DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 11-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on January 12th, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-9, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shimabukuro et al. (US 2010/0130278 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Shimabukuro discloses a topper device for a gaming machine, which is coupled to an upper portion of a gaming machine body and operates in conjunction with the gaming machine (see par. [0028], In this example, a wagering game cabinet 301 is much like the wagering game system shown in FIG. 1, but includes a top box 302 that is located on top of the wagering game cabinet), comprising:
a display module (see fig. 3 and par. [0028], The top box itself is in this example related to a fishing game, and has a number of fish 305 swimming in water);
a housing on which a display module is fixed and which includes a first coupling structure capable of being coupled with the upper portion of the gaming machine body (see par. [0028], In this example, a wagering game cabinet 301 is much like the wagering game system shown in FIG. 1, but includes a top box 302 that is located on top of the wagering game cabinet; the coupling structure is simply the cabinet housing which supports the top box); and
a wireless power receiving module which supplies necessary power to the display module based on power provided from the gaming machine (see par. [0028], A coil 303 in the wagering game system inductively couples the wagering game system to a secondary coil 304 in the top box 304, thereby powering the circuits in the top box),
wherein the wireless power receiving module is provided power from the gaming machine body using a wireless power receiving coil unit equipped with the first coupling structure and the wireless power receiving coil unit can be magnetically coupled to a wireless power transmission coil unit provided in the upper portion of the gaming machine body (see par. [0028], A coil 303 in the wagering game system inductively couples the wagering game system to a secondary coil 304 in the top box 304, thereby powering the circuits in the top box; also see par. [0027], One example is known as evanescent wave coupling, in which an electromagnetic wave is caused to couple or tunnel from a transmitting waveguide to a receiving waveguide. Research suggests that by sending an electromagnetic wave around an angular waveguide, the electromagnetic wave can be caused to couple with the receiving waveguide, where they can be rectified to produce a direct current power signal).
Regarding claim 2, Shimabukuro discloses a communication module which receives content data to be displayed through the topper device from the gaming machine body using a short-range wireless communication method with the gaming machine body (see par. [0032], Communication between the wagering game machine and the peripheral device is provided in some embodiments through a wireless data communication method, such as via Bluetooth, wireless network, or other radio communication).
Regarding claim 3, Shimabukuro discloses wherein the upper portion of the gaming machine body includes a second coupling structure, wherein the first coupling structure is fastened and fixed to the second coupling structure, and wherein the first coupling structure and the second coupling structure each include at least two sides that touch and support each other (see fig. 3 and par. [0028], In this example, a wagering game cabinet 301 is much like the wagering game system shown in FIG. 1, but includes a top box 302 that is located on top of the wagering game cabinet; the coupling structures can simply be the sides or platform of the game cabinet that support the top box).
Regarding claim 4, Shimabukuro discloses wherein the wireless power receiving coil unit includes a plurality of wireless power receiving coils formed on each of the at least two sides included in the first coupling structure (see par. [0028], A coil 303 in the wagering game system inductively couples the wagering game system to a secondary coil 304 in the top box 304, thereby powering the circuits in the top box).
Regarding claim 7, Shimabukuro discloses a control module which sets different operation modes of the topper device corresponding to the current level of power received wirelessly from the wireless power receiving module, and controls to restrictively operate at least a portion of display elements of the topper device according to the operation modes (see par. [0030], The peripheral port 402 comprises in this example a coil 403 that is driven by a low current power signal when no peripheral device is detected, and is switched to higher current capability when a peripheral device is present; also see par. [0028], The fish are powered via at least one of light, electromagnetic radiation, or inductive coupling to a transmitter implanted within the top box 302, and use the power to swim around the top box assembly. The top box is selectively lit based on its use in game play, such as for use in a bonus game. In a more detailed example, the powered fish also receive a control signal such as a radio signal, and are able to perform actions at the direction of the control signal, such as to swim up or down in the water, or to designated locations such as by changing buoyancy or attraction or repulsion to a magnetic field by changing orientation of a magnet in the fish).
