DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This communication is responsive to the applicant’s amendment dated 1/20/2026. The applicant amended claims 1-2, 5-6, 10, 14-15, and 19-20. Additionally, the applicant has cancelled claims 4, 13, and 18.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection for claim 1, the examiner believes the applicant has incorporated a practical application into the claim language. In particular, the examiner views independent claim 1 as a computer implemented method for role determination in an audio conference. Therefore, the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection is removed for claim 1 and dependent claim 12.
Regarding the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection for independent claims 2 and 10, the examiner would like to see these claims tied into a practical application in the claim language. In particular, how are these cluster center data sets being used. Currently, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the examiner views these independent claims to be grouping data based off mathematical calculations. The applicant has included “a terminal or a server” into the preamble of these independent claims however, the examiner views these as generic computer components. Therefore, the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection is maintained for independent claim 2 and 10. Additionally, their respective dependent claims 3, 5-8, 11, 14-17, and 19-21 also remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Applicant’s arguments with respect 35 U.S.C. 102 for claims 2 and 10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Given the amendments a new ground of rejection is provided below. The applicant argues that Meng fails to teach wherein the determining the first cluster center of each first set according to the feature information of the audio segment comprised in each first set comprises: determining a second cluster center of the first set according to the feature information of the audio segment comprised in the first set; and updating the second cluster center of the first set to obtain the first cluster center of the first set. In particular, the applicant argues (pg. 14, line 7-32) that “during the determination of the clustering center between two clustering processings, Meng does not disclose determining another clustering center of each data set according to the exact matching information of the data to be clustered in the multiple data sets, and also does not disclose updating the another clustering center to obtain the clustering center”. The examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner has provided added support for these limitations in the rejection below. The examiner interprets the sub-portion to be the second cluster which is based from the first cluster. The clustering center is being determined for the sub-portion and updated as taught by Meng in paragraphs [0104-0108]. Therefore, the limitations are met by Meng.
The applicant’s arguments in terms of 35 U.S.C. 103 (see Remarks, pg. 12, line 20 – pg. 17, line 10) for dependent claims 5-7 have been considered but are not persuasive.
First, the applicant argues that Yan fails to teach “amended” claims 5-7. The applicant’s arguments can be found on pg. 16, line 4-19. Starting with claim 5, the examiner has fine-funed the citations to support that Yan teaches the recited limitations. The citations show that a mean value is calculated and that the first mean value is being used as the second cluster center as recited in the claim language. Next, the applicant arguments state that Yan fails to teach claim 6, however, claim 6 is being taught by Meng. The applicant fails to provide any arguments that support how Meng specifically fails to teach the limitations in claim 6. Lastly, in terms of claim 7, the examiner has provided added support how Yan teaches claim 7 below. Therefore, the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 2-3, 5-8, 10-11, 14-17, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Independent claim 2 recites, “performing a segmenting processing on an audio signal to obtain multiple audio segments”, “performing a clustering processing on the multiple audio segments according to feature information of each audio segment in the multiple audio segments to obtain one or more first sets”, “determining a first cluster center of each first set according to the feature information of the audio segment comprised in each first set”, “performing the clustering processing on the multiple audio segments according to the first cluster center of each first set to obtain one or more second sets, wherein audio segments in a same second set corresponding to a same role label”, “determining a second cluster center of the first set according to the feature information of the audio segment comprised in the first set”, and “updating the second cluster center of the first set to obtain the first cluster center of the first set”.
The limitation of segmenting an audio signal, as drafted, is a process, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. For example, “segmenting” in the context of this claim encompasses breaking down audio which a human can do in the mind. Next, the limitation of clustering audio segments, as drafted, is a process, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. For example, “clustering” in the context of this claim encompasses grouping audio which a human can do in the mind. Next, the limitation of determining cluster center, as drafted, is a process, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. For example, “determining” in the context of this claim encompasses determining an average which a human can do in the mind or with a pen and paper. Next, the limitation of clustering on audio segments, as drafted, is a process, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. For example, “clustering” in the context of this claim encompasses grouping audio which a human can do in the mind. Next, the limitation of determining a second cluster center, as drafted, is a process, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. For example, “determining” in the context of this claim encompasses determining a representative audio segment, which a human can do in the mind. Lastly, the limitation of updating second cluster data, as drafted, is a process, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. For example, “updating” in the context of this claim encompasses adjust data, which a human can do in the mind or with a pen and paper.
