DETAILED ACTION
Amendment
Acknowledgment is made Amendment filed November 21, 2025. Claims 1 and 14 are amended. Claims 1, 3-10 and 13-15 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-10 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heredia (US 10,724,720) in view of Ju (US 2019/0064426).
Regarding claim 1, as best understood by Examiner, Heredia discloses an elongated trunk fixture at least comprising a fixture housing comprising a light exit opening and a light exit window 18 connected to the fixture hosing and covering the light exit opening, the fixture housing being composed of two parts a first part including an elongated strip shaped fixture base plate 16 and a second part including elongated fixture wall plates 12,14, wherein the first part including at least one light emitting element 54, and power electronics (at least PCB 52; see also “wiring that powers or controls” the lighting which can be on plate 16 at space 44; see at least column 4, lines 24-50) for supplying power to the at least one light emitting elements 54, wherein the second part is releasably connected with the first part, wherein both the elongated strip shaped fixture wall plates and the light exit window are made from a flexible synthetic material (see at least column 3, lines 3-7 and column 9, lines 13-17; polycarbonate and ABS both have flexible properties), wherein each elongated fixture wall plate 12,14 is provided with a hook-shaped first wall plate edge (generally 28, particularly hook shaped projection 32, see Figs. 1-3) near a first longitudinal side of the elongated fixture wall plate 12,14, wherein first and second longitudinal sides of each elongated fixture base plate 16 has an upward bend base plate ridge 30 for serving as an upward directed rest for the hook-shaped first longitudinal wall plate edge 32 and thereby suspending the second part from the first part (see generally Figures 1-3 and column 2, line 55 through column 5, line 55; Examiner submits that the elongated fixture 10 in Heredia can be “converted for mounting in another fashion” and when the elongated fixture in Fig. 2 is rotated 180 for possible incorporation into a ceiling or suspension therefrom, the second part 12,14 is necessarily suspended from the first part 16; Heredia teaches that the first part and second part are “interengaged by at least a tight fit” and would necessarily create suspension).
Heredia generally teaches “wiring that powers or controls” the lighting 50 which can be on base plate 16 at space 44 (see at least column 4, lines 24-50), thus suggesting openings on the base plate 16 to allow for insertion and electrical connection to the lighting 50. Heredia also teaches that the lighting system can be “converted for mounting in another fashion” (see at least column 2, lines 8-11), but Heredia does not specifically teach providing suspension openings on the base plate 16 for attachment with suspension power supply wiring. However providing openings is base plates for attaching power wiring is well-known in the art and taught in Ju (see Ju, at least Figures 1A-3C and 6-7 and paras [0063]-[0065]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide suspension openings in the base plate 16 in Heredia for attachment with suspension power supply wiring as taught by Ju in order to achieve the stated objective of providing wiring for powering or controlling the lighting 50 and converting the lighting system for mounting in other fashions such as suspension.
Regarding claim 3, the first wall plate edge of the elongated plate or the longitudinal edge of the elongated strip shaped fixture base plate 16 in Heredia are provided with an elongated thickened part 30, which elongated thickened part releasably fits in an elongated slot 34 provided on the longitudinal edge of the elongated strip shaped fixture base plate or the first wall plate edge of the elongated fixture wall plate 12 (see at least Figures 1-3).
Regarding claim 4, the elongated fixture wall plates 12,14 in Heredia are releasably connected with the light exit window 18 (see at least Figures 1-3).
Regarding claim 5, the elongated fixture wall plate 12 in Heredia is provided with a second wall plate edge near a second longitudinal side of the elongated fixture wall plate, the second wall plate edge releasably interacting with a longitudinal edge of the light exit window 18 (see at least Figures 1-3).
Regarding claim 6, the second wall plate edge of the elongated fixture wall plate or the longitudinal edge of the light exit window in Heredia can be provided with an elongated thickened part (for example, see Fig. 4, thickened part 152) which elongated thickened part releasably fits in an elongated slot (for example, 152 in Fig. 4) provided on the longitudinal edge of the light exit window or the second wall plate edge of the elongated fixture wall plate (see at least Figures 1-3).
Regarding claim 7, the light exit window 18 in Heredia is configured as an elongated shaped light exit plate (see at least Figures 1 and 3).
Regarding claims 8-9, Heredia does not specifically teach an elongated reflector plate provided on an upright flange on the elongated fixture wall plate 12. However, providing elongated reflector plates on flanges of wall plates is well-known in the art (Official Notice), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide an elongated reflector plate on a flange of the wall plate 12 in Heredia in order to prevent light loss and produce brighter and more efficient light pattern.