Regarding claim 8, Shimabukuro discloses wherein the control module confirms the current level of the receiving current received wirelessly through the wireless power receiving coil unit, and when the confirmed current level is below a preset first current level, sets the operation mode to a first mode, and wherein in the first mode, the control module limits the brightness of the display module within a first range, and restricts the content displayed on the display module to standby content (see par. [0028], The top box is selectively lit based on its use in game play, such as for use in a bonus game; thus the box can be below a first current level and unlit/dim and above a first current level to increase brightness for a bonus game).
Regarding claim 9, Shimabukuro discloses wherein when the confirmed current level is equal to or above the first current level but below a second current level, which is set higher than the first current level, the control module sets the operation mode to a second mode, and
wherein in the second mode, the control module does not limit the brightness of the display module, and does not restrict the content displayed on the display module (see par. [0028], The top box is selectively lit based on its use in game play, such as for use in a bonus game. In a more detailed example, the powered fish also receive a control signal such as a radio signal, and are able to perform actions at the direction of the control signal, such as to swim up or down in the water, or to designated locations such as by changing buoyancy or attraction or repulsion to a magnetic field by changing orientation of a magnet in the fish; thus the box can be above a first current level to increase brightness for a bonus game and to display game content).
Regarding claim 17, Shimabukuro discloses a gaming machine comprising:
a gaming machine body which displays game images through a body display and controls operations of a game according to a user's input to provide the game to the user (see par. [0016], The computerized gaming system shown generally at 100 is a video wagering game system, which displays information for at least one wagering game upon which monetary value can be wagered on video display 101); and
a topper device for a gaming machine, which is coupled to an upper portion of the gaming machine body and operates by displaying content data provided from the gaming machine body (see par. [0028], In this example, a wagering game cabinet 301 is much like the wagering game system shown in FIG. 1, but includes a top box 302 that is located on top of the wagering game cabinet),
wherein the topper device for a gaming machine receives power wirelessly from the gaming machine body in a non-contact manner using a wireless power receiving coil unit which magnetically couples with a wireless power transmission coil unit included in the gaming machine body (see par. [0028], A coil 303 in the wagering game system inductively couples the wagering game system to a secondary coil 304 in the top box 304, thereby powering the circuits in the top box).
Regarding claim 18, Shimabukuro discloses wherein the topper device comprises:
a display module (see fig. 3 and par. [0028], The top box itself is in this example related to a fishing game, and has a number of fish 305 swimming in water);
a housing on which a display module is fixed and which includes a first coupling structure capable of being coupled with the upper portion of the gaming machine body (see par. [0028], In this example, a wagering game cabinet 301 is much like the wagering game system shown in FIG. 1, but includes a top box 302 that is located on top of the wagering game cabinet; the coupling structure is simply the cabinet housing which supports the top box); and
a wireless power receiving module which receives power from the gaming machine body in the non-contact manner using the wireless power receiving coil unit included in the first coupling structure, and supplies necessary power to the display module (see par. [0028], A coil 303 in the wagering game system inductively couples the wagering game system to a secondary coil 304 in the top box 304, thereby powering the circuits in the top box; also see par. [0027], One example is known as evanescent wave coupling, in which an electromagnetic wave is caused to couple or tunnel from a transmitting waveguide to a receiving waveguide. Research suggests that by sending an electromagnetic wave around an angular waveguide, the electromagnetic wave can be caused to couple with the receiving waveguide, where they can be rectified to produce a direct current power signal).
Regarding claim 19, Shimabukuro discloses wherein the upper portion of the gaming machine body includes a second coupling structure, wherein the first coupling structure is fastened and fixed to the second coupling structure, and wherein the first coupling structure and the second coupling structure each include at least two sides that touch and support each other (see fig. 3 and par. [0028], In this example, a wagering game cabinet 301 is much like the wagering game system shown in FIG. 1, but includes a top box 302 that is located on top of the wagering game cabinet; the coupling structures can simply be the sides or platform of the game cabinet that support the top box).