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claim does not recite any additional elements to perform the recited claim or do not add a meaningful limitation to the method as they are insignificant extra-solution activity. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim is not patent eligible.
Dependent claims 3, 5-8, 11, and 19-21 are also rejected for the same reasons provided in independent claim 2 above. The dependent claim, including the further recited limitation, does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and the additional elements, taken individually and in combination do not contribute to an inventive concept. In other words, the dependent claim is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Independent claim 10 recites, “perform a segmenting processing on an audio signal to obtain multiple audio segments”, “perform a clustering processing on the multiple audio segments according to feature information of each audio segment in the multiple audio segments to obtain one or more first sets”, “determine a first cluster center of each first set according to the feature information of the audio segment comprised in each first set”, “perform the clustering processing on the multiple audio segments according to the first cluster center of each first set to obtain one or more second sets, wherein audio segments in a same second set corresponding to a same role label”, “determine a second cluster center of the first set according to the feature information of the audio segment comprised in the first set”, and “update the second cluster center of the first set to obtain the first cluster center of the first set”.
The limitation of segmenting audio signals as drafted, is a process, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting “a terminal or a server”, “a memory”, “a processor”, and “a computer program”, nothing in the claim precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, but for the “a terminal or a server”, “a memory”, “a processor”, and “a computer program”, “segmenting” in the context of this claim encompasses breaking down audio which a human can do in the mind. Next, the limitation of clustering audio segments, as drafted, is a process, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting the elements listed above, nothing in the claim precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, “clustering” in the context of this claim encompasses grouping audio which a human can do in the mind. Next, the limitation of determining cluster center, as drafted, is a process, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting the elements listed above, nothing in the claim precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, “determine” in the context of this claim encompasses determining an average which a human can do in the mind or with a pen and paper. Next, the limitation of performing clustering of multiple audio segments, as drafted, is a process, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting the elements listed above, nothing in the claim precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, “clustering” in the context of this claim encompasses grouping audio which a human can do in the mind. Next, the limitation of determining a second cluster center, as drafted, is a process, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. For example, “determine” in the context of this claim encompasses determining a representative audio segment, which a human can do in the mind. Lastly, the limitation of updating second cluster data, as drafted, is a process, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. For example, “update” in the context of this claim encompasses adjust data, which a human can do in the mind or with a pen and paper.
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim only recites the additional elements, “a terminal or a server”, “a memory”, “a processor”, and “a computer program” to perform the recited limitations. These elements in these steps are recited at a high-level of generality such that is amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of using “a terminal or a server”, “a memory”, “a processor”, and “a computer program” to perform the recited limitations amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Dependent claims 14-17 are also rejected for the same reasons provided in independent claim 10 above. The dependent claim, including the further recited limitation, does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and the additional elements, taken individually and in combination do not contribute to an inventive concept. In other words, the dependent claim is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan in view of Meng in view of Li, Y.et al. (2016, July). Speaker role clustering using turn features and maximum inter-cluster distances. In 2016 International Conference on Audio, Language and Image Processing (ICALIP) (pp. 482-486). IEEE. (Year: 2016).
