Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4,7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14,15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Bao et al. (US20220183103A1) in view of Lin et al.( US20240031997A1)
Regarding Claim 1, Bao teaches, A method for performing, by a first device, wireless communication, the method comprising: obtaining a sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration, including information for an SL DRX cycle and information for a plurality of timers related to an active time; [53]- Further, the first user terminal 101 receives, through the sidelink, and configures the DRX mechanism data sent by the second user terminal 102. (=obtaining a sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration,)
[60]- For example, a DRX cycle is set to 40 ms(=DRX cycle), a running duration of the on-duration monitoring receive timer is set to 5 ms, and a running duration of the inactivity receive timer is set to 8 ms. According to starting moments of the target receive timer and on duration monitoring receive timer in the configured DRX mechanism (=including information for an SL DRX cycle and information for a plurality of timers related to an active time)
monitoring, the [64]- When the data is received, in a case that data packet(=PDU) loss is found(=monitoring, the PDU), the HARQ NACK is fed back to the second user terminal 102
transmitting, to the second device, hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) negative acknowledge (NACK) information for the [64]- When the data is received, in a case that data packet(=PDU) loss is found, the HARQ NACK is fed back to the second user terminal 102(=transmitting, to the second device, hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) negative acknowledge) to inform the second user terminal 102 that the data scheduling/transmission needs to be performed again
and skipping a start of a first timer related to the transmission of the HARQ NACK information, which is included in the plurality of timers, based on the remaining PDB.[52]- the UE first selects Y candidate slots 103 within a resource selection window 104 within a time interval of [n+T1, n+T2](= skipping a start of a first timer) based on the latency requirement/remaining PDB provided by the higher layer and a UE processing time.
Bao does not teach, MAC PDU; receiving, from a second device, sidelink control information (SCI) for scheduling of a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) through a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH), within the active time of the SL DRX configuration; wherein the SCI includes information for remaining packet delay budget (PDB), related to a medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU);
Lin teaches, MAC PDU;[61]- In some embodiments, the higher layer then randomly selects one or more resources among the reported set of all candidate resources for transmission of a sidelink MAC PDU/TB
receiving, from a second device, sidelink control information (SCI) for scheduling of a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) through a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH), within the active time of the SL DRX configuration,[61]- When the UE performs the PSCCH/PSSCH transmission, the resource reservation period field in SCI is set corresponding to the resource reservation interval (Prsvp_TX) provided by the higher layer(=the SL DRX configuration) for reserving SL resources periodically
wherein the SCI includes information for remaining packet delay budget (PDB), related to a medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU); [44]- the UE performs the resource (re)selection procedure according to one or more of the followings for the sidelink transmission of the at least one sidelink MAC PDU or the at least one sidelink TB: an L1 priority; a remaining PDB; or a number of sub-channels to be used for the sidelink transmission.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bao MAC PDU; receiving, from a second device, sidelink control information (SCI) for scheduling of a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) through a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH), within the active time of the SL DRX configuration; wherein the SCI includes information for remaining packet delay budget (PDB), related to a medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU) as taught by Lin to add to add SCI in MAC-PDU to control the flexibility of configuring different DRX timers and HARQ response from second UE.
Regarding Claim 14, Bao teaches, A first device for performing wireless communication, the first device comprising: one or more memories storing instructions; one or more transceivers; and one or more processors connected to the one or more memories and the one or more transceivers, wherein the one or more processors execute the instructions to: obtain a sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration, including information for an SL DRX cycle and information for a plurality of timers related to an active time; [53]- Further, the first user terminal 101 receives, through the sidelink, and configures the DRX mechanism data sent by the second user terminal 102. (=obtaining a sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration,)
[60]- For example, a DRX cycle is set to 40 ms(=DRX cycle), a running duration of the on-duration monitoring receive timer is set to 5 ms, and a running duration of the inactivity receive timer is set to 8 ms. According to starting moments of the target receive timer and on duration monitoring receive timer in the configured DRX mechanism (=including information for an SL DRX cycle and information for a plurality of timers related to an active time)
monitoring, the [64]- When the data is received, in a case that data packet(=PDU) loss is found(=monitoring, the PDU), the HARQ NACK is fed back to the second user terminal 102
transmitting, to the second device, hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) negative acknowledge (NACK) information for the [64]- When the data is received, in a case that data packet(=PDU) loss is found, the HARQ NACK is fed back to the second user terminal 102(=transmitting, to the second device, hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) negative acknowledge) to inform the second user terminal 102 that the data scheduling/transmission needs to be performed again
and skipping a start of a first timer related to the transmission of the HARQ NACK information, which is included in the plurality of timers, based on the remaining PDB.[52]- the UE first selects Y candidate slots 103 within a resource selection window 104 within a time interval of [n+T1, n+T2](= skipping a start of a first timer) based on the latency requirement/remaining PDB provided by the higher layer and a UE processing time.