Regarding claim 20, Shimabukuro discloses wherein the topper device further comprises a control module which sets different operation modes of the topper device corresponding to the current level of power received wirelessly from the wireless power receiving module, and controls to restrictively operate at least a portion of display elements of the topper device according to the operation modes (see par. [0028], The top box is selectively lit based on its use in game play, such as for use in a bonus game. In a more detailed example, the powered fish also receive a control signal such as a radio signal, and are able to perform actions at the direction of the control signal, such as to swim up or down in the water, or to designated locations such as by changing buoyancy or attraction or repulsion to a magnetic field by changing orientation of a magnet in the fish; thus the box can be above a first power level to increase brightness for a bonus game and to display game content).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimabukuro et al. (US 2010/0130278 A1) in view of Pellegrini et al. (US 2016/0104343 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Shimabukuro discloses the topper device as discussed above. However, Shimabukuro does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least two sides included in the first coupling structure are made of a non-metallic material.
Pellegrini teaches a game machine including a topper wherein the at least two sides included in the first coupling structure are made of a non-metallic material (see fig. 1 and par. [0047], Cabinet 12 can have a substantially upright orientation and can be comprised of wood, plywood, metal or other sturdy rigid material). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a non-metallic material as the coupling structure as taught by Pellegrini because it would have been obvious to try and using wood to construct a game cabinet is one of a finite number of solutions in the gaming arts (see MPEP 2143, Section I, E. "Obvious To Try" – Choosing From a Finite Number of Identified, Predictable Solutions, With a Reasonable Expectation of Success).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimabukuro et al. (US 2010/0130278 A1) in view of Pellegrini et al. (US 2016/0104343 A1) and further in view of Sosnoski et al. (US 2005/0124417 A1).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Shimabukuro and Pellegrini discloses the topper device as discussed above. However, the combination of Shimabukuro and Pellegrini does not explicitly disclose wherein the first coupling structure further includes a magnetic shielding layer which is provided on upper portions of the at least two sides and on which a magnetic shielding sheet is attached.
Sosnoski teaches a gaming machine with electro-magnetic interference shielding which includes a magnetic shielding layer which is provided on surfaces within the gaming machine and on which a magnetic shielding sheet is attached (see par. [0028], A conductive thin film or applied coating 40 is adhered to the display glass 30. Also in this example, a conductive paint 50 is applied to the plastic bezel 28. The property of thin film conductive material is such that most emissions are not absorbed. Instead, interference is reflected off of the material). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the magnetic shielding layer of Sosnoski to the coupling structure in order to prevent interference from outside sources (see Sosnoski, par. [0003]).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimabukuro et al. (US 2010/0130278 A1) in view of Brunet de Coursson et al. (US 2009/0221363 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Shimabukuro discloses the topper device as discussed above. However, Shimabukuro does not explicitly disclose a battery which charges some of the power supplied from the wireless power receiving module, wherein when no power is supplied to the wireless power receiving module from the gaming machine, the battery supplies the necessary power to the display module, thereby maintaining the setting to the second mode when the power level of the battery is above a preset level.
Brunet de Coursson teaches gaming machines which include a battery which charges some of the power supplied from the wireless power receiving module, wherein when no power is supplied to the wireless power receiving module from the gaming machine, the battery supplies the necessary power to the display module, thereby maintaining the setting to the second mode when the power level of the battery is above a preset level (see par. [0028], The standby power supply may include a battery backup that provides power even when the mains power supply is switched off or when the mains power plug of the gaming machine is removed…In an embodiment of the invention, the standby power supply provides power to standby electronics mat remain operative when the primary power supply of the gaming machine is turned-off). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the topper device of Shimabukuro with the battery of Brunet de Coursson in order to provide power even when the mains power supply is switched off or when the mains power plug of the gaming machine is removed (see Brunet de Coursson, par. [0028]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Seckel et al. (US 11,361,614 B2), Nagano (US 2009/0029761 A1), Arnone et al. (US 10,621,821 B2)
/ALLEN CHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715 1/29/2026