Regarding independent claim 1, Yan teaches a role processing method in a conference scene, applied to a terminal or a server, and comprising:
receiving an audio signal of multiple roles in a conference ([p. 2, paragraph 5] “obtaining the voice segment with human voice”);
performing a segmenting processing on the audio signal to obtain multiple audio segments ([p. 2, paragraph 6] “dividing the voice segment with human voice to obtain a plurality of voice sub-segments”);
performing a clustering processing on the multiple audio segments according to feature information of each audio segment in the multiple audio segments to obtain one or more first sets ([p. 2, paragraph 8] “performing cascade clustering for the voiceprint characteristic corresponding to all the voice sub-segments”, examiner interprets voiceprint characteristics as features and output of the clustering as the set.);
calculating a first mean value of the feature information of the audio segment comprised in the first set ([p.2, paragraph 12] “performing the second clustering to the first clustering result with the initial value of the first clustering result as the Kmeans clustering to obtain the second clustering result”);
taking the first mean value as a second cluster center of the first set ([pg. 6, paragraph 1]“when performing the K-means clustering, firstly giving the number K of the clustering, then initially randomly giving K to-be-clustering centre.”);
calculating a second mean value of the feature information corresponding to the one or more second target segments in the first set ([p. 2, paragraph 12] “performing the second clustering to the first clustering result with the initial value of the first clustering result as the Kmeans clustering to obtain the second clustering result”);
taking the second mean value as a first cluster center of the first set ([p. 3, paragraph 8] “a second clustering sub-module, for the first clustering result is the initial value of the Kmeans clustering for the first clustering result for the second clustering”);
Yan fails to teach determining one or more second target segments in the first set according to the second cluster center of the first set, wherein a similarity degree between feature information corresponding to the second target segments and the second cluster center of the first set is greater than or equal to a second threshold value; for each audio segment in the multiple audio segments, according to the feature information of the audio segment and the first cluster center of each first set, calculating a distance between the audio segment and each first cluster center respectively; dividing an audio segment in the multiple audio segments whose distance with the first cluster center is less than or equal to a third threshold value into a second set; determining role information of multiple speakers in the audio signal according to the second set; and taking the second set as the first set, and performing a process from calculation of the first mean value to determination of the role information repeatedly
However, Meng teaches determining one or more second target segments in the first set according to the second cluster center of the first set, wherein a similarity degree between feature information corresponding to the second target segments and the second cluster center of the first set is greater than or equal to a second threshold value ([0065] “the multiple data to be clustered may further be classified based on whether the fuzzy matching information is similar or not (for example, whether a distance between pieces of fuzzy matching information is smaller than or equal to a preset threshold or not)”);
for each audio segment in the multiple audio segments, according to the feature information of the audio segment and the first cluster center of each first set, calculating a distance between the audio segment and each first cluster center respectively ([0064] “after the clustering centers are determined, a distance between each of the multiple data to be clustered and each clustering center can be determined, and a clustering center at a shortest distance can be determined as the nearest center of the data to be clustered”);
dividing an audio segment in the multiple audio segments whose distance with the first cluster center is less than or equal to a third threshold value into a second set ([0083] In S405, clustered data at a distance larger than or equal to a preset distance threshold away from the clustering center is removed from the target clusters.);
Yan in view of Meng are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are the same field of clustering data. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the techniques of voice processing of Yan with the technique of calculating a distance between cluster centers taught by Meng in order to improve techniques of data clustering (see Meng [0003]).
Yan in view of Meng fails to teach determining role information of multiple speakers in the audio signal according to the second set; and taking the second set as the first set, and performing a process from calculation of the first mean value to determination of the role information repeatedly
However, Li teaches determining role information of multiple speakers in the audio signal according to the second set (FIG. 1); and
taking the second set as the first set, and performing a process from calculation of the first mean value to determination of the role information repeatedly (page 2, 2nd paragraph, 2.2.1 Feature Definition D, G, N, and T)
Yan in view of Meng in view of Li are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are the same field of clustering data. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the techniques clustering data elements of Yan in view of Meng with the technique of determining role information taught by Li in order to improve techniques of speaker role clustering in order to obtain the number roles (see Li [Abstract]).
Claims 2-3, 5-8, 10-11, 14-17, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan in view of Meng.