Bao does not teach, MAC PDU; receive, from a second device, sidelink control information (SCI) for scheduling of a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) through a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH), within the active time of the SL DRX configuration, wherein the SCI includes information for remaining packet delay budget (PDB), related to a medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU);
Lin teaches, MAC PDU;[61]- In some embodiments, the higher layer then randomly selects one or more resources among the reported set of all candidate resources for transmission of a sidelink MAC PDU/TB
receive, from a second device, sidelink control information (SCI) for scheduling of a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) through a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH), within the active time of the SL DRX configuration, wherein the SCI includes information for remaining packet delay budget (PDB), related to a medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU),[61]- When the UE performs the PSCCH/PSSCH transmission, the resource reservation period field in SCI is set corresponding to the resource reservation interval (Prsvp_TX) provided by the higher layer(=the SL DRX configuration) for reserving SL resources periodically
wherein the SCI includes information for remaining packet delay budget (PDB), related to a medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU); [44]- the UE performs the resource (re)selection procedure according to one or more of the followings for the sidelink transmission of the at least one sidelink MAC PDU or the at least one sidelink TB: an L1 priority; a remaining PDB; or a number of sub-channels to be used for the sidelink transmission.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bao MAC PDU; receiving, from a second device, sidelink control information (SCI) for scheduling of a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) through a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH), within the active time of the SL DRX configuration; wherein the SCI includes information for remaining packet delay budget (PDB), related to a medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU) as taught by Lin to add to add SCI in MAC-PDU to control the flexibility of configuring different DRX timers and HARQ response from second UE.
Regarding Claim 15, Bao teaches, A device adapted to control a first user equipment (UE), the device comprising: one or more processors; and one or more memories operably connectable to the one or more processors and storing instructions, wherein the one or more processors execute the instructions to: obtain a sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration, including information for an SL DRX cycle and information for a plurality of timers related to an active time; [53]- Further, the first user terminal 101 receives, through the sidelink, and configures the DRX mechanism data sent by the second user terminal 102. (=obtaining a sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration,)
[60]- For example, a DRX cycle is set to 40 ms(=DRX cycle), a running duration of the on-duration monitoring receive timer is set to 5 ms, and a running duration of the inactivity receive timer is set to 8 ms. According to starting moments of the target receive timer and on duration monitoring receive timer in the configured DRX mechanism (=including information for an SL DRX cycle and information for a plurality of timers related to an active time)
monitoring, the [64]- When the data is received, in a case that data packet(=PDU) loss is found(=monitoring, the PDU), the HARQ NACK is fed back to the second user terminal 102
transmitting, to the second UE, hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) negative acknowledge (NACK) information for the [64]- When the data is received, in a case that data packet(=PDU) loss is found, the HARQ NACK is fed back to the second user terminal 102(=transmitting, to the second device, hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) negative acknowledge) to inform the second user terminal 102 that the data scheduling/transmission needs to be performed again
and skipping a start of a first timer related to the transmission of the HARQ NACK information, which is included in the plurality of timers, based on the remaining PDB.[52]- the UE first selects Y candidate slots 103 within a resource selection window 104 within a time interval of [n+T1, n+T2](= skipping a start of a first timer) based on the latency requirement/remaining PDB provided by the higher layer and a UE processing time.
Bao does not teach, MAC PDU; receive, from a second UE, sidelink control information (SCI) for scheduling of a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) through a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH), within the active time of the SL DRX configuration, wherein the SCI includes information for remaining packet delay budget (PDB), related to a medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU)
Lin teaches, MAC PDU;[61]- In some embodiments, the higher layer then randomly selects one or more resources among the reported set of all candidate resources for transmission of a sidelink MAC PDU/TB
receive, from a second UE, sidelink control information (SCI) for scheduling of a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) through a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH), within the active time of the SL DRX configuration, wherein the SCI includes information for remaining packet delay budget (PDB), related to a medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU) [61]- When the UE performs the PSCCH/PSSCH transmission, the resource reservation period field in SCI is set corresponding to the resource reservation interval (Prsvp_TX) provided by the higher layer(=the SL DRX configuration) for reserving SL resources periodically
wherein the SCI includes information for remaining packet delay budget (PDB), related to a medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU); [44]- the UE performs the resource (re)selection procedure according to one or more of the followings for the sidelink transmission of the at least one sidelink MAC PDU or the at least one sidelink TB: an L1 priority; a remaining PDB; or a number of sub-channels to be used for the sidelink transmission.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bao MAC PDU; receiving, from a second device, sidelink control information (SCI) for scheduling of a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) through a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH), within the active time of the SL DRX configuration; wherein the SCI includes information for remaining packet delay budget (PDB), related to a medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU) as taught by Lin to add to add SCI in MAC-PDU to control the flexibility of configuring different DRX timers and HARQ response from second UE.