Regarding claim 10, Heredia generally teaches that the wall plates 12,14 can be made of plastic such as polycarbonate or ABS (see at least column 3, lines 3-7), thus suggesting that the wall plates can be diffusely translucent to visible light although not explicitly taught. However providing wall plates diffusely translucent to visible light is well-known in the art (Official Notice), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide wall plates 12,14 diffusely translucent to visible light in order to achieve the stated objectives of providing plastic wall plates and forming a diffuse, uniform light pattern free of bright spots that can be utilized and mounted in various fashions.
Regarding claim 13, Heredia discloses an illumination system for line illumination composed of two or more elongated trunk fixtures according to claim 1 (see at least column 4, lines 8-10 which teaches channels 42 for alignment pins for joining multiple fixtures 10).
Regarding claim 14, Heredia discloses a kit of parts comprising: an elongated strip shaped fixture base plate 16 having an upward bend base plate ridge 30, wherein the base plate including at least one light emitting element 54 and power electronics (at least PCB 52; see also “wiring that powers or controls” the lighting which can be on plate 16 at space 44; see at least column 4, lines 24-50) for supplying power to the at least one light emitting element 54; at least two elongated fixture wall plates 12,14 and an elongated light exit window plate 18, and wherein each elongated fixture wall plate is provided with a hook-shaped first wall plate edge (generally 28, particularly hook shaped projection 32, see Figs. 1-3) near a longitudinal side of the elongated fixture wall plate, wherein first and second longitudinal side of each elongated fixture base plate has an upward bend base plate ridge 30 for serving as an upward directed rest for the hook-shaped first longitudinal wall plate edge and suspending the fixture housing from the base plate thereby suspending the at least two elongated fixture wall plates 12,14 from the base plate 16 (see generally Figures 1-3 and column 2, line 55 through column 5, line 55; Examiner submits that the elongated fixture 10 in Heredia can be “converted for mounting in another fashion” and when the elongated fixture in Fig. 2 is rotated 180 for possible incorporation into a ceiling or suspension therefrom, the second part 12,14 is necessarily suspended from the first part 16; Heredia teaches that the first part and second part are “interengaged by at least a tight fit” and would necessarily create suspension).
Heredia generally teaches “wiring that powers or controls” the lighting 50 which can be on base plate 16 at space 44 (see at least column 4, lines 24-50), thus suggesting openings on the base plate 16 to allow for insertion and electrical connection to the lighting 50. Heredia also teaches that the lighting system can be “converted for mounting in another fashion” (see at least column 2, lines 8-11), but Heredia does not specifically teach providing suspension openings on the base plate 16 for attachment with suspension power supply wiring. However providing openings is base plates for attaching power wiring is well-known in the art and taught in Ju (see Ju, at least Figures 1A-3C and 6-7 and paras [0063]-[0065]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide suspension openings in the base plate 16 in Heredia for attachment with suspension power supply wiring as taught by Ju in order to achieve the stated objective of providing wiring for powering or controlling the lighting 50 and converting the lighting system for mounting in other fashions such as suspension.
Regarding claim 15, Heredia does not specifically teach an elongated reflector plate. However, providing elongated reflector plates is well-known in the art (Official Notice), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide an elongated reflector plate on a flange of the wall plate 12 in Heredia in order to prevent light loss and produce brighter and more efficient light pattern.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed November 21, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. As noted in the rejection above, Heredia teaches that the light fixture can be “converted for mounting in another fashion” (see at least column 2, lines 8-11). Examiner submits that one of these possible uses or mounting is suspension from a ceiling as taught by Ju. When the light fixture 10 in say for example Figure 2 is rotated 180 degrees and prepared for suspension from a ceiling, the second part (elongated fixture wall plates 12,14) are necessarily suspended from the first part 16 (base plate 16) via the upward bend base plate ridges 30 on each end of the base plate 16. Applicant also points to column 3, lines 29-35 for a teaching that the elongated wall plates 12,14 are attached to base plate 16 via “joint compound”. Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that Heredia teaches the possible use of joint compound under the flanges 20 or the outside walls of plates 12,14 when mounting to the wall surfaces 22. Thus there is not teaching of the use of joint compound for attaching the wall plates 12,14 to the base plate 16, and moreover, the use of joint compound would not be required when mounting the light fixture 10 to a ceiling in a pendant mount fashion. The wall plates 12,14 and base plate 16 are interengaged by ridges 30 and hooked shaped edges 28 to form at least a tight fit and the hanging of the light fixture 10 from a ceiling (or mere rotation of the light fixture 180 degrees) necessarily creates suspension of the second part 12,14 from the base plate 16 via gravity. Accordingly, the rejections set forth in the previous Office Action are maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEAN P GRAMLING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875