and utilize a breather passage as taught in Kern, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to vent the hole in the solid body.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14, 30, and 32 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the cited prior art, either alone or in any reasonable combination, fails to teach or suggest all the limitations of the independent claim(s). Anchor arrangements are known such as those taught by Martin (4,472,088) and Schmidt (2012/0155971). However, the cited prior art lacks the counter-moment arrangement and expandable, plastically-deformable thin-walled vessel as required by the dependent claim(s) and it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the prior art to achieve applicant’s invention without the benefit of hindsight and applicant’s own disclosure.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/BENJAMIN F FIORELLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678
BF
10/18/2025