Regarding claim 2, Yan teaches an audio signal processing method, applied to a terminal or a server, and comprising:
performing a segmenting processing on an audio signal to obtain multiple audio segments ([p. 2, paragraph 6] “dividing the voice segment with human voice to obtain a plurality of voice sub-segments”);
performing a clustering processing on the multiple audio segments according to feature information of each audio segment in the multiple audio segments to obtain one or more first sets ([p. 2, paragraph 8] “performing cascade clustering for the voiceprint characteristic corresponding to all the voice sub-segments”, examiner interprets voiceprint characteristics as features and output of the clustering as the set);
determining a first cluster center of each first set according to the feature information of the audio segment comprised in each first set ([p. 6, paragraph 1] “when performing the K-means clustering, firstly giving the number K of the clustering, then initially randomly giving K to-be-clustering centre. In this embodiment, the number K of the clustering is the first clustering result comprises the category number, each initial clustering centre is selected from the first clustering result.”); and
performing the clustering processing on the multiple audio segments according to the first cluster center of each first set to obtain one or more second sets, wherein audio segments in a same second set corresponding to a same role label ([p. 5, paragraph 13] “S32 to the first clustering result is the initial value of the Kmeans clustering for the first clustering result for the second clustering result, obtaining the second clustering result”;[p. 2, paragraph 8] “obtaining the speaker label corresponding to each voice sub-segment”, examiner interprets speaker label as role information)
Yan fails to teach wherein the determining the first cluster center of each first set according to the feature information of the audio segment comprised in each first set comprises: determining a second cluster center of the first set according to the feature information of the audio segment comprised in the first set; and updating the second cluster center of the first set to obtain the first cluster center of the first set;
However, Meng teaches wherein the determining the first cluster center of each first set according to the feature information of the audio segment comprised in each first set comprises: determining a second cluster center of the first set according to the feature information of the audio segment comprised in the first set (FIG. 3, S301 [0012] determine a clustering center according to the amount of the data to be clustered in each of the multiple data sets; FIG. 6, 230-232; [0104] “a data set arrangement sub-portion 231, configured to arrange the multiple data sets according to a sequence from large to small amounts of the data to be clustered in the multiple data sets”, here the examiner interprets the sub-portion to be the second cluster); and
updating the second cluster center of the first set to obtain the first cluster center of the first set (FIG. 3, S302 [0072] “In S302, the clustering center is updated according to a calculation result about the nearest center”; FIG. 6, 242, [0108] “a clustering center updating sub-portion 242, configured to update the clustering center according to a calculation result about the nearest center”).
Yan in view of Meng are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are the same field of clustering data. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the techniques of voice processing of Yan with the technique of calculating a distance between cluster centers taught by Meng in order to improve techniques of data clustering (see Meng [0003]).
Regarding claim 3, Yan teaches all of the limitations of claim 2, upon which claim 3 depends.
Additionally, Yan teaches taking feature information corresponding to the first target segment as the first cluster center of the first set ([p.3, paragraph 5] “voiceprint feature clustering module, for performing cascade clustering for the voiceprint feature corresponding to all the voice sub-fragment, obtaining the speaker tag corresponding to each voice sub-fragment;” [p. 2, paragraph 13] “the iteration stopping condition is as follows: the cluster central point change rate of partial cluster cluster in the plurality of cluster clusters does not exceed the set range”).
Yan fails to teach determining the first cluster center of each first set according to the feature information of the audio segment comprised in each first set comprises: determining a first target segment in the first set, wherein a sum of similarity degree scores between the first target segment and other audio segments in the first set is greater than a first threshold value
However, Meng teaches determining the first cluster center of each first set according to the feature information of the audio segment comprised in each first set comprises: determining a first target segment in the first set, wherein a sum of similarity degree scores between the first target segment and other audio segments in the first set is greater than a first threshold value ([0065] “the multiple data to be clustered may further be classified based on whether the fuzzy matching information is similar or not (for example, whether a distance between pieces of fuzzy matching information is smaller than or equal to a preset threshold or not)”);
Yan in view of Meng are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are the same field of clustering data. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the techniques voice processing of Yan with the technique of determining target segment similarity taught by Meng in order to improve techniques of data clustering (see Meng [0003]).
Regarding claim 5, Yan in view of Meng teaches all of the limitations of claim 2, upon which claim 5 depends.