Claims 2,3,12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Bao et al. (US20220183103A1) in view of Lin et al.( US20240031997A1) in further view of Hegde et al. (US20220353811A1)
Regarding Claim 2, Bao in view of Lin does not teach, The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining that a retransmission for the MAC PDU to be performed based on the HARQ NACK information does not satisfy the remaining PDB.
Hegde teaches, The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining that a retransmission for the MAC PDU to be performed based on the HARQ NACK information does not satisfy the remaining PDB.[132]- if R-UE determines, based on pre-configured remaining PDB thresholds, that the Tx-UE may perform retransmissions. In this case, the R-UE may transmit the normal ACK/NACK to the Tx-UE as HARQ feedback.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bao in view Lin, The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining that a retransmission for the MAC PDU to be performed based on the HARQ NACK information does not satisfy the remaining PDB as taught by Hegde to add to add SCI in MAC-PDU to control the flexibility of configuring different DRX timers and HARQ response from second UE.
Regarding Claim 3, Bao in view of Lin does not teach, The method of claim 2, wherein the skip is performed based on the determination that the retransmission does not satisfy the remaining PDB
Hegde teaches, The method of claim 2, wherein the skip is performed based on the determination that the retransmission does not satisfy the remaining PDB.[145]- the characteristic of the remaining PDB may be that there is still some remaining PDB, but the R-UE determines that it cannot retransmit because of unavailability of transmission slots during this time.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bao in view Lin, The method of claim 2, wherein the skip is performed based on the determination that the retransmission does not satisfy the remaining PDB as taught by Hegde to add to add SCI in MAC-PDU to control the flexibility of configuring different DRX timers and HARQ response from second UE.
Regarding Claim 12, Bao in view of Lin does not teach, The method of claim 1, wherein the HARQ NACK information is generated based on a decoding failure for the MAC PDU
Hegde teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein the HARQ NACK information is generated based on a decoding failure for the MAC PDU. [132]- In this case, the R-UE may transmit the normal ACK/NACK to the Tx-UE as HARQ feedback. In other words, if the remaining PDB does not make it possible for the R-UE to perform unicast/groupcast relay in response to a half-duplex collision, Tx-UE(s) may perform the retransmission after receiving PSFCH-CI.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bao in view Lin, The method of claim 1, wherein the HARQ NACK information is generated based on a decoding failure for the MAC PDU as taught by Hegde to add to add SCI in MAC-PDU to control the flexibility of configuring different DRX timers and HARQ response from second UE.
Claims 5,6,8,9,10,11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Bao et al. (US20220183103A1) in view of Lin et al. ( US20240031997A1) in further view of Zhao et al. (US20240031996A1)
Regarding Claim 5, Bao in view of Lin does not teach, The method of claim 1, further comprising: stopping a running second timer, which is included in the plurality of timers, based on the remaining PDB
Zhao teaches, The method of claim 1, further comprising: stopping a running second timer, which is included in the plurality of timers, based on the remaining PDB.[145]- As shown in FIG. 15 , the second terminal starts the sidelink DRX-deactivation timer when receiving initial transmission of a PSSCH…Since the ending time domain position of the target active time is before the time domain position corresponding to the remaining PDB. Since the ending time domain position of the target active time is before the time domain position corresponding to the remaining PDB.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bao in view Lin, The method of claim 1, further comprising: stopping a running second timer, which is included in the plurality of timers, based on the remaining PDB as taught by Zhao to add to add SCI in MAC-PDU to control the flexibility of configuring different DRX timers and HARQ response from second UE.
Regarding Claim 6, Bao in view of Lin does not teach, The method of claim 5, wherein the first timer is the same as the second timer
Zhao teaches, The method of claim 5, wherein the first timer is the same as the second timer.[94]- the operating mechanism of the sl-drx-HARQ-RTT-Timer is similar with that of the drx-HARQ-RTT-Timer in the Uu interface transmission, the operating mechanism of the sl-drx-RetransmissionTimer is similar with that of the drx-RetransmissionTimer in the Uu interface transmission.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bao in view Lin, The method of claim 5, wherein the first timer is the same as the second timer as taught by Zhao to add to add SCI in MAC-PDU to control the flexibility of configuring different DRX timers and HARQ response from second UE.
Regarding Claim 8, Bao in view of Lin does not teach, The method of claim 1, further comprising: transitioning to a sleep mode, based on the remaining PDB, wherein a device in the sleep mode does not perform monitoring for a data reception for a PSCCH or a PSSCH
Zhao teaches, The method of claim 1, further comprising: transitioning to a sleep mode, based on the remaining PDB, wherein a device in the sleep mode does not perform monitoring for a data reception for a PSCCH or a PSSCH. [80] That is, the terminal receives data transmitted by other terminals within the active time and enters a sleep state within the inactive time of the DRX to save the power consumption.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bao in view Lin, The method of claim 1, further comprising: transitioning to a sleep mode, based on the remaining PDB, wherein a device in the sleep mode does not perform monitoring for a data reception for a PSCCH or a PSSCH as taught by Zhao to add to add SCI in MAC-PDU to control the flexibility of configuring different DRX timers and HARQ response from second UE.
Regarding Claim 9, Bao in view of Lin does not teach, The method of claim 1, wherein the first timer is an SL DRX inactivity timer
Zhao teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein the first timer is an SL DRX inactivity timer. [82]- Typical timers in the SL DRX mechanism includes a sidelink DRX-onDuration timer (sl-drx-onDurationTimer), a sidelink DRX-Inactivity timer (sl-drx-InactivityTimer).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bao in view Lin, The method of claim 1, wherein the first timer is an SL DRX inactivity timer as taught by Zhao to add to add SCI in MAC-PDU to control the flexibility of configuring different DRX timers and HARQ response from second UE.
Regarding Claim 10, Bao in view of Lin does not teach, The method of claim 1, wherein the first timer is an SL DRX HARQ round trip time (RTT) timer.
Zhao teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein the first timer is an SL DRX HARQ round trip time (RTT) timer. [82]- Typical timers in the SL DRX mechanism includes a sidelink DRX-onDuration timer (sl-drx-onDurationTimer), a sidelink DRX-Inactivity timer (sl-drx-InactivityTimer), a sidelink DRX-HARQ-Round-Trip timer (RTT)-Timer (sl-drx-HARQ-RTT-Timer) and a sidelink DRX-retransmission timer (sl-drx-Retransmis sionTimer).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bao in view Lin, The method of claim 1, wherein the first timer is an SL DRX HARQ round trip time (RTT) timer. as taught by Zhao to add to add SCI in MAC-PDU to control the flexibility of configuring different DRX timers and HARQ response from second UE.
Regarding Claim 11, Bao in view of Lin does not teach, The method of claim 1, wherein the first timer is an SL DRX retransmission timer
Zhao teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein the first timer is an SL DRX retransmission timer. [82] Typical timers in the SL DRX mechanism includes a sidelink DRX-onDuration timer (sl-drx-onDurationTimer), a sidelink DRX-Inactivity timer (sl-drx-InactivityTimer), a sidelink DRX-HARQ-Round-Trip timer (RTT)-Timer (sl-drx-HARQ-RTT-Timer) and a sidelink DRX-retransmission timer (sl-drx-Retransmis sionTimer).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bao in view Lin, The method of claim 1, wherein the first timer is an SL DRX retransmission timer as taught by Zhao to add to add SCI in MAC-PDU to control the flexibility of configuring different DRX timers and HARQ response from second UE.
Claims 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Bao et al. (US20220183103A1) in view of Lin et al. ( US20240031997A1) in further view of Hosseini et al. (US20220264376A1)
Regarding Claim 13, Bao in view of Lin does not teach, The method of claim 1, wherein the SL DRX configuration is received from the second device
Hossseini teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein the SL DRX configuration is received from the second device.[95]- For example, a UE A and a UE B may be configured with a sidelink DRX pattern 215-a including active durations 220-a, 220-b and inactive durations 225-a, 225-b.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bao in view Lin, The method of claim 1, wherein the SL DRX configuration is received from the second device as taught by Hosseini to add to add SCI in MAC-PDU to control the flexibility of configuring different DRX timers and HARQ response from second UE.
Conclusion
/ANINDITA SEN/
Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JOSEPH E AVELLINO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2478