Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
The amended claims filed 2/6/26 are acknowledged; claims 1, 2, 4-10, 12-17, 19-21, 26, and 27 are currently pending.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16, 17, 19-21, and 26 are allowed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-8, 15, and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Rodriquez (US 20210156232).
CLAIM 1: Rodriquez discloses a manipulation element for a downhole tool as shown in part by Fig. 2A and B below. The language of “the downhole tool comprising a camera assembly including a lens” is part of the preamble and does not physically limit the scope of the claim as the claimed elements constitute a manipulation element on their own and the limitations of the downhole tool are solely within the preamble).
The manipulation element comprises a root portion (base of 121) connectable to said downhole tool (housing 210). The root portion including an attachment portion at a proximal end of the manipulation element for engagement with the downhole tool (see Fig. 2B). The root portion including an aperture (see Fig. 2B showing open axis 250) for receiving a part of the camera assembly therethrough such that, in use, said lens is disposed forward of the root portion (the aperture is sized to fit a camera lens; the lens is not positively claimed). A stem portion extending from the root portion to a tip at a distal end of the manipulation element (along 121). The stem portion including a hollow or gap aligned with the aperture (see Fig. 2B) for receiving, in use, said lens (again, the lens not being positively claimed), and a manipulation surface having an edge at the tip and the manipulation surface extending from the tip towards the root portion (see Fig. 2B). The manipulation surface extending at an angle of greater than 0 and less than 90 to a longitudinal axis of the manipulation element so that the manipulation surface crosses a plane containing the longitudinal axis at an oblique angle such that the tip is on a first side of the plane containing longitudinal axis and a proximal part of the manipulation surface furthest from the tip is on an opposite side of the plane containing the longitudinal axis, wherein the proximal part is closer to the root portion than to the tip (see Fig. 2B).
CLAIM 2: The manipulation element is of unitary construction (see Fig. 2B).
CLAIM 5: The tip is offset from longitudinal axis in a direction perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (see Fig. 2B).
CLAIM 6: No part of the stem portion lies on the longitudinal axis such that the longitudinal axis is unobstructed (see Fig. 2B).
CLAIM 7: The stem portion is in the form of a hollow cylindrical wedge and the manipulation surface is provided by an edge surface of the hollow cylindrical wedge (see Fig.2B).
CLAIM 8: The hollow is at least partially bounded by a curved inner surface of the stem portion (See Fib. 2B).
CLAIM 15: The manipulation surface is planar (see Fig. 2B, showing planar top).
CLAIM 27: The manipulation surface is at a forward most surface of the manipulation element and the manipulation surface extends continuously an entire length of the stem between the tip and the root portion (see Fig. 2B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9, 10. And 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rodriquez in view of Cowie (WO 2014135861A2).
CLAIM 9: The tip is part of a tip portion of the manipulation element (see Rodriquez, Fig. 2B).
Rodriquez fails to disclose the stem portion comprises a pair of arms extending between the root portion and the tip portion.
Cowie discloses a wireline device.
Cowie discloses a tool with a root portion (46), a stem portion (48), and a tip (44). The stem portion is two arms extending between the root and tip (see Fig. 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the stem portion of Rodriquez to have the two arms of Cowie as the substitution of one known stem portion for another as Cowie teaches the arms allow for the movement of another portion (specifically a spring) in the body area of the tool.
CLAIM 10: The arms are elongate and extend substantially parallel to the longitudinal axis (see Cowie, Fig. 11).
CLAIM 12: The tip portion comprises curved inner and outer surfaces, and a center of a radius of curvature of each of the inner and outer surfaces lies on or proximate the longitudinal axis (see Rodriquez, Fig. 2B).
CLAIM 13: The tip portion has the shape of a hollow cylindrical wedge and includes a U-shaped forward-facing surface, facing generally in a direction away from the root portion (see Rodriquez, Fig. 2B).
CLAIM 14: The tip portion includes a forward-facing surface facing generally in a direction away from the root portion (see Rodriquez Figs. 2B), and the manipulation surface includes the forward-facing surface of the tip portion and the second surfaces of each of the arms (see Rodriquez, Fig. 2B).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rodriquez.
CLAIM 4: Rodriquez fails to disclose wherein the attachment portion includes a threaded portion.
Examiner takes official notice that threaded attachments are well known in the art as a means of securing tubular parts.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the attachment of the tool and element to be threaded with a reasonable expectation of success as the well known threaded connection would secure the two parts together and allow for proper use of the tool.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 2/6/26, with respect to Claims 16, 17, 19-21, and 26 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of 11/7/25 has been withdrawn.
With respect to independent claim 1 and the claims dependent thereon, the arguments were not persuasive. The structural elements of the manipulation tool are known in the art as discussed above. However, the combination of the tool and the camera would be non-obvious.
Conclusion
/PATRICK F LAMBE/Examiner, Art Unit 3676
/TARA SCHIMPF/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3676