DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 6, 13 – 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (CN 108122999A)
In regards to claim 1, Liu teaches Pt nanoparticle modified GaN nanowire (title, abstract). The nanowire is prepared by immersing GAN (gallium nitride) into Pt (platinum) nanoparticle colloidal solution, soaked, washed and dried to obtain Pt nanoparticle-modified GaN nanowires [0022]. The GaN nanowire contains Pt nanoparticle at 0.4 to 0.8 wt.% [0025]. The Pt nanoparticles on GaN provides the limitations of the claimed catalyst and thus should be effective for providing the intended use as catalyst for the conversion of methane to cyclohexane.
In regards to claim 2, Liu teaches the catalyst having GaN as balance of the catalyst which would be present in the claimed amount absent the amount of the Pt nanoparticles.
In regards to claim 3, Liu teaches the catalyst having the claimed limitation as previously stated.
In regards to claim 4, Liu teaches the catalyst are nanoparticles comprising Pt nanoparticles on a GaN nanowire, which are both nanoparticles.
In regards to claims 5, 6, Liu teaches the catalyst having the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts and thus would be expected to have similar properties.
In regards to claims 13, 15 – 17, Liu teaches every step of the process including depositing the platinum onto the surface of the GaN using electron beam deposition or chemical reduction, washing the surface with water and drying [0022 – 0025, 0047 and 0048]. Chemical vapor deposition provides the step of chemical reduction as claimed.
In regards to claim 14, Liu teaches the process using electron beam deposition unto the nanowire but does not particularly recite photodeposition as claimed. However, in view of Kim et al. (KR 10-2011-0100478) such processes are known to use electron beam and/or photodeposition interchangeably for depositing particles on nanowires and would have been obvious.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 – 12 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Liu et al. (CN 108122999A) fails to teach the process of preparing cyclohexane using GaN or any of the claimed catalyst in reaction with methane.
Conclusion
/TAIWO OLADAPO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771