Additionally, Yan teaches wherein the determining the second cluster center of the first set according to the feature information of the audio segment comprised in the first set comprises: calculating a first mean value of the feature information of the audio segment comprised in the first set ([p. 6, paragraph 1]“when performing the K-means clustering….”);
and taking the first mean value as the second cluster center of the first set ([p. 6, paragraph 1] “firstly giving the number K of the clustering, then initially randomly giving K to-be-clustering centre… the number K of the clustering is the first clustering result comprises the category number, each initial clustering centre is selected from the first clustering result. one to-be-clustering centre of the K means clustering is selected from one type of the first clustering result”; [pg. 2, paragraph 12]“performing the second clustering to the first clustering result with the initial value of the first clustering result as the Kmeans clustering to obtain the second clustering result”)
Regarding claim 6, Yan in view of Meng teaches all of the limitations of claim 2, upon which claim 6 depends.
Additionally, Meng teaches wherein the updating the second cluster center of the first set to obtain the first cluster center of the first set comprises: determining one or more second target segments in the first set according to the second cluster center of the first set, wherein a similarity degree between feature information corresponding to the second target segments and the second cluster center of the first set is greater than or equal to a second threshold value ([0065] “under the circumstance that the exact matching information of multiple data to be clustered is determined to be the same, the multiple data to be clustered may further be classified based on whether the fuzzy matching information is similar or not (for example, whether a distance between pieces of fuzzy matching information is smaller than or equal to a preset threshold or not).”); and
determining the first cluster center of the first set according to the one or more second target segments in the first set ([0057] “after the first N arranged data sets are determined, the clustering center of each set in the N data sets can be determined, and then the N clustering centers can be determined as the clustering centers for clustering of the multiple data to be clustered.”)
Regarding claim 7, Yan in view of Meng teaches all of the limitations of claim 6, upon which claim 7 depends.
Additionally, Yan teaches wherein the determining the first cluster center of the first set according to the one or more second target segments in the first set comprises: calculating a second mean value of the feature information corresponding to the one or more second target segments in the first set ([p. 6, paragraph 1]“when performing the K-means clustering, firstly giving the number K of the clustering, then initially randomly giving K to-be-clustering centre”; [pg. 6, paragraph 15] “for the first clustering result is the initial value of the Kmeans clustering for the first clustering result for the second clustering, obtaining the second clustering result; wherein the Early Stop mechanism, the Kmeans cluster satisfies the iteration stop condition”); and
taking the second mean value as the first cluster center of the first set ([p. 6, paragraph 3] “when setting the cluster number, setting 10 cluster cluster, by Early Stop mechanism, the change rate of cluster center point of 3 cluster cluster in the cluster cluster is not more than the set range, can stop the iterative calculation, finishing the second clustering”; [pg. 6, paragraph 5] “the first clustering result for the second clustering, also can adopt Kmeans + +”).
Regarding claim 8, Yan teaches all of the limitations of claim 2, upon which claim 8 depends.
Yan fails to teach wherein the performing the clustering processing on the multiple audio segments according to the first cluster center of each first set to obtain the one or more second sets comprises: for each audio segment in the multiple audio segments, according to the feature information of the audio segment and the first cluster center of each first set, calculating a distance between the audio segment and each first cluster center respectively; and dividing an audio segment in the multiple audio segments whose distance with the first cluster center is less than or equal to a third threshold value into a second set.
However, Meng teaches wherein the performing the clustering processing on the multiple audio segments according to the first cluster center of each first set to obtain the one or more second sets comprises: for each audio segment in the multiple audio segments, according to the feature information of the audio segment and the first cluster center of each first set, calculating a distance between the audio segment and each first cluster center respectively ([0064] “after the clustering centers are determined, a distance between each of the multiple data to be clustered and each clustering center can be determined, and a clustering center at a shortest distance can be determined as the nearest center of the data to be clustered”); and
dividing an audio segment in the multiple audio segments whose distance with the first cluster center is less than or equal to a third threshold value into a second set ([0083] In S405, clustered data at a distance larger than or equal to a preset distance threshold away from the clustering center is removed from the target clusters.).
Yan in view of Meng are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are the same field of clustering data. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the techniques voice processing of Yan with the technique of calculating distances between cluster centers taught by Meng in order to improve techniques of data clustering (see Meng [0003]).
Regarding independent claim 10, Yan teaches an electronic device, which is a terminal or a server, and comprises:
a memory (Fig. 5, 1103);
a processor (Fig. 5, 1101); and
a computer program; wherein the computer program is stored in the memory the processor, when executing the computer program ([p.7, paragraph 9], “the first memory 1103 can store various programs”), is configured to:
perform a segmenting processing on an audio signal to obtain multiple audio segments ([p. 2, paragraph 6] “dividing the voice segment with human voice to obtain a plurality of voice sub-segments”););
perform a clustering processing on the multiple audio segments according to feature information of each audio segment in the multiple audio segments to obtain one or more first sets ([p. 2, paragraph 8] “performing cascade clustering for the voiceprint characteristic corresponding to all the voice sub-segments”, examiner interprets voiceprint characteristics as features and output of the clustering as the set);
determine a first cluster center of each first set according to the feature information of the audio segment comprised in each first set ([p. 6, paragraph 1] “when performing the K-means clustering, firstly giving the number K of the clustering, then initially randomly giving K to-be-clustering centre. In this embodiment, the number K of the clustering is the first clustering result comprises the category number, each initial clustering centre is selected from the first clustering result.”;); and
perform the clustering processing on the multiple audio segments according to the first cluster center of each first set to obtain one or more second sets, wherein audio segments in a same second set corresponding to a same role label ([p. 5, paragraph 13] “S32 to the first clustering result is the initial value of the Kmeans clustering for the first clustering result for the second clustering result, obtaining the second clustering result”;[p. 2, paragraph 8] “obtaining the speaker label corresponding to each voice sub-segment”, examiner interprets speaker label as role information).
Yan fails to teach wherein the determining the first cluster center of each first set according to the feature information of the audio segment comprised in each first set comprises: determining a second cluster center of the first set according to the feature information of the audio segment comprised in the first set; and updating the second cluster center of the first set to obtain the first cluster center of the first set;
However, Meng teaches wherein the processor is configured to: determine a second cluster center of the first set according to the feature information of the audio segment comprised in the first set (FIG. 3, S301 [0012] determine a clustering center according to the amount of the data to be clustered in each of the multiple data sets; FIG. 6, 230-232; [0104] “a data set arrangement sub-portion 231, configured to arrange the multiple data sets according to a sequence from large to small amounts of the data to be clustered in the multiple data sets”, here the examiner interprets the sub-portion to be the second cluster); and
update the second cluster center of the first set to obtain the first cluster center of the first set (FIG. 3, S302 [0072] “In S302, the clustering center is updated according to a calculation result about the nearest center”; FIG. 6, 242, [0108] “a clustering center updating sub-portion 242, configured to update the clustering center according to a calculation result about the nearest center”).
Yan in view of Meng are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are the same field of clustering data. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the techniques of voice processing of Yan with the technique of calculating a distance between cluster centers taught by Meng in order to improve techniques of data clustering (see Meng [0003]).
Regarding claim 11, Yan teaches all of the limitations of claim 2, upon which claim 11 depends.
Additionally, Yan teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing a computer program therein, wherein a processor, when executing the computer program is executed by a processor ([Page. 7, paragraph 8] “The embodiment of the invention further claims a non-volatile readable storage medium, the storage medium is stored with one or more modules”)
Regarding claim 14, Yan in view of Meng teaches all of the limitations of claim 10, upon which claim 14 depends.
Additionally, Yan teaches calculate a first mean value of the feature information of the audio segment comprised in the first set ([p.2, paragraph 12] “performing the second clustering to the first clustering result with the initial value of the first clustering result as the Kmeans clustering to obtain the second clustering result”); and
take the first mean value as the second cluster center of the first set ([pg. 6, paragraph 1]“when performing the K-means clustering, firstly giving the number K of the clustering, then initially randomly giving K to-be-clustering centre.”)
Regarding claim 15, Yan in view of Meng teaches all of the limitations of claim 10, upon which claim 15 depends.
Additionally, Meng teaches wherein the processor is configured to: determine one or more second target segments in the first set according to the second cluster center of the first set, wherein a similarity degree between feature information corresponding to the second target segments and the second cluster center of the first set is greater than or equal to a second threshold value ([0065] “the multiple data to be clustered may further be classified based on whether the fuzzy matching information is similar or not (for example, whether a distance between pieces of fuzzy matching information is smaller than or equal to a preset threshold or not)”); and
determine the first cluster center of the first set according to the one or more second target segments in the first set ([0057] “after the first N arranged data sets are determined, the clustering center of each set in the N data sets can be determined, and then the N clustering centers can be determined as the clustering centers for clustering of the multiple data to be clustered.”)
Regarding claim 16, Yan in view of Meng teaches all of the limitations of claim 15, upon which claim 16 depends.
Additionally, Yan teaches wherein the processor, when determining the first cluster center of the first set according to the one or more second target segments in the first set, is configured to: calculate a second mean value of the feature information corresponding to the one or more second target segments in the first set ([p. 2, paragraph 12] “performing the second clustering to the first clustering result with the initial value of the first clustering result as the Kmeans clustering to obtain the second clustering result”); and
take the second mean value as the first cluster center of the first set ([p. 3, paragraph 8] “a second clustering sub-module, for the first clustering result is the initial value of the Kmeans clustering for the first clustering result for the second clustering”).
Regarding claim 17, Yan teaches all of the limitations of claim 10, upon which claim 17 depends.
Yan fails to teach wherein the processor, when performing the clustering processing on the multiple audio segments according to the first cluster center of each first set to obtain the one or more second sets, is configured to: for each audio segment in the multiple audio segments, according to the feature information of the audio segment and the first cluster center of each first set, calculate a distance between the audio segment and each first cluster center respectively; and divide an audio segment in the multiple audio segments whose distance with the first cluster center is less than or equal to a third threshold value into a second set.
However, Meng teaches wherein the processor, when performing the clustering processing on the multiple audio segments according to the first cluster center of each first set to obtain the one or more second sets, is configured to: for each audio segment in the multiple audio segments, according to the feature information of the audio segment and the first cluster center of each first set, calculate a distance between the audio segment and each first cluster center respectively ([0064] “after the clustering centers are determined, a distance between each of the multiple data to be clustered and each clustering center can be determined, and a clustering center at a shortest distance can be determined as the nearest center of the data to be clustered”); and
divide an audio segment in the multiple audio segments whose distance with the first cluster center is less than or equal to a third threshold value into a second set ([0083] In S405, clustered data at a distance larger than or equal to a preset distance threshold away from the clustering center is removed from the target clusters.).
Yan in view of Meng are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are the same field of clustering data. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the techniques voice processing of Yan with the technique of calculating the distance between audio segments and clusters taught by Meng in order to improve techniques of data clustering (see Meng [0003]).
Regarding claim 19, Yan in view of Meng teaches all of the limitations of claim 11, upon which claim 19 depends.
Additionally, Yan teaches wherein the processor is configured to: calculate a first mean value of the feature information of the audio segment comprised in the first set ([p.2, paragraph 12] “performing the second clustering to the first clustering result with the initial value of the first clustering result as the Kmeans clustering to obtain the second clustering result”); and
take the first mean value as the second cluster center of the first set ([pg. 6, paragraph 1]“when performing the K-means clustering, firstly giving the number K of the clustering, then initially randomly giving K to-be-clustering centre”).
Regarding claim 20, Yan in view of Meng teaches all of the limitations of claim 11, upon which claim 20 depends.
Additionally, Meng teaches wherein the processor is configured to: determine one or more second target segments in the first set according to the second cluster center of the first set, wherein a similarity degree between feature information corresponding to the second target segments and the second cluster center of the first set is greater than or equal to a second threshold value ([0065] “the multiple data to be clustered may further be classified based on whether the fuzzy matching information is similar or not (for example, whether a distance between pieces of fuzzy matching information is smaller than or equal to a preset threshold or not)”); and
determine the first cluster center of the first set according to the one or more second target segments in the first set ([0057] “after the first N arranged data sets are determined, the clustering center of each set in the N data sets can be determined, and then the N clustering centers can be determined as the clustering centers for clustering of the multiple data to be clustered”).
Regarding claim 21, Yan in view of Meng teaches all of the limitations of claim 20, upon which claim 21 depends.
Additionally, Yan teaches wherein the processor, when determining the first cluster center of the first set according to the one or more second target segments in the first set, is configured to: calculate a second mean value of the feature information corresponding to the one or more second target segments in the first set ([p. 2, paragraph 12] “performing the second clustering to the first clustering result with the initial value of the first clustering result as the Kmeans clustering to obtain the second clustering result”); and
take the second mean value as the first cluster center of the first set ([p. 3, paragraph 8] “a second clustering sub-module, for the first clustering result is the initial value of the Kmeans clustering for the first clustering result for the second clustering”).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan in view of Meng in view of Li, as shown in claim 1 above, in further view of Boxwell et al. US 10440325 B1 (hereinafter Boxwell).
Regarding claim 12, Yan in view of Meng in view of Li teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, upon which claim 12 depends.
Yan in view of Meng in view of Li fails to teach a conference system, comprising a terminal and a server; wherein the terminal and the server are communicatively connected; the terminal is configured to send an audio signal of multiple roles in a conference to the server or the server is configured to send the audio signal of multiple roles in the conference to the terminal, and correspondingly, the server or the terminal is configured to perform the method according to claim 1
However, Boxwell teaches a conference system, comprising a terminal and a server; wherein the terminal and the server are communicatively connected; the terminal is configured to send an audio signal of multiple roles in a conference to the server or the server is configured to send the audio signal of multiple roles in the conference to the terminal, and correspondingly, the server or the terminal is configured to perform the method according to claim 1 (FIG. 1, [Column 6, line 19-33] “The users 130 may be individuals which are associated with a respective participant device. For example, the users 130 may be employees of one or more companies which are participating in a video conference via the video conference system 100… The users 130 may have different roles within the video conference, such as leader, listener, viewer, etc., all of which may be considered a “participant” role as used herein”)
Yan in view of Meng in view of Li in view of Boxwell are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because all are the same field of speech processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the techniques clustering data elements of Yan in view of Meng in view of Li with the technique of using a server and terminal to send audio signals taught by Boxwell in order to improve techniques of context-based natural language participant modeling for videoconference focus classification (see Boxwell [Column 1, line 8-11]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Khoury et al. (US 11842748 B2) teaches methods, systems, and apparatuses for audio event detection, where the determination of a type of sound data is made at the cluster level rather than at the frame level. The techniques provided are thus more robust to the local behavior of features of an audio signal or audio recording. The audio event detection is performed by using Gaussian mixture models (GMMs) to classify each cluster or by extracting an i-vector from each cluster. Each cluster may be classified based on an i-vector classification using a support vector machine or probabilistic linear discriminant analysis. The audio event detection significantly reduces potential smoothing error and avoids any dependency on accurate window-size tuning. Segmentation may be performed using a generalized likelihood ratio and a Bayesian information criterion, and the segments may be clustered using hierarchical agglomerative clustering. Audio frames may be clustered using K-means and GMMs.
Wexler et al. (US 20210337307 A1) teaches a wearable device may include an image sensor configured to capture a plurality of images from an environment, a microphone configured to capture sounds from the environment, and at least one processor. The at least one processor may be programmed to receive audio signals representative of the sounds captured by the at least one microphone, and receive a first image including a representation of a first individual from among the plurality of images captured by the image sensor. The at least one processor may also be programmed to obtain a first audio segment from the audio signals using the first image. The first audio segment may include a first portion of the audio signals in which the first individual is speaking. The at least one processor may also be programmed to receive a second image including a representation of a second individual from among the plurality of images captured by the image sensor, and obtain a second audio segment from the audio signals using the second image. The second audio segment may include a second portion of the audio signals in which the second individual is speaking. The at least one processor may also be programmed to receive a third image including a representation of the first individual from among the plurality of images captured by the image sensor, and using the third image, obtain a third audio segment from the audio signals. The audio segment may include a third portion of the audio signals in which the first individual is speaking. The at least one processor may also associate the first and third audio segments with the first individual and associate the second audio segment with the second individual.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZEESHAN MAHMOOD SHAIKH/Examiner, Art Unit 2658
/RICHEMOND DORVIL